BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Spanx, Inc.

Phone: (404) 321-1608

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

17 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service15
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints17

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (17)
04/06/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have made multiple attempts to obtain a refund for merchandise returned to Spanx. The items were returned by Purolator on February 4, 2016.
SPANX ORDER NO.: *****************

Pant,Item#: ***************,Quantity: 1
Jacket,Item#: ***************,Quantity: 1
Tights,Item#: ***************,Quantity: 1

Subtotal: $177.98
Shipping: $9.95
GST/HST: $27.30
Total: $247.27

Charged to my MC .... ****

On February 4, 2016, I returned the jacket and pants, via Purolator.PIN 330653458456

I was charged $40.50 CAN for the return shipping.

I have made repeated attempts to obtain a refund, but have been unsuccessful.

Desired Settlement
On February 4, 2016, I returned the jacket and pants, via Purolator.PIN ************

I was charged $40.50 CAN for the return shipping.

I have made repeated attempts to obtain a refund, but have been unsuccessful.

I Want my refund processed with no further delays.

Final Consumer Response
The complaint was resolved and I will never purchase items from SPANX again.

Thank you, BBB!

01/14/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I placed an order online ($591.44) in Sept 2013, but it arrived too late. I had already left the US for a long trip. When I came back in May 2014, I no longer needed the items. Spanx allowed me to return them, but only for merchandise credit which had to be used within 25 days. I travel a lot & informed Spanx that I would not be back to US in time for 30-day return in case of problems, but was told that I'd lose it if I didn't use it by the time limit. I placed an order on Jun 22 for leggings I had not tried before, but assumed fit & quality to be same as ones I previously purchased and loved. As soon as I returned to US on Aug 6, I tried the leggings and found they were definitely not same. The materials, cut & fit are very poor (flimsy materials; too big, bagging & sagging in odd places); there's no way to wear these. I contacted Spanx who said that it was outside their 30-day return policy. Order place 6/22; shipped 6/24; delivered 6/26 @ 5:40p. I first contacted Spanx re: this order on Aug 6 (11 days past the 30 days, given 6/26 delivery); but per above, I previously informed them that if needed, the 30-day return would be an issue. For the past 4 months, I have earnestly tried to resolve this directly with Spanx, but they have stuck to their policy, citing corporate will not allow the return. I have asked several times for contact details of someone at corporate who can resolve this satisfactorily; each time I have been refused. There were several calls before I left US in Aug, & a series of emails since. This is a lot of money for something I can never use. In less than 2 yrs, I have spent almost $6000 on Spanx & generally happy until this order; these leggings are truly awful. If the received leggings were as expected; or original Sept 2013 order arrived on time; or original return just refunded via original payment method; or the merchandise credit was valid for longer time, there would not be a problem now. Regardless, a company should stand behind their products unconditionally.
Product_Or_Service: Leggings
Order_Number: XXXXXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
Originally I only wanted either exchange or refund on the leggings, but with the merchandise credit & discontinued items & extended length of time now, a partial refund will be difficult for correct value of each item. Also since I travel so much (currently in China), it's probably just easier & cleaner for all to return & refund for the entire order (all of which is still in original packaging, including original shipping case). I prefer refund to original method of payment.

Business Response
Spanx Customer Service team is reaching out to Ms. **** and will be offering a refund for her purchase.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

11/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I originally purchased a pair of Spanx leggings at the end of September. The first time they were worn, they split at the seam. I exchanged them for another pair, that split again on the first time they were worn. At that time I called Spanx to see if they could credit me so I could purchase another style (the boutique did not offer another style). I received a redemption code and used that to purchase a different style, that unfortunately was too large. It took almost three weeks to get the correct size. It was a complicated process to ensure the redemption code was re-issued so I could order the correct size. When I finally did receive the leggings, they are defective. The gusset is not sewn to the lining. The agent was apathetic when I called explaining my situation and frustration that it's taken almost a month and a half to get a pair of leggings that works for me. I was told a manager would call me back, but I've yet to receive that call. I was also told I would be sent a return label, so I don't have to pay for shipping on a defective item. That has not arrived either. When I asked them to send a replacement pair before receiving the defective pair, I was rudely told no. If the product is defective, I don't see why they would make the customer wait another three weeks to get a satisfactory product.
Product_Or_Service: Ready to Wow Classic Twill Leggings
Order_Number: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like the entire amount credited back to my account, $92.87. I also would like them to expedite the shipping of the correct leggings to me. The lack of customer service, and non-existent care of the brand integrity, is quite disappointing.

Business Response
The complaint was filed due to an item from order XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX, which was a replacement order to the large she returned (she needed a medium rather than a large). She felt the medium she received was defective as the cotton gusset "wasn't sewn in properly". We processed a replacement order with overnight shipping and sent her a return label to return the defective pair. We also offered her 20% off a future order for all the trouble.

She was very happy at the end of our conversation, stating that everything has been resolved and that this was handled professionally and we exceeded her expectations.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

09/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I ordered $408.00 worth of shape wear from Spanx. The customer service representative was efficient in providing me with the correct sizes. After wearing the shape wear, I started developing severe nausea. I went to my doctor with my issue and he informed me of the health hazards that happen when someone wears spanxs. He suggested that I return all of my spanx shape wear and not wear them again. After doing intensive research, I find that spanx has a history of causing blood clots, compressing bowl movements and organs, and causing yeast and bacterial infections. I called spanx demanding my money back, and they refused. They claimed it was "too late" to refund me. This is unacceptable and I do not want to wear their product and risk having my health become even more jeopardized.
Product_Or_Service: Spanx Shape wear
Order_Number: ********************

Desired Settlement
I demand a full refund of $408.00. I am willing to return all of my spanx products. I have all of my receipts.

Final Consumer Response
In regards to the complaint ID# ********, SPANX has contacted me and resolved the matter. Thank you for your help.

02/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Order XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX has been returned, refund has not been properly issued and after multiple calls not resolved.
Order XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX has been returned and spanx made a mistake returning money to ****** where only 1 cent got returned. It has been over 2 weeks of very rude and ignorant people in spanx customer service not doing anything to fix the issue and 94 dollars have not been returned to me. This is not only unprofessional but also not ethical to not refund the money. And while I hear that spanx has some transaction with paypal that they claim they did, ****** does not have the money and thus I do not. I am planning to never purchase from this horrible place but first need my money back and apologies for the issue they have caused.

Desired Settlement
I need my money back. It is ridiculous that the company would not refund the money for the return.

Business Response
We have reached out to customer to resolved issue

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Page 1 of 2
02/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a pair of Spanx leggings online from what I believed was from the Spanx website. Because the leggings didn't fit, I returned them to the only address I could locate for Spanx. ***** a call center supervisor, contacted me in January requesting an order number from me and she explained that the leggings had been received by Spanx headquarters in Atlanta, Georgia. She also stated that she would do her best to process the return. In the meantime, it was discovered that I had purchased the leggings online through the ********** department store. I asked that the leggings be returned to me so that I could deal directly with the vendor. **** contacted me to inform me that headquarters had destroyed the leggings to sanitation reasons (the item was returned clean) and that headquarters didn't know what to do with them. I'm certain that ********** would have refunded me the entire $92.00. Instead, **** is told by headquarters that the best they could so would be to give me a Spanx credit of $92.00 towards future Spanx purchases. Since I'm not happy with the Spanx product line from past purchases, I requested that I wanted the full refund. If headquarters hadn't destroyed my return, I would have been able to settle this issue without filing this complaint. Spanx advertises 100% guarantee.
Product_Or_Service: Spanx ready to wow structured leggings
Order_Number: XXXXXXXXX
Account_Number: ***********

Desired Settlement
I am requesting the full $92.00, the purchase price

Business Response
customer has been contacted to resolve issue

11/05/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Spanx fails to properly communicate with customers regarding orders. Cancels orders without prior contact. Fails to honor coupons and earned rewards
To whom it may concern at the worthless company of SPANX:

Last night, I had created order number: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX for 1 ****** ****** ************** ********* size *** in Natural. I used the promotional code of:

************
25% Off + Free Shipping
Get 25% off your order + free shipping & returns. Expires October 31, 2013.

Additionally, I utilized the code for my earned $25 Booty Bucks with the code of: ********** To my dismay and to add to my utter disgust with your company, I received an email claiming that you, SPANX, had attempted to contact me via email regarding my order and then proceeded to accuse me of not responding and had therefore cancelled my order. See below (following the content of my message) for a copy and paste of the one and ONLY email that I have received from you following my order last night. To begin, I never received any prior communication from you, SPANX, to tell me that there was a problem with my order. I did a search scan of all of my folders, including junk email, and there was NOTHING to substantiate your claim that you tried to contact me regarding a problem with my order number: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX . Furthermore, you have my phone number, so why the heck didn't you use it?! I proceeded to click on the red link within the following sentence:
"We recovered the items in your shopping cart so you can keep on shopping." However, the "keep on shopping" link did not work. I attempted to access my shopping cart by clicking on the other link within the email: "Continue to Checkout ," but that didn't work either. I tried from browsers: Firefox, Internet Explorer, Chrome, my android's Dolphin browser, and my android's generic internet browser, but none of those methods worked. I logged into my SPANX.com account and did not find the item recovered to my cart as you, SPANX, claimed. I proceeded to call customer service at: *************** The customer service representative stated that the error likely occurred when I did not enter my middle initial when entering my payment information, which I do not recall whether or not I did or did not enter my middle initial. She offered to process the order. I asked her if she would process the order using the codes I originally used with my order, and she refused. I shared my raw thoughts and disconnected the call. I proceeded to re-process my order online. The 25% off plus free shipping code was entered first and worked without an issue. Yet to my dismay, my booty bucks code was NOT working when I entered it in second! I called customer service AGAIN to tell this customer "service" representative that I was having issues with codes working. She claimed that I could not use two promotional codes within one order. I corrected her and told her that I successfully used two codes simultaneously on my original order. I told her that I have a screen shot of the order as proof (see the two attached photos). She declined to further help me as I requested stating that her "system" would not allow her to process the order as I did. She claimed to have verified this with her manager. While I was on the phone with her, I attempted to process a new order without the promo code: ************ (25% Off + Free Shipping) and with ONLY my Booty Bucks code: ********** Just as I feared, the Booty Bucks code was not working! She told me that because I used my Booty Bucks code last night that I cannot use it again per the "fine print." I exclaimed that was not fair that my $25 is forfeited because you, SPANX, cancelled my order without actually connecting with me! She offered to process my order at full price and to credit me back the $25, but she REFUSED to process my order as I originally did with the 25% off and free shipping as well. Why should I have to pay full price up front and WAIT for my $25 back AND not be able to receive my order as originally placed? There have been nothing but issues with your company, SPANX, since I became a customer!

Desired Settlement
I would like 1 ****** ****** ************** ********* size *** in Natural for a total of $29 as in my original order, which includes FREE shipping, 25% off, and $25 in Booty Bucks.

Business Response
******** was refunded and her order was placed with free shipping and the bra at a price of $29.00. This issue has been resolved.

10/30/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
After much difficulty with the company, I was issued a promotional code for the replacement value of an item. Upon attempting to order the item, I was told that I could not place an order with $0.00 balance. Customer service was not helpful and insisted that I would have to purchase something. The promo code was THEIR answer to all the problems I had had with their product and their customer service team and now I cannot use it without giving them more money. They finally offered to refund money to me after I placed an order, but I do not trust them. They did not put that offer in writing.I just want a replacement product sent to me in a timely manner. I do not care about promo codes and 'updated' systems that won't place orders.
Product_Or_Service: Spanx Power Panty

Desired Settlement
Just send me a replacement item! I have the promo code valued at the item cost and yet they won't allow me to order it and refuse to fix the problem on their end.

Business Response
We have sent ****** a new product and she is pleased with this resolution.

03/21/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Did not receive my 2-day shipping in time and Spanx supervisor was rude and condescending to me over the phone.
I placed an order for 2 day shipping on Tuesday, Feb.16, 2016 because I was going out of town on Friday, Feb. 19, 2016. Order #*****************.
When the ordering process gave me an error via Paypal, I called Spanx customer service, who said they would overnight the product to me, if I didn't get it within 2 business days. When I called Spanx on Friday morning, I spoke to a supervisor named****************, who, was not only rude to me by continuously interrupting me and saying there was nothing she could do except have the product rerouted to another location which I would have to pick up,or refund my shipping cost and offer me 15% on a later item. She also would not let me talk to anyone else or give me the corporate number. First of all, none of these options worked for me: of course they will refund my shipping because I didn't get the product in the time I paid for; second I won't be in town to retrieve the package from another city; I get 15% off offers from them all the time via email so this minimum offer was an insult. The only one inconvenienced here is me because I don't have my product in time for my business trip, I paid additional monies, and I was shown no empathy or quality customer service based upon their failure to keep their word.

Desired Settlement
I think they should eat the cost of the ENTIRE cost ,i.e., give me full replacement value, including shipping, because I have been highly inconvenienced by both their failure to deliver on time and the rudeness of their customer service. Perhaps the supervisor was limited in what she could offer, but she also refused to let me speak to someone higher than her or to give me the corporate offices email or phone number. Also, offering to give me the product 15 -20% is unacceptable since I already receive these via email weekly.

03/07/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have tried to place an online order through their website. The first time, I experienced error messages saying the order could not be placed. The next day, there were (4) authorization holds against my bank account for a total of $1000. I called the customer service dept. to find out what happened. They explained that these were not charges, and would drop off in 2-3 days. They also advised that there was a problem with their website, but it was all fixed. I tried to place an order over the phone, which was very frustrating as the customer service person had difficulty navigating their system to locate the items I wanted to purchase. After a long arduous process of entering my order, my card was declined due to the multiple authorization holds which froze my account. I had to wait a week before trying to place the order again. I called and again went through a painfully long phone call trying to place this order online. I was told that they would offer me a 20% discount for my inconvenience, but I would have to call back once I got an order confirmation, and have them credit this to my account. When i never received the email confirming my order, I called again only to be told the order was never placed. I was so frustrated, I wrote a complaint to their customer service dept, but got no response. I tried again for a third time to place my order online today, and again their website said there was an error and the order could not be processed. I called the customer service dept again and spent over an hour being told about all their website and internal systems problems. They tried to take my order over the phone, which took forever, and then waited for a confirmation order number. Their system was not working and was put on hold. I was then told that the reason my order did not go through was because of one item in my cart that was causing all the problems. I then checked my bank account and saw (3) charges for a total of $648!
Product_Or_Service: various under garments

Desired Settlement
I was transferred to a supervisor, *****, who is supposed to call my bank and take these charges off of my account. I would still like to place my order, but I want to be compensated for my inconvenience dealing with this company. I was told they would offer me 30% discount for my purchases and free overnight delivery. I would like them to follow through with this promise. I have had to constantly contact them with no response. I would like some assistance in getting this resolved.

02/02/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Placed order on-line in October and mailed back 5 of the 6 items I purchased for a refund. I have called numerous times and still no refund issued.
I placed an order to Spanx on-line store on Oct. 9th, 2015 for 6 items: Invoice *******************
1. Side Wrap Skirted Swim Bottom, $29.99, Item #******
2. Retro Dresskini Top, $39.99, Item #******
3. Lust Have High-Waisted Mid-Thigh, $49.99, Item #******
4. Mid-Waisted Swim Bottom, $22.99, Item #******
5. Hook Up Panties Mesh-Back High-Leg Brief, $16.99, Item #******
6. Retro Dresskini Top,$39.99,Item #******
I used my ebay mastercard credit card for this purchase (account number ****************), and the name on the card is ******* ********.

The total purchase price of the 6 items were $199.94 and I had a 10% off code for a total of $190.74 after tax of $10.80 was added. I did keep one item (Retro Dresskini Top, $39.99), but I mailed back the other 5 items within 2 days in the original box with all tags and packaging as it was when I received it. I did have to call to get a mailing label for the return because that was not included for some reason like they normally are. I waited at least 2-3 weeks to contact the customer service about what was taking so long for the refund to be issued. They said they received it and they did not know why, but it would be taken care of. Well, I keep checking and nothing. I called again in December and the customer service representative tried to use the same information that it would just take time. Well this is going on over 2 months now with no refund issued and I get upset. He told me he would take care of it and I should not worry. I have given it another few weeks and cannot take it anymore. I do not know why they have not credited my card back. They cannot do this to customers and expect to keep them. I love this company, but it is not good business to treat their customers this way. Please just refund my money!! Thank you!

Desired Settlement
I would like the refund I am owed for the 5 items I returned. All item were returned exactly as stated in your return policy and shipped back accordingly. You have received them as I was told by two different customer service people. The last one promised he would take care of it. I have been very patient about this, but over $150 is due to me and I cannot let this happen to me. I cannot waste my time continuing to call about this either. Please just refund my money!!

01/25/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My first time making a purchase from his company was in Nov of 2015. When the clerk asked how I'd like to receive my receipt, I chose the option of having it emailed. Almost immediately after, I began receiving email advertisements from the company, almost daily. I clicked on the 'unsubscribe' option and submitted the required information. I very shortly received an email stating I had been successfully unsubscribed. Although I kept receiving emails, I knew there is sometimes a delay. However. I submitted 2 additional unsubscribe requests and then phoned the head office and gave all my information to a customer service rep who said I would be unsubscribed. There has been no change and I still receive their daily emails. I even tried unsubscribing again yesterday and got the "you have been successfully unsubscribed". I never gave this company my email for them to send me their advertising. It was only to receive a receipt. I do NOT want to be on their email list and have made that clear 5 times now. I will never make another purchase from them.

Desired Settlement
I want to be removed from their email list asap.

01/18/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a defective pair of spanx and contacted customer service. I was told to return the item and I will be provided a promo code for the value of the item, which was $78.00. I returned the item and it was received in 11/30. I was then told I will receive my promo code by 12/7. I called and emailed on 12/9 and was then told I would receive it by the end of the week, when of course I didn't I emailed yet again and received NO response so I called today, on 12/15, and was told I would receive the code by the end of the day. I received the code and when I tried to use it, it said that it was an invalid code, so I had to email again ( mind you this is probably the 40th. Email with no resolution), and now I am being told to use my own money and I will be refunded...when you get around to it?? I have been lied to over and over and deceived, and now I am being pretty much robbed by you! The absolute worst customer service I have ever received!
Product_Or_Service: Spanx

Desired Settlement
I expect a hell of a lot more than the original amount promised since you have broken contract with lie after lie. $156 gift card will be acceptable

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Hosiery - Wholesale & Manufacturers, Underwear - Wholesale & Manufacturers, Womens Apparel - Retail, Swimwear & Accessories, Bras

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.