BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/01/1991

Coolray Heating & Air Conditioning

Phone: (770) 421-8400Fax: (770) 429-89101787 Williams Dr, MariettaGA 30066-6223 Send email to Coolray Heating & Air Conditioning

0TRUSTS
0 People Trust Coolray Heating & Air Conditioning

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/01/1991

BBB has determined that Coolray Heating & Air Conditioning meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Coolray Heating & Air Conditioning's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service8
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 9

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (9)BBB Closure Definitions
12/17/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Delayed completion of service

Complaint: Scheduled service time was not kept. Employee by the name of ****** was very rude and hung up on my call.
12/06/2013,payment $780.00 for 5 year repair service. Payment via credit card. My tenant and I scheduled service for 12/06/2013, and we both confirmed the date and the hours between 8:00 a.m. and 12:00 p.m. prior to them coming. I contacted CoolRay on Dec. 3, 2013 to confirm appointment, and my tenant confirmed the appointment with me by sending a text message. Mind you he called Coolray before I had. Friday around 11:40 a.m. = 12/06/2013 I contacted coolray and was abrubtly told by the customer service representative ****** that are appoint was for next Friday 12/13/2013. Now my tenant is upset, including me as our time is valuable as much as Coolray values their time and I pay for it. Mr. ****** came back and told me that they would send the next service repair driver to my tenants home, and that he would have helped quicker if I had not been so upset. When I began to speak with him and let him know that people like me help pay his personnal bills, and that he should at least respect the people who pay his and help them out, he abrubtly hung up on me. Now as you could imagine maybe, I was really upset. I have spent nearly $15,000 with this company and then they act is if it is my fault that they have to make an exception in their day to come to my home for planned maintenance. I am hoping this is just ******'s thought process. Now I had to call back, and when I did, my phone abrubtly hung up as soon as it was picked up on the other line. I then called from a different phone line and a nice lady went back to double check and confirm that the dispatcher would be sending the next service truck. Now we do not know when he is coming and I have an upset tenant that has other things to do in his life as well. I need compensation for my tenants time as well as mine. We did not deserve to be treated this way by such a reputable company. Someone went in and changed the dates without notifiying us, as I am fairly certain that two different customers attached to the same property, calling at different times and getting the same date of 12/06/13 cannot be wrong. I also hope that ****** as spoken with as soon as possible about his demeanor on the phone. Customer service personnel with an upset customer needs to allow them to vent. Then speak calmly and see how you can help them. Often times the customer has a valid reason for being upset, as I have with this case. The customer should feel as if it's his fault, because the customer service representative is having a bad and wants the customer to get the feeling it is his fault. I promise you that we had a confirmed date of today 12/06/2013. From now on to avoid any other hassles, I will make sure that Coolray sends me a confirmation email with the date of service maintenance. I had another issue on the last visit where the service man was to call me the owner of the property to allow me time to get to the property at **** **** ******* **. Unfortunately for me Coolray never called me. So this time I've been more proactive to ensure when they are coming. Right now I am hoping that my tenant isn't upset and decides to go for the rest of the day on a Friday. His an Air Marshall and has a various working schedule. I really hope that this will be the last issue as I had two properties being serviced. Now I'm feeling that I may have hired the wrong company and I am stuck.

Initial Business Response
I spoke with Mr. ***** this afternoon after receiving this concern. We are a company who believes that customer service is meant to delight all of our customers. If one of our customer service representatives fails to provide our typical required excellent standard, we take it seriously. We have apologized for this incident and have agreed to credit the service call of that day. As well, we are supplying both Mr. ***** and his tenant with "***********". While this will not change what happened, it shows our great concern and care. Additionally, we will conduct additional training for our representative. Again, we express our apologies and thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

07/08/2014Problems with Product / Service
06/26/2013Problems with Product / Service
06/19/2012Advertising / Sales Issues
02/28/2012Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
06/30/2014Problems with Product / Service
04/17/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning, Geothermal Heating & Cooling, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heat Pumps, Heat Recovery Equipment & Systems, Heating & Air Conditioning - Filters, Heating Contractors, Radiant Heating, Air Conditioning Repair, Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning, Air Quality Service, Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment, Air Duct Systems, Air Duct Restoration, Furnace Cleaning, Furnace Sales & Service, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Plumbers

Additional Information

top

On March 15, 2010 Coolray Heating & Cooling, Inc. announced the acquisition of certain assets of the Lawrenceville based Total Comfort, Inc.

BBB file opened: 01/01/1976Business started: 01/01/1966
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Secretary of State- Professional Licensing Boards
237 Coliseum Dr
Macon, GA31217-3805
(478) 207-2440
http://www.sos.ga.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: June 1999, GA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ken Haines (President/CEO)Mr. Eric Evans (Service Manager)
Number of Employees

230

Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning, Geothermal Heating & Cooling, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heat Pumps, Heat Recovery Equipment & Systems, Heating & Air Conditioning - Filters, Heating Contractors, Radiant Heating, Air Conditioning Repair, Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning, Air Quality Service, Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment, Air Duct Systems, Air Duct Restoration, Furnace Cleaning, Furnace Sales & Service, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Plumbers

Products & Services

This company installs and services heating & A/C systems.

Industry Tips
Air Conditioning Service and Maintenance
Dont Get Burned by Furnace Fraud
Fall Inspections Make for Warmer Winters
Heating Your Home
Safety Considerations When Using Kerosene Heaters

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Coolray Heating & Air Conditioning

1787 Williams Dr

Marietta, GA 30066-6223

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1787 Williams Dr 

    Marietta, GA 30066-6223(770) 421-8400

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Coolray Heating & Air Conditioning is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.