BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/20/2014

National Allergy

Find a Location

Phone: (770) 623-3237Fax: (800) 395-9303View Additional Phone Numbers1620 Satellite Blvd STE D, DuluthGA 30097-7701 Send email to National AllergyView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/20/2014

BBB has determined that National Allergy meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised National Allergy's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on National Allergy

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
04/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had an reaction to nickel in my gold jewelry. I had tried using clear nail polish to coat the ring as directed online and it severely irritated my hand. I then ordered NickelGuard from National Allergies website as they stated it was preferred for those suffering from contact dermatitis cause by nickel found in jewelry. When I received the product it had no ingredients on it but smelled exactly like clear nail polish. I called NA to get the ingredient list and compared those to a bottle of Sally Hansen Hard as Nails Clear nail polish. The company said they would reimburse the $17.99 US that they charged me for the 2 small bottles of CLEAR NAIL POLISH but would not reimburse the $7.99 they charged for shipping or the cost for me to ship it back. This company is fraudulent and is making profits by throwing nail polish in a bottle an calling it by another name. BUYER BEWARE!!!!
Product_Or_Service: Nickel Guard
Order_Number: XXXXXXX
Account_Number: XXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like the $7.99 shipping cost refunded plus the $7.99 to send it back.

Business Response
According to the manufacturer, Nickel Guard is a clear coating designed to be a barrier between nickel and people who are sensitive to nickel and was designed for people with sensitive skin. Specifically, Nickel Guard and does not contain Toluene, Formaldehyde or Dibutyl phthalate which often cause secondary dermatitis. It has been clinically studied, recommended by both dermatologists and allergists, and has been on the market for 10 years with zero reported adverse reactions. Having said that, National Allergy has issued a full order refund to the customer (including the shipping amount paid) in the form of a credit back to the customers credit card and instructed the customer to keep the product so that they will not have to pay return shipping.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The MSDS still considers NickelGuard as a nail lacquer and many nail polishes do not contain those ingredients, but they did return my full amount after filing this case.

11/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
i ordered 6 stick of deodorant they do not work as in the instructions, i tried but to no extent.also i never heard of a deodorant that you have to wet before using and dry after. these in instructions were no described when i ordered them. either way i emailed them and told them this and they said the product is not defective. i asked if i could ship these back for an exchange of there roll-on deodorant, they said i would have to pay shipping for both sending these back and for the ones they will give credit for. either way i would be losing enough money that it would not make sense to return these for replacement. I'm not disputing the whole order of $57.35 just the $35.94 of the bad product.or if they can replace with roll-on in the amount i paid for stick i paid 35.94 for 6 of stick deodorant @ 5.99 each. the roll-on sells for $3.79 so they owe me 35.94 credit in roll-on deodorant.if you need further info please contact me........***** email or ***********

Desired Settlement
either credit for defective amount or replacement in roll-on

Business Response
It is well indicated and described on our website where this consumer ordered from us that you have to moisten this product prior to usage. Also this customer is claiming that they paid $5.99 each for the product (which is the retail price) but what they are not saying is that they received a discount of 20% off their order which made the price $4.79 each, therefore their order total was $28.74 not $35.94. We are more than happy to issue a credit or replacement for any unused deodorant from the original order once we receive it back in its original condition which Mr. ******* has been informed on at least two different occasions. It appears that the only issue here is that Mr. ******* does not want to pay to ship back a return that is not something we were responsible for. We feel this claim is totally unfair especially since we have gone out of our way to help this customer.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
the product does not work as explained in the instructions, which were not posted when i ordered them. i wet them and nothing comes out of the product!! i don't feel that i should pay return shipping fees after having paid for them to be shipped out to me. and i am not paying return shipping fees for "a product that is totally defective and useless" to me.and they have not gone out of their way they are just saying that. they answered one email of mine and said i have to pay return shipping, thats going out of their way?

ONCE AGAIN THE PRODUCT DOES NOT WORK AS DIRECTED, THE PRODUCT IS DEFECTIVE. MAYBE THEY HAVE BEEN ON THE SHELF TOO LONG I DON'T KNOW, BUT N THIS IS A MISLEADING BUSINESS

Final Business Response
This customer still refuses to admit that what he has claimed to pay for the product is not true. They also do not indicate they received a 20% discount. After more than thirty years in business why would we hurry and change the wording of a product on our website that we've been selling for years after a baseless claim? The issue here is a customer bought a product they didn't like and even though we said we would take it back and issue a credit they were unhappy that they would have to pay the freight charge to return it. While we as a company will go beyond to satisfy our customers, in this case the right thing would be for this customer to pay to ship the unused product back to us so that we can issue their credit to them.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
i don't see any response from them that i am supposed to consider, they had until Oct 23 2014 and i haven't heard from you
please get back to me as I'm not accepting anything less than a refund or replacement of liquid deodorant

01/30/2014Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Hospital & Medical Equipment & Supplies, Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment, Dusters & Dusting Cloths, Vitamins & Food Supplements, Dust Control Materials

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/03/2005Business started: 02/03/1981New Owner Date: 04/11/2012
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Ken Krugman (Chief Business Development Officer)
Contact Information
Ms. Karen Cox (Marketing Director)
Business Category

Hospital & Medical Equipment & Supplies, Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment, Dusters & Dusting Cloths, Vitamins & Food Supplements, Dust Control Materials

Alternate Business Names
RH Allergy Acquisition II, LLC, National Allergy Supply

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for National Allergy

1620 Satellite Blvd STE D

Duluth, GA 30097-7701

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 180 Ivie St 

    Cornelia, GA 30531-3268(800) 370-1988
    (706) 778-1500

  • 1620 Satellite Blvd STE D 

    Duluth, GA 30097-7701(800) 522-1448
    (770) 623-3237
    (800) 255-3749
    (800) 621-5545
    (877) 771-3322
    Fax: (800) 395-9303

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*National Allergy is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 522-1448
  • (800) 255-3749
  • (800) 621-5545
  • (877) 771-3322
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Hospital & Medical Equipment & Supplies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.