BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Greystone Power Corp

Find a Location

(770) 942-65764040 Bankhead Hwy, DouglasvilleGA 30134-4313http://www.greystonepower.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Greystone Power Corp is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Greystone Power Corp's rating include:

  • 27 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Greystone Power Corp's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 27 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

27 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 14 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues22
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 27

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Greystone Power Corp

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (27)
04/15/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint

My payment history for EMC clearly shows that I have made 12 payments to EMC for 2015. However, EMC is claiming that I am 2 months behind for 2015. It is Greystone's responsibility to send payments to EMC and I cannot be held accountable if this did not happen. Greystone needs to contact EMC to rectify this situation so that my balance correctly reflects what I actually owe them, which is $33.90.

Desired Settlement
Greystone needs to settle this issue with EMC since my payment history clearly shows that I paid this money to EMC in 2015, but EMC is claiming they did not receive it.

Business Response
Customer's request to contact EMC Security to rectify this situation was completed on 4/12/2016. EMC Security requested that GreyStone call customer and explain billing and payments. Customer was advised that the account in question has been in arrears since 2014 but customer disputed. GreyStone emailed supporting billing and payment history but customer remained dissatisfied. GreyStone emailed more specific, detailed information in order to better help customer understand and as of now she has not responded. With this additional emailed information, GreyStone has exhausted reasonable explenation. GreyStone does not have the authority to adjust billing as that is the responsibility of EMC Security.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I put no because I did respond to the information provided via email. Nonetheless, I have spoken with Mr.********** today, 4/15/2016 and I am satisfied with the result. Please note that Ms. ******** was not as helpful with explaining the circumstance.

Final Consumer Response
I have spoken to Mr.********** and I am satisfied with us response.

04/01/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was on Greystone Power's budget billing (the program that lowers and keeps your bill at a lower amount) but suddenly they claimed I owed a past due bill. I asked the representative to explain how I owed a past due amount when I HAD NOT MISSED A PAYMENT. The rep told me that in order to remain on the program, I had to have made my payments on time. Well there is no way I can make the payment "on time" because, according to the representative, Greystone Power changes my DUE DATE EVERY MONTH. This billing method has not always been in affect and Greystone Power has never given me any notice of these changes and has not advised me on how to predict what date my balance will be due on. Now, I've noticed that ONCE AGAIN, my bill is starting to spike without explanation, as we do not use electricity wastefully. We are extremely frugal and keep our appliances working efficiently.
Product_Or_Service: Electricity
Account_Number: **********

Desired Settlement
I would like to be placed back on the budget billing program and for Greystone Power to stop making these "mistakes" because I am on a fixed income and can not afford bogus spikes in my bill!

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******, Supervisor
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: *******************************
Spoke with member by phone. She states they are on fixed income & can't afford higher bills. She, her husband, another young adult and baby live at location. States their heat system is not used as it's broken, denied using space heaters. Reviewed account giving info of payments and due dates which will fluctuate depending on holidays and days in month. She states she has not received any of the correspondence concerning our upgrade, her levelized billing, change in cycle, etc. She wants to remain on ebill. I gave her the reading today of 54303 which is 794 kwh used this month to date. I suggested she read her meter every 24 hours as she does not trust our system. I also suggested she contact agencies for assistance in paying the $215.31. I also agreed to put her back on levelized eginning with her June bill if payments are made on time and in full until then. I also explained she would be removed from levelized if payments aren't in full and on time. She is to call me when she pays the May bill to be put back on levelized if appropriate.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


08/04/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have been a customer with Greystone power since 2007. I have never had a service disconnection until 07-27-2015. I do understand that you cannot continue to be in business if payment is not received. However, imposing a 420.00 deposit fee for a customer that has never experienced a disconnection in service is unacceptable.

Desired Settlement
The deposit fee waived.

Business Response
We have contacted Ms.********** and removed the deposit added as courtesy. This issue has been resolved.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


07/15/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Good morning,I have a complaint to make about the Greystone Power customer service department. My husband called on yesterday to Greystone Power, 7/8/15 around 2 or 3pm, trying to see if we can establish service at the address listed above. He was not rude or disrespectful, but was greeted harshly, rudely and disrespected by an agent once getting off the phone. She (the customer service agent) laughed, thinking our situation was funny while hanging up the phone. Let me give you the scenario. Our landlord has cut off our lights and we have been in the dark for 9 days now. We have lost sleep, food and appliances due to this debacle with the landlord who said that the money was paid for the service. We have to wait until tomorrow to get them switched (hopefully, that is possible). We have struggled to remain calm and try to figure out what is happening. We are in a financial hardship at the present moment. But in the meantime, while dealing with this stressful situation, it is unfathomable to see that the agents are careless in dealing with the public. It is embarrassing enough to have to deal with this situation, but to have an agent laugh in your face about it hurts. That was totally unnecessary. Just because a person is down one day, does not give anyone the right to mistreat that person period, in the service industry or otherwise. Maybe this will reach someone important to do something about it, or maybe not. I am now contacting the Better Business Bureau to file a complaint. I felt I needed to let someone know about what we have to deal with on this side of the spectrum.
Product_Or_Service: Greystone fee for lights to be turned on same day

Desired Settlement
In order for us to pay for the transfer of service, there is an amount of 35.00 to have them switched on the same day. I feel as if we should not have to pay that fee since we were disrespected and treated bad without any concern from the representative(s). So, this is the way Greystone is to be represented in the face of the public? Expect to be laughed at no matter your situation. The lack of sensitivity training by Greystone is uncalled for in the areas of customer service and commerce.

Business Response




We have called Ms. ******* and apologized for any inconvenience and assured that we do not condone this type of behavior. We have also attempted to locate the call in which the alleged disrespect happened but was unsuccessful. We have waived/removed the $35 same day fee as a courtesy.

Thank you!




Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Thank you Greystone Power for your investigative efforts. As a person working in the customer service field, I do understand what it means to deal with the public and to offer the best service possible. I appreciate your response in handling this situation. I accept the offer.

11/28/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Their IVR provided the wrong due date for upcoming payment, and I suffered a financial hardship as a result.
My power bill in the amount of $164.59 was due by 9/11/2013. I was not able to make this payment by this due date so I requested a payment extension. The payment extension was granted by the automated phone system with a promise to pay date sometime in October 2013. I wrote this date down, but I misplaced it. I called Greystone back sometime around October 12, 2013 to confirm the promise to pay date previously set. After I entered my account number, the IVR provided me with a due date of October 27, 2013. However, on October 16, 2013, my child call me from home to inform me that the power had just been turned off. I called customer service to find out why and I was told that I had a broken promise to pay a few days earlier. I explained that their IVR provided me with a due date of October 27, so I could I have missed the promise to pay date. The agent informed that their IVR provided me with the cut off date for next bill rather than the actual promise to pay date of October 9. She explained that their IVR is not sophisticated enough to provide the actual promise to pay date. I explained to her that as a consumer, I expect the information provided by their IVR to be accurate. Anyway, I promptly paid the past due amount of $164.59 and service was restored the same day. Now Greystone has billed me an additional $20.00 collection fee and $25.00 reconnect fee in addition to late fees in the amount of $8.46. I have not had missed a promise to pay in the past and this is the first time my power has been shut off. Not to mention, the payment was missed due to their error, not mines. Fro this reason, I do not feel it is fair that I incur the additional $45.00 in fees that could have been prevented if their IVR was sophisticated enough to provide the correct due date after a promise to pay has been made. No consumer would know that their iVR gives out inaccurate information unless they have experience this issue in the past. They did agree to waive the additional deposit of $129, but would not waive the other fees.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting that the additional fees of $45.00 be removed from my account. They should also consider updating their system so that the IVR would provide consumers with the promise to pay date if an agreement has been made or even sending a confirmation via e-mail so consumers can easily refer to this information if this date needs to be confirmed later.

Business Response
Our IVR states - If you have already been approved for a payment extension, you may disregard this message. Please note that based on your account activity, your service may be subject to disconnection.- We also e-mail a confirmation when a pay plan is setup, I advised member to look at their spam file to authorize our e-mails. We also have pay plan information on our website for memebers while the pay plan is still active. We have removed the deposit from the account, but we are unable to remove the collection fee and reconnect fee.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Thank you for applying the $45 credit to my account. I have no problem following the accepeted pay plan. I only ask that you have your automated system (IVR) provide the new accepted pay plan date anytime a member misplaces the date. I work 12 hours a day and your office is closed by the time I get off work at 7pm, so I am unable to speak to a live person during your normal business hours so I rely upon your IVR proviidng accurate information.

Final Business Response
The requested $45.00 fee has been removed as a courtesy. We have pay plan information on our website and a courtesy email is sent to our members. Our automated phone system informs our members if they have a pay plan to please disregarding the balance information as a reminder to follow the pay plan accepted. We also have representatives available Monday - Friday 8AM -5PM, excluding holidays. to answer any questions or concerns. It is the responsibility of the member to follow the accepted pay plan.

Page 1 of 2
04/08/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I called Greystone Power on March 4th to make my monthly payment. I was told that their policy had changed and that their agent could no longer take my payment over the phone. The agent informed me that she could transfer me to the automated line or I could download the app and pay that way. Since I was driving it would have been risky for me to have typed in a long account number. I chose to download the app to my iPad and did so with the agent on the phone. I drove home and made the payment. So, I was shocked when my service was interrupted. I made a payment within 5 min and explained to the agent that I was sure that I had made the payment the same day I downloaded the app. Something must have gone wrong when making the payment with the app, and because their process had changed, I don't feel that I should be charged a $300 deposit.

Desired Settlement
I ask that Greysone waive any deposit charged to my account.

Business Response
We have attempted to reach the member several times and she has had conversations with GreyStone on March 4th,11th,18th,22nd, and 29th. The only payment posted during this interaction was made March 11th and again on March 29th. Member had no confirmation for the payment in question on March 4th and we had no payment until March 11th. We have waived deposit due to non-payment in the past and will be happy to split the deposit for the member to pay in 2 or 3 installments or we can offer prepay where there is no deposit to be paid.

01/25/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We were just charged $285 for a reconnection to restore power - 4 hours after they disconnected it. That's over a dollar a minute the power was out.
We were just charged $285 for a disconnect. Granted the bill was late, however we've been at this address for the better part of a decade. I neither asked for the power to be turned off by a power truck because their equipment failed, nor wanted it to be turned off. I understand the fees associated with a common disconnect, but I am in no way responsible as to how you disconnect our service.

I had no notice that they needed to service my meter, which I would have been more than happy to allow them into our secure area, had they simply asked. They have my phone number, street address, and email. None were used to contact me.

Desired Settlement
I seek a full refund of all fees.

Business Response
According to GreyStone guidelines and practices, for this member's situation, the fees are appropriate and will remain on the account.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No notification was given on any of the onsite visits. Again I'm not disputing the typical charges associated with disconnect, however these fees generated by onsite visits, after hours fee are excessive, unnecessary and absurd. A simple note left on the door would have avoided the whole issue. None was left. At no time was I aware that you required access to my property due to your faulty equipment.

Final Business Response
CEO will be contacting the member

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We will be more than happy to continue the conversation that leads to a resolution in this matter. We only ask for to be treated fairly while reaching an equitable and reasonable solution.

11/12/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have been paying this power bill consistently for over three years. Then, all of a sudden the bill jumps from an average of $200 to $300-$400 with no apparent explanation. Because it shows the usage to be around $150-$175. Then, all of a sudden, my power is shut off and I was advised that I needed to pay $444 on top of the $200 I had already pay in October and I have no idea how those charges were calculated. Then the following day, I go to look at a statement only to find out that I now have to pay a $640 deposit. I need a logical explanation as to where all of these charges are stemming from. I cannot reach a live person on the phone. My power was out for several hours causing me to have through out food that was in the refrigerator and freezer.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting that my bill be reviewed and adjusted accordingly. I also would like a credit applied to my bill for the loss I have incurred because of the disconnect.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title:****** ******, Supervisor
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: *******************************
Account was on levelized billing but was late paying her account 7 months out of 12. We sent a letter in July concerning her delinquent payment situation but she didn't open it. We removed her from levelized billing in September and sent another letter to inform of the removal. She did not open this letter. When we mailed the October bill she was delinquent again and the bill gave the delinquent amount and the disconnect date. She did not make a payment or contact our office. We disconnected her account on October 29th due to the delinquent account. She called our automated service on 10/29 at 6:17pm and made a payment to reconnect. She was charged reconnect fees and a deposit. I called our member today, 11/03, and discussed the situation which resulted in her account being disconnected. She stated she never understood her levelized bills and thought she was making the appropriate payments. I explained that if she can't contact GreyStone by phone to then send us an email and we will be glad to return her call.

10/13/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This is a long story that I just found out about. No notice was given that they would no longer be sending money to EMC even though they bill for EMC.Greystone is billing for EMC, which they have always done.I send a check to Greystone for the total amount they bill for.Instead of sending the money to EMC, they are keeping the money for themselves.We are left with late penalties and past due bills.
Product_Or_Service: Electric service

Desired Settlement
I have disconnected from both firms and will not use them again if there is an alternative.This is FRAUD.This allows EMC to charge late fees and penalties while Greystone gets free money.A full refund of late fees paid

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******
Contact Phone:************
Contact Email: *******************************
System upgrade in May. Member had 2 accounts, one for electrical and 1 for security. Member made payment only to the electrical account because they didn't realize the upgrade had taken place. Payment were then corrected and security notified of payents. Member then stated they cancelled the security but failed to complete the request. The member has since disconnected the security and a refund total of $60.95 will be mailed to the member. Spoke with our member on 10/05 and explained information. He states he will call by the end of October to cancel his electrical service due to moving to Tennessee.

10/05/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I am being charged over $1200 dollars in late fees and security deposit for Greystone's mistake with Auto Draft Bill pay.
I have been a good customer for Greystone Power for over 2 years now. I have always had my bill put on auto draft so there is never any issues with it being paid on time. In January, there was a mistake in Greystones auto bill pay system and my bill was not paid (the funds were available). Due to this, my power was disconnected with no form of notification. I had to pay over $500 dollars (this included a $370 deposit) to have it turned back on. After numerous calls with not much help from their employees, I got in touch with a manager and was finally heard out. She acknowledged that the mistake was on Greystones end. They would not refund me my $370 dollars, but applied it to my account as a credit and apologized for the inconvenience. Fast forward to August, my power is once again turned off, my bill was still on auto draft, the funds were available in my account at the time, and once again my power was shut off. This time, we were required to pay over $800 to pay our missed bill, current bill, late fees, and once again a security deposit. Once again I was not notified that my account was not current. This time, I was told it was my fault and that the security fee had been removed once before, and they will not do it twice (when the first time, they said it was their mistake). The first employee I spoke with was incredibly rude and unprofessional. When I told the employee that I was going to go with their competitor, she stated "were all you have in your area", as if that was a solution to my problem. I still have a balance of $432 on my account (to pay for the security deposit they are applying to my account). In total, if I pay these ridiculous fees, I will have paid Greystone over $1,200 in less than a 5 week period. It is absurd that I do not have the ability to shop power companies. I am simply at the mercy of Greystone and feel as though they have completely taken advantage of me. I have no way to stand up for myself, not having power with a two year old at home simply isn't an option. I do not think that Greystone values me or my business, and they have made that very clear. How can I be held accountable for their Auto Bill pay issues? I cannot believe these people are entrusted to handle power for my whole area.... It's a shame. I can say this, I will not move to a Greystone power covered area when I change locations. Our account is in my wifes name, ******** ******. Our account number is XXXXXXXXXX.

Desired Settlement
I would like Greystone to remove the $370 security deposit, credit to my account the late fees, disconnection fees, and reconnection fees that I was charged for their auto bill payment not processing my payment. I would also like Greystone to fix or correct whatever errors are occurring with their auto bill pay system. At this point, I cannot trust it. Greystone doesn't mind if the payment doesn't go through, Why is that? Because they are my only power provider, they are my only option and know I will have to pay whatever ridiculous fees they choose to apply to me, as they told me "they are all I have". I want all of this completed in a timely manner.

Business Response
In December of 2014, GreyStone waived the required deposit and our practice is to do that once for our members. We have spoken with Mr. ****** recently providing options that have neither been accepted nor declined. Our department manager has left a voicemail for the primary member and/or Mr. ****** to discuss available options.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I received a voicemail from a manager. I have called back 3 times. The manager assigned to my situation has not returned my call. I left her a voicemail. I also sent a copy of my complaint to Greystones Public relations manager. She advised someone will get in touch with me to get this resolved.
No solutions have been presented to me other than "pay the bill". Also, the deposit was in fact waived in 2014, but it was waived because it was Greystones mistake, not mine. A manager apologized for THEIR mistake. Once again, I am being held accountable for Greystones lack of a sufficient auto bill pay!
I astounding that Greystone doesn't have an authority over them. Just keep bullying the little man... Terrible customer service.
Waiting for someone to call me...

Final Business Response
The Manager has attempted to contact member several times and this has been settled.

Page 1 of 5

Industry Comparison| Chart

Electric Companies

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/05/2005Business started: 09/30/1936
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary Miller (CEO)
Business Category

Electric Companies

Products & Services

Electric Provider

Alternate Business Names
Greystone Power Corporation

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Greystone Power Corp

4040 Bankhead Hwy

Douglasville, GA 30134-4313

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 4040 Bankhead Hwy 

    Douglasville, GA 30134-4313

  • P.O Box 897 

    Douglasville, GA 30133

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Greystone Power Corp is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Electric Companies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.