BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/12/2010

Universal/ARS Heating & Cooling

Phone: (770) 908-8488Fax: (770) 908-8487View Additional Phone Numbers1465 Beaver Ruin Rd, NorcrossGA 30093-3211 Send email to Universal/ARS Heating & Cooling

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/12/2010

BBB has determined that Universal/ARS Heating & Cooling meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Universal/ARS Heating & Cooling's rating include:

  • 24 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Universal/ARS Heating & Cooling's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 24 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

24 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 10 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service19
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 24

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (24)BBB Closure Definitions
08/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They charged my account after I had cancelled the installation, They even sent me a letter saying it was in error
I had an estimate done, decided to move forward with the installation. I called 4 days prior to installation to cancel. I was in the middle of a refinance of my house wasn't supposed to put any more charges on my account. The day of install they charged my **** *** card 4000.00. I went to pay my bill and noticed charges. I called them and told them, per my request they sent me a letter stating it was their error and a refund would be processed by next billing cycle. My bill printed again, STILL NO REFUND! I called them back and now can't get anyone to take my call. I have called **** **** and the charge backs team stated that the refund was promised to be done on June 30th it is now 7/24 and still not done. She stated that she can't get the lady to call her back either. ******* and ****** are the ones that did not honor their promise. I am not able to move forward with my refinance until the bill is paid (meaning the charge refunded). I have to continue to pay on a bill that I didn't have services done. No one will respond to me or **** ****. They are not refunding my 4000.00 and I can't get anyone to call me back or take care of this.

Desired Settlement
I want them to refund the charges that SHOULD HAVE NEVER BEEN ON THERE!!! NOW, I want it done before my next billing cycle. I need that charge gone so I can move forward with my refinance.

Business Response
August 4, 2014

BBB Serving Athens and Northeast Georgia

RE: Better Business Bureau ID #XXXXXXXX

We are in receipt of your email dated July 24, 2014 regarding the above captioned Complaint. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and allowing us the opportunity to respond.

On June 25, 2014 American Residential Services, LLC D/B/A Universal/ARS Heating and Cooling ("ARS") contracted to install a new system on behalf of The **** ***** ********* at the property located *** ******* ******* ********** ** XXXXX. Ms. ***** contacted ARS and requested to cancel the installation on June 29, 2014. Recognizing that the payment had already been initiated with ***, ARS began the process of requesting a refund from ***. Unfortunately, the refund request was rejected from *** , and ARS has been in constant communication with *** to remedy this matter. ARS prides itself on providing premier customer service, and we were subsequently able to ensure that the refund was processed by *** prior to receiving this Complaint. Therefore, we contacted Ms. ***** to gain a better understanding of the Complaint and she confirmed that the refund was received.

ARS recognizes that customer satisfaction is our top priority, and we appreciate your assistance in resolving this dispute. If you require additional information regarding this Complaint, please feel free to contact me directly at (XXX) XXX-XXXX.
Respectfully,

***** ****
Corporate Customer Relations Analyst


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The reason I don't accept it is because **** ***** told me that ARS wouldn't return their calls and it was supposed to be returned on June 24th. Everyone I spoke to at ARS also said it was supposed to and it was on their end. The only reason *** **** rejected the refund was because they had already refunded me the money and put it on my account to keep me a satisfied customer. The corp guy called and I told him the same thing. **** *** took care of me not this company. I will NEVER do business w/ them. I got my refund that part is resolved but it wasn't because of ARS it was because of **** ***.

Final Business Response
ARS is a premier service company focused on providing exceptional customer service. We appreciate the opportunity to resolve this matter on Ms. *****' behalf through The **** ****.

08/20/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Universal knows there is a class action lawsuit against one of their coil manufacturers ********* has honored my warranty but is charging me to replace
I have a 4-year old ac unit that is being repaired every year. This time I was told the coil was bad and sometimes that happens. A class action lawsuit is pending on one of their parts manufacturers but they did not disclose to me but said it would take $1,000 to fix the warranty issue. I have a service contract with this company but it seems as if every time they come out for service within a month something goes wrong with one of my NEW units. Customer Service would not give me any answers except to say "it happens". This company does not stand behind their work, warranty and has no customer service to loyal customers.A warranty should also include labor.

Desired Settlement
If Universal would waive all fees associated with this repair and stand by any other repairs for the next 2 years I would be satisfied.

Business Response
August 8, 2014

BBB Serving Athens and Northeast Georgia

RE: Better Business Bureau ID #XXXXXXXX

We are in receipt of your email dated August 6, 2014 regarding the above captioned Complaint. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and allowing us the opportunity to respond.

On June 16, 2009 ******** *********** ********* *** D/B/A Universal/ARS Heating and Cooling ("ARS") installed a new air conditioning system at the property located **** ********* ****** ********, GA XXXXX. The new equipment contract provided a ten-year manufacturer's warranty on parts through June 16, 2019 and a one-year ARS labor warranty that expired on June 16, 2010. We contacted Mr. ******** to gain a better understanding of the Complaint, and reached an agreement to resolve this matter on August 7, 2014.

ARS prides itself on providing premier customer service, and appreciates your assistance in resolving this dispute. If you require additional information regarding this Complaint, please feel free to contact me directly at (XXX) XXX-XXXX.
Respectfully,

***** ****
Corporate Customer Relations Analyst


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Universal / ARS was very helpful with my solution. I would recommend them again to any and all my fiends, neighbors and family members.

04/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Improper installation of hot water heater and furnace.
Furnace and hot water heater were installed in 2003. Furnace does not have a sediment trap and the sediment trap on the water heater was installed incorrectly. Gas company has shut the water heater off until it can be correctly set up. We had a gas leak over the week-end & *** had to come out & check it. Called Universal this morning & were told someone would come out today and check it between 1-6. Just called Universal & they "alleged" they called our residence & left a message cancelling the appointment. This was not the case. I believe if they are a professional, legitimate company, they should correct their mistakes. I will NEVER do business with them EVER again and will make sure others know not to as well.

Desired Settlement
I just want them to fix what they incorrectly installed. Scary thing is, we are dealing with gas. I am not sure how we lasted as long as we did without an accident. I don't think we should be charged a service fee either.

Business Response
April 25, 2014

BBB serving Atlanta, GA

RE: Better Business Bureau ID #XXXXXXXX

We are in receipt of your email dated April 21, 2014 regarding the above captioned Complaint. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and allowing us the opportunity to respond.

In October **** ******** *********** ********* ****** D/B/A ARS Universal Heating and Cooling ("ARS") installed a new water heater and furnace at the property located at **** ********* *** ******** ** XXXXX. We appreciate the opportunity to clarify that the code requirements for modern day installations may have changed over the past decade.

On April 15, 2014 we responded to a service request to review the equipment. Upon arrival, our service professional found no malfunction with the equipment. Therefore, we provided a written estimate to upgrade the sediment trap previously installed on the water heater into compliance with present day code requirements. Ms. ******* declined to proceed with the work at the time, and we collected the diagnostic fee for the visit.

ARS prides itself on providing premier customer service, and we installed a sediment trap on the furnace as a gesture of goodwill at no additional cost to Ms. ******* on ***** 23, 2014. We appreciate your assistance in resolving this dispute. If you require additional information, please contact me directly at (XXX) XXX-XXXX.

Respectfully,

***** ****
Corporate Customer Relations Analyst


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

03/31/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased two HVAC systems on 11/14/13 and as part of the written, signed and countersigned contract a **** ***** rebate card was to be issued for ********* I received one card for ******** in January and have placed no fewer than 10 phone calls to the company to ascertain the whereabouts of the additional **** **** ***** card. One month ago I was PROMISED that the situation was resolved, and that I would have my card issued promptly. As of today, 3/23, **** ***** has no record of a second **** rebate card in their system. I am seeking either 1) (preferably) an immediate and direct **** rebate check from the company in lieu of a **** ***** rebate card or 2) the missing and promised **** rebate **** ***** card in my hands.
Product_Or_Service: RHEEM

Desired Settlement
I would rather not deal with more broken promises of Rebate Cards and waiting another 6 weeks. This purchase was made over 4 months ago. As stated above, I am seeking either 1) (preferably) an immediate and direct **** rebate check from the company in lieu of a **** **** rebate card or 2) the missing and promised **** rebate **** ***** card in my hands.

Business Response
March 28, 2014

BBB serving Atlanta, GA

RE: Better Business Bureau ID #XXXXXXXX

We are in receipt of your email dated March 24, 2014 regarding the above captioned Complaint. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and affording us the opportunity to respond.

On November 14, 2013 American Residential Services, L.L.C. D/B/A ARS Universal Heating and Cooling ("ARS") installed new equipment at the property located at **** ****** **** **** *** ******** ** XXXXX. Subsequently, Mr. ****** informed us he did not receive the promised rebate. We contacted Mr. ****** and resolved the Complaint to his satisfaction.

ARS prides itself on providing premier customer service, and we appreciate your assistance resolving this dispute. If you require additional information, please contact me directly at (XXX) XXX-XXXX.

Respectfully,

***** ****
Corporate Customer Relations Analyst


Consumer Response
Gift card arrived via email. I appreciate the company expediting this process, since I was expecting to have to wait another 6-8 weeks...IF it would have worked.

02/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a HVAC system through ARS Universal in August. In my quote, I was to be given a $300 rebate through Lennox that my Rep from ARS ***** was the salesman) said that they would handle the paperwork and submit for me. I have never received this rebate. Further, I have contacted ARS Universal several times over the past several months (spoke to **** ***** where I was told that they would look into the situation, but then never heard back from anyone.
Product_Or_Service: HVAC system

Desired Settlement
I want my $300 rebate that was part of our contract.

Business Response
January 31, 2014

BBB in Metro Atlanta, Athens, & NE Georgia

RE: Better Business Bureau ID #XXXXXXXX

We are in receipt of your email dated January 24, 2014 regarding the above captioned Complaint. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and affording us the opportunity to respond.

On July 11, 2013 American Residential Services, L.L.C. D/B/A ARS/Rescue Rooter ("ARS") installed a new HVAC system at the property located at **** ****** **** ****** *********** GA XXXXX. ARS prides itself on providing premier customer service. Therefore, we contacted Mr. ****** on January 27, 2014 and resolved the Complaint to his satisfaction.

We appreciate your assistance in resolving this dispute; if you require additional information, please feel free to contact me directly at (XXX) XXX-XXXX.
Respectfully,

***** ****
Corporate Customer Relations Analyst

Page 1 of 4
11/20/2014Problems with Product / Service
06/05/2013Problems with Product / Service
08/10/2012Problems with Product / Service
06/04/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning, Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Air Duct Cleaning, Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/06/2000Business started: 01/01/1990
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Secretary of State- Professional Licensing Boards
237 Coliseum Dr
Macon, GA31217-3805
(478) 207-2440
http://www.sos.ga.gov

Type of Entity

Partnership

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Keith James Ms. Shelly Charge (Atlanta Customer Service Manager)Ms. April Hall (Customer Service Manager)Mr. Cannon White (General Manager)
Number of Employees

170

Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning, Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Air Duct Cleaning, Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Alternate Business Names
Universal Heating & Air, Universal Heating & Fireplaces, ARS Universal Heating & Cooling, ARS (American Residential Services)
Industry Tips
Air Conditioning Service and Maintenance
Dont Get Burned by Furnace Fraud
Fall Inspections Make for Warmer Winters
Heating Your Home
Safety Considerations When Using Kerosene Heaters

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Universal/ARS Heating & Cooling

1465 Beaver Ruin Rd

Norcross, GA 30093-3211

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • Universal Heating Cooling & Fireplaces, LLC

    1465 Beaver Ruin Rd 

    Norcross, GA 30093-3211(770) 908-8488
    (770) 908-8488
    (770) 882-2568

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Universal/ARS Heating & Cooling is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (678) 909-4026
  • (770) 908-8488
  • (678) 569-7979
  • (770) 882-2568
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.