BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Global Payments Inc. (Headquarters)

Find a Location

Phone: (770) 829-8000Fax: (770) 829-8264View Additional Phone Numbers10 Glenlake Parkway, NE, North Tower, AtlantaGA 30328http://www.globalpaymentsinc.comView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Global Payments Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Global Payments Inc.'s rating include:

  • 57 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Global Payments Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 57 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

57 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 13 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues38
Problems with Product / Service18
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 57

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (57)BBB Closure Definitions
10/17/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I tried to cancel and they continued to debit my account. They increased the amount because I didn't fill out a SAQ forum after I asked to cancel
Tried several times to cancel and they continued to debit my account. I had to cancel my bank account and open a new one to stop. They want me to pay a balance even though I tried to cancel several times and didn't use their service for over 8 months.

Desired Settlement
I want my account to be at $0 balance and not go into collections. I want a letter stating so.

Business Response
Response to Complaint Case # XXXXXXXX
We are dishearten that our merchant had a less than favorable experience with Total Merchant
Services. Review of the account call logs indicates we received several calls from the merchant on
09/17/14 concerned about fees debited from their bank account. The account was reviewed and it was
communicated to the merchant during the calls that the charges were for monthly fees on their open
account. Also during these calls, the merchant was advised of the $195.00 early termination fee. The
account has been closed at the merchants request effective 09/23/14. Per the signed
contract/agreement, all fees billed were agreed to at the time of setup and monthly fees would be
charged whether the account was actively processing or not actively processing. Further, there is no
information on the account that indicates TMS received a request to cancel services from the merchant
prior to the 09/17/14 telephone call. A refund of previously charged monthly fees will not be
considered. Additionally, the merchant does have an outstanding collection balance with our office.
The amount currently owed to TMS is $51.90. To ensure this balance does not get sent to an outside
agency, the merchant should contact our Financial Solutions Department to resolve this matter. A
representative is available to assist at 888-848-6825 ext. **** between 7:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. PST.
Please let us know if you require additional information
Sincerely,
Customer Support
Total Merchant Services

10/10/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Global was charging an excessive amount for something termed a 'misuse fee'. They were charging a fee of 20 cents per transaction which totaled more than $1,000. I have come to learn that the actual cost for this fee is one half cent per transaction. I called Global to ask why the fee was not disclosed. I also requested a copy of my original contract with them. I was not given a satisfactory answer, nor was my original contract supplied to me.
Product_Or_Service: Merchant Payment processing
Account_Number: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund in the amount of $975. I have arrived at this number by starting with the amount charged and deducting what the correct charges due should have been.

Business Response
Mr.****** was contacted and the Visa Misuse Fee was explained to him. He stated he understood the fee but didn't agree with the amount we were charging for the misuse fee. The Analyst offered to highlight the terms of the misuse fee in his card acceptance guide from 2012 and he refused. He stated that he signed it "under distress." The Analyst spoke with **** (US sales Rep) and he explained in detail the Visa misuse fee in May 2014.

09/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Credit Card Transaction was processed and approved by credit card processor. After 40 days the funds were still not transferred to our bank account. After multiple phone calls only then were we told that the payment was flagged by their system and held, it stayed there for almost 2 months collecting interest for their business. Global Payments forced me to refund the transaction because they refused to release the funds. Global Payments still charged nearly $1600 to process the transaction which they refused to clear and deducted those funds from our account. I have called numerous times about this issue and keep getting the run around. I was refunded $51.92 out of $1603.15. I have called numerous times, "supervisors" created numerous "problem tickets" and have been promised call backs on a weekly basis and have yet to see resolution to this problem after 60 days.
Product_Or_Service: Credit Card Merchant Processing
Order_Number: XXXXXXXXXXX
Account_Number: XXXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
We require the full refund of settlement and processing fees that Global Payments charged for a transaction that they refused to clear.

Business Response
The merchant received a rebate on 8/18 for $51.92 (EFT XXXXXXX), 8/29 for $1518.56 (EFT XXXXXXX) and Augusts statement fees had a credit for $535.15 bring the total to $2,105.63. Merchant was to receive $1389.15 for the transactions reversed by ***** We need now to debate the merchant $716.48 for the overage.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

03/28/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 3/4/14 I went online to ****** ****** ********** and requested my FREE credit reports, all three at one time. I received the information that I requested however on 3/11/14 a past due notice was sent to my husband for ******* It stated they are allowed to debit our bank accounts but were unsuccessful. They requested immediate payment be sent to ***** ******** Global Payments Inc.XXXXX Red Run Blvd.Owings Mills, MD XXXXX XXXX-XXX-XXXX Ext. XXXXXfor Global Merchant Number XXXXXXXXXXXXX.I immediately went online and explained that there should be no bill and that I felt this was a scam. I requested that they contact me either by email or phone which they have not done as of 3/21/14. By reading the other complaints it does appear that this business is engaging in fraudulent practices to collect money not owed and to scare the recipients.
Product_Or_Service: Credit Report
Account_Number: Global Merchant# ***

Desired Settlement
I would like a response from this agency that this letter was an error on their part and I do not owe any money.

Business Response
This is a legitimate collection issue. There is a contract for this account that ******* ******** completed back in November. The phone number on account and contract are for the merchant listed. They may be confused because Card Concepts is the ISO on the contract but the terms and conditions lists Global Payments Direct. ***** ******** has left a voicemail for the merchant *******.

Consumer Response
Mu husband received a call from this vendor. My husband then realized that this was for a credit card billing app that he uses. The name was similar to the service I used and he didn't recognize the name as this was a corporate letterhead. I apologize for this error and my husband assured this vendor we would take care of this immediately. Again, my error.
Thank you,
***** ********
XXX-XXX-XXXX














03/20/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This complaint is in regards to cancelling our account and the difficulties to do so and being billed a cancellation penalty.
05 March, 2014

Global Payments Inc.
XXXXX *** *** *****
****** ****** ** XXXXX

Re: Merchant Number XXXXXXXXXXX Outstanding balance

Dear Ms. ***********

I have tried to contact you by phone at least 3 times, each time I get a message machine stating I leave a message and the merchant number. Each time, I leave our merchant number and a message advising to please call during Pacific Standard Time, and each time you do not call back when we are open and leave a message on our machine.

What I have wanted to explain and advise is that I have correspondence dating back to the 26th of September 2013 where I attempted to try and cancel the account. I repeatedly requested your form to formalize the cancellation and ******* ** ******** would not send it to me. I finally found it myself and faxed it on the 30th of September, 2013. Enclosed is a copy of the form faxed.

Ms. ******** continued to try and keep our account sending various emails with better rates etc. Finally in October 1, 2013 she acknowledged that we wanted to cancel our account however there was a ****** fee to do so. This was obviously shocking and led to the further discovery that you had a contract dated from 1998 with *** ************ I pointed out that this was not a contract with us, the current owners. I continued to argue with her via email that this was not our contract and to cancel the account. Out of courtesy to Global Payment, we did not close our accounts until 90 days after the initial fax was sent.

Therefore as the contract is not with the current owners of ********** ******* faxed notice was given on the 30th of September 2013, and the bank account not closed until January insuring your 90 day notice, we believe your continued demand of funds and reluctance to deal with this in a professional way is unjust and unwarranted.

Please respond by letter or email to *****@pathfindertravel.ca

Thank you.


***** ******
Owner, ********** ****** and ****** ******** Ltd

Cc; Better Business Bureau

Desired Settlement
Cancel our account with no penalty charges.

Business Response
Global Payments has closed Ms. ******'s account and any outstanding fees or penalty fees have been written off.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Page 1 of 10
01/13/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company ripped me off, took from my account USD 349 (key number XXXXXXXXXX) and then USD 928 (key number XXXXXXXXXX), becouse day say I received a charge back.I sent them all the papers showing Im write becouse I sent the products to the customers. so the customers has the money and my products 1-two customer bougth products from my web page.2-I sent the products to them.3-The customers said they did not recognize the trsnsaction and made a dispute4-Global payment took the money from my account.5-Global Payment have my money and the customer my products. I lost my products and my money and Im a small business.6-I sent to Global Payment:+Order Confirmation from customer+Delivery confirmation by post office+Transaction approved by autorizenet.com who process the payment They say the address I sent the products is not the billing addres from customers. Well that not my fault. Autorize.net should not approve an invalid billing address.
Product_Or_Service: cowhides rugs
Order_Number: XXXXXXX, XXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I just want my money back or my products.

Business Response
In reviewing this issue, the merchant received two chargebacks. Case# XXXXXXXXXX for $956.67 and case# XXXXXXXXXX for $353.44. The merchant did verify the billing address on each sale but shipped to a different address than the verified billing address. Since the merchant did not ship the merchandise to the verified billing addresses, these are valid chargebacks. The merchant must ship to the verified billing address to have chargeback protection on these types of sales. Unfortunately, since the merchant shipped to a different address we are unable to reverse the chargeback cases.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The customers says, did not participate in the transactions becouse the dont want to pay.¿ Dont you see for example one customer is Last name Chabras and the shipping address is a family with the same last name?.

if someone scam you soon just remember what are you doing today. And when this happen you may come to me for apology.

Globay payment for some reason has hundreds of complaints.

you are very structured learn to think a little beyond.



Final Business Response
Once again, per the Card Acceptance Guide: "An authorization for a phone order, mail order, fax or internet transaction does not guarantee against chargebacks. Shipments to an address different from the one verified as the cardholder's may result in an increase of chargebacks." We are unable to reverse these chargebacks though Visa's dispute resolution process.

This is our final response and there is nothing further we can do.

08/27/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On May 7th of this year our restaurant was robbed when someone purposely swiped $900 into their debit card through the refund category on the credit card machine. When we first found out we contacted Global Payments and one of their employees promised us that we will get the money back. However, the next day when we called them again they told us that it would have to take them 2 weeks to 3 months to investigate and the money might not even be returned. We later contacted Global Payments many times about this situation thinking that they are a big company so they will give us a responsible response, but we have heard nothing up to this day. Several weeks after our incident happened, we saw an article on a really popular ******* newspaper here in ********* about businesses getting robbed through credit card machines, and the machines belonged to Global Payments. In the article it was mentioned that when news reporters went to interview the head of Global Payments, no one gave a clear explanation to anything. We later contacted that newspaper as well and told them our story, and once again when the news reporters went to interview them, there was still no response other than "its not our problem, we can't do anything about it". We have a few concerns for this incident, first is normally it would require a purchase from a card in order for there to be a refund, so why would the machine allow a card without a purchase to receive a refund, especially a refund this large. Second, we own a restaurant, normally in restaurants there are only purchases and not refunds, so why would the machine even have refund, and if it did why would the amount be up so high? Third, we are their customers so shouldn't they have the responsibility to protect us when things happen? Fourth, they took no responsibilities for the lost and in the end we had to pay rates for the $900 refund transaction. Fifth and lastly, we question the honesty of this company, since they did promise us the money back and in the end they didn't

Desired Settlement
We would like Global Payments to take responsibility for this incident, and compensate for our lost.

Business' Initial Response
We have reviewed previous incident's and history as to the nature of her matter. An email has been sent to Direct ******** to inquire status of the best effort collection request considering the merchant Ms. *****, has stated no follow up has occurred as of yet.

Consumer's Final Response
Comment: Hi, my complaint ID number is XXXXXXXX. I received an email from BBB yesterday regarding the response from the company to my complaint.
However, when I was trying to send in a "no, I don't agree with this response and how I want the problem solved" my computer lagged, and now when I go back to the page, the agree or not with response section is gone. I don't know if my computer send out my message through the lag or if something else happened. I know that I only have 7 days to give BBB a response regarding the company I'm complaining to's response. So please give me a reply on how to solve my problem. Thank you so much! PS: What I wanted to write in the for the "no, I don't agree with the response section" is that: Like the company said in the response, there is no solution yet, but we don't want that to be the end of our case. We want the company to make up for our lost, just like how I mentioned in my original complaint. We won't close the case until our lost is covered for.

Business' Final Response
The transaction was a fraud transaction that occurred at their place of business and as noted in their merchant agreement, they are liable for any transactions that occur while the terminal is in their possession. We attempted a best effort collection but if it is a true fraud transaction and considering the time past since the collection effort, the merchant is likely not going to get a response or the funds. If for some reason we do get a positive response, we will forward the funds but at this point the merchant will have to seek other means to get back the funds.
Global Payments is considering this matter closed and will not comment further.

08/19/2013Problems with Product / Service
05/15/2013Billing / Collection Issues
11/28/2012Billing / Collection Issues
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Financial Services, Payment Processing Service, Credit Cards & Plans - Equipment & Supplies, Credit Card Processing Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/29/2001Business started: 01/01/1970
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: September 2000, GA

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Tayna N. Stanley (Senior Exec. Asst.)Ms. Amy Corn (SVP of Corporate Marketing and Communications)
Number of Employees

400

Business Category

Financial Services, Payment Processing Service, Credit Cards & Plans - Equipment & Supplies, Credit Card Processing Service

Alternate Business Names
Global Payments Direct
Industry Tips
BBBTips on Saving and Investing
Collecting Payments Due
Controlling Credit Card Processing Costs
Online Credit Cards - Look Before you Click!
Selecting a Financial Planner
Use Caution with Gold and Platinum Card Offers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Global Payments Inc.

10 Glenlake Parkway, NE, North Tower

Atlanta, GA 30328

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 10 Glenlake Parkway NE 

    Atlanta, GA 30328

  • Global Payments, Inc.

    10 Glenlake Parkway, NE, North Tower 

    Atlanta, GA 30328(770) 829-8000

  • 10705 Red Run Boulevard 

    Owings Mills, MD 21117

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Global Payments Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 716-0479
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • http://globalpaymentsinc.comhttp://globalpaymentsinc.com/USA/contactUs.html
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.