BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/07/2007

Snappy Electric, Plumbing, Heating and Air Conditioning

(770) 321-3433View Additional Phone Numbers2197 Canton Rd Ste 203 Bldg 200, MariettaGA 30066-7303 Send email to Snappy Electric, Plumbing, Heating and Air ConditioningView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/07/2007

BBB has determined that Snappy Electric, Plumbing, Heating and Air Conditioning meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Snappy Electric, Plumbing, Heating and Air Conditioning's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

28 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Snappy Electric, Plumbing, Heating and Air Conditioning

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 26
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 28 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
06/21/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Snappy came to my house and instead of solving the problem they tried selling their services and never resolved my issues.
I called snappy plumbing weeks ago regarding three of my toilets being backed up and having flushing issues. They agreed to send a rep out and waive the fees for a visit. When the rep came out the first thing he was trying to do was sell their other services that they offer. I was not too happy about it because I was concerned about getting my toilet fixed and even though I did not need A/C and heating and whatever else services they offer I ended up signing up to just get the rep out of my house. THeir selling practices are very harsh and they make it a point to sell when they come out. Well it so ended up my three toilets the guy augered but it was still backing up. He claimed to have fixed one but it was not fixed. I went on vacation and a week later called them back when I realized it was not fixed. They transferred me to the manager, I believe her name was Christina who I asked for some of my money back, when the guy came out I paid well over $300 and did not think it was fair to pay that much money for something that was never fixed. She said she would be calling me back and almost two months after no phone call and no refund. I really would like my money back as I have no intention of using their company in the future. I was not happy with their sales or service practices and would like to get back at least 75% of what I paid. They wanted me to pay another $750 so they can come out and change out my toilets but I did not allow them to and paid way less with a local plumber. Please get these people to give me back my hard earned money.

Desired Settlement
I need some of my money back since I paid for a service that was never provided. I also want whatever they signed my up for that day cancelled since I have no intention to do business with them in the future.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *******/GM
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********@snappyservices.com
In review of the complaint we feel the customer was given plenty of information in regards to issues that were preventing her toilets from properly working. On the first visit by one of our licensed plumbing technician on 4/19/2016, she was quoted to hand auger 3 to toilets that were not properly flushing. After approval we were only able to fully clear one toilet and the 2 others had hard obstructions and pulling them to try and clear was the only option available, which is additional due to the additional time and labor require to complete. Her invoice of this service call was fully documented to instruct of the additional work needed & pricing for said work- the customer declined at that time. Again all of this was noted on her invoice along with the fact there was no warranty- the original agreed pricing before we started was dropped due to the fact we could not clear the other 2 toilets even though we spent time trying to clear the toilets.
On 4/29/2016 she called back in requesting another technician for a 2nd opinion, at no cost he (also a state licensed journeyman plumber) tried to clear the other 2 toilets that were not cleared on the previous visit. He came to the same conclusion and offered the pricing to pull the toilets and try to clear from the bottom or a 2nd option of installing 3 new customer supplied toilets- the customer declined both. Keep in mind we performed the same work on the second visit for no charge & came to the same conclusion as the first licensed plumbing technician we sent out on 4/19/2016.
My conclusion on the work performed is that my field personnel followed procedure, documented their findings, provided additional options, and gave all efforts to try and fix the problem. I do not feel that any credit should be given for the services provided as we made 2 attempts by 2 separate licensed plumbing technicians and came to the same conclusion both times.
As for the fact the technician was pushing other services- we offer a home protection plan with many benefits including extended warranties, discount pricing, and annual cooling and heating tune-ups from our HVAC department- I spoke with the technician in question and provided feedback on how to present without being pushy, he was unaware that this was the case and I will say this is the first complaint on him about this issue since he was hired in 1/2015- he has many of great internet reviews for his service. However we always refund the agreement if customers decide after the fact they no longer need/want the agreement as long as no HVAC tune-ups have been performed before the request. I have put in a request to the accounting department that the agreement cost of $149 be refunded and the agreement terminated- we will also absorb the $26.00 discount of services provided based on the agreement being in place at the time of service.
To recap Snappy does not feel that the request of 75% of the service charges be refunded or any amount that pertains to work completed, we however do have a policy that the home protection plan can be terminated at any time as long as no HVAC tune-ups have been performed and in this case they have not- the refund of $149 should be processed within 10-12 business days. If further action is required we can supply all of the documented invoices provided to the customer about warranties and additional recommendations.
Thank you


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I take back the $149 but I still think it is unfair that the first plumber said he cleared on toilet when this was never done. The second plumber just came out to check on the one toilet was that they claimed to have cleared and never tried to fix the other toilets in any way.

05/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 12/3/2013 Snappy & I signed an agreement to complete a full replacement of cast iron pipes with new PVC toilet plumbing. The price included 2 days (16 hours) of plumbing work effort plus a pull and reset of 2 toilets. I was told the price also included a one year home protection plan guaranteeing preferential scheduling if there was any type of problem in my home. In scheduling the pipe replacement Snappy now told me they could do the work in less than one day (8 hours). We were going to be out of town the day Snappy demanded to do the work and ended up rescheduling the work to January because their plumber was going to be away on vacation. When I called to schedule in January, it took 2 days to get a return call from Snappy (so much for the guaranteed preferential scheduling). The pipe replacement took a total of approximately 12 person hours of work effort. During pipe replacement, ceramic floor tile was damaged and had to be replaced. We discovered the toilets were not reset properly. The toilets were literally not clamped onto the new pipe in the floor. When I called to resolve this toilet issue, I was told I would have to pay to have the work done. And though they had been in my home less than two weeks earlier, they could not tell me how much it would cost. I left the owner a voice mail and as of April, I have not heard back from him (Once again, so much for the guaranteed preferential scheduling)! I ended up having to reset the toilets again myself.
Product_Or_Service: Plumbing

Desired Settlement
I would like to have the cost of the toilet resets and home protection plan refunded.

Business Response
We did enter an agreement to replace a large amount of cast iron drain pipe in this customer's basement above a suspended ceiling. Because of the limited access we allotted 2 days for the project during the initial consultation. There was never a discussion on how long it would take in hours only days in which I indicated the second day may only require minor work or clean up and may in fact only be a half day or morning. There was some miscommunication on our part between our call center on the scope of the work as I was called while in the field because during scheduling customer had indicated a requested scheduling window as he was going out of town for the holiday. Our installers schedule was full and he was also scheduled to be out for the holidays. The times conflicted and when I was called because there was only one open day not two the call center asked if it could be done in one day and I informed them it was possible for one long day with additional helpers. When this was relayed to the homeowner he felt he had been overcharged for the work due to the time to perform. I would also mention that on 2 separate occasions before I return to the office and contacted him, he was very unprofessional to 2 separate call center employees calling names and using profanity. Our calls are recorded. When I return to the office the following morning I contacted the customer to discuss and spoke in depth on the scope of work, how we priced jobs using a flat rate manual and the job price would be the same if we finished in 10 hour, 16 hours or 48 hours. I also informed him that in one long day with an additional helper it would be possible to finish, but he made it clear he wanted us out of the house by 4:30 before his wife returned home each day. With this being the case I informed him it would require 2 days and informed him of the next available scheduling dates as he did want the a specific technician that was there during the original service call where the work was quoted. I also informed him that he was more than welcome to take some additional bids from other companies if he was concerned with the pricing. We agreed on a replacement date after the holidays and the work went as planned, minus a small crack on one piece of tile in the basement which we pointed out, and had replaced within a couple of days. During the removal of the old cast iron sewer pipes a fitting had fallen off a pipe from the ceiling and damaged the tile, it went unnoticed until the floor coverings that was placed over the floor during the work was removed. These things happen from time to time and we have a contractor that we use when needed. The toilet in question was a customer supplied toilet that we installed at no additional charge and would have been covered under warranty, there was a factory issue with the toilet and he needed to return it, we gave him a phone quote of $400 which would have been discounted another 10% for being a service member. We avoid phone quotes because all tasks are different and sight unseen quotes can be incorrect causing issue when we arrive if additional items are needed. Also we offer many different services and our call center staff is not fluent with the required codes and procedures of the actual work we perform, this makes it very difficult to offer prices over the phone. There is no trip charge for service agreement members (he was) so he could have received a price for the work from the actual plumber had he scheduled. However because he was upset and there was history between his interactions the CSR's I was contacted in the field and gave a CSR our book price for a pull and reset of an existing toilet. In this case it would result in 2 trips because we would have needed to return to reinstall once the toilet was exchanged. On a further note his account has been flagged due to inappropriate language and insults to the 2 separate girls in the call center, as I spoke with him about this when we completed the work and reviewing the completed job were there were some disagreements on payment due to the damaged tile. We did not charge for the installation of his new toilet, if the toilet was not bolted to the flange it would have never completely sealed or been stable and would have been evident immediately. The installer has been working for us for several years and specializes in our drain department where toilet setting is done continuously every day he was also training a new helper and was teaching as he was installing so we feel there may be some mistake on the homeowners' part. The issue with the toilet was with the toilet itself not the installation and the call for pricing was requesting we remove so it could be swapped out, we would not charge for warranty repairs/installations. The claim we were charging to return to fix it because it was not bolted down is untrue and this only came about some time after he was quoted a price for the pull and reset so he could exchange the toilet. Why would someone ask for pricing on something that would be an obvious warranty call? To resolve the issue we would be willing to refund his membership purchase of $149 even though we have already performed the heating tune-up under the membership, but we did not charge for the toilet so a refund for this would be unavailable.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
It is clear that Snappy is either confusing me with another customer, or trying to confuse these issues. It's now the easiest thing for Snappy to refund my membership purchase. And in the end, I'm still out several hundred dollars to get a second toilet re-installed plus a year's warranty on the main pipe installation.

First, there were specific discussions concerning hours during the sales cycle as I was trying to ascertain the cost/hour I was being charged. And Snappy's schedule commitment came before I signed up for the service. Snappy changed the duration of the work when they tried to force us to reschedule to one day (Snappy reported it would take until 9pm or 10pm with 2-3 workers). They agreed the pipe replacement was in no way urgent! Second, when Snappy finally responded to our request to schedule in the new year, they proposed to be going in and out of our home on the day of the worst ice storm in Atlanta history with temperatures forecast near 0 degrees. I admit I thought that was a silly idea. Third, during the rescheduling cycle, I asked Snappy if it would cost more to re-install a new toilet instead of the existing toilet. The response from Snappy at that time was it didn't matter since I was paying them to re-install one toilet. Yes, the toilet was manufactured incorrectly and the ****** company immediately stood behind their product and provided replacement and re-installation. I was just looking to see what Snappy would charge ****** to do the work. But even though Snappy had installed the toilet only days earlier, they did not provide ANY information on cost until they could come out to assess the situation. This seemed odd to me until I found the toilets were installed incorrectly. The toilets literally wobbled on the floor until I re-installed the new toilet provided by ******:-) Maybe it was the trainee who did the installation, I don't know or care. It just was not installed correctly and it appears Snappy didn't want to be involved in me finding that out.

In summary, prospective customers should be VERY wary of the sales cycle from Snappy as evidenced by their response above. Snappy clearly is taking the approach of slandering the customer and misrepresenting events.

06/25/2015Problems with Product / Service
03/25/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Electricians, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Plumbers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/10/2006Business started: 08/01/2004
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Secretary of State- Professional Licensing Boards
237 Coliseum Dr
Macon, GA 31217-3805
(478) 207-2440
http://www.sos.ga.gov

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott Bilodeau (Owner)Mr. Adam Bunyard (General Manager)Mr. Thomas Hoisl (CFO)
Business Category

Electricians, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Plumbers

Alternate Business Names
Snappy Electric, Snappy Heating and Air Conditioning, Snappy Plumbing, Snappy Electrical

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Snappy Electric, Plumbing, Heating and Air Conditioning has received 4.9 out of 5 stars based on 28 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Snappy Electric, Plumbing, Heating and Air Conditioning

2197 Canton Rd Ste 203 Bldg 200

Marietta, GA 30066-7303

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2197 Canton Rd Ste 203 Bldg 200 

    Marietta, GA 30066-7303(770) 321-3433

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Snappy Electric, Plumbing, Heating and Air Conditioning is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (770) 517-4114
  • (888) 750-5943
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Electricians

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.