BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

DTV Express

Phone: (800) 806-4757 (Disconnected)

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

25 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 11 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues14
Problems with Product / Service11
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints25

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (25)BBB Closure Definitions
08/23/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: Can not get in touch with company.
I have a 3 yr contract on my Samsung Tablet that expires in OCT 2013. The company has not responded to emails and I can not find a working phone no.
This business identified itself as a BBB business which is why I went with them for a warranty. My tablet is not working correctly and should have been covered by the warranty but can not talk to anyone about it.

Business' Initial Response
We have responded to the customer and copied again. Battery replacement is not covered under the terms and conditions of the tablet warranty.There is nothing more we can do at this time.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

08/05/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Disputed warranty coverage and/or terms

Complaint: Co. claims to provide Extended warranty for different electronic products.When I filed a claim for my TV to be repaired.....all I ever get is stalling email asking questions as to " what's wrong with the TV" Example of email recieved: July 15 2013 1:25 PM "Didnt you foward your receipt yesterday? Just to let you know up front, this process takes a couple of weeks. The service center usually have to order parts after they diagnose the TV, so you might want to think about contingency plan on a temporary TV or something THX"It's been 6 days and I still have not heard from any "Service Center"
Product_Or_Service: The 5 Year XpresServ TV extended Warranty
Order_Number: XXXXXX
Account_Number: 189.00

Business' Initial Response
We are working on setting up service for this customer.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
It took 21 Days to get the TV repaired....!!!!

The customer service is almost non existent.

The TV repair/service center were fantastic.

I have two (2) years left on the extended warranty, I hope and pray I don't have to use it.

Business' Final Response
the service center has the tv of this customer

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

06/27/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues
02/11/2013Problems with Product / Service
09/03/2012Guarantee / Warranty Issues
Page 1 of 3
11/25/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor promised refunds, exchanges, or credit

Complaint: I purchased a warranty on my TV from dtv express. When the unit failed they refused to repair/ replace. Promised me a refund which I never received,
I purchased a warranty on my Plasma display from dtv express on 2/11/2011. The unit failed 0n 9/2/2013. Purchase date of unit was new on 1/4/2011. When I placed my claim they had a TV repair man call me. He diagnosed the problem and said it was probably un economical to repair and required replacement. Then dtv express ask me to look at the manufacturing date on the back f the TV. The date was 9/2010. Well they said the date voided the contract because the set was to old and must have been a refurbished unit. I sent them a copy of the invoice that stated the unit was new. It came in a new box and was never opened.

I purchase the contract under their guide lines that states the warranty needs to be purchased within 6 months of purchase date.

They refuse to honor the contract and said they would instead refund me what I paid for the contract.

That was over a month ago. After multiple E mails they said the check must have got lost in the mail. They said they would issue a new check but never have. The only way to contact these people is by E mail. Their E mail address is dtvclaimsexpress.com.

I want my TV fix or at least a full refund.

****
******@att.net

Initial Business Response
This customer purchased the warranty for a TV that was outside the allowable time limits of one year old. Therefore we are prorating a warranty refund to him.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not except their response because if my warranty was no good they should have rejected it back 2 years ago when it was purchased. Also they said they were going to issue me a check for the unused portion of the warranty. If that's the case the ********* must have been under warranty at time of failure, then either fix it or replace it.

If they are saying it was not under warranty because they opted to cancel the contract rather then fixing or replacing my TV then they should a least refund me the total price of the contract.

They told me back 2 weeks ago they were going to pro rate my contract and send me a check for $7.41.I still have not seen that check. At that time I told them they owed me at least a full refund of my$89.00 that I paid for the warranty contract or fix or replace my ********* TV.

Please do not allow these people to continue with their manipulation and liars. Don't let other customers fall into the same trap I did.

Again thanks for you help.

****

Final Business Response
A refund check for more than the unused portion of the customers warranty was refunded to the customer after discovering that his TV warranty order was not within the allowable tv age to order the warranty.

Consumer Response
----- Forwarded Message -----
From: "********* *********" <******@att.net>
To: "****** ******* <******@atlanta.bbb.org>
Sent: Tuesday, November 12, 2013 10:55:54 AM
Subject: Re: BBB Complaint Case#********(Ref#XX-XXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-XX-XXXX)

Well over 10 days have gone by and no check from form dtv express. Also I see they are still advertising
on their web sight that they have a BBB Plus rating.

I guess there is not much you guys can do. It's just a shame that these companies can advertise that they
are BBB Plus rated. This was one of the factors I used when I bought my extended warranty.

Well I will know better the next time.

Thanks again for your help.

****

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

11/05/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to respond to phone calls or written requests for assistance or support

Complaint: No email response regarding contract.
I sent several emails via their online form received no responses regarding my warranty of my Sony LCD 60". I paid $189.00. Nothing is wrong with my TV. I just want a copy of the contract.

Initial Business Response
We previously tried sending you the contract but was returned. Probably a wrong e-mail in system, we will try again.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I sent another message to your company to email the contract with 3 additional email addresses. I highly doubt that none of them will go through.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

10/07/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor service under the terms of warranties

Complaint: filed claim on 8/25/2013 have yet to get helpful info as to when my repair can be expected.
I have had previous claims completed and resolved in less than 5 days with DTV this is my third claim below are the results from that claim.

Filed my claim for a broken samsung tv on 8/25/2013 dtv did not respond filled claim second time on 8/28/2013 response was "Ok thanks, when was the last repair? Do you remember the name of the
servicer?" never got reply after answering email. A week goes by no communication filed a claim for the third time on 9/3/2013 get a response of "We're on it. Long weekend.. Thx." I reply asking for eta of repair no response. After 10 days with no progress I research for a telephone number all numbers disconnected. I pull up my original warranty contract which states

"The warranty administrator for this XpresServ warranty will be ******* ******** ****** Please allow 60-90 days from the date of this receipt for this warranty to be registered with ******* ******** ****** For service claims after the original manufacturers warranty ends call X-XXX-XXX-XXXX.
******* **********

I call ******* ******** ***** and they are unable to find my warranty in the system and proceed to explain that DTV Express was not submitting customer info to them which results in no coverage at the time I purchased my warranty.

I am getting very frustrated at the communication and the complete and total lack of professionalism on behalf of DTV Express.

Initial Business Response
When we were working on setting up repair service, the customer informed us that he was having the TV repaired and sending us the bill.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
cost to repair tv exceeds cost of new tv. new tv was purchased will forward receipt of replacement tv. Expect to receive reimbursement asap.

Final Business Response
The customer informed us that they were having the TV repaired themselves and forwarding the bill to us.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

08/27/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a contract or agreement

Complaint: DTV Express fails to honor an extended warranty contract.
I purchased a 5-year extended warranty contract for a Samsung 58" plasma TV on February 7, 2011 for $189. The agreement number is XXXXXX dated 2/7/2011. The Samsung TV broke down on August 11, 2013--no video image. On August 12, 2013, I tried to contact the 1-800 number on my warranty contract. It was disconnected. Then I contacted DTV Express via their website. I got an email response. After a couple of email exchanges to make sure that the TV was in fact broken, DTV Express promised to set up a service center appointment. It has been over 10 days and I have not heard back from them. I do not believe DTV Express is a legitimate company selling extended warranties. I believe that

Business' Initial Response
We will refund the customer in full.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I will not accept the response until I receive the refund in full. Please send a refund check to the address on file.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

09/19/2013Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
02/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor refund, exchange or credit policies

Complaint: not honoring their warranty to replace TV with equal or similar features and functionality. My TV was less than 2 years old. Top of the line plasma.

October 1, 2011 purchased Panasonic Viera TC-P55VT30 55inch 1080p 3D plasma HDTV smart TV ********

October 21, 2011 Purchased a 4 year extended warranty through DTV Express Receipt # XXXXXX

Sept. 26, 2013 Submitted claim with DTV Express

October 4, 2013 Diablo Stereo Video picked up my TV for repair

November 11, 2013 DTV Express tells Diablo Stereo Video to return my TV unfixed. Will not authorize repair secondary to costs quoted to fix by Diablo Stereo Video. Repairman told DTV Express to buy me a new TV.

November 18, 2013 DTV Express advised for the second time that the TV was back at my house.

December 16, 2013 TV Tech repair came to house. (Took 1 month for DTV Express to find someone else to look at my TV)

December 30th, 2013 TV Tech had already twice notified DTV Express my TV was not repairable.

January 6, 2014 DTV Express sent email, they are sending me a check for ******* to replace the cost of my TV Suggested I buy a replacement tv that they felt was suitable. The TV is the following: LG 60PNXXXX XX inch plasma. It is not comparable in value, quality nor features as my tv. It is not a smart nor 3D hdtv with the features mine had.

January 6, 2014 I replied back to DTV Express that I expected to be replaced with a TV like for like. Amazon had my TV in stock and out the door it would cost $1735.58 at this time.

January 7, 2014 DTV responded:
HI ******,
Please read the terms and conditions of the warranty you purchased. We are not obligated to replace it with the same model or brand. That model (Pan VT30) also is not readily available. This model and the VT60 have been bid up in the market due to very short supply (almost none) of these models available. Just because it shows on the page does not mean it will ship. The LG that we suggest is a good model 2nd tier and top tier brand 1080p plasma, very good and has ready availability. Thank you,

January 7, 2014 I told DTV that the TV was ready to ship. That the tv they picked does not come close to the quality of the TV that I have now. I asked them to look at the specs of my TV.
Jan. 9th_ they want me to buy a LED tv for less than ***** I had a plasma.

Jan 10th I sent the following: Have you looked at the specs on my TV? You will see the following:
Active 3D full HDTV Smart TV Plasma
energy star, lead and mercury free construction
4 HDMI ports
3 USB ports
1 ** card slot
PC terminal connection
Digital audio output
AV cable connection.
WiFI adapater
I could go on but I assume you have looked at the specs. Please send me a check ** that I may purchase a tv with equal or similar features and functionality. $820.00 does not cover this. Should I choose to purchase the same one, it is still available. I have researched this.

This is part of their warranty:
The warranty states e) Limit of Liability for repair or replacement is the original cost of your product new.
Repair or Replace Option: If service is needed because of a product failure during normal usage, the Administrator has the option to repair or replace the defective product with a product of equal or similar features and functionality either new or refurbished, though in some cases this may not be the same brand. If the exact TV size is no longer available in the same TV technology, the closest TV size smaller may be chosen for replacement purposes
The warranty I purchased was for a plasma TV with a cost between ************ Not for a LED, not for one for *******
I do have all correspondence with this company should you care to see them. thank you.

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to respond to BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

11/22/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues
05/07/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised written warranty or guarantee

Complaint: DTVExpress Not Honoring my TV Repair Warranty.
DTVExpress
Contract # XXXXXX
Contract Date 1/12/2011
Address:981 ****** ** ****** ***** ***** ***
Atlanta, GA XXXXX
Phone XXX-XXX-XXXX or XXX-XXX-XXXX

Purchased: 5 Year TV Extended Warranty

In Jan 2011 DTVExpress processed my insurance premium of $300 for a 5 Year TV Extended Warranty. I filed a claim for TV repair April'2014 because my TV is having issues and after exchanging many emails regarding the TV symptoms their last email says my contract is void.
In January 2011 they had sent an email saying I need to provide the TV Model Number to make the TV warranty effective, and I sent DTVExpress the Purchase Invoice from Magnolia store with the Model Number. I particularly called DTVExpress customer service number XXX-XXX-XXXX after I sent the invoice and I was told they received all the information they needed for making the warranty effective.
If they had an issue with the original contract they should have voided it and sent me the refund in January 2011 and I would have bought extended warranty from Squaretrade. Now 2.5 years later they are stating my warranty is void because I didn't provide the TV model # and that they are sending me premium refund and an old copy of the preliminary contract asking for the model #.
If the company claims they didn't receive my TV Model #, and hadn't initiated the TV coverage they should have sent me a refund check January 2011 . This is clearly a case of the company not honoring a warranty when I file a TV repair claim in May 2014.
My fault is I should have kept the registered mail tracking I sent with the TV invoice and also asked for an updated Warranty Contract after I sent the TV Model #.
I am only asking that DTVExpress honor their contract and repair for TV for the 5 years of the contract .
My TV costs $2920 and needs repair or replacement and now because DTVExpress is not honoring their warranty I cannot buy warranty for my TV after 2.5 yrs.

Complaint Resolution: Company cannot be located.

02/10/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor service under the terms of warranties

Complaint: Bought a 4 year warranty from this company and they will not honor the agreement. They have false advertisement about a A rated BBB on their website
purchased ********* TCP58** from ***** in ******, ** at the end of March 2011, bought DTV Express warranty lasting 4 years on 4/1/2011, receipt # XXXXXX in the amount of ******* (DTV address on invoice: *** ****** **** ****** **** ** ***** *** in Atlanta, ** XXXXX). In March of 2013, we had a pixel issue. I emailed "******@dtvexpress.com," spoke with ******, who told me that they would not fix the TV for one pixel, and it would eventually burn out. Continued to have color issues with the screen, reached back out to them via the email in January 2014... again communicating with ******. He asked for me to take pictures of the TV to show him the issues. After going back and forth for awhile, all of a sudden, none of my emails are going through, they are coming back "undelivered" - can't contact them at all. We called them at XXX-XXX-XXXX, spoke with ***** who said they can't even find us in the system. WE HAVE THE INVOICE FROM THEM WITH RECEIPT #** INVOICE #** DATES that we sent in. ***** handles claims for DTV Express, and he didn't even have a way to contact them. None of it adds up.

Complaint Resolution: Company cannot be located.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Extended Warranty Contract Service Companies, Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Dealers, Compact Discs, Tapes & Records - Retail, Television & Radio - Dealers

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.