BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 12/01/1991

Coolray Heating & Air Conditioning

Phone: (770) 421-8400Fax: (770) 424-7474

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service12
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints12

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (12)
05/30/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I contacted Coolray due to my air was not cooling and I had bought the new system in September of 2011 not even five years ago. The fee for coming to service would be $79.00 witch is the normal rate. The person that came to service after not even opening any part to look, tells me he has to charge me another $100.00 to find the leak witch is what he stated it was, I stated so what is the $79.00 charge for he said just for coming out here. At that time I had no choice but to say ok I needed to see what was wrong. The person found that the coil in the furnace had a leak. Know my furnace is a standing one located in the basement of my home witch is very clean and livable, inside a very large opened closet with plenty of room to work in with no need to lay down or clim up for anything. After he looked in there he stated that the coil needed to be replace, but he never stated even though it was right in front of his face the information that the equipment was not even five years old that the part (the coil) was still under warranty and I would only be responsible for the labor and replacing the freon. When I asked for the price that I would have to pay he quoted, labor to change coil and add freon $1,339.00 and $210.00 for 3 lbs of freon totaling $1,549.00 I asked why so much if the part is under warranty, and like always with this big companies there just about NUMBERS and not about the consumers or woman like myself. At that time he asked me if the equipment was under warranty even though he new. At the end I was charged $191.00 for nothing cause he did not preformed any work I was there at all times that could be charge another $112.00 my sister called and spoked to a manager named ***** **** witch only offered to reduce the price from $1,549.00 to $1,161.00 I fell I have been disrespected as a woman, and abuse by the charge of $191.00 service fee not rendered a refund of $112.00 should be issued. Consumers and specially woman be aware.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund of $112.00 for work not performed, and for BBB to informed the consumers and especially woman to be aware of this big companies that are only for the numbers. I was recommended to a small company that treated me with respect and charged me the correct price for replacing a product still under warranty. Thank you

Business Response
We have talked with Ms.******** and discussed all the aspects of her concerns. She understands that our pricing is upfront and the same price is given to every customer. As a good faith gesture, we have agreed to issue the refund requested.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I accept their response because they have agreed to refund me the extra $112.00 that they overcharged me.

Thank you BBB for this assistant on this matter.





































































12/22/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Coolray sent a tech to come fix a wiring problem with Nest thermostat but tech lied claiming my Nest was burned and left w/o fixing problem w/ $139
I contacted Coolray to come and fix a nest wiring problem. The technician arrived and I told him that there is a wiring problem with the Nest unit and it keeps blowing the fuse in the furnace. I told **** that if you change the fuse it works for 10 minutes and blows again and I want the wiring fixed. Instead **** lied to me and said my Nest unit was burned out and that he tested the wires and they were fine and he charged me $139 to cut a black wire. He told me to buy a new Nest unit and it will work, so I went to Home Depot and purchased a new Nest thermostat and plugged it into the wall and it did not power on. So I called **** and he started yelling at me saying he did everything right and if he had to come back again then he would charge me an extra $79. He came back and refused to install the original Nest unit and only installed the new Nest unit and and fixed the wire and then wanted to charge me $129 extra to setup my NEST thermostat programming. I told him I could do it myself and he was super rude and then I took a micro usb cable and powered up the old NEST unit showed him that it was working fine and he should install the old one so I can return the new nest unit which costed me $289 after taxes and he refused to install the old nest unit. I cannot switch the old and new nest unit because they have different plugs for the substation and now I am stuck with an extra NEST for no reason because this tech made a wrong diagnosis of the problem and was in a hurry to leave and charged me $139 for the service and $286 for the new unneeded NEST unit cost me $425 for a simple solution of cutting an extra wire that was tripping the furnace. This is unbelieveable the lack of respect and argumentative nature of the tech and making me wait all day without heat in the cold.

Desired Settlement
I am looking for a refund for the cost of the new Nest unit and the service charge of $139 **** his phone number was ************.

Business Response
We have agreed to reimburse Mr. *** for the cost of the thermostat that he purchased along with a one year maintenance agreement at no charge.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Coolray has agreed to refund me the cost of the Nest unit and has given me a 1 year service warranty on the air conditioner. Great management just wish the technician was honest and did the work right the first time. But they made up for it and I am happy and will definitely do business with them again!

09/11/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
July 16 I called Coolray heating and air company to come to check my AC , I suspect it was leaking water. Coolray sent a service man name******; He went up to the attic to check on the system, but there was no water outside the pen any more. He told me that I might need a whole new system, and they will install a new system for me. I told him this system is only 5 years old, I don't think I need a new one. I also told him don't ruin my AC in this hot weather, at least it is working well right now. He couldn't find anything wrong so he decided to go out side to check on the condenser, and told me my Freon was low. He told me only two things I can do. One is to install a new system, one is to put more Freon in. I thought put Freon will have the least chance for him to mess up my AC. Too bad I was wrong! After he had put the Freon in,my condenser would not come on any more. I called his company to send some one to help him out, and they said they will call him. By the time I went outside to find out if he had gotten it fixed. He said to me that my condenser was going to go bad eventually; he was just unlucky that the condenser quit on him... I ask him what is he going to do, since I am out of air conditioning in this above 90 degree temperature. He said at this point, no one can do anything for you, unless we install a new system for you on Monday July 20th" and he left. The house temperature began to rise. I had to turn on all the fans and open windows. In the mean time, I called few AC repair company to give me an estimation of a new system. Comfort Zone AC company was very kind and thoughtful. They said that they can't do it until Monday the 27. I told them It was too hot to wait. they brought me a window unit to keep me cool, that was on Thursday 23rd. This is what Coolray heating and air should have done for me but they didn't!!!on Friday, Reliance heating and air came to look at the condenser, it took him less than 30 minutes to fix the condenser that Coolray company had broken.

Desired Settlement
Coolray should refund the $380 dollars that I paid to get the condenser fixed. Since they are the one who broke it.

Business Response
We would be willing to consider the customer's resolution but will need to see a copy of the invoice listing the problem and the details of repair. I have called the home number this morning and requested a copy of this invoice.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The reason I won't accept because my AC was working prior to their visit and The service man came and removed the condenser,However he wasn't able to make the AC to start back on. He recommended that I need an entire new system. In addition, they refused to talk to me when I called several times to discuss the issue; leaving me in 90 above degree heat. This has caused me anguish and health issues.

Final Business Response
In the interest of goodwill, we are going to reimburse for the monies spent. However, the condenser failing is typical of a unit this age and not a cause of the repair attempt made by Coolray.



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I accept the settlement of $380 dollars because that is how much it cost me to have another company to repair the condenser. However, I wouldn't trust Coolray Company's judgment anymore; they either have incompetent service men or they are trying to charge me for over 4000 dollars to buy a whole unit.

12/17/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Scheduled service time was not kept. Employee by the name of ****** was very rude and hung up on my call.
12/06/2013,payment $780.00 for 5 year repair service. Payment via credit card. My tenant and I scheduled service for 12/06/2013, and we both confirmed the date and the hours between 8:00 a.m. and 12:00 p.m. prior to them coming. I contacted CoolRay on Dec. 3, 2013 to confirm appointment, and my tenant confirmed the appointment with me by sending a text message. Mind you he called Coolray before I had. Friday around 11:40 a.m. = 12/06/2013 I contacted coolray and was abrubtly told by the customer service representative ****** that are appoint was for next Friday 12/13/2013. Now my tenant is upset, including me as our time is valuable as much as Coolray values their time and I pay for it. Mr. ****** came back and told me that they would send the next service repair driver to my tenants home, and that he would have helped quicker if I had not been so upset. When I began to speak with him and let him know that people like me help pay his personnal bills, and that he should at least respect the people who pay his and help them out, he abrubtly hung up on me. Now as you could imagine maybe, I was really upset. I have spent nearly $15,000 with this company and then they act is if it is my fault that they have to make an exception in their day to come to my home for planned maintenance. I am hoping this is just ******'s thought process. Now I had to call back, and when I did, my phone abrubtly hung up as soon as it was picked up on the other line. I then called from a different phone line and a nice lady went back to double check and confirm that the dispatcher would be sending the next service truck. Now we do not know when he is coming and I have an upset tenant that has other things to do in his life as well. I need compensation for my tenants time as well as mine. We did not deserve to be treated this way by such a reputable company. Someone went in and changed the dates without notifiying us, as I am fairly certain that two different customers attached to the same property, calling at different times and getting the same date of 12/06/13 cannot be wrong. I also hope that ****** as spoken with as soon as possible about his demeanor on the phone. Customer service personnel with an upset customer needs to allow them to vent. Then speak calmly and see how you can help them. Often times the customer has a valid reason for being upset, as I have with this case. The customer should feel as if it's his fault, because the customer service representative is having a bad and wants the customer to get the feeling it is his fault. I promise you that we had a confirmed date of today 12/06/2013. From now on to avoid any other hassles, I will make sure that Coolray sends me a confirmation email with the date of service maintenance. I had another issue on the last visit where the service man was to call me the owner of the property to allow me time to get to the property at **** **** ******* **. Unfortunately for me Coolray never called me. So this time I've been more proactive to ensure when they are coming. Right now I am hoping that my tenant isn't upset and decides to go for the rest of the day on a Friday. His an Air Marshall and has a various working schedule. I really hope that this will be the last issue as I had two properties being serviced. Now I'm feeling that I may have hired the wrong company and I am stuck.

Desired Settlement
I am asking for a refund of service fees on my property **** **** ******* **** ************ GA XXXXX where my tenant is renting. I need to reimburse him for his time and mine. In my opinion customer service and notification of changes if crucial. Maybe Coolray is just too big to handle these tasks, not sure. Please contact me with a resolution as soon as possible.

XXX-XXX-XXXX/**********************

Business Response
I spoke with Mr. ***** this afternoon after receiving this concern. We are a company who believes that customer service is meant to delight all of our customers. If one of our customer service representatives fails to provide our typical required excellent standard, we take it seriously. We have apologized for this incident and have agreed to credit the service call of that day. As well, we are supplying both Mr. ***** and his tenant with "***********". While this will not change what happened, it shows our great concern and care. Additionally, we will conduct additional training for our representative. Again, we express our apologies and thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

06/25/2015Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
01/06/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
September 16,I requested that CoolRay Heating and plumbing come to my aid to stop leakages in my 3 toilets. Upon his arrival he did not introduce himself nor his credentials. He did not listen to my wife's chief concerns , but rather suggested ONLY what he though the problem was by insisting that indoor valves on all 3 toilets be changed(which are in fact in tact) and change out a Prv valve in the garage by busting out the wall.
The wife is an Asian lady with modest English. Mr. ***** took advantage of that since I was away on duty. He left the premises so quickly that he didn't remember to put on the tank lever, which was improperly done and neither did he put in manifold seals. So, we had to call the CoolRay employee back to perform these services.

After breaking down the sheet rock below the hot water heater , he did not refill it or offer a company that could do it. He destroyed the integrity of the pedestal of the hot water heater and the pedestal lost some of its girth to hold up the hot water heater, which will certainly destroy the internal water heating mechanism. After he replaced the PRV , he didn't appropriately document what the pressure was by a camera so there is a hard copy document to validate his instruments. Instead he immediately tried to sell us a $2000 hot water heater.

We still have toilet bowl leakages, we still have increasing water bills. Turning on and off the valves to stop the leakage is a public health, hygiene and sanitation issue especially with pediatric and geriatric persons living in the home.

I HAVE CONSULTED WITH BOTH SUPERIOR PLUMBING AND WITH ROTO ROOTER , WHO SAYI WAS OVERCHARGED BY AGGRESSIVE SALES AND POOR PLUMBING SERVICE AND HAVE SUBMITTED GREATLY REDUCED PRICING AND CORRECT APPROACHES FOR THE SAME JOB COOLRAY MISHANDLED.
Product_Or_Service: ******
Order_Number: ******
Account_Number: ******

Desired Settlement
We demand Cool Ray:
1)Refund the $1200 for the service
2)Refund the $ 79 charge for coming to my residence
3)repair the destruction of the sheet rock and pay $600 for contractor
4)Pay $1000 for the increased water bill accumulated AFTER they 'repaired" the plumbing

"****************"

Business Response
Coolray/Mr. Plumber was contacted by Mr. ***** on September 26, 2015. It was communicated that he had two toilets, one in the master bathroom and one located in a 1/2 bath downstairs, that were "running" (continuously running water) and that the emergency water shut-offs located behind the toilets were leaking and could not be turned off.
Upon arrival, our state licensed master plumber discovered that the water pressure to the residence was 160psi. This is extremely high! The appropriate range is 50-70 PSI. Along with replacing the pressure reducing valve (PRV) while onsite our plumber put together a list of "recommendations" for Mr. ***** to consider. These were all plumbing systems negatively affected by the high water pressure and neglect. Included in these recommendations was to replace the master toilet seal within both toilets which was a factor in causing the toilets to continuously run.
Mr. ***** was presented with these recommendations. Mr. ***** "chose" to only have us replace the emergency shut offs behind each toilet. Mr. ***** signed our work proposal prior to us completing this work. No other work was completed at that time.
Later that day Mr. ***** contacted Coolray/Mr. Plumber again and requested we return and replace the "PRV" as recommended. We returned on September 26, 2016 and completed the work as proposed and agreed to by Mr. *****.
To access the PRV some sheetrock needed to be removed. As noted on the back of proposal Coolray/Mr. Plumber is not responsible for the reconstruction of structural property when it is required to be cut and/or removed in the process of completing a plumbing repair. Again, Mr. ***** signed our work order prior to us completing the agreed work.
Coolray/Mr. Plumber completed all the work as proposed and agreed to by Mr. *****.


07/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company charged me $79 service fee plus $78 for Freon and then told me I needed a new blower for $500 which would be an additional cost to the $157.
Company charged me $79 service call fee plus $78 for Freon and then told me I needed a new blower for $500 which would be an additional cost to the $157 I already paid.
The technician told me I had freon but still added more and then said I needed a blower. He should have determined and advised me I needed a blower first before charging me for freon that's not going to do me any good since the blower doesn't work. It would have been nice to have been given the choice to pay for Freon or the blower. This was on 6/3/14 and technician was *. ****** and bill was paid by check.
I called the office to see if the amount I paid would go toward cost of blower and they advised no that it would be an additional cost.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking refund for the Freon of $78.34 since it did not fix the problem with my air and I need a blower which would have been nice if they told me that first.

Business Response
A system has to function before we can properly determine the cause of failure and this could be the reason we added the refrigerant. Typically, we do not offer a refund for services such as this because it is relevant for a proper diagnosis. But, we are willing to deduct the $78.34 from the cost of the blower repair in good faith. I'm sorry for the confusion and certainly are willing to work this out.

06/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We have own our home since 2009 (it was totally new) and every year we have had Coolray to come out because the system stopped working. 2 of the 4 visits Coolray replaced the battery that helps start the compressor and one year they advise us about the thermostats. Each service visit was about $65-$80. The year the Hvac stopped working again and Coolray came out and the technician said the HVAC was done and needed to be replaced with a new HVAC system. We decided to get 2 other opinions and both companies came out to see our units and both said that our Hvac was never serviced correctly. Both said that NO one have every service the furnace in the attic because the A Coil was totally block and wasnt circulating and that may have cause damage the the upstairs HVAC unit. Moreover, both stated that there was NO antifreeze with the upstairs HVAC. Therefore, our complaint is that Coolray came to our home several times to service/fix our cooling units and they NEVER checked the upstairs furnace nor did the check for antifreeze. We believe they are partial at fault why are Hvac is running today.
Product_Or_Service: HVAC... purchased as apart of home

Desired Settlement
I believe they should at least replace the compressor in that unit and antifreeze.

Business Response
I have reviewed our records and see that the first time we were called was 6/20/11 due to a "no cool"-at this time we found that the dual capacitor needed to be replaced. We did so. The second visit, April 13, 2013, was due to a "no cool"-at this time when we arrived the systems were cooling-no work performed but recommended that the customer purchase a maintenance agreement for system-declined by customer. On 4/27/14 we were called due to "no cool" at this time we found the u/s system with a locked up compressor; tripping breaker. We stated we could replace the compressor but recommended that he consider replacing system and purchase a maintenance agreement-again declined. Having a maintenance agreement gives the certified professional an opportunity to make inspection of key components of the systems-a visit once a year for the cooling and once a year for the heating system. This routine inspection alerts the homeowner of potential areas that may need to be addressed which could prolonging the lifetime of the units or at the very least avoid any down time. It is the customers responsibility to maintain his systems himself or to hire a professional. Without being allowed to perform the annual maintenance Coolray can not prevent nor advise of any unit concerns. Nor can we be responsible for any problems or failures of his systems.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They was paid to maintain or get the unit started. I think checking the fluids would be apart of that. And checking the furnace is a no brainer. I don't feel think its totally there fault; however, they are somewhat liable because they never looked at the furnace or fluids.4

Final Business Response
When a customer calls in because he has a no cooling, we respond to his service call for the air conditioning. The furnace would be checked during a maintenance visit (declined by customer) or during a service call placed by the customer for a no heat. Coolray, on 5/28/14, offered to do a free leak search yet the customer declined verbally. Coolray can not be liable for their system, as it was not properly maintained by Coolray. We only responded to service calls-

06/17/2016Problems with Product / Service
01/27/2016Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning, Furnace Cleaning, Furnace Sales & Service, Heat Recovery Equipment & Systems, Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment, Air Duct Restoration, Air Duct Systems, Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Air Quality Service, Heating & Air Conditioning - Filters, Radiant Heating, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Geothermal Heating & Cooling, Plumbers, Heating Contractors, Heat Pumps, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.