BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/1995

Leafguard of North Georgia

Phone: (678) 494-4199Fax: (678) 494-4714

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints4

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
11/24/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Improperly installed equipment caused water leak damage into basement and manager, ***** *******, refused responsibility and basically blamed us.
Had new roof installed in August 2015, then new gutters late August 2015 and new exterior paint September 2015. After gutters were installed they allegedly did a final walk thru-we weren't home. We noticed a couple of strange things with the downspouts, but not being EXPERTS, we could only assume the the PROFESSIONALS knew what they were doing. We called them out to look at the position of the downspouts, they moved one. There was one in front of the house that we thought looked strange, but again, we aren't experts in gutters and downspouts. We could only assume that Leafguard knows what they are doing and how to install downspouts properly to avoid any potential damage, without us, the consumer, having to figure out if they did it right or not. Monday night, Nov 2nd, 2015 we noticed water in our downstairs living area. The leak was a result of water from the improperly place downspout pouring directly into our foundation. We called Leafguard the next morning, Tuesday and reported the problem in which they came out to correct the problem, by attaching a longer downspout (we weren't home when they did this). However,if this corrected the problem, remains to be seen. We then had to call a water restoration company to come out to clean, dry the water damage at $775.00. We tried contacting the manager, who did not return our phone calls til Friday morning, only to be told by ***** ******* that this was not their fault and would not take any responsiblity for any damages caused by the improperly installed equipment. He went on to blame US, for not calling them to come out to fix the downspout before the leak had occurred. AGAIN, we are not experts in gutters and downspouts-THEY are. If we had known that it would be a problem, we would have. He then went on to say that since we had the house painted after the gutters were installed, that they accept NO responsiblity for any damage and that painting makes the contract null and void. He went on to presume that the person that painted our house removed the downspouts and then replaced them improperly. First, this didn't happen, 2nd he wasn't there,so how could he know? Then I asked him to come out and look at the downspout to see the problem and he gave me a disgusted laughed and said "I don't do that." I then told him that even one of his servicemen had told my husband that he could see how the improperly installed downspout had caused the damage and ***** said "he never said that,"(even though he wasn't there for that conversation) so he basically called my husband a liar. He said that they were not responsible for the damage and would not be doing anything to help us to cover those expenses. He said that he would arrange, instead, for his project and or supervisor to come out to the house and meet us "so that they could look you DEAD in the eyes and tell you that you are wrong and the we are right-we aren't responsible for the damage." However, when they came out Tuesday to extend the downspout, this was an admission of guilt to me. Because if they didn't install it wrong initially, then why would they come out and extend it? When I asked him whatever happened providing good customer service to the customer and he told me that this wasn't about customer service. He was rude, dismissive and repeatedly interrupted and spoke over me. This company will back up it's product until something goes wrong. Also, don't plan on EVER painting your house after getting their gutters installed, because they will use this as an out to not be responsible for anything that happens afterwards. The General Manager, ***** ******* was just horrible to deal with. I get sick to my stomach everytime I relive the conversation that we had.

Desired Settlement
We would like for repairs/corrections to be made to the downspout to prevent future damage and reimbursement for the water damage repair $775.00. An apology from ***** *******, general manager

Business Response
LeafGuard of North Georgia, Inc. ("LeafGuard") respectfully disagrees with the Customer regarding her assessment of the situation. LeafGuard has sent multiple personnel to the home to fully investigate and potentially rectify any problems, even if not caused by LeafGuard, to make sure that the Customer does not experience any further water problems. During its investigation, LeafGuard found that the LeafGuard gutter system was altered after LeafGuard initially installed it. Yet, LeafGuard could not pinpoint the primary source of the Customer's problems or whether the LeafGuard gutter system was installed correctly. Nevertheless, the Customer and LeafGuard have agreed to a complete resolution of this matter. LeafGuard did so, not because it was evident that it had installed the LeafGuard gutter system incorrectly, but in the interest of customer service. At this time, LeafGuard considered this matter closed.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Upon contacting the owner of the company and despite not accepting responsibility, the company did the right thing and reimbursed us for damages.

11/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Leafguard installed gutters and downspouts. They promised "guaranteed never to clog. Period.". Gutters are clogged with organic debris and improperly installed so they overflow in certain locations on the house. In heavy rains like 11/1 and 11/2, this causes water to get into our finished basement and causes mold, which is hazardous to our health. I have contacted Leafguard multiple times and they have mostly not replied. One time I did manage to get a representative to come out and he agreed that the gutters were clogged but claimed that sort of clog wasn't covered. I have had other gutter companies come out and they quoted almost $1000 to remove all the organic debris.
Product_Or_Service: Gutters/downspouts
Account_Number: n/a

Desired Settlement
Leafguard needs to come out and remove the clogs and correctly install the gutters so they don't overflow.

Business Response
Our warranty states that if the gutter clogs that we will clean it for free. Mr. ******** was installed in 2003 and we have received 2 service calls during that time one in 2006 and 2012.
We checked are records and currently there are no calls requesting service. We will call customer to schedule a service call to correct his problem

10/27/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues
09/21/2015Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Gutters & Downspouts, Home Improvements, Contractors - Gutters, Gutter Leaf Guards

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.