BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/2011

South Air, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (678) 721-6992Fax: (678) 721-43581575 Highway 411 NE Ste 107, CartersvilleGA 30121-6100 Send email to South Air, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/2011

BBB has determined that South Air, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised South Air, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on South Air, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
09/04/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Charged for services that were not provided and owner has refused to substantiate or refund the charges.
Contractor is essentially committing fraud against me by charging me for services that were not rendered and not refunding when brought to their attention. I was charged a total of $500 on my credit card for South Air to perform an evaporator unit replacement under a ***** ******** Home Warranty plan. The invoice lists $75 for drain modifications, $75 for copper modifications, and $350 for non-covered sheet metal modifications. The installing technician could not explain what sheet metal modifications were made in my home prior to or after service. I contacted the main office immediately after service because there did not appear to be any sheet metal modifications made to my equipment. The new unit was just taped to the existing ducting and covered with mastic. There were no sheet metal parts to even modify since my ducting is not sheet metal. Apparently the contractors computer system automatically enters in sheet metal regardless of the actual material used in my home. That is a significant issued because sheet metal work is very expensive compared to work on duct board systems like mine. So I am being charged for something that never happened but also at a higher rate than what is applicable to the materials in my home! The $350 charge should be completely refunded. When brought to the attention the manager (***** ******** he offered to refund $75 after calling the main office several times. He contacted the warranty company to verify they were covering everything properly - which they were, but that did not resolve my complaint that there were no sheet metal modifications made in my home and therefore there shouldn't be any charge - regardless of what the warranty covers or not. The charge is completely artificial. The timeline of events is as follows:
7/18 - technicians arrive to replace unit
7/18 - left message for manager with secretary but manager was unavailable
7/22 - called to talk to manager since no response but not available
7/25 - called again and got through to *****. Offered $75 off and to call warranty company to verify accuracy of coverage.
7/26 - called to check status but ***** not available
7/29 - ***** asked and received response from warranty company but not shared with me
7/31 - Having not heard anything, I requested an immediate refund of $300 by email to ***** or else will have to file a small claims case if not received by 8/10
7/31 - ***** forwards warranty company response saying they don't need to cover anything else
7/31 - Responded to ***** that their response is irrelevant since the problem is that I was charged for something that never happened - not that I was charged for services that should have been covered.
8/5 - ***** responds that he will give 50% off but does not say 50% off if what. (The $500 or the $350)
8/7 - Responded to ***** that I want $300 by 8/10 according to what I've already requested.

Desired Settlement
I have requested, but not yet received, a refund of$300 in order to expedite resolution - instead of the full $350 - as a compromise so we could avoid having to file a small claims dispute. However, if the buisness was really honest in their dealings, they would refund the full $350. The manager declined my request and offered a vague alternative for a lesser amount (50% off - but never said off of what - the full invoice of $500 or just the $350 in dispute? Either way I do not find that acceptable because at the least I am having to pay $100 for something I never received. In my offer, I'm only losing $50.).

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******** Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *********************
First, I want to apologize for taking so long to respond. I have researched the complaint with the technician and through the homeowners warranty company.

The warranty company gives us a list of non covered items that we must call in. Sometimes they group items together and sheet metal modifications just happens to be one of those items. Sheet metal modifications can include duct and transition modifications regardless of its material (Example - duct board.)

Yes, I agree that $350 was too high for the modifications. However, since modifications were performed (sealing the "duct board" with mastic) the charge should have only been $175.

I am willing to refund the homeowner $175 of his $350 paid.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was already offered a refund of $175 prior to filing this complaint. If I thought that was a reasonable remedy, I wouldn't have filed this complaint.

A half gallon tub of mastic costs $15. A 50 yard roll of aluminum tape costs $8. It can't take much longer than 20 minutes to tape and apply mastic if the technician works at a slow pace. Subtracting the cost of even these excessive quantities of materials, that means you're charging me a ridiculous labor rate of $456 per hour.

Claiming this is a modification is also ridiculous since all you did was restore the unit to its previous condition. Nothing was changed except for the inexpensive expendable materials. There is no itemization for expendable materials on the invoice.

I want a refund of $300. Anything else, and I'll see you in court for the full amount + fees. It is a bad buisness practice to manipulate the charges you make against warranty customers by upcharging people for work that isn't applicable and that you couldn't have done.

Business' Final Response
Again I am sorry that the homeowner is upset.

This is not a matter on how slow our employees work. They take pride in their work and do their job correctly. The job did not just consist of going in the attic,placing tape and mastic on the board and saying we are done! The homeowner makes it sound like we just placed mastic on the duct board and left.

We were there to replace an evaporator coil in the attic per their home warranty company. Our dispatcher called the homeowner prior to the call to go over the non covered charges, the homeowner agreed to charges so we proceeded with the install on 7/17/13.

It was not till after the install that the issue of overcharging was brought up. I have tried to correct the mistake that was made.

Homeowner was charged:
$350 sheet metal mods, $75 copper mods,and $75 drain mods.

This should have been $175 plenum mods, $75 copper mods, and $75 drain mods

Again, these amounts are within the homeowners home warranty guidelines. They are based on how difficult and the size of the job. We have to call these amounts into the warranty company. We do not make up these prices.

I am sorry the homeowner was not happy with our service, hopefully the system is still working properly. I am still willing to give the homeowner a refund of $175 for our error.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning, Furnace Cleaning, Furnace Sales & Service, Humidifying Apparatus, Heating Equipment, Air Duct Restoration, Air Duct Systems, Air Duct Cleaning, Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Air Quality Service, Heating & Air Conditioning - Filters, Dehumidifying Equipment, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Geothermal Heating & Cooling, Heating Contractors, Heat Pumps, Carbon Monoxide Detecting, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/22/2006Business started: 02/10/2004
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Secretary of State- Professional Licensing Boards
237 Coliseum Dr
Macon, GA 31217-3805
(478) 207-2440
http://www.sos.ga.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: February 2004, GA

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Vicki Hambrick (CEO)Mr David Roussel
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning, Furnace Cleaning, Furnace Sales & Service, Humidifying Apparatus, Heating Equipment, Air Duct Restoration, Air Duct Systems, Air Duct Cleaning, Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Air Quality Service, Heating & Air Conditioning - Filters, Dehumidifying Equipment, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Geothermal Heating & Cooling, Heating Contractors, Heat Pumps, Carbon Monoxide Detecting, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Photos & Videos

Photographs

1 Photo

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for South Air, Inc.

1575 Highway 411 NE Ste 107

Cartersville, GA 30121-6100

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 1575 Highway 411 NE Ste 107 

    Cartersville, GA 30121-6100

  • 29 Maple Ridge Dr Ste 113 

    Cartersville, GA 30121-2293Fax: (678) 721-4358

  • PO Box 4059 

    Cartersville, GA 30120-1718

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*South Air, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Heating & Air Conditioning

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.