BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

The Furniture Mall

Phone: (770) 622-2600Fax: (770) 622-2605

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues3
Problems with Product / Service8
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints11

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (11)BBB Closure Definitions
10/30/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: The furniture we bought is very poor in quality and store is not providing any assistance.
We bought whole house furniture from Furniture mall and it was delivered to us on 9/3/13. The Dining table set we have issue with was OK at the time of delivery but it seems it was old and repainted or refurbished as the table top wood is scratching and the wood on 1 chair is developing crack as of 10/11/13 so just after a month. My invoice says 60 days manufacture warranty.
I called store manager today his blunt comment was "
There was no crack at the time of delivery and as you sat on the chair it developed cracks which is not covered under warranty you have to fix it yourself"

In fact the crack was developed in the wood by the quality of wood and same with the table.

I bought total furniture of $3000 worth from them and this table was $450. They still refuse to provide any service and support. The store managers behavior was rude and felt like they just wanted to sell the stuff but because of poor quality they wash their hands from any further service/support afterwards.

They will keep fooling other consumers if no action taken.

Here are the details of my order :

Purchase Date : 8/30/13
Delivery Date : 9/3/13
Problem Date : 10/12/13
Invoice Number : DXXXXXXXXX
SKU : ********* ******
Payment Amount : **** (for the problemetic item)
Payment Method : Credit Card - ** **

Initial Business Response
The chair will be replaced. As for the scratches that were put on the table, that is customer abuse of the product and is not covered under warranty.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

01/24/2013Delivery Issues
07/10/2012Problems with Product / Service
04/18/2012Delivery Issues
04/15/2013Problems with Product / Service
08/02/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Non-delivery of products

Complaint: I have purchased a bedroom set from this company and everything was delivered except my dresser that I ordered which they brought but it was broken. So the driver said that they will take it back and reorder another one well weeks went by and I called and they said it still have not came in. By this time a year went by and I call again and they said they have no clue what I am talking about so I decided to drive to the store to show they my receipt. And the manager or owner asked me why I wait so long and I told her I was waiting on a phone call to let me know about my dresser. So she said she has to order it again and weeks go by again I called and they said it still have not come in. It has been 2 and half years now and they still have not called or bring me my furniture and I have moved and giving them my new address and nothing.
Product_Or_Service: bedroom dresser

Business' Initial Response
We do not have any record of a purchase made by this customer. Perhaps the customer made the purchase from a different company. Without a receipt, there is nothing for us to go on.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Because I still do not have my furniture or my money back and I have my receipt. I have tried on multiple times to contact the company and it was a run around. They have my money and my furniture and I am left with nothing and very disappointed.

Business' Final Response
The employee cited by the customer is no longer with the company. Over two years have elapsed since this purchase. We do not have any means to evaluate this claim.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

12/30/2013Problems with Product / Service
07/23/2012Problems with Product / Service
09/27/2011Problems with Product / Service
08/16/2011Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Furniture - Retail, Lighting Fixtures - Retail

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.