BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/06/2012

M H I Stone Mountain, LLC

Find a Location

(770) 270-9500View Additional Phone Numbers1225 Nathan Blvd Ste A, LoganvilleGA 30052-7130 Send email to M H I Stone Mountain, LLCView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/06/2012

BBB has determined that M H I Stone Mountain, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised M H I Stone Mountain, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on M H I Stone Mountain, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
08/31/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Basement renovation project that has failed to be completed in a timely manner. We have been patient with the whole process and delay, project started in December of 2014... As the customer we have made every payment; on time and with no questions asked when it was requested. Punch list of items was provided several weeks ago and the items are still outstanding and remain uncompleted. During the punch out time-frame, the contractor has failed to do final walk through with us either. We have been informed numerous times (pre and post punch out list) that "said" worker(s) would be present on "said" day, but this never seems to happen or take place. I do not receive any communication of the failure to not show up, change of schedule, etc. until I initiate conversation to get an update.
Product_Or_Service: Basement Renovation

Desired Settlement
We have already made complete payment as mentioned in the complaint, so "finishing the job" is our desired resolution. We have made numerous attempts to explain the urgency of the completion, to no avail. 3-4 hours of work is all that remains.

Business Response
We request that Mr. ***** detail exactly what he requests to have us do. Our service area has drastically changed since we were first contacted by Mr. *****. It is a 3 hour round trip for our workers... "Paint touch-ups" is not an acceptable description. We have done the paint touch ups.

Since Mr. ***** has decided to use the BBB to complain about an absence of 2 hours worth of work on a $33000 project and feels that the BBB needs to be involved, we will therefor avail ourselves of this service.

Any reasonable work that is in our original scope and Mr. ***** feels he has paid for will be cheerfully completed once we have his complete detailed work list.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
This is very unfortunate...but we choose to accept the response, recuse ourselves from this type of dialogue, and close the project. Thank you.

09/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I contracted IN FEB. 2014 TO FINISH A BASEMENT APARTMENT FOR MY MOTHER TO BE COMPLETED BY MAY 30,2014 THEN IT WAS JUN. 17TH AND IT IS NOW AUG. 14, 2014 AND JOB IS STILL NOT COMPLETED. MUCH OF THE WORK IS SUB-STANDARD QUALITY TO INCLUDE A PAVER PATIO PUT IN IN PLACE OF AN AGREED PORED CONCRETE SLAB AND WAS NOT INSTALLED PROPERLY MAKING IT DANGEROUS FOR AN 88 YEAR OLD TO WALK ON. BRICKS ARE LOOSE AND UNLEVEL. ******** ******* HAS USED EXCESSIVE FOUL LANGUAGE IN THIS PROCESS AND EXHIBITED DISCRIMINATION AGAINST WOMEN STATING HE WOULD NOT COMMUNICATE WITH ANY WOMEN REGARDING THE JOB TO INCLUDE MY WIFE AND MOTHER. HE TOOK ME TO VIEW THE QUALITY OF HIS WORK AT COMPLETED JOB SITES WHICH WAS NOT CARRIED THROUGH TO MY JOB. HE TORE OUT THREE EXTERIOR WINDOWS ONE BEING A REQUIRED EGRESS WINDOW. NOW HE DOESN'T WANT TO FINISH THE EXTERIOR OF THE WINDOWS WHERE HE TOOK A SLEDGE HAMMER TO OUR BRICK SIDING. THERE ARE OTHER COMPLETION ISSUES THAT ALSO NEED ADDRESSING. FINAL THOUGHT: WANT JOB COMPLETED AS AGREED CONTRACTUALLY AND VERBALLY ASAP!
Product_Or_Service: BASEMENT APARTMENT

Desired Settlement
JOB TO BE COMPLETED AS AGREED ASAP.....

Business Response
We have a meeting with Mr. and Mrs. Bryan scheduled for Wednesday, August 27th.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This was just a meeting to discuss possible resolutions.

Final Business Response
I'm sorry if my last response was not recorded... We are currently working with the customer and hope to complete the project soon.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

05/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bathroom remodel with no shower pan, just tile over sheet-rock. Looked really good, but didn't last. Mold smell first, then tiles failed.
Estimate for master bath remodel was given on 1-22-2009. Work completed and paid for on 2-20-2009. This remodel included a custom shower. About a year ago we started getting strange smells coming from that bathroom. Eventually some tiles started slightly separating from the shower curb. Another contractor came in to fix that, but when that tile was removed, it was discovered that tile was over sheet rock that held moisture. Also, the vapor barrier did not completely cover the 2x4. The 2x4 was so moldy, it was completely back. Removing another tile, showed that there wasn't a real shower pan under the tiles.

Desired Settlement
We were wanting them to remove the mold and fix the shower. We called them as soon as we discovered the tile/sheet rock/mold situation, 2-2-2014. They said they would be out to look at it on 2-7-2014. No one showed up on that date nor did they call. We called them and got they did show up the next day. We were told they would fix the problem. They said they would show up on 2-11-2014 to start the work. No one showed up and again no call.

Business Response
Mr. ******'s complaint is invalid...

He contacted us in April of 2014 - not February as stated... concerning a problem which we notified him was over two years out of warranty (see attached contract dated January 2009).

Our warranty is 3 years and the work is 5 years old...

We offered to have someone look at it on 4/8/14. That gentleman was unable to go so we rescheduled for 4/9/14. After that gentleman went by I spoke to Mr. ****** about setting up a follow-up for 4/11/14.

On 4/9 I was notified of my mother's death...

I was trying to help Mr. ****** in a spirit of goodwill and frankly my personal drams prevented me from following up on 4/11.

On the same day (4/11) without an attempt to contact us - Mr. ****** started a mean spirited campaign against MHI including this complaint.

Mr. ******'s work is over two years out of warranty and MHI has no obligation to take any further action regarding the complaint.

We respectfully request that the BBB find this complaint without merit and remove (not just close) it from our record.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
In no way should sheet rock be installed directly under tile within a shower. While we paid thousands of dollars to MHI to provide a shower, all they really provided was something that looked like a shower but was actually just a mold factory. They are correct about the date being April, and not February of 2014. This is the first I've heard of ********'s mother death, and our sympathies are with him for that. In the response the business provided they don't make clear that they kept setting dates and not showing up or calling. On 4/8/14 we were expecting someone to show up that morning, and no one showed up. We called them, that afternoon and they agreed to show up the next day, which they did. Then on 4/11/14 again we were expecting someone to show up and no one showed up. At this point we gave up trying to work with MHI. This is not a warranty issue. MHI failed to meet their contractual obligation to provide a true shower. We gave MHI the opportunity to correct that, and all they did was make promises to correct the issue and give us the run-arounds. There is no "mean spirited campaign", as we are just sharing the facts of our experience with MHI.

Final Business Response
Mr. ****** is mistaken again. We did not delay in our response. We set up for the 7th of April - we visited on the 8th - we reset for the 11th. My mother passed away on the 9th which took precedents of all other matters. On the 11th without a call or inquiry Mr. ****** started his campaign with the BBB and others. I am forwarding a copy of my mothers death certificate to define the timeline. We never delayed anything, we were attempting to help but we will not give in to extortion. We will not do anything on a job that's 2 1/2 years out of warranty. We ask the BBB to once again close this issue.
We are currently seeking legal advise against Mr. ******. Making false public statements is slander. Let's see if his comments and dates hold up in front of a judge.
******** *******

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The bottom line is MHI did not meet their contractual obligations during the master bath re-model. The "shower" was created is such a way that basically bypassed all industry standards with no real shower pan. This allowed it to look good upon completion but have no real ability to function correctly or last. If fact, the way MHI created that shower caused mold to build up directly under the tiles creating a health hazard for my family. As soon as we discovered the issue, we reached out to MHI to give them an opportunity to correct the issue and they delayed. When they would finally get something scheduled, they wouldn't show up or even call. We could not continue to live with the mold in our home while MHI played games and delayed doing anything. Once we finally gave up on MHI keeping their word and correcting the problem, we did share our MHI experience with the BBB as well as a couple contractor review sites. From reading other customers' reviews with similar MHI experiences, it's amazing the BBB is still giving MHI an A+ rating.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Home Improvements, Storm Windows & Doors, Construction & Remodeling Services, Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures, Patio & Deck Builders, Painting Contractors, Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/25/2005Business started: 10/01/2000
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Debra Vinson (Operations Manager)Mr. Marshall Mainard (Owner)
Business Category

Home Improvements, Storm Windows & Doors, Construction & Remodeling Services, Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures, Patio & Deck Builders, Painting Contractors, Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling

Products & Services

This company offers interior remodeling, custom cabinet fabrication, flooring and decking.

This company offers home improvements, interior & exterior painting.

Alternate Business Names
A P R, Atlanta Painting & Remodeling Co., M H I

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

M H I Stone Mountain, LLC has received 3.46 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for M H I Stone Mountain, LLC

1225 Nathan Blvd Ste A

Loganville, GA 30052-7130

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 1225 Nathan Blvd Ste A 

    Loganville, GA 30052-7130(404) 255-2627

  • 2773 Calumet Farm Ln 

    Snellville, GA 30039-5977

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*M H I Stone Mountain, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (404) 255-2627
  • (770) 807-2799
  • (770) 480-4970
  • (678) 409-5359

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (770) 931-2820
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Home Improvements

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.