BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/20/2013

Piedmont Mechanical Contractors, Inc.

Phone: (770) 266-4040Fax: (770) 544-7671View Additional Phone Numbers190 Old Loganville Rd, LoganvilleGA 30052-2499 Send email to Piedmont Mechanical Contractors, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/20/2013

BBB has determined that Piedmont Mechanical Contractors, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Piedmont Mechanical Contractors, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service14
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 15

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Piedmont Mechanical Contractors, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (15)
08/23/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Multiple failed attempts to diagnose problem with A/C. Did not order necessary part for 2 weeks. Could not properly install part when it arrived.
Technicians came to our house 4 or 5 times spanning two months (July-Aug) to diagnose problem causing our A/C to blow warm air; but, each time were either unable to determine the problem or identified it as something that was not causing the issue. Our home warranty required us to use this contractor. In the latest visit, the technician said we needed a new compressor motor and that it would likely be ready by the end of the week. Two weeks passed with no word called back and found out no part had been ordered. When the tech finally came out the following week he was unable to install the new part and left with no indication of when he would be back.

Desired Settlement
I want my A/C to be fixed now. This has gone on for weeks and every second of further delay is totally unacceptable.

Final Consumer Response
The service technician returned on Monday and completed the repair

10/19/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Contractor damaged our car while leaving premises
We had a home warranty with American Home Shield. Our AC went out in the house, Piedmont Mechanical was assigned to our service. It took Piedmont Mechanical over a month to come out and fix our service. The day that they came to replace the AC, the technician hit our Honda Accord in our drive way. We called the police to get a police report. We got an estimate from the collision repair and provided that to Piedomont mechanical. Piedmont's manager had a check sent to our for 1500 for the repair. Once the car got to the repair shop and they started doing work, they were additional damages to the door. We forwarded this to ****. We have called several times and no response. On Monday, Sept. 28th we did get in touch with **** and he stated that he got our information but didn't feel he needed to pay for the additional damages to the car. He was supposed to call the collision repair location to discuss the damages and give us a call back on solution. After several attempts, **** has not called us back and is not returning the call to the collision repair. We even advised **** that since the car is in the shop, we will need to rent a car which in the interim which he is also responsible for. At this time, he is refusing to accept calls or returns our emails.

Desired Settlement
Piedmont Mechanical has admitted to the wrongdoing to our personal property. There are additional charges to fix the damages to our car. We have been attempting to call and email the manager, ****, as well as the car collision repair to obtain the money to fix the car. Piedmont mechanical has not returned any calls. Every time we call, we get the answer that manager **** in not available and there is no one else we can speak with.

Final Consumer Response
The issue has been resolved satisfactorily.

12/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My complaint with Piedmont Mechanical stems from multiple appointments promised, but no one called or arrived as promised. I had a warranty claim through ******** **** ****** and was contacted by Piedmont Mechanical on 7 June 2014. During this call I was told that someone would contact me on 9 June 2014 to schedule my service appointment. No one ever called and no one contacted me. I contacted them on 18 June 2014 and was told by a receptionist that someone would call me by the end of the day to confirm my appointment time for 19 June 2014. Again, I did not receive a call and no one showed up on 19 June 2014. When I complained to the warranty company, Piedmont Mechanical lied and said I cancelled the appointment. This was a recall item and as such there was no benefit for me to cancel since my basement A/C is still not working. ******** **** ****** subsequently reassigned the service request to another local contractor. It is important to note that this has happened in January and again in March. Also, I was promised by Piedmont Mechanical that I would receive priority service since I currently have a maintenance contract with them. Each time I have called and asked to speak with the manager or owner, I am told they are either not in or in a meeting. My last contact with Piedmont was on 24 June 2014 at approximately 8:45 AM. I am appalled by this level of customer service directly related to Piedmont's scheduling. This reflects poorly on the company overall despite the high level of service by the technicians once they finally arrive.
Product_Or_Service: Service contract

Desired Settlement
I paid for my service contract in April 2014 and have used 1 of the 2 services. I request to be refunded half of the contract amount. I would rather start over again with another company than to be affiliated with a company who is dishonest and provides poor customer service.

Business Response
We are sorry for your inconvenience. The technician that repaired your downstairs system in Nov. of 2013 and your basement system last Feb. moved out of the area in March. Our previous management was to inform your home warranty company that we would no longer be able to service the area anymore. We took note in our database that the call was made by one of our managers in March.

Of course we went ahead and honored the maintenance agreement we had with you and serviced your AC systems on April 23rd. We found a small problem with the basement system and needed to replace a contractor to insure proper cooling during the coming heat wave. Your home warranty company needed to open our account for the area back up to send us the work order,which they did and we replaced the contractor.

The area should have been taken back off of our account right after the call was placed but unfortunately that did not happen. Our records show in June we received a service request from your warranty company to look at one of your ac systems and that we called them right after receiving the request to transfer the call to another company that services the area. We were told by the representative they didn't know why Fayetteville was still in our service area with them and they removed us from the list a final time.

Piedmont Mechanical will promptly refund half of the maintenance agreement total. Again I apologize for the inconvenience and hope to resolve this matter with your 100% satisfaction.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I understand and can appreciate your company's situation. Your resolution is more than fair and I will graciously accept. Thank you!

******* *. *********

08/09/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company is by far the worst I have ever encountered. We were "assigned" to them by our home warranty company and have had problems ever since. The first appointment was 5/25 where a leak was "repaired". The second appointment was 7/12 but the technician was unable to complete any work as the unit was frozen. However, no one at Piedmont mechanical advised us to turn off the unit so it could thaw, resulting in a wasted appointment and more days without a functional unit! (Why were we not worked in for the next day as it was Piedmont Mechanical's fault for a wasted appointment?) The third appointment was 7/15 where another leak was found and repaired, at which point the technician told us he "missed it the first time". Our most recent appointment was on 7/23 and our unit has now been found to need a new evaporator coil, which we were told will arrive at least 3-5 business days from the time it is ordered. Why was the evaporator coil not checked at the first or even second appointment?? We have now been without a fully functioning unit for the better part of 2 months and with two small babies in our house, this is getting ridiculous and is not acceptable. I have spoken with the office staff several times and each time have been unable to speak with the supervisor. Nor has she returned any of my messages or calls. Everyone so far has denied my request for a refund on the service fee we paid initially. The refunded fee is the least of my requests right now as the service has been awful. I also don't understand why I was denied a request to go ahead and get on the service schedule while waiting for the coil to come in. Now that the coil is in (7/28) we are unable to get an appointment until 8/2. I understand timing of ordering parts and installation but we would absolutely not be in this predicament if it weren't for Piedmont Mechanical's misdiagnoses and incompetence in the first place.
Product_Or_Service: Service Fee

Desired Settlement
I believe this company should not even be in business (reading other Yelp reviews has confirmed that many other people agree with me). A refund of the service fee (paid to Piedmont based on home warranty contract) is my request as I feel we should not be paying for this horrible service.

Business Response
Piedmont mechanical repaired a small freon leak on this system on 5/25 and recharged the unit with refrigerant. The entire system was checked for leaks and none were found at that time.

Almost two months later (7/15) Piedmont Mechanical returned to repair another leak on the system. "at no charge". Again the system was checked for leaks, using nitrogen and a pressure gauge. No other leaks were found at this time.

Piedmont Mechanical does inform all of its customers about the chance that the system could be frozen and we ask everyone to turn their system off before our arrival to prevent further delays. We do this as a courtesy. It is not a requirement and certainly not our fault if a system is frozen upon arrival.

As far as the delay in scheduling for the evaporator coil install, we do not schedule appointments with any of our customers until all parts have arrived, in case the parts do not arrive in time. This would cause another missed day of work for you.

Piedmont Mechanical did not misdiagnose your AC system. Your AC system developed multiple leaks over several months time, which is very common on older systems. Your system freezing up and thawing out several times over the last several months is what caused the evaporator coil to start leaking. Once that leak was discovered on the last trip out we ordered the coil as fast as we could for you.

We apologize about any inconvenience but will not be able to issue you a refund for your $75 service fee from May of 2016. This fee was collected "on behalf" of AHS, so you must go through them for a refund of the service fee.




Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I'm not really sure what else to say at this point that I didn't include in my original comments and then the addition after Piedmont refused to come back to our home to complete the work. I stand by what I sent originally and seems it really comes down to my word vs. theirs. Our home warranty company (HSA) told me to discuss the refund with Piedmont and, as previously stated, all requests had been ignored until this report was filed.

07/06/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Piedmont Mechanical charged and has not delivered on a repair of an AC unit.
6/8/2015 - AC dies. AHS deploys Piedmont Mechanical to diagnose the issue - they arrive on 6/10/15. They say that there is a Freon leak and charge me $635 (which I stupidly pay via check instead of credit card) to refill.
6/12/15 - the AC isn't working, so we call up AHS. Piedmont arrives on 6/15/15 and says that the coil is broken. That is covered by the AHS, but then begins the massive upselling campaign - replace the plastic pan with a metal pan - $800. I decline - the next tactic is "the coil will not fit, so there will be a modification fee which will not be covered by AHS". I defer to the actual bill. I am told that I have nothing to do and that Piedmont would submit the order to AHS for a new coil (3-5 days). It is 97 degrees outdoors, and 88 degrees in-doors (my wife has asthma, and my 71 year old in-law is visiting). On Wednesday, my wife calls Piedmont and is told that they have "hundreds of requests and ours is at the bottom of the pile and they haven't placed the order for the coil with AHS. When explained that it is 88 degrees indoors, the wife has asthma and 70+ year old parents visiting, she is told that "you have 2 units. one if working, you should be fine". I don't care if I have 15 units - they hadn't done what they were supposed to. They also conceded that AHS customers don't get the same priority as their direct customers. (The person stating all of this is, Bill - the manager). He then hangs up on my wife saying that he doesn't have time to explain. I call Piedmont on 6/17/15 when I get back from work and leave them a voicemail asking for an ETA. On 6/18/15 - my wife is on hold for 35 minutes and the line is cut, I am on hold for 30 minutes before I hang up. No response from Piedmont. I just received a call from AHS that Piedmont is now requiring a $250 out of pocket fee for switch on the pan (remember the pan they were trying to upsell me for $800)?

So to summarize, it is 88 degrees in the house, we haven't had AC for about 10 days. I am out $635 dollars, and nothing has been fixed. I want my money back (every penny of my $635.00).

Desired Settlement
I want a full refund of my $635.00. I want nothing to do with Piedmont Mechanical - I have told AHS the same that I don't want to deal with them anymore and to cancel the call. AHS will be providing me the funds to get the coil fixed through another contractor. However, since I paid $635 for a service that didn't actually fix anything, I want a full refund.

Business Response
Piedmont Mechanical charged you $635 for freon after repairing a leak in your system. After fixing that leak another leak formed in a different place so we came back out, found that leak and ordered you a brand new evaporator coil.


You signed and agreed to pay the $635 under the terms that if your freon leaked back out within 90 days there would be no additional charges for freon. Piedmont has held up its end of that deal and did not attempt to charge you for freon again.


Per Georgia code if AC equipment is being replaced the contractor must bring that system up to code during the install. You do not have an emergency drain pan under your evap. coil which is code. This pan would prevent your house from flooding in case of a water leak and it is our responsibility to bring this to your attention. We did not try to UPSELL you anything. Its required of us.


As far as the $250 charge to change the coil out, that is something AHS has decided not to cover per the contract you signed with them. Its has nothing to do with Piedmont Mechanical beside the fact we will not install the coil without it. Again this is required of us per Georgia code. Piedmont Mechanical has done nothing but try to protect you as a homeowner by bringing these code upgrades to your attention.





Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Factually incorrect! There was a plastic pan and safety turn-off switch in the pan. This was the first case of the upselling effort ($800) to replace the plastic pan with a metal pan. We bought the house less than a year ago, and the inspector validated that it was under code. We also have 2 reputable HVAC contractors come last week to validate (both of these are BBB A and A+ rated, and rated A with Angie's List) - and they both said that everything was fine and nothing was out of code. They did say that replacing the coil would be short term in that if the condenser failed, that the coil and the condenser would need to be replaced. One of them is here right now (6/23) - I asked them and they confirmed that nothing was out of code.

Going back to original complaints:
- Once the payment was made, the inability to return calls to schedule the coil replacement. Also, hanging up on my wife, and telling her that we are a low priority since we have another AC unit. I like how "code and contracts" appear to be a one-way applicable perspective here.
- The $635 was to fix a problem - the problem was never actually fixed. This is considered services not rendered and entitles me to a refund.
- We spoke with AHS about the $250 this morning, and they said that this is a Piedmont fee about the code - not an AHS fee.

Final Business Response
About the "upselling" I am obligated to inform all customers of safety risks or liablities to thier home.

After speaking with the technician he has informed me that yes you did have a plastic pan under the furnace. This pan is in very bad condition, is flattened out in some spots and also had cracks in a few places. The float switch that you have is designed for "METAL PANS". When the float switch was installed they tightned it to the plastic pan and caused cracks around where it was mounted, not to mention the float was old and out of date.

Piedmont mechanical does not install float switches per company policy. "They are very unreliable" We install wet switches which do not mount to the side of the pan. They sit in the bottom of the pan. These other companies may say right now your pan is fine the way it is, but I can assure you if you paid them to replace the entire system they would recommend you replace the drain pan and safety device. "Most companies would simply roll it into the price without you ever knowing to cover themselves if a water leak did occur in the future."

To end this "forced upgrade complaint" All you had to do was decline the upgrades and sign our invoice stating that Piedmont Mechanical would not be responsible for any water damage should your existing pan or switch fail. Thats it, we still would have installed the evaporator coil but would not be liable for water damages in the future.

The $635 you paid was not to fix your air conditioner. It was to fill your system with freon, which again you agreed to and should have expected it due to it clearly stating on your contract that ahs only coveres $10 per lb of freon. Your home warranty pays Piedmont to fix or replace the air conditioner at your home, making us a third party. THE ONLY THING YOU PAID FOR WAS FREON BEING ADDED TO THE SYSTEM. Not for repairs.

Our technician explained to you the cost for freon that day. You agreed to pay for freon and signed our invoice agreeing to pay for the freon. We warranty freon for 90 days and would have installed your evapoartor coil with no additial charge for freon. So again there will be no refund for freon that we already put into your system.

To end you say you want a refund because the problem was not fixed. We held our end up and agreed to come back and replace the evap coil which would fix the problem. You stopped that process by not allowing us back out to complete the job. Have a nice day.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Any arbitrator would agree that the payment made was to resolve the issue - not to fix a symptom that didn't actually fix anything. I still claim that the $635 was to fix the problem. You claim that we never responded -- once again, if you refer to my initial complaint, once you got our money, you told my wife that you had other customers who were more important and you admitted that since this is a warranty through AHS that we were not a priority. Infact, I even called 2 days in a row and left a voicemail to return my call - no response from Piedmont. So let's not be disingenuous about your intent to ever fix anything because you admitted that to my wife. A have consulted with some acquaintances, and the consensus is that the spirit of the law would support that $635 was to fix the problem - which was never fixed (telephone records show that we called - I called twice and my wife called 3 times - with no response) -- and not be limited to "Freon".

I am not willing to concede that point. We paid money for services not rendered. I have a warranty and the warranty states that I should be back to working condition -- I never got back to working condition; instead I got billed and left in the heat without a working AC until I had to find alternatives.

01/22/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Piedmont mechanical was sent out to my home on 06/16/14 to repair my AC unit. Per the representative, the ac was experiencing low voltage and needed a wire repair. I paid the technician $125. The next day the AC unit went out. I contacted Piedmont and they indicated they would contact me when they could come out. They finally called on Wednesday indicating they would send a technician out from 2-7. The same technician came out and 2 hours later he stated he didn't have a clue what was wrong with the AC unit and he would let Piedmont mechanical know so they could contact me. On Thursday, after not receiving any type of communication from Piedmont, I contacted them. I asked to speak to the manager, ****. The rep indicated that she was on the phone and would call me back. I explained to the representative the issue that I had been dealing with since Monday and wanted to know why they sent out the same technician. She put me on a brief hold and then came back and indicated that they were trying to find a head technician since the one they sent out was not experienced. Today 06/20/14 I contacted them again to find out when the technician was coming out and they indicated they didn't know when someone was coming out. As a customer, with small children in a home with temperatures in excess of 88 degrees, I feel that this company basically robbed me of $125 dollars, never once kept me in the loop as to what was going, had the audacity to tell me that they would reschedule me when they got a chance, and not once has the manager contacted me since this issue started. Most of my time and energy has been spent phone tagging this company. I have never experienced such deplorable treatment as a customer. Now, I am having to search for a new AC contractor that will not be out until next Monday (06/23/14).
Product_Or_Service: Service Job

Desired Settlement
$125 service fee

Business Response
Mrs. *****, I apologize about the experience you had with Piedmont Mechanical in June. The service technician that arrived at your home "****", was a young man we hired from a local technical school with a great reputation. He received additional training for 6 months riding along with one of our senior techs and went out on his own in February.

He performed quite well, in his first few months overall and has grown into an outstanding technician in his first year with us. Senior technicians can run into problems that are sometimes quite difficult to figure out and on ***** first trip to your home he found a single air handler being operated by multiple thermostats which can be difficult to diagnose. Luckily he found the problem which was a wiring issue inside the air handler. He made the needed repairs and the issue seemed to be fixed and the system began to cool.This was on June 16th at 7:00pm

Of course the next day the AC system stopped working again and a recall was placed. We were booked days in advance at that point and tried to get a senior technician for you. To avoid having to wait several days we sent **** back to diagnose the issue on June the 18th.

After spending two hours attempting to find a short in the thermostat wires, possibly inside a wall we decided to see if we could get a second opinion from another ******** **** ****** company.Its very rare that we do this, but it is a great resource AHS offers.

We chose this route to avoid having to wait on a senior technician and hopefully get you service the next day. On our end we were informed that day, **** had called ******** **** ****** and requested a second opinion to be ran by another company and we were told this was approved and another company would be contacting you shortly.

Our office was contacted the next day on the 19th of June by ******** **** ****** asking what our diagnosis was. Lisa the manager went ahead and explained what was going on and had the call transferred.

I am very sorry for the late response and your inconvenience, as our BBB email was set up through our manager. Piedmont Mechanical has corrected these issues and replaced it's management staff. We have worked very hard to improve our customer relations this year have gotten great results so far.

On behalf of Piedmont Mechanical I would like to apologize again and offer to refund the full $125 service fee we collected at that time. If we meet again in the future you can rest assured customer cummun

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I accept the apology. As a customer, I just wanted quality service for the time that I was having issues with my ac unit. I would have preferred this be handled 5 months ago, but I do accept the companies apology. Thank you BBB for helping me with this issue.

Final Consumer Response
REF: Continue to pursue my complaint against Piedmont Mechanical Contractors, Inc.

To Whom It May Concern:

This additional complaint is in reference to case #********. On 06/20/14, I filed a complaint against Piedmont Mechanical due to an AC repair not completed and their terrible customer service (how the situation was handled). I received a notification from BBB on 12/01/14 indicating my case had been reopened (did not hear from Piedmont since the complaint was filed with BBB on 06/20/14) and Piedmont had finally after 6 months to responded to my complaint. In their response (I have documentation); they specifically stated that they would be issuing a full refund in the amount of $125 (service I originally paid). I am not aware of this company's protocol for the issuing of refunds but 30 days has passed and I have not received any type of refund from this company. Not only am I disappointed (once again) with how Piedmont has once again handled this complaint. I am once again having to take time out my busy schedule to file another complaint to insure that this company is held accountable for their actions.

At this time, I would like the BBB to continue to pursue my complaint against Piedmont Mechanical.

Thank you,

********* *. *****


Final Business Response
Mrs. ***** I am sorry for the delay. We attempted to contact you shortly after responding to the complaint so we could get the correct name and mailing address to send the check to. Our phone number is ************ or ************. Please contact us at the office so we can get any new numbers you may have. I will be trying again to contact you on the number we were provided by your warranty company.

12/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unreliable company, when you call their business number it rings and rings forever. Finally got a technician to come ""***"" was rude from the start. We have been waiting for over a month on a part that they didn't have and they came and fixed finally it yesterday but that same day we had water leak from furnace due to them not glued a tube. *** came and said that this company not responsible!!!! And wanted for me to sign a paper stating that, otherwise they wouldn't fix it. I replied that I was not signing anything and that they are responsible. He got on his car and left. Have two grand kids living with me ages ( 2 and 4)and it is over 90 degrees outside.

Desired Settlement
I need them to fix the AC and the damages they did from their terrible job

Business Response
Piedmont Mechaincal installed a compressor at Mrs. *********'s residence on June 19th of 2014. We were contracted through ******** **** ****** to do the repairs so we had to wait until AHS shipped us their compressor. This is the cause for the delay.

We went back out the day after the compressor was installed, after the customer called about a water leak inside the home. The compressor we replaced was outside the home. Never once did we go into the attic and mess with their AC drain line. There would be no reason for us to go near it due to the drain line being inside their attic, and the compressor being outside of the home.

When we arrived we found that a previous company had installed a float switch device onto their drain line, not in the drain pan. When they installed this float switch they never glued the line to the evaporator coil, which produces water.

Once we got the compressor replaced the unit started cooling and producing water, which took a few hours to fill their drain pan. After the pan filled with water it began flowing into the drain line and pushed the drain line out of the evaporator coil, causing water to leak down onto the ceiling.

Whoever installed the float switch did not glue the drain line and that is what caused their damages, all we did was replace a part on the outside unit. Never once did Piedmont Mechanical touch their drain line prior to it falling off and leaking water.

12/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I can also add Customer Service Issues and Guarantee or Warranty Issues to this list, but I could only choose 1. Piedmont Mechanical was dispatched to my home via a home warranty (American Home Shield) to fix my AC 6/10, which was not running and also leaking. Contractor supposedly fixed, charging me a $75 service fee, as well as an additional $150 for freon he allegedly added to my outside unit. He also refused to remove the collected water from the drain pan, and told me I needed to purchase a shop vac myself to do so. But he needed to test the float prior to leaving, so I gave him a cup and a towel and told him to go for it. Shouldn't that be part of the service? Upon leaving, he told me there was a 90 day guarantee. On 6/11, the unit was still leaking into the drain pan. I called 6/12 to report and request another service call, and did not receive a call back. I called again on 6/16 as the leak became much worse over the weekend. Still did not receive a call back. I called AHS 6/16 to report, and finally received a return call on 6/17. Contractor came out again the evening of 6/18 and still did not fix. He was supposed to call in a work order for AHS to approve further repairs and parts, and said I would receive a call back that evening or next morning. By noon on 6/19, I had not received any calls, so called AHS myself. They called Piedmont only to find out that the contractor had never called the work order in. I was told that I would receive a call back that afternoon and an appt the same day, neither happened. I called AHS again the evening of 6/19, only to discover that the work order STILL had not been submitted, more than 24 hours after leaving my home. I was told to call the contractor myself, which I did with no reply (12+ hrs). I feel that nearly 2 weeks with non-functioning AC is extreme, and should be escalated to emergency status. Based on their refusal to return calls, Piedmont clearly does not feel the same. I have hired another contractor and am paying them out of pocket.
Product_Or_Service: AC repair
Account_Number: ********* (AHS)

Desired Settlement
I have disputed the service call charge to my credit card, as the service has not been rendered. I would also like to be reimbursed for out of pocket expenses I am having to pay to another contractor, who WAS able to make a same day service call. If Piedmont Mechanical could not handle this service (the contractor told me he "had never done this before"), they should have informed AHS to assign another contractor instead of letting this drag out for nearly 2 weeks.

Business Response
Piedmont Mechanical was contracted through ******** **** ****** to service Mr. ******** AC system. When we arrived on the 10th of June, we found a clogged AC drain line, which we unclogged while we were there. We also made a freon leak repair at the outdoor unit and added freon, which was not covered by their AHS contract.

Piedmont received a recall from AHS on the 16th and we returned on the 18th. We found that the evaporator had begun to leak water and our technician recommended replacement of the evaporator coil.

This was called into ******** **** ****** for approval and ******** **** ****** denied their claim, and did not approve the replacement of their evaporator coil. There is nothing we can do as a company when we are not approved for further repairs by ******** **** ****** as they have the final decision over what is replaced or repaired. Mr. ****** was given the option to pay out of pocket for the replacement, which he declined.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Very little of the above statement is true, and thanks for your rapid response, riddled with spelling mistakes, six months later. No matter, the repairs were completed, by a qualified company, and the charge was successfully disputed on my credit card. In addition, I even received a partial refund on the service call from ******** **** ******, so I believe everyone else is on the same page as to where the customer service issues lie. Good luck keeping your company afloat, and have a great day!

Final Business Response

I am very sorry about the experience you had using ******** **** ****** and Piedmont Mechanical.

We received a request from ******** **** ****** on June 8th 2014 at 3:31 PM to service your air conditioner. By 3:30 in the afternoon we already had the next day fully booked, so we arrived on June 10th at 10 AM, within 48 hours of receiving the call.

The technician unclogged your upstairs AC drain line, and noticed the system was low on freon. He found the leak, repaired it and made you aware of the $150 charge for freon, which AHS did not cover. You agreed to the amount and we added 3 lbs of freon to your system. Yes we did give you a 90 day guarantee on the freon. If it leaked back out before 90 days, we would not charge you again for the service fee, repairs or freon.

Piedmont Mechanical can not be responsible for the removal of water after an AC flood. We treat it just like a flooded basement from an AC leak. That is up to the homeowner to clean up the water. Some of these drain pans can hold several gallons of water at a time and we would risk causing water damage to your home should the technician spill any of this water, trying to get it out of the attic. It doesn't take very long for the water to evaporate in a hot attic, but if the homeowner wants it removed right away we will at least tell them how they can remove it. I apologize but this is company policy.

We received a recall from ******** **** ****** on June 16th with reports of another water leak on the same system. We returned to your home the next day at 10:45 AM.

While we don't record our conversations over the phone, we tell all of our AHS customers, if you still have problems after our first visit, you must call ******** **** ****** and let them know that the AC is still not working. ******** **** ****** will then find out who ran the call and send them a recall service request.

It is ******** **** ****** policy that all return trips to a customers house must be called into ******** **** ****** first. We are not authorized by ******** **** ****** to perform any work at the home until a recall work order has been sent to us. We did not receive a recall from AHS until June 16th and were back at your home on June 18th.

On June 18th our technician arrived and opted to replace the entire evaporator coil instead of attempting any further repairs due to its age. This was at 6:00 PM which is when our office closes during the summer months. The next day we began to process the evening install requests from the previous day.

We had to call supply houses that were very busy in June to get pricing on the equipment and find out the costs for any additional work that needed to be done to install your coil.

It was not a typical installation and needed more materials than what was considered normal. We needed to bring your system up to code due to its age and had to price all this out before we called it into ******** **** ******.

On June 20th, in the morning we called AHS for approval to replace the evaporator coil. AHS denied the claim, telling us that they would not cover the replacement of the evaporator coil and the homeowner would have to pay us out of pocket to do the job.

Anytime this happens, the ******** **** ****** agent we spoke with is to call the homeowner right away and inform them of the denial. We are not to contact the homeowner anymore, unless the customer is paying for the replacement of the coil.

******** **** ****** contacted us the next day, asking us to call in the diagnosis. We told them we already did, but they had no record of it being denied. So we called back into AHS and we were told that they were going to transfer the call for a second opinion, which happens all the time on denials. This is an opportunity for the homeowner to get a second chance at getting the evaporator coil covered and replaced by ******** **** ******.

3 days later on June 24th we were contacted by AHS again to call in our diagnosis. We again called it in and at that point they went ahead with the denial and we were told to close the ticket out.

Again, I apologize about your inconvenience and hope this matter can come to a close.


Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning, Heating Equipment, Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Appliances - Major - Service & Repair, Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Contractor - Mechanical Insulation, Heating Contractors, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/02/2006Business started: 10/05/2000
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Secretary of State- Professional Licensing Boards
237 Coliseum Dr
Macon, GA 31217-3805
(478) 207-2440
http://www.sos.ga.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 2000, GA

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Russell Waye (CEO)Mr. Robert Waye (Office Manager)
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning, Heating Equipment, Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Appliances - Major - Service & Repair, Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Contractor - Mechanical Insulation, Heating Contractors, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Products & Services

This company offers heating and air conditioning services.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Piedmont Mechanical Contractors, Inc. has received 3.5 out of 5 stars based on 2 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Piedmont Mechanical Contractors, Inc.

190 Old Loganville Rd

Loganville, GA 30052-2499

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 190 Old Loganville Rd 

    Loganville, GA 30052-2499(770) 266-4040
    Fax: (770) 544-7671

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Piedmont Mechanical Contractors, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (404) 569-9406
  • (770) 554-2886
  • (770) 554-7674
  • (770) 778-1012
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Heating & Air Conditioning

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.