BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/27/2000

Parker Young Construction (Headquarters)

Phone: (770) 368-1000Fax: (770) 242-3879View Additional Phone Numbers6815 Crescent Dr, NorcrossGA 30071-2923 Send email to Parker Young Construction

0TRUSTS
0 People Trust Parker Young Construction

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/27/2000

BBB has determined that Parker Young Construction meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Parker Young Construction's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
09/17/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to substantiate charges

Complaint: I contacted Parker Young Construction Co. to evaluate a possible water leak (not an emergency). When the plumb arrived at the property after looking up at the ceiling and looking at the damage floor area taking altogether 15min. and concluded the leak was from the refrigerator. Afterward the plumb left with no indication of a service fee would be charged and I was not presented anything to sign agreeing to a service fee; he left me with the assumption there were no service charge required.A month and a half later after Parker Young Construction (***** ******* was not awarded the contract to repair the damage floor; so he decided and not the Plumb that assess the damage; to charge me a $150.00 for an Emergency Plumbing Services that never taken rendered. This is an unfair practice on behalf of Parker Young.
Product_Or_Service: NA
Order_Number: NA
Account_Number: NA

Initial Business Response
Our side of this complaint is diffrent then the view of customer.
On May 17, 2013 I received the assignment for Mr. ****** ******. I called Mr. ****** and spoke with him at this time we discussed his problem. He stated that he had a leak somewhere he was not sure. I explained to him that he needed a certified licensed plumber to find the leak or a leak detection company.. He stated that he did not know any plumbers. I recommended our staff plumber ***** ***** which is a Georgia certified license plumber. Mr. ****** asked me to have ***** call him to set up an appointment. At this time, I explained to Mr. ****** about our minimum fee of $150.00 for ***** to come out. Mr. ****** understood. After *****'s inspection he determined that the leak was coming from the icemaker. I called Mr. ****** and set up my appointment to estimate the replacement of his floors which were damaged by the water that leaked from the icemaker. Mr. ****** asked me to write an estimate so that he could give to his Travelers insurance company (adjuster). I explained again to Mr. ****** that Travelers Insurance will not pay for any plumbing repairs coming from a heating or plumbing device unless the pipes burst from freezing temperatures. I spent 18 years as a claims adjuster /agent here in the metro Atlanta area. Therefore, I did not include the $150.00 on my repair estimate. However, it was clearly agreed upon. As you will see in an email from Mr. ****** dated on July 23, 2013 to his claims adjuster at travelers asking if the $150 could have been added to his repair estimate.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

01/31/2012Problems with Product / Service
10/12/2011Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Fire & Water Damage Restoration, Environmental Testing & Consulting, Contractor - Flat Roof, Furnace Cleaning, Crime Scene/Trauma Clean Up, Crime Scene Clean-Up & Decontamination, Fire Doors & Shutters, Hail Repair, Mold Consulting & Testing, Mold & Mildew Inspection/Removal/Remediation, Ventilating Systems - Cleaning, Smoke Odor Counteracting Service, Thermal Remediation, Infrared Inspection, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Fire Protection Contractor, Fire Protection Consultants, Fire & Smoke & Water Clean Up, Water Damage Restoration, Fire Damage Restoration, Environmental Consulting & Contracting, Mold & Mildew Services, Asbestos Consulting & Testing, Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning, Thermography - Infrared, Smoke Abatement Equipment, Lead Testing, Lead Removal, Lead Abatement, Dehumidifying Equipment, Fire & Flood Emergency Service, Construction & Remodeling Services, Roofing Service Consultants, Contractor - Metal Roofing, Commercial Roofing, Roofing Contractors, Roof Decks, Roof Cooling Systems, Demolition Contractors, Asbestos Removal Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/30/2000Business started: 01/01/1986
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: July 1986, GA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Paul Young (President)Mr. Jim Parker (COB)Ms. Shelya Thacker (Secretary)
Number of Employees

100

Business Category

Fire & Water Damage Restoration, Environmental Testing & Consulting, Contractor - Flat Roof, Furnace Cleaning, Crime Scene/Trauma Clean Up, Crime Scene Clean-Up & Decontamination, Fire Doors & Shutters, Hail Repair, Mold Consulting & Testing, Mold & Mildew Inspection/Removal/Remediation, Ventilating Systems - Cleaning, Smoke Odor Counteracting Service, Thermal Remediation, Infrared Inspection, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Fire Protection Contractor, Fire Protection Consultants, Fire & Smoke & Water Clean Up, Water Damage Restoration, Fire Damage Restoration, Environmental Consulting & Contracting, Mold & Mildew Services, Asbestos Consulting & Testing, Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning, Thermography - Infrared, Smoke Abatement Equipment, Lead Testing, Lead Removal, Lead Abatement, Dehumidifying Equipment, Fire & Flood Emergency Service, Construction & Remodeling Services, Roofing Service Consultants, Contractor - Metal Roofing, Commercial Roofing, Roofing Contractors, Roof Decks, Roof Cooling Systems, Demolition Contractors, Asbestos Removal Service

BBB Program Participation
This company participates in the BBB Identification Program and has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes.
Industry Tips
General Advice When Choosing a Roofer
Air Conditioning Service and Maintenance
BBB Warns Spring Time Brings Home Improvement Scams
Fall Inspections Make for Warmer Winters
Heating Your Home
Home Fire Protection
Home Improvements
Mold Remediation or Repair

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Parker Young Construction

6815 Crescent Dr

Norcross, GA 30071-2923

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 6815 Crescent Dr 

    Norcross, GA 30071-2923(770) 368-1000

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Parker Young Construction is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (770) 417-4850
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.