BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 09/16/2005

Metrokitchen.com

Phone: (770) 916-0102Fax: (413) 451-2130

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints5

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
01/02/2015Problems with Product / Service
07/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The customer service representative never responded to my follow up emails about a lost package.
On March 29, 2014, I placed an order on the MetroKitchen website for the following item: Wusthof Gourmet 8 inch Ridge Chef's Knife WU-4560-20 ($69.95). The item was scheduled to be delivered to my workplace. I contacted MetroKitchen on April 21, 2014 about an order (Order#******) that I never received. ***** the customer service representative, replied and stated that fedex had delivered the item and that it was signed for by KKEECH. He stated in an email that it will have to be opened as a lost package investigation with FedEx and asked me if the name was recognizable. I went to the security desk and all offices in my building to inquire about a fedex package. All departments stated that they did not have one. The security desk stated that they sign for items but can not recall specific packages. They looked at their desk area and office and did not find the package. On April 25, 2014, I replied to ***** and informed him that I have searched all departments and offices in my building and that the item was not found. I then asked him to explain the next steps of this process. 5 days later, on April 30, 2014, ***** send me a reply email stating that a FedEx investigation has opened and wrote the following, " Hopefully they will be able to locate the package. If not, they will reimburse us and we can reship or issue a refund." A couple days later FedEx contacted me and asked if I checked the security desk or any other department. I told the rep that I checked all departments and did not locate the item. She said that Metro Kitchen will handle the reshipment or refund. May 5, 2014, MetroKitchen customer service sent me an email restating that FedEx dropped off the package at the security desk and asked me if I had checked the security desk. May 5, 2014, I sent an email to ***** stating that I have already checked the desk and all departments in the building. I requested that he provide me information about the next steps in the process. May 16, 2014, I sent a follow up email to ***** stating that he never responded to my email and that this is poor customer service. I again requested an update of the status of this process. He never replied to me email. May 23, 2014, I emailed ***** and stated that I have made multiple emails to follow up with my order and he never responded. I then requested that the order be canceled and that my credit card be refunded. I requested a response to my email and confirmation of my request to cancel the order. I wrote specifically in the email, "Failure to respond my request will result in a formal complaint with the BBB." 5/30/14, I called MetroKitchen and was put on hold by their representative. ***** picked up the phone and I indicated that he never responded to any of my emails and that I wanted to confirm the cancellation of my order. He then stated that he needed to provide information about the lost package to FedEx and asked me the same questions that I had already provided answers to in our previous correspondence. This was also the same information I provided to the Fedex rep who contacted me. There was no apology for the lack of correspondence. *****'s level of incompetence and lack of customer service professionalism is the reason I am making the formal complain to BBB.

Desired Settlement
I want the transaction to be canceled and my credit card refunded.

Business Response
We have issued a refund for the lost order.

03/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We purchased a new ******** set. 2 pots were scuffed. They sent an exchange, we returned the damaged pots. They stated the pots were used, not damaged
I'm a 60 year old career sales executive and entrepreneur. This ranks with the worst buying experiences of my life, right up there with phony watch hawks in Times Square.

We purchased a new 10-piece All-Clad set for our daughter's birthday. Upon inspecting the set the day it arrived, we found 2 pots scuffed on the bottom. I contacted ****** ********** a member of this family owned company. ****** was very helpful and said she would send an exchange. I was leaving for a one-month vacation and concerned about holding the pieces until I returned. ****** assured me this would not be a problem and she confirmed our agreement by email.

After returning from vacation, I inspected the replacement pieces, and shipped the tow damage pots back. Two days later, *****, their customer service manager emailed me that the returned items had been used and they do not accept returns of used items.

We never used any of the items in the set. Everything is in the original packing. We have documentation and photos. After a heated conversation, in which I was basically called a liar, I tried to remedy by email with no change. ****** never responded to any of the emails. He refused to put ****** on the phone or she refused to get on the call, I'm not sure although I assume the former.

They charged over **** for the two replacement items to my credit card. MetroKitchen stated they are returning the two damaged items to me and expect me to keep the replacement pots as well. We only paid **** for the whole set - nearly double the price.


Desired Settlement
We expect the original agreement. We keep the two replacements and a refund of the additional ******* charge to our credit card.

Business Response
The customer contacted us on Feb. 2 and told us that two pans he purchased from us had scuffs on the side. We sent replacements and a return label so that he could return the pans he claimed were damaged. The customer returned them on March 13 and the pans were used, based on the facts that they had more scuff marks and signs of usage than he originally described and he never mentioned that they arrived in a used condition during our conversation on Feb. 2. So we contacted the customer on March 13 to give him the option to return the replacements he purchased, in new and unused condition, or we would have to send back the two used pans and charge him for these pans. Per our return policy, shown on our website and on packing slips that we send with every order, we do not accept used items for return or exchange. The customer contact us and demanded to only speak with the original customer service representative regarding his issue and would not accept an explanation of our return policy from the customer service manager, who was now handling the return at that point. So we charged the customer for the two additional pans and shipped them to the customer.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
MetroKitchine agreed to the March return.

Chronology of events

2/3/14: 10-piece set delivered. Inspected that night and found the bottom the 3 quart and 8 quart pots scuffed on the bottom. Called Metro Kitchen; they were closed and I left a message.

2/4/14: Did not receive a call back. Called Metro Kitchen Tuesday morning and had difficulty getting through. Finally spoke with ****** ********** Atlanta was in the midst of a snowstorm and she was one of a few people working at the company. I explained the two pieces were scuffed. She asked if the set came in separate boxes. The 10-pieces are in one box. She stated she would send an exchange but needed a day or two to get caught up.

2/5/14: Customer service sent a return label. I called ****** to explain I was leaving for the month on 2/6/14 and would not return until 3/4/14. I expressed my concern that we would not be able to return the items for 1-month. ****** said not to worry about it and she shipped the exchange items. She agreed to the March return via email (see copy at bottom, original available upon request).

3/6/14: I attempted to use the link to the ***** label they sent but it had expired. I emailed customer service asking for a new return label. Customer service did not respond.

3/10/14: customer service sent an email asking if we were going to return the damaged items. They did not acknowledge my email of 3/6/14 but did send a replacement label. Both items were shipped on 3/11/14.

3/13/14: customer service emailed me stating these were "used items" and we were not entitled to a refund. These items were never used. We purchased them as a gift for our daughter whose birthday was on 3/6/14 and remain unused as new. This was explained to ****** ********* when the exchange was agreed upon 2/5/14.

The set is in the original box and packing in my daughter's home. ****** ********* refused to get on the phone and never answered any emails regarding this dispute.


Hi -

That sounds fine. All is noted in the order.

Thanks!
******

On 2/5/2014 12:52 PM, **** ** **** wrote:
Dear ******,

As per our conversation, you will send replacements for the scuffed 3 quart saucepan with lid and 8 quart stockpot with lid. We will return the two damaged items in your boxes when we return from vacation on March 4, 2014.

You are wonderful!

Please acknowledge receipt of this email.

Thank you very much.

**** ****
************
**@.com
www..com

From: MetroKitchen.com mailto:**@metrokitchen.com
Sent: Wednesday, January 29, XXXX XX:XX PM
To: **@.com
Subject: MetroKitchen.com Order Confirmation #XXXXXX





Final Business Response
The customer contacted us on February 3 claiming there were scuffs on the outside of two pans. We sent the customer a return label and sent out replacements right away.

We received the items that the customer claimed were defective on March 13. The items were used. They had marks and residue on the outside and inside, more severe than what the customer described. There are perfectly round scuff marks on the bottom indicating use on a stove top. There is residue around the rivets on the inner portion of the pans. There are marks in the bottom indicating someone used a cooking utensil in the pan. Per our return policy, we do not take back used items, so we charged the customer for the replacement items and the items that the customer returned to us, and we sent the customer those returned items back to the customer.

02/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Memtro kitchen sent A duplicate order tried 2 contact them no phone response No email response I need to return the item so I will get my money back..I have called multiple times.all I get is A tape telling me theyre closed..they can't B closed every hour of every day.All I need is A label like all other companies do for for their customers as A courtesy.

Desired Settlement
mail me a return label to Metro kitchen and that will be the end of it!

Business Response
The customer placed duplicate orders by mistake. He tried to contact us while we were shut down, due to an ice storm, unfortunately. We resolved the situation by sending him a return label and a refund was issued.

03/16/2016Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Housewares - Retail

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.