BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 04/29/2005

Sylvane, Inc.

Phone: (770) 821-6160Fax: (801) 469-6774

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints6

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)BBB Closure Definitions
03/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I ordered an ***** **** Ultra Plus air purifier from Sylvane and took shipment on 2-18-14. Upon unboxing damage was visualized. One of the four wheels was in pieces leaving mostly a metal peg. Also, the rear portion of one side panel was dented and flared out slightly. The packing under the other three wheels contained plastic fragments. I am unsure if the other three wheel s also took damage or if these fragments are from the obliterated wheel.That night, 2-18-14, I used Sylvanes customer service online email. I gave my opinion about the less than ideal packing. I also relayed the fact about seeing better packing on some used cds Ive purchased. I requested a replacement unit and pickup of the damaged unit. I also proposed a second solution. I offered to install replacement wheels myself, but wanted a partial refund. The partial refund would be to offset having a dented unit, thus B stock, and for time taken to install the wheels. I did not receive a response from Sylvane.2-19-14 I sent another email through the Sylvane site. It stated I was waiting to hear back and asked the typical response time. I still did not receive a response. Both times the website stated my response was received.2-20-14 I called Sylvane. A recording stated email requests are typically processed in one business day. I left a message on the customer service return product line. I left my order number which has all of my contact information. I directed them to my emails which contain contact info and problems. I stated my email are being ignored, expect a response by the next day, or I would seek a third party for help. No surprise, I did not receive a response.I am fully aware of this type of customer service. A customer receives a damaged product and complains. The company instead of helping decides to punish the customer even more. Of note, this was my first time using Sylvane.
Product_Or_Service: air purifier
Order_Number: *XXXXXX

Desired Settlement
One of the solutions stated in complaint description. At this point I want the replacement air purifier or the replacement wheels sent overnight service.

Business Response
At this point We have reached out to the customer , through phone and email, to find out why his communications did not make it through to us via phone and website. We are attempting to make sure that we accurately solve the customers issue in one transaction and are waiting for a response through email or via phone-call to proceed. At this point customers communications cannot be found and we have reached out to customer to obtain some more detail to try to track down communication issue and prevent it from occurring again.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The person who contacted me has been very helpful. He issued a partial refund. I accept the response assuming the refund will cross over in several days.

12/22/2014Delivery Issues
07/14/2014Problems with Product / Service
06/21/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues
06/06/2012Problems with Product / Service
08/11/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
refused shipping my product I bought and want more money.by shipping free and say shipping is free .
I bought product from them Honeywell 15 Pint Evaporative Air Cooler - CS071AE and I got e mail conformation and it what I got then ask more money for shipping
Dear ****** ***********,

Thank you for choosing Sylvane! Your order has been placed. You will get further confirmation once your items ship, and here is a receipt for your records:

Order Number: TXXXXXX
Order Date: 07-31-2014


Payment Method:
Visa / Mastercard Customer Phone #:
XXX XXX XXXX Customer Comments / Instructions:
what is different between what I order and this Honeywell CSO71AE 15 Pt. Indoor Portable Evaporative Air Cooler - White and which is better .and also I have fan from honey well .but you know environment change I forget what call but you know what hack I am talk about .and give track number to track shipping .thanks .*****


Item Quantity Description Ship Via Estimated Arrival Rate
ho3156 1 Honeywell 15 Pint Evaporative Air Cooler - CS071AE Standard N/A $139.00


Subtotal: $139.00
Shipping: FREE
Total: $139.00


Billing Address:
****** ***********
aptXXX-XXXXX-XXXst

********,**
**********


Shipping Address:
***** ***********
aptXXX-XXXXX-XXXst

******,**
**** ****

Desired Settlement
honor my order .and shipping

Business Response
We apologize for any confusion with the shipping cost of this order. Unfortunately, we are only able to provide free standard shipping within the lower 48 United States. This information is provided in our shipping policy on our website at:

http://www.sylvane.com/shipping.html

Sometimes there can be an issue on the website where customer orders may not have additional shipping cost calculated at the time of placing the order. This does not always happen, and we apologize for the inconvenience this technical error could cause. However, we always contact the customer about the additional charge before proceeding with the order to provide the option to approve or cancel the order.

This order was canceled at the customer's request because we are unable to provide free international shipping.

If the customer is interested, we would be happy to provide a 10% discount code to help counter the additional shipping cost of this item. Shipping cost does not include taxes and duties that may be incurred at the Canadian border.

We may be reached at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX or ***********@sylvane.com if the new order at 10% off is accepted.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
in their website shipping is free and I am not request my order cancel period .cxounite without shipping fees if technical error or not .it was writing on their website shipping is free.and their adverting on Google .

Final Business Response
We apologize again for any confusion or inconvenience. However, we offer free shipping on our website for only the lower 48 United States.

The "Free Shipping" icon on our homepage says "Exclusions Apply" at the bottom. If a customer clicks on this icon, they will be redirected to our shipping policy, which states that Canadian shipments will be subject to additional shipping cost, not including taxes and duties at the border. Free shipping will be advertised throughout the site, but if there is a factor that is listed in the exclusions, the shipping will not be free when fulfilling the order. The shipping policy can be viewed at this address:

http://www.sylvane.com/shipping.html

We will be unable to honor free shipping on an order shipping to Canada. However, if assistance with a new order is needed, we would be happy to provide it.

Industry Comparison| Chart

General Merchandise - Retail, Water Filtration & Purification Equipment, Vacuum Equipment & Systems, Vacuum Cleaning Systems, Vacuum Cleaners - Industrial & Commercial, Heating Equipment, Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment, Radon Testing & Service, Health & Medical - General, Fire & Water Damage Restoration, Water Soft & Conditioning Equipment Service & Supplies, Vacuum Cleaners - Supplies & Parts, Vacuum Cleaners - Service & Repair, Vacuum Cleaners - Household - Dealers, Air Conditioning Equipment - Room Units, Air Pollution Control, Home Improvements

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.