BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/20/2013

Decor South

Phone: (888) 714-6218Fax: (678) 714-62152180 Satellite Blvd, Suite 400-57, DuluthGA 30097-4927 Send email to Decor South

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/20/2013

BBB has determined that Decor South meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Decor South's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 18 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues9
Problems with Product / Service9
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 18

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Decor South

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (18)
03/23/2016Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I placed on order for a furniture item on 02/29/2016. The money was almost immediately charged to my bank account. I received notification on 03/4/2016 that the item had shipped and I should hear from the shipper within 5 to 7 days. On I still had not heard anything from a shipper, so I contacted Décor South by email questioning where the order was. I received no response until 03/14/2016. I was then informed, "your order was returned to us damaged by the carrier. Our inventory in these pieces is now depleted, so we asked the manufacturer to ship your order directly to you. The manufacturer has just now told us they do not have stock as well, and won't have their stock replenished until: 3/15/2016 (tomorrow)" They said the item would go out within 24 hours of being back in stock. I have contacted Décor South by email two more times and have called their toll free number only to get an answering machine. They will not respond to my email messages or my phone calls. I am out several hundred dollars and cannot find out anything about my order.
Product_Or_Service: *************** Server
Order_Number: *******

Desired Settlement
I want to be contacted by Décor South to be informed about my order. I want to be told it is on the way and will be delivered within 5 business days.

Business Response
*******,

We're so sorry you original shipment was damaged by the carrier.

Your replacement is outbound via the furniture carrier:

Estes Express
PRO# ***********

You can trace the delivery progress online here:
*******************************************************

Deliveries to North Dakota sometimes fall outside our normal 5-7 business day delivery time frame, due to the your service area being considered a more "remote" location by the carriers we use.

Your replacement order should delivery next week.

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Thanks,
The Décor South Team

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I finally received Shipping Information from Decor South on 03/19/2016. It would have prevented a complaint if Decor South had responded to my inquiries starting on 03/15/2016.

The item I ordered was finally delivered on 03/23/2016.

11/25/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The furniture item I received is damaged. Repeated e-mails/calls attempting to receive an adequate credit or a new item have been ignored.
Order #******. On Sept. 5, I received a damaged furniture item. That day, I sent photos of the damage to costumer service. I received a response, asking if I would be willing to receive a credit, instead of a new item. I responded that I was open to that possibility. I didn't receive a response, but days later noticed a credit to my account for $54.90 (10% of the purchase price). I e-mailed customer service on Sept. 12, stating that the credit amount was not enough to keep the damaged item. I did not receive a response. I e-mailed again on Sept. 16. After e-mailing twice, I received a message asking me to re-send the photos of the damage and indicate how much of a credit I would need to keep the item. I responded on Sept. 18 and have not received any further communication. I have since left a phone message with costumer service (I have called repeatedly- no one EVER answers the phone) and sent multiple e-mails. Costumer service has completely ignored my repeated attempts to resolve this problem. I have wasted too much time trying to contact this company.

Desired Settlement
I want a sufficient credit to compensate for the damage to the item and the considerable inconvenience of repeatedly contacting this company.

Business Response
*******,

We have emailed you about an additional credit amount (*************************). Did you not receive this? Total of 20% to be applied back to your card to keep the item. If this isn't satisfactory, please let us know. We can have the entire shipment picked up and returned.

Thanks,
The Décor South Team

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I received the e-mail from decor south on the afternoon of Oct 16. This e-mail was sent AFTER I filed a complaint with the BBB & only after I made repeated attempts to contact decor south by e-mail & phone over the course of over 5 weeks. I find it deplorable that after weeks of ignoring my requests that this company would send this latest e-mail without the slightest apology or explanation. I do not believe that the 20% is sufficient. However, I will accept it just to be rid of this issue. I don't want to pack up this furniture to be returned & then have to be home for an entire morning or afternoon waiting to receive a replacement, which I will then have to unpack & assemble.

Final Business Response
*******,

We applied a credit of $54.90 on 9/9/2015. This should be reflected on your credit card statement.

However, we just realized you wanted 20% (instead of 10%). So we authorized an additional credit of $54.90 back to your card today.

This additional credit should appear on your statement in 3-5 business days.

Thanks,
The Décor South Team

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

10/21/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
NO reply with over a week of trying neumerous outlets.
I am trying to get in contact with you for a week now with no reply. I needed those dressers I ordered last friday as i stated in the comments section of the order form. the delivery stated at the end of the page was the only reason I went with your company. My order number is *******. I have phone and emailed i have even sent a facebook messgae all to no avail. This customer service is disgraceful. I hope someone reads this to save them the annoyance and irritating task of constantly trying to track down an order. I would never purchase from your company again.I cannot even get information of your shipper to provide me with the option to contact them directly concidering you dont answer your phone.

Desired Settlement
I need to be contacted today regarding the delivery of our order. If its not today I need my money back. My order was to leave in a container for europe on Friday the 16th of October and i have delayed it till tuesday the 20th of October due to the NON arrival of your order. After this date my order is no good!

Business Response
We have been emailing your original email *************************, please check this for all responses we have sent.

We haven't charged your card on file for the order (we don't charge until after delivery is completed).

Per your request, we have cancelled your order.

Thanks,
The Décor South Team

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We got one response in over week to our rocketmail account. The matter is closed now as the order is cancelled however the customer service was terrible before I contacted bbb.

Final Consumer Response

05/11/2016Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Decor South does not respond to my requests for tracking number or updates on items it claims to have shipped.
I ordered a nightstand through this company and expected delivery within 7-10 days as they claim on their website for such purchases. I received an email claiming item was shipped on April 15 and I should hear from delivery person within 2-3 days. I requested three times for tracking number or info on delivery agent and received no response. I called their toll free number to only receive and answering machine. I looked at some reviews for this operation and of course this has been their track record for sometime and many BBB complaints have been filed for same issues. I don't believe I am even dealing with a legitimate furniture dealer at this point.

Desired Settlement
I put in a credit card dispute since they claimed to have shipped an item, took my money and provided no information on where or how to track item. I'm done with this company and their lousy customer service. I could have had this item anywhere within a week.

Business Response
******,

We're so sorry for the lengthy delivery.

The local delivery agent has told us they have located your nightstand and will call today to schedule you delivery date and time over the phone.

If you no longer wish to receive the delivery (due to the delay), simply refuse the delivery.

We can refund your card in full.

Thanks,
The Décor South Team

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I can't even verify what they are delivering. No shipping info was ever received to confirm item shipped is correct or even actually shipped. I am waiting for my credit card company to refund as previously stated. I no longer want this supposed future maybe delivery.

05/26/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased dinning room set, which arrived with manufacturing defects & visible damage of product.
ORDER #: 303456,Purchase date:1/6/15, received:1/15/15, Model:Webber Walnut Casual Round 5 Piece Dining Set-****************************
Payment: Credit Card, Amount:$1,119.00. Delivery driver did not wait for inspection, stated that responsibility was to deliver shipment. upon inspection found defect & damage in product, proceed to contact seller, which asked for photos showing defects found. Complied and sent photos,seller replied that it was creasing and that it would expand over time but was only focusing on one of the issue, I later sent detail emails on 2/2/15 of each individual issue on :1. Chairs have a noticeable depression on the outer side of backrest
2. 2 of the chairs also have a separation between the cushion seat ant the back rest
3. The material of the back rest on one of the chair has visible wrinkles not natural of the material and other defaults
4. there is a chip on the wood rail on one of the chairs backrest
5. The table legs are in a distress painting, not matching rest of the table
have not received response from them since then.

Desired Settlement
I would like full refund of my purchase of $1,119.00,since product has visible manufacturing defects and seller is not honoring return & refund policy.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Customer Service
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: *******************
*****,

We're so sorry you didn't like the quality of the dining room set you received.

We've expressed your concerns to the manufacturer and sent them the photos detailing the issues. The manufacturer has again told us the creasing in the upholstery is from the packing/shipping materials and works itself out over time. As for the stain, this collection is "distressed" and the wood stain will have varying appearance throughout -- it's the nature of distressed wood finishes and wood products.

If you'd like to return this collection, and you have the original packaging materials, please return ship this dining collection to us. We'll then be able to apply any applicable refund.

Our return policy is here:

http://www.decorsouth.com/info/returns/

If you'd like to be sent a replacement chair (for the chair that has a defect "#4. there is a chip on the wood rail on one of the chairs backrest") we can certainly do that as well.

Please let us know what you'd like to do.

Thanks,
The Décor South Team


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I accept response from seller of the return & refund of the $1,119.00. Need to know how to proceed with shipping thme back to the seller. I do not have the original packing any more for the table but will re-pack it properly

Final Consumer Response
A link to your site is not the answer I was waiting for, I need concrete answer on your company picking up the merchandise and return of my payment in full.

Final Business Response
*****,

I'm so sorry again that you are not happy with your purchase.

Do you still have the original packaging (for return shipping)? If so, please re-box the items and we can send the carrier information for you to schedule pickup. Unfortunately, we cannot process a refund until your order is returned to us.

Thanks,
The Décor South Team

05/25/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I paid for an item a month ago, have not received it yet but consistently get emails lying that there are problems, just like others received.
I paid for a bed frame a month ago. I quickly received the same e-mail as everyone else that it was broken during delivery and now it's out of stock so it'll be a month until I get it. Well, that month came and went so I e-mailed the company asking for where it is. I receive yet ANOTHER email saying that it somehow got broken again or some lie and that I won't get it still. But, they have no problem taking my money. I try to contact the company, and do not receive any confirmation that they receive my e-mail. I try to call the company, and they never answer. I have sent various e-mails saying I want my money back. I expect my money back TODAY from them. This is ridiculous. It's obviously a scam if everyone here is having the exact same issues.

Desired Settlement
I want a full refund TODAY and I would like the BBB to take a close look at this company and what they are pulling on their customers.

Business Response
*******

I'm so sorry for the delivery delays due to your item being back-ordered.

We have refunded your payment in full and cancelled your order per your request (3 days ago).

Please let us know if we can be of further assistance.

The Décor South Team

04/14/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Cannot contact company, no reply. Want to return product, wrong color received. Terrible customer service!!!
Jan 19th 2015 received 24th of January. Started calling after 2nd week of February. Left mesg. at least 4 times, no reply. Ordered bed set came in wrong color, reference # *******************

Desired Settlement
return of product.

Business Response
Audrey,

Is this still a valid email address for you: holidayenchantment@aol.com

We've sent numerous emails to this address asking if you can provide images of the item you received so that we can send a replacement or start the return process.

Please contact us via email at *********************
Thanks,
The Décor South Team

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The company Décor South has responded and wants me to PAY for return, restocking fee, shipping, in about $60 dollars on a $189.00 price. This is is outrageous, I ordered one color and got a different color. Just read all the complaints about this company. Poor customer service, why are they still in business. City of Atlanta should look into them for cheating customers!

Next time I now know to read all reviews!!!

Final Business Response
We have responded to you via email (twice) and sent the address where you'll need to return your order for a refund.

Please review your email and let us know if you have any questions.

04/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
"Although the quality of the table we received was high, the customer service for this "business" has been awful! After deciding to return the table a (Due to a size issue for the space), we contacted DS within the designated time frame. After receiving their return policy and still having further questions (specifically about their shipping fees and lack of pick-up for returns), we left a voicemail with customer service. However, we have not been able to speak to an actual person-ever! We have left voice mails and emails every day for two solid weeks straight; no one has returned our calls or offered any solutions to our shipping issues."We have contacted them over 10 times with no call back from anyone. We are working with my credit card company to stop payment on the item.Order Information: #****** on February 18 2015
Product_Or_Service: Burnt grey table
Order_Number: #******
Account_Number: ******

Desired Settlement
We are looking for a full refund/ cover shipping costs.

Business Response
We have sent return instructions to this customer's email address twice.

We will be able to refund your (less shipping, re-stock fees) once we have received your return.

Just like any offline retailer (Walmart, Home Depot, etc...), we must receive the merchandise back before we can extend a credit.



Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Interior Decorators & Designers Supplies, Interior Designers - Architectural, Furniture - Retail

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/21/2009Business started: 10/25/2004
Contact Information
Principal: Jeff Dittrich (President)
Business Category

Interior Decorators & Designers Supplies, Interior Designers - Architectural, Furniture - Retail

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Decor South

2180 Satellite Blvd

Duluth, GA 30097-4927

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2180 Satellite Blvd
    Suite 400-57 

    Duluth, GA 30097-4927(888) 714-6218

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Decor South is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Interior Decorators & Designers Supplies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.