BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/12/2010

Universal/ARS Heating & Cooling

Phone: (770) 908-8488Fax: (770) 908-8487View Additional Phone Numbers1465 Beaver Ruin Rd, NorcrossGA 30093-3211

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/12/2010

BBB has determined that Universal/ARS Heating & Cooling meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Universal/ARS Heating & Cooling's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 20 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

20 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service16
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 20

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Universal/ARS Heating & Cooling

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (20)
09/29/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Universal Heating and Air installed a new Amana AC and furnace for the bottom floor in my home on 6/27/2009 for a cost of $6,740. The description of Work on the Proposal(before installation) and on the Invoice indicated that Line sets were installed as part of the installation cost. There is also a Warranty indicating: Manufacturer Limited Lifetime on Heat Exchanger and Compressor, 10 Yr Parts, 1 Yr Labor. On Mon 9/7/15 our AC unit was not blowing air and upon inspection I noticed that the line set had heavy condensation on it and was frozen at the point where the line exited the house. We contacted Universal to set appointment for Wed 9/9. The Universal repairman indicated that he found 2 leaks in the line set which would need to be replaced and that the line set was spliced/welded together in multiple sections. It was also clear that this line set had not been replaced during the installation on 6/27/09 (as indicated on the Proposal and Invoice) and was the original line set in the house which was just re-used during installation. I was quoted a repair cost estimate of $1,400 to replace the line set and possibly move the unit outside for better access to the line set. I have purchased 2 new AC and furnaces from Universal for roughly $12,000 combined since 2009. I have contacted Universal 2 times since 9/9 to resolve this issue and was told both times I would be called back. I have yet to receive a call back as of this writing.
Product_Or_Service: Amana 3 ton 14 seer AC plus 70,000 BTU furnace
Order_Number: ******

Desired Settlement
Based on the falsification of services rendered during the installation in 2009 and being charged for services I did not receive, I require a full replacement of the line set for the AC unit downstairs at no additional charge.

Business Response

BBB of Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia

RE: Better Business Bureau ID# ********
***** * *******

American Residential Services, LLC D/B/A Universal/ARS Heating & Cooling ("ARS") has received your email dated September 11, 2015, regarding the above-referenced complaint. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and allowing us the opportunity to respond.

We have been in communication with Mr. ******* and have reached an amicable resolution with him.

ARS prides itself on providing premier customer service and appreciates your assistance in resolving this dispute. If you require additional information regarding this complaint, please feel free to contact me at **************.

Respectfully,

****** ******
Corporate Customer Relations Lead


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


07/10/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
installed heating and cooling unit that do not work correctly and want to charge me additional money to fix it
I purchased a heat/air unit from them and they never changed out the duct work which was bad, now they want me to pay additional money to do what they should have done in the first place. Also, they are going to cut the hole to make the repairs, but they want me to also pay additional to them or someone else to close it

Desired Settlement
I want them to change out the ductwork and if they have to cut a hole I want them to reseal it or get someone out that can do it. And I don't want to pay them anything else.

Business Response
June 9, 2015

BBB of Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia

RE: Better Business Bureau ID# ********
****************

American Residential Services, LLC D/B/A Universal/ARS Heating & Cooling ("ARS") has received your email dated May 26, 2015, regarding the above-referenced complaint. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and allowing us the opportunity to respond.

We have been in communication with Ms. ********* and have reached an amicable resolution to her satisfaction.

ARS prides itself on providing premier customer service and appreciates your assistance in resolving this dispute. If you require additional information regarding this complaint, please free to contact me at (*************.

Respectfully,
******* ********
Corporate Customer Relations Manager


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
we have NOT reached an amicable resolution to my satisfaction and I wish to continue to pursue getting resolution. I have even spoken with this person. Apparently, they were hoping I would not see this response. So, no I am NOT yet happy with what has transpired.

Final Business Response
June 19, 2015

BBB of Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia

RE: Better Business Bureau ID# ********
****************

American Residential Services, LLC D/B/A Universal/ARS Heating & Cooling ("ARS") has received your email dated June 10, 2015, regarding the above-referenced complaint. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and allowing us the opportunity to respond.

We are currently in communication with Ms. ********* to gain a better understanding of the complaint and hope to achieve an amicable resolution very soon.

ARS prides itself on providing premier customer service and appreciates your assistance in resolving this dispute. If you require additional information regarding this complaint, please free to contact me at **************.

Respectfully,
******* ********
Corporate Customer Relations Manager


Final Consumer Response
After several visits from ARS to fix my air, it finally WORKS correctly.

07/06/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased $3200 a/c unit 6/2012. Uncovered that the Rheem coils were faulty, but not willing to pay for labor.
I purchased a new a/c unit 6/9/2012 from Universal. This is a Rheem 2.5 ton including condenser, coils and all materials and parts. I uncovered through my maintenance plan (with**********) that they had to pump in a lot of freon because the coils/condenser/compressor were leaking.

Since the unit is less than 3 years old I called Universal since they installed the unit to discuss the situation. The installer was to return my call. He did not. I called back around 5:15 and ******** stated that he left early, but she spoke with her manager about my leaking unit. She stated that he said that they were aware that the coils were faulty but that was due to Rheem and not because of their installation. They would cover the part but would charge me $800 - $900 for labor. I stated that I was aware that any parts would be covered because the unit is under a 10 year warranty and that is warranty policy. But if the parts were faulty, I should not be charged to install the correct coils/condenser. (The labor is what is the most costly!) ******** stated that that was all they could offer.

This is not how a reputable company handles a situation as such. The parts were faulty - that is clear. If this was due to something that I did or didn't do then, I could understand. Even if this was something due to normal wear and tear. But it wasn't. They even admitted that the parts were faulty. If they are going to sell units/parts etc from manufacturers then they should stand behind them. If the parts are faulty, then they should do the right thing and replace at no charge for labor or parts.

I paid $3200 for the system. I expect Universal to install the correct coils/condenser/compressor at no charge OR Replace the entire unit with another unit (perhaps not Rheem) and then reimburse me to have an a/c expert to investigate the work to make certain everything is installed correctly. Or refund my entire $3200 purchase and I will buy one elsewhere. Please note: Neither Universal nor Rheem notified me of the faulty coils.

Please review this case and ensure that good business practices are met and I am honored with what I deserve.

Thank you.


***** *********

Desired Settlement
All I am requesting is what I purchased - an a/c unit that will last at least 10 - 15 years, with very minimal repairs. It should be installed correctly. If a company is going to carry units/parts, etc from a manufacturer, then they should stand behind them. And if they are faulty they should be replaced at no charge, including the labor.

Business Response
June 2, 2015

BBB of Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia

RE: Better Business Bureau ID# ********
***** **********

American Residential Services, LLC D/B/A Rescue Rooter ("ARS") has received your email dated May 19, 2015, regarding the above-referenced complaint. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and allowing us the opportunity to respond.

We have been in communication with Ms.********** and have reached an amicable resolution to her satisfaction.

ARS prides itself on providing premier customer service and appreciates your assistance in resolving this dispute. If you require additional information regarding this complaint, please free to contact me at **************.

Respectfully,
****** ********
Corporate Customer Relations Manager


Consumer Response
I provided documentation of my yearly maintenance on the unit and ARS promptly ordered the coils and returned to install them in a timely manner and covered the labor charge. The technician that installed the coils was thorough and called the next day to check on the air conditioning. I believe that ARS was not only responsive with this matter, but took the responsibility to do the right thing. Thanks.

08/20/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Universal knows there is a class action lawsuit against one of their coil manufacturers ********* has honored my warranty but is charging me to replace
I have a 4-year old ac unit that is being repaired every year. This time I was told the coil was bad and sometimes that happens. A class action lawsuit is pending on one of their parts manufacturers but they did not disclose to me but said it would take $1,000 to fix the warranty issue. I have a service contract with this company but it seems as if every time they come out for service within a month something goes wrong with one of my NEW units. Customer Service would not give me any answers except to say "it happens". This company does not stand behind their work, warranty and has no customer service to loyal customers.A warranty should also include labor.

Desired Settlement
If Universal would waive all fees associated with this repair and stand by any other repairs for the next 2 years I would be satisfied.

Business Response
August 8, 2014

BBB Serving Athens and Northeast Georgia

RE: Better Business Bureau ID #XXXXXXXX

We are in receipt of your email dated August 6, 2014 regarding the above captioned Complaint. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and allowing us the opportunity to respond.

On June 16, 2009 ******** *********** ********* *** D/B/A Universal/ARS Heating and Cooling ("ARS") installed a new air conditioning system at the property located **** ********* ****** ********, GA XXXXX. The new equipment contract provided a ten-year manufacturer's warranty on parts through June 16, 2019 and a one-year ARS labor warranty that expired on June 16, 2010. We contacted Mr. ******** to gain a better understanding of the Complaint, and reached an agreement to resolve this matter on August 7, 2014.

ARS prides itself on providing premier customer service, and appreciates your assistance in resolving this dispute. If you require additional information regarding this Complaint, please feel free to contact me directly at (XXX) XXX-XXXX.
Respectfully,

***** ****
Corporate Customer Relations Analyst


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Universal / ARS was very helpful with my solution. I would recommend them again to any and all my fiends, neighbors and family members.

08/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On April 30, 2014, Universal Heating & Air conditioning, installed a new Lennox HEAT PUMP, in our home, at a cost of $9,721.00At the instillation the technician removed a 60 amp breaker from our breaker box, and replaced it with a 45 amp breaker. The system kept tripping and cutting off. The breaker got so hot we couldn't touch it. We bought another 60 amp breaker, and paid $60.00 to have it installed. That solved that problem. Now the system will run about a week or so and cut off again. Then my family have to suffer through another sweating night because they are too busy to come out. They have been out here at lease three to four times, and they can't fix it. Yesterday, Sunday, we came home from Church, and the system was off. It was 93 degrees outside and 86 degrees inside. We called for service, they said someone would be out. Nobody came. The technician called, said he was too busy and couldn't come, but would be here this morning. It is 11:57AM on Monday morning, and we have not heard from them. They advertise 24/7 emergency service, but each time we call it is always the next day service appointment
Product_Or_Service: LENNOX HEAT PUMP
Order_Number: 1 - **********
Account_Number: ACCT.# *************

Desired Settlement
We are requesting a refund, from them, and ask that they come out and remove all their equipment, and we will get another company to install new system that works.If this was in the winter time we would be freezing to death.

Business Response
July 30, 2014

BBB Serving Athens and Northeast Georgia

RE: Better Business Bureau ID #********

We are in receipt of your email dated July 14, 2014 regarding the above captioned Complaint. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and allowing us the opportunity to respond.

On April 30, 2014 American Residential Services, LLC D/B/A Universal/ARS Heating and Cooling ("ARS") installed a new system at the property located ******************************* *****. We contacted Mr. ******* to gain a better understanding of the Complaint and are actively in communication to hopefully achieve an amicable resolution very soon.

ARS prides itself on providing premier customer service, and appreciates your assistance in resolving this dispute. If you require additional information regarding this Complaint, please feel free to contact me directly at **************.
Respectfully,

***** ****
Corporate Customer Relations Analyst


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


Page 1 of 2
04/08/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchase a furnace from Universal along with the service plan 4 years ago. The furnace worked properly the first year. The following year I began to have issues with heat. I called in for repairs and was told by the technician that the company did not have the part in stock and that he would order the part. I called back a month later after not hearing anything and was told that the technician never placed the order for the part. Another technician came out and this repeated over and over until summer came and the heater was no longer needed. I then called for the annual servicing, no show for time frame or the day for the requested annual service. This happened a total of 3 times that year. Winter comes along again the heater issue isn't addressed once more. Called for servicing and a repeat of the previous year. This has happened each year for the past 3 years. Again today we called for annual servicing and we were charged as usual, but no repairs were done and after 4 years they still don't have the part in stock. No one returns calls or addresses the issues. Neither has the repairs been made after 4 years. It appears that they are waiting for the warranty to expire so that we are forced to purchase a new furnace.
Product_Or_Service: Furnace

Desired Settlement
I would like to be refunded for the purchase of the furnace as well as all service fess we were charged, whereas no repair has been made. I would also like to be reimbursed for the service plan.

Business Response
March 30, 2016

BBB serving Metro Atlanta, Athens, and NE Georgia

RE: Better Business Bureau ID# ********
******** *******

American Residential Services, LLC D/B/A Universal Heating & Cooling ("ARS") has received your email dated March 25, 2016 regarding the above-referenced complaint. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and allowing us the opportunity to respond.

We have been in communication with Ms. ******* and have reached an amicable resolution.

ARS prides itself on providing premier customer service and appreciates your assistance in resolving this dispute. If you require additional information regarding this complaint, please feel free to contact ****** ****** at *************.
Respectfully,
***********
Corporate Online Reputation Analyst


07/24/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
4/16/15 I am a legal assistant who works for a law firm in ***************** and helps with the administration of a trust for a severely disabled person who resides at ****************************************. A technician from Universal Heating and Cooling (American Residential Services LLC) came to the home of our client to service one of the two A/C units that were not working. A part was replaced, a leak search was performed and 5lbs of r410a was added to the unit. Payment of $818.00 was promptly given by contacting the company directly. 4/29/15 A technician from Universal Heating and Cooling contacted me thinking I was the home owner. The technician proceeded to tell me that the unit that was just worked on was no longer working because of a bad coil which caused all the r410a to leak out. Confused, I asked if he had been out to the house already and he responded no, a leak was found the last time he was there on 4/16/15. I said no one told me about a leak and that we had just paid $818.00 less than two weeks ago and assumed that the unit was repaired. The technician informed me that he attempted to contact me regarding the leak but received voicemail. I asked if he left a message and he responded that he does not do that, the office (Universal Heating and Cooling) should have contacted me. No one did. I asked if the coil was under warranty and he said it was, but it would be another $800.00 +/- for labor and more r410a. I called Universal Heating and Cooling and spoke with operations manager ****** ****. Mr. **** did not really seem to think there was an issue. I explained to him that if we were told about the leak in the first place we would have repaired the unit that day. We would not have paid $238.00 for r410a that was just going to leak out. Mr. **** seemed to think that it was normal to do that and that a lot of people and companies would pay to have r410a added just to have it run out again. I said I did not believe that is what private homeowners would do. Mr. **** said he would speak with his supervisor and let me know the following week if we were going to be refunded for the r410a that was added to the system only to have it leak right back out again. 5/5/15 - I contacted Mr. **** and he agreed to refund the homeowner $238.00 but said it would take a couple of weeks to send a check or refund the Visa card that was used. 6/5/15 no refund received so I contacted Universal Heating and Cooling and had to leave a message for Mr. ****. 6/8/15 I received no response so I contacted Universal Heating and Cooling again and had to leave a message for Mr. ****. 6/10/15 I still have received no response, so I called Universal Heating and Cooling. Mr. **** was not available (he seems to be avoiding my calls)so I am now filing this complaint.
Product_Or_Service: A/C Repairs
Account_Number: ******

Desired Settlement
Universal Heating and Cooling needs to do what they said they would in a timely manner and refund ************* $238.00 for the r410a that was added to the A/C unit only to leak right out again.

Business Response
July 15, 2015

BBB of Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia

RE: Better Business Bureau ID# ********
******* *****

American Residential Services, LLC D/B/A Universal/ARS Heating & Cooling ("ARS") has received your email dated June 17, 2015, regarding the above-referenced complaint. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and allowing us the opportunity to respond.

We have addressed the customer's concerns and have reached an amicable resolution.

ARS prides itself on providing premier customer service and appreciates your assistance in resolving this dispute. If you require additional information regarding this complaint, please free to contact me at **************.

******************************
Corporate Customer Relations Manager


08/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They charged my account after I had cancelled the installation, They even sent me a letter saying it was in error
I had an estimate done, decided to move forward with the installation. I called 4 days prior to installation to cancel. I was in the middle of a refinance of my house wasn't supposed to put any more charges on my account. The day of install they charged my **** *** card 4000.00. I went to pay my bill and noticed charges. I called them and told them, per my request they sent me a letter stating it was their error and a refund would be processed by next billing cycle. My bill printed again, STILL NO REFUND! I called them back and now can't get anyone to take my call. I have called **** **** and the charge backs team stated that the refund was promised to be done on June 30th it is now 7/24 and still not done. She stated that she can't get the lady to call her back either. ******* and ****** are the ones that did not honor their promise. I am not able to move forward with my refinance until the bill is paid (meaning the charge refunded). I have to continue to pay on a bill that I didn't have services done. No one will respond to me or **** ****. They are not refunding my 4000.00 and I can't get anyone to call me back or take care of this.

Desired Settlement
I want them to refund the charges that SHOULD HAVE NEVER BEEN ON THERE!!! NOW, I want it done before my next billing cycle. I need that charge gone so I can move forward with my refinance.

Business Response
August 4, 2014

BBB Serving Athens and Northeast Georgia

RE: Better Business Bureau ID #XXXXXXXX

We are in receipt of your email dated July 24, 2014 regarding the above captioned Complaint. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and allowing us the opportunity to respond.

On June 25, 2014 American Residential Services, LLC D/B/A Universal/ARS Heating and Cooling ("ARS") contracted to install a new system on behalf of The **** ***** ********* at the property located *** ******* ******* ********** ** XXXXX. Ms. ***** contacted ARS and requested to cancel the installation on June 29, 2014. Recognizing that the payment had already been initiated with ***, ARS began the process of requesting a refund from ***. Unfortunately, the refund request was rejected from *** , and ARS has been in constant communication with *** to remedy this matter. ARS prides itself on providing premier customer service, and we were subsequently able to ensure that the refund was processed by *** prior to receiving this Complaint. Therefore, we contacted Ms. ***** to gain a better understanding of the Complaint and she confirmed that the refund was received.

ARS recognizes that customer satisfaction is our top priority, and we appreciate your assistance in resolving this dispute. If you require additional information regarding this Complaint, please feel free to contact me directly at (XXX) XXX-XXXX.
Respectfully,

***** ****
Corporate Customer Relations Analyst


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The reason I don't accept it is because **** ***** told me that ARS wouldn't return their calls and it was supposed to be returned on June 24th. Everyone I spoke to at ARS also said it was supposed to and it was on their end. The only reason *** **** rejected the refund was because they had already refunded me the money and put it on my account to keep me a satisfied customer. The corp guy called and I told him the same thing. **** *** took care of me not this company. I will NEVER do business w/ them. I got my refund that part is resolved but it wasn't because of ARS it was because of **** ***.

Final Business Response
ARS is a premier service company focused on providing exceptional customer service. We appreciate the opportunity to resolve this matter on Ms. *****' behalf through The **** ****.

02/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a HVAC system through ARS Universal in August. In my quote, I was to be given a $300 rebate through Lennox that my Rep from ARS ***** was the salesman) said that they would handle the paperwork and submit for me. I have never received this rebate. Further, I have contacted ARS Universal several times over the past several months (spoke to **** ***** where I was told that they would look into the situation, but then never heard back from anyone.
Product_Or_Service: HVAC system

Desired Settlement
I want my $300 rebate that was part of our contract.

Business Response
January 31, 2014

BBB in Metro Atlanta, Athens, & NE Georgia

RE: Better Business Bureau ID #XXXXXXXX

We are in receipt of your email dated January 24, 2014 regarding the above captioned Complaint. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and affording us the opportunity to respond.

On July 11, 2013 American Residential Services, L.L.C. D/B/A ARS/Rescue Rooter ("ARS") installed a new HVAC system at the property located at **** ****** **** ****** *********** GA XXXXX. ARS prides itself on providing premier customer service. Therefore, we contacted Mr. ****** on January 27, 2014 and resolved the Complaint to his satisfaction.

We appreciate your assistance in resolving this dispute; if you require additional information, please feel free to contact me directly at (XXX) XXX-XXXX.
Respectfully,

***** ****
Corporate Customer Relations Analyst

11/15/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I contacted Universal heating & air on Monday October 14, 2013 in reference to servicing my HVAC unit at a rental property that I owned but was in the process of selling. ****** in the dispatch center, advised me that they could have a technician come out on Tuesday October 15, 2013 between 1pm and 6pm, providing me with a 30 minute call ahead to advise an accurate time of arrival. By 4pm I had not heard from the company so I called them to find out an ETA. They advised me that they had no record of an appointment and no record of an employee named ****** They did however manage to get a technician out that day to help me out. However, once the technician arrived, *******, I informed him exactly what services I needed fixed. I showed him the inspector's report which stated to have HVAC unit serviced and ensure no leaks from unit, refill freon, clean evaporator coil, check thermostat to ensure it is in working order. ******* advised me two options to clean the evaporator coil, a $490 option to take unit apart and thoroughly clean it or a $89 brush cleaning option. I asked if brush cleaning would clean the coil, and the licensed HVAC technician advised me that it is not as thorough but it will clean it and he could change the filter as well. I opted for this option since it was significantly less expensive and would still do as inspector's report requested. I was scheduled to close on my house the following friday, October 18, 2013 at 4pm. However, I recieved a call from the buyer's advising that someone from this company spoke negatively about me behind my back and told them that I only did the minumum since I was selling the house. He also stated he did not check the thermostat but that it worked, even though, at my request, he documented that he did this service. This proves that the technician told me he did what I asked but really He only did the minimum but when questioned, he put the blame on me. I am disgusted with this attack on me and poor work ethics and insignificant work
Product_Or_Service: HVAC serviced, add freon, clean coil, tstat check
Order_Number: ***********
Account_Number: call # ******

Desired Settlement
Since I was unable to get any call backs from any management official at Universal despite numerous attempts to rectify this situation, I am requesting them to contact me directly, provide me with an official appology for slandering my character, provide me with knowledge that this ******* technician is held responsible for his inaccurate work order and poor work ethics, and provide this full service that I initially requested to be completed free of charge since I've already paid for this.

Business Response
November 5, 2013

BBB of Atlanta, GA

RE: Better Business Bureau ID *********

We are in receipt of your email dated October 22, 2013 regarding the above captioned Complaint. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and affording us the opportunity to respond.

On October 15, 2013 American Residential Services LLC D/B/A Universal ("ARS") responded to the service request at the property located at ************************************. Upon arrival, our service professional found that the thermostat was working properly, the evaporator coil showed no visual indication of a leak, and that the unit was approximately one pound low on refrigerant. Accordingly, we provided Ms. ***** with a written estimate to clean the evaporator coil and to add one pound of refrigerant. Ms. ***** signed the authorization to proceed with the work, and the work was performed as contracted.

Subsequently, we received this Complaint and contacted Ms. ***** on November 1, 2013. Contrary to the Complaint, all of the work contracted with ARS was completed. While ARS is unable to substantiate another company's credentials, we are confident in our products, people, and services. Although it is not our policy to provide a refund for a job that was properly completed, we provided Ms. ***** a refund totaling $208 for the purpose of customer retention.

ARS prides itself on providing premier customer service, and we appreciate your assistance in resolving this dispute. If you require additional information about this Complaint, please contact me directly at (***) **********
Respectfully,

**********
Corporate Customer Relations Analyst

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning, Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Air Duct Cleaning, Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Plumbing - Contractor, Plumbers, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Additional Information

top

Universal /ARS Heating & Cooling has contacted BBB and requested that we notify consumers that they may contact their corporate office directly at 1-866-803-0879 or via email at wecare@ars.com prior to filing with the BBB in order to be given the opportunity to resolve the matter directly with them. Should a consumer choose to file a BBB complaint without contacting the company, BBB will process the complaint as any other complaint filed with us.

BBB file opened: 11/06/2000Business started: 01/01/1990
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Secretary of State- Professional Licensing Boards
237 Coliseum Dr
Macon, GA 31217-3805
(478) 207-2440
http://www.sos.ga.gov

Type of Entity

Partnership

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Keith James Ms. Shelly Charge (Atlanta Customer Service Manager)Ms. April Hall (Customer Service Manager)Mr. Cannon White (General Manager)
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning, Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Air Duct Cleaning, Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Plumbing - Contractor, Plumbers, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Alternate Business Names
Universal Heating & Air, Universal Heating & Fireplaces, ARS Universal Heating & Cooling, ARS (American Residential Services)

Additional Business Names and Locations are viewable by clicking Find a Location

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Universal/ARS Heating & Cooling has received 3.7 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Universal/ARS Heating & Cooling

1465 Beaver Ruin Rd

Norcross, GA 30093-3211

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • Universal Heating Cooling & Fireplaces, LLC

    1465 Beaver Ruin Rd 

    Norcross, GA 30093-3211(770) 908-8488
    (770) 882-2568
    Fax: (770) 908-8487

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Universal/ARS Heating & Cooling is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (678) 569-7979
  • (678) 909-4026
  • (770) 882-2568
  • (678) 269-6704
  • (678) 389-4623
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Heating & Air Conditioning

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.