BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/1952

Georgia Power Company

(888) 660-5890View Additional Phone Numbers241 Ralph McGill Blvd NE 10th fl Bin 10105, AtlantaGA 30308-3374 Send email to Georgia Power Company

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/1952

BBB has determined that Georgia Power Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Georgia Power Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 197 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

197 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 72 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Billing / Collection Issues140
Problems with Product / Service54
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 197

Additional Complaint Information

Georgia Power has been receiving reports from consumers around the state that they are being contacted by phone from "scam artists" attempting to defraud both business and residential consumers. They are posing as Georgia Power employees requesting consumers to provide their payment & account information in order to avoid disconnection. The "scam artists" are also asking consumers to pay at places other than an authorized Georgia Power payment location.
Georgia Power will only contact consumers via a prerecorded message or by letter regarding accounts.

Reminders from Georgia Power to avoid scams:
Georgia Power will never ask for a credit card or pre-paid debit card number over the phone.
Employees are not sent into the field to collect payment in person and will not ask a consumer to pay anywhere other than a business office or Authorized Payment Location.
If a consumer receives a suspicious call from someone claiming to be from Georgia Power please contact 888-655-5888. This number is available 7AM-7PM Monday- Friday. After hours, please call the company's 24-hour customer service line at 888-660-5890.

Georgia Power continues to work with law enforcement agencies to identify and prosecute criminals who pose as Georgia Power employees in order to defraud customers. For more information, visit: www.GeorgiaPower.com/Scam

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Georgia Power Company

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (197)
09/16/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
GA Power Charge me a $1000.00 for being late 3 times in over a year.
My bill has always being to high and we do not use the entire building so we are not running the air condition nor heater in some of the classrooms. GA Power at my request sent one of their representatives out to see why my bill is so high the representative told me to turn the air condition off / heater when we close I turn everything off and the bill is still high no change. This month September, GA Power added $1000.00 to my already high bill. Each month I call and ask what date do I need to pay the bill, and on the day that the representative tells me that the bill needs to be paid I would go into the GA Power place and pay the bill on that day. I call and ask the representative how many times do they allow a person to be late before they access the fees the representative said that there is no certain number of times. The representative also said that, I had been late only 3 times out of over a year. I know that it is not fair for GA Power to charge me such ridiculous charges I paid the bill when the representative said the bills needed to get paid because, as I stated to the representatives that I were trying to pay my bill on time because I wanted to get my deposit back. The representatives are the ones that give me the wrong dates to pay the bills and I know they have a record of the many times I called to see when I needed to pay and I personal walked the payment into the company.

Desired Settlement
The resolution that I am seeking from GA Power is that they stop over charging me on my bill and that they not charge me $1000.00 because I paid the bill when I was told that it had to be paid.

Business Response
Providing excellent customer service is a top priority of Georgia Power. We are committed to working with our customers should they become delinquent in paying their bills. We mail reminder notices, make courtesy calls, and payment arrangements. However, when a commercial account becomes one (1) month past due, the account is reviewed for a deposit. All commercial accounts require a security deposit or alternate form of security of two times the average monthly bill unless waived as a result of a credit assessment.

It is never our intent to place our customers in hardship situations and we do understand the challenges in this dismal economy. However, since electric service is billed after it is consumed, the company may require a deposit or an additional deposit if payments are not received by the due date; therefore, due to the payment history on this account, a deposit was added by our Collections Department.

Mrs. ******, as we discussed over the phone, the required deposit of $1000.00 has been billed into three monthly installments beginning with the October bill. You have been a customer of Georgia Power for many years and we appreciate your business. Thank you again for making us aware of your concerns. You are a valued customer, and we look forward to serving you in the future.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
GA Power stated that they understand the challenges in this dismal economy(LIE) do this seems like someone that understand or do this seems like a company that can care less for the customers. Another lie never intent to place our customers in hardship. Do you wonder why they made this statement? so this tells me they did this intentional because there is no certain time that the company allows customers to be late so what GA Power is saying to me some customers be late 5 times of 8 times before they are charged the $1000.00. I wasn't late because I wanted to be late I was late because I didn't have the money. I would go into GA Power and pay half of the bill before the due date and the other half on the date that the representative said to pay. So what about the half of the bill I were paying before the bill were due? All other companies only charge a late charge on the next bill Water gas and light charge late charge on the next bill, Jackson EMC late charge on the next bill Comcast late charge on the next bill, Gwinnett water company late charge on the next bill and their late charge is about $5.00 This seems to me like those companies care for their customers. And again I were told by the representative that there is no certain number of times to be late before you are charge a late charge. So why what reason were I charged after 3 times why not after 5 times why not after 6 times and another lie they stated they call me I always called them to find out when the bill need to be paid and on that date they tell me I walk the payment into the business. And yes you said that you broke the $1000.00 down in three payments WOW that's a lot of help its still $1000.00 if you break it down in 10 payments. To sum this up THIS IS RIDICULOS I have always paid the bill no bad check always paid the bills. THIS IS RIDICULOS I wish I could switch to Jackson EMC who service my home I pay late they only add $5.00 to my next bill Jackson EMC cares for their customers not GA Power!!!

08/09/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Deposit Fees
I have been charged a $95 deposit fee and a $30 return item charge due to an error within their online payment system. This was due to two "late" payments. I have a record of making these payments on time. However, the funds were not withdrawn from my bank due to an issue with the routing number of my bank account. The routing number they had saved in their system that was associated with my account number was not correct and the payment did not go through. I did not enter this incorrect routing number! This must have been changed on their end, because this does not even closely correspond to the correct routing number for my bank.

Desired Settlement
I would like to be refunded $125, as I did not input an incorrect routing number for my bank and tried to make these payments on time.

Business Response
Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. Although your complaint expresses dissatisfaction with our company, I appreciate the opportunity to respond.

Providing excellent customer service is the cornerstone of Georgia Power Company. We apologize you had difficulties making a web payment. It appears your bank has a routing numbers for your checking account and another routing number for deposits. The stored information used to make the payment was saved from numbers you entered containing the routing number for your deposits and not the checking account. A letter was mailed out to you on July 20, 2016 informing you of that and advising a second return could result in a $30 return check fee.

Mr. *******, as a one-time courtesy to you, the $95 deposit has been cancelled. Because this was not an error on Georgia Power's part, the $30 return check fee is valid. It is my understanding that your banking information has been corrected and you should not run into this problem again.

Again, thank you for making us aware of your concerns. You are a valued customer and we look forward to serving.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I think this is fair

06/23/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was told that I would receive a credit for switching types of accounts and then I received nothing. I was lied to.
When I called to arrange a payment with customer service for my bill, I was told that I was eligible for prepay services. I was told that, because of my original deposit, I would have a surplus of funds and would get an $80+ credit on my new prepay account with a $40 payment to activate the new account. Upon activation of the new account, I did not receive the amount I was told that I would be credited. I was lied to by this company and I'm tired of random charges having to be paid to this company.

Desired Settlement
I would like the amount of my surplus credited to my account as i was expressly told would happen. I will contact news organizations, the governor, state representatives, and whomever else I need to contact in order to shine a light on these business practices. They are literally funneling our money into other accounts without our knowledge and not honoring agreements set forth.

Business Response
Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. Although your complaint expresses dissatisfaction with our company, I appreciate the opportunity to respond.

Providing excellent customer service is the cornerstone of Georgia Power Company and anything less is unacceptable. It is never our intent to miscommunicate any of our programs and we apologize if you felt you were misled.

Based on our records, on May 27, 2016 you called in for a payment arrangement. At that time there was a balance of $193.47. We advised you of our Pre-Pay program. You were advised after the $280 deposit was applied to the bill you would have a credit of $86.53. That was correct information at that time; however, that amount did not include the interest that was accrued on the deposit or the final bill. Because we bill a month behind, there will always be one last bill. The reading consisted of service used from May 3, 2016 to May 27, 2016. After the previous bill of $ 193.47 and final bill of $74.48 was deducted from the $297.84 deposit, the credit amount is $29.89.

Mr. *********, regrettably we cannot credit your Prepay account for $86.53 because the electricity for the final bill was used; however, we can place the final bill of $74.48 into the deferred and allow you to pay that over time. This would give you back the credit; however, any payments made on your Pre-Pay account will result in 25% being applied to the deferred amount. If you would like to proceed with this resolution, please contact our Customer Care Center at ***************

Thank you for making us aware of your concerns. You are a valued customer and we look forward to serving you in the future.


Consumer Response
I called to put action to the resulotion that the Georgia power company offered and I was denied this resolution. Not only was I denied the deferred resolution but they also refused to give me the CREDIT that is said to be owed even in this complaint. Please downgrade them now as they are thieves and liars. I will be going directly to my representative.

Final Business Response
Thank you again for taking the time to share your concerns with us. I appreciate the opportunity to respond.

Providing excellent customer service is one of the cornerstones of Georgia Power and anything less is unacceptable. It is never our intent to provide inaccurate information to our customers. I sincerely regret your experience with us did not meet your expectations. I have shared your concerns with the supervisors of the two representatives that you spoke with.

As promised, the resolution offered to you on June 6, 2016 to take the final bill and put it into your deferred balance on your Pre Pay account to reflect a credit has been completed. Also another $25 credit has been applied to your account for any inconvenience this matter may have caused.

Mr. *********, we value you as customers and appreciate your business. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We look forward to serving you better in the future.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Thank you for finally honoring your word. It caused great stress but I'm happy with the resolution. Thank you.

06/02/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We were told our power would be hooked up on Tuesday night if not for sure Wednesday. Now they are telling us Thursday.
We called GA Power last Wednesday 5/18 to inform them that we were doing renovations and got a new meter base and our contractor told us we need to have GA power disconnect the old meter base and connect the new meter base. We were informed that a technician would call us in 1 business day. We were not contacted in 1 business day. We called back on Thursday evening and another customer service person told us it can take 2 business days. We waited 2 business days and same issue. On Friday evening, we called back and the 3rd customer service person told us 3 business day. We asked to speak to a manager and they called us back on Saturday and told us that it was our fault that we did not call GA Power before we had our electrician switch out the meter base. We apologized that we were not aware that we were to call before we did work in our OWN house. That still does not excuse the 3 different answers we got from the customer service representatives. She promised to contact the engineering department and return our call on Monday morning. We never received a call on Monday. I was at the house on Monday and an employee of GA power stopped and said that he will release the order and it may be done Tuesday 5/24 but if not Tuesday for sure on Wednesday 5/25. I have called 3 times today 5/25 and the work is still not completed. We were told by the last person that our service was pushed over to Thursday 5/26. The customer service rep gave me a number to contact the new build department. I asked for the supervisor and she left for the day. The rep we talked to was not able to help remedy this issue. We have been at a standstill for a week and not able to work and costing us $$$$. Every time we call we get a different answer from the customer service department.

GA Power does not seem to care about their customers or their customer service. Each representative we speak to has given us different information and none of it has been accurate. No one has been able to resolve our issue and they don't seem bothered that they are causing us significant problems. A GA Power representative told us today that "she would hope and pray" that our issues get resolved.

Desired Settlement
We would like the job completed as soon as possible and a $100 credit for issues that were caused by the delay in service (construction work stoppage for over a week and the delay of us moving into our home) and misrepresentations made by numerous customer service representatives .

Business Response
Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. Although your complaint expresses dissatisfaction with our company, I appreciate the opportunity to respond.

Providing excellent customer service is one of the cornerstones of Georgia Power. We regret that you were not given correct information when you called. We could have done a better job of communicating our practices as it relates dropping and reconnecting services.

As we discussed, a drop service request was never called in on the account. When the wiring approval was faxed over on 5/19/16, it came in as new premise and not drop service reconnect. The lineman did come out; however, the service to the old meter base was still energized and we were not aware you were without service.

Mr. Stanwood, you are a valued customer and we appreciate your business. Any time our customers are inconvenienced, we are concerned. In an effort to restore your confidence in us, a credit of $100 as requested has been applied to your account.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


05/31/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have just discovered that Georgia Power has been charging me for 2 outside lights possibly since October of 1994. I have only one light and one pole on my property. The company sends representatives on a regular basis to check my pole and light, therefore they indeed have known that there is only one light for the past 21 1/2 years. My husband and myself have both talked with GA Power representatives. The company has come to my house and taken photos and acknowledged that indeed I only have one light. The last representative I spoke with on Monday, May 16, 2016 admitted that we had been charged for the light "probably from the beginnning". She offered to give me credit for one year of the lighting. The light cost $15.93 each month. I have been charged double that amount each month for all these years.

Desired Settlement
I would like for Georgia Power Company to either refund the balance of 21 1/2 years of lighting at $15.93 per month or to give me credit for that same amount of money and same amount of time on my electric bill.

Business Response
Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. Providing excellent customer service is the cornerstone of Georgia Power, and anything less is unacceptable. We are currently investigating your account and will contact you directly with the results.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Georgia Power never acknowledged their mistake. They did offer repayment of $1527 in credit toward my account. Which represents overcharges sines Aug 2007. I agreed to the amount. I have not yet received anything in writing/email as I have requested. This concerns me.

Page 1 of 9
09/14/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My 06/22/2016 Georgia Power account statement clearly shows a credits of -$56.34.
This credit was not applied to my 07/22/2016 bill amount of $51.99 as requested.
My 08/22/2016 account statement shows a past due balance of $51.99.
If you?re not going to issue a refund, at least apply MY OVERPAYMENT To my account balance
Product_Or_Service: ELECTRIC SERVICE
Account_Number: **********

Desired Settlement
IMMEDIATE BILLING ADJUSTMENT

Business Response
Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. A physical address, 10 digit account number and or phone number would be required to process the complaint.

09/06/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
It started when I moved from one building to another but has the same owners. I was on a fixed rate but was unaware that if you moved or disconnect service than you will be charged a huge fee which mine was $781. So when I transferred my service they still didn't tell me that I would be charged with this fee. I found out when I got my bill in April and was floored. They agreed to break my bill into a six month payment plan for $95 a month added to my bill. I have been paying $200 or more every month to pay the $95 and the rest towards my bill. Then when I went in last month and paid $150 they told me I was down to $284. Well then I receive my bill this month that has a $150 deposit plus 3 different $95 charges and $189 for my bill. I went in today to talk to Georgia power and all they could tell me to do was keep making payment arrangements but in the mean time I will continue to be billed these deposit amounts up to three times a year until the whole balance is paid off. I work fulltime and overtime to make sure I pay $200 or more a month on this bill just to keep getting charged more and more. When I pay that money I expected it to pay the $95 agreement and then $100 on the bill but they keep paying the bill and put nothing towards my agreement and keep charging me all these extra fees. I need this issue resolved. It's not like I don't pay my bill and it just got that high. Georgia power is refusing to help me with this issue. I would like to resolve the problem so I won't keep getting charged with the huge outrageous fees.
Product_Or_Service: Georgia power company
Account_Number: **********

Desired Settlement
I would like some kind of adjustment made to my account. I work hard to make sure I pay at the least $200 a month and when I can I pay more. I don't think it is fair when I actually pay my bill but keep getting charged all these fees and deposits. It's like it's set up for my lights to get cut off because I can't afford these extra fees when I pay my arrangements but when I finally get it down to $284 they bill me with all these fees to make it jump back up to $721.07. I even paid $100 today.

Business Response
Thank you for making us aware of your concerns. Although your complaint expresses dissatisfaction with our company, I appreciate the opportunity to respond.

As you know, providing excellent customer service is a top priority of Georgia Power. We are committed to working with our customers should they become delinquent in paying their bills. We mail reminder notices, make courtesy calls, and payment arrangements. However, when an account becomes two (2) months delinquent consistently, the account is reviewed for a deposit, and the electric service is in danger of being interrupted.

It is never Georgia Power's intent to place our customers in hardship situations and we do understand the challenges in this dismal economy. However, since electric service is billed after it is consumed, the company may require a deposit or an additional deposit if payments are not received by the due date; therefore, due to the payment history on the account, an additional deposit was added by our Collections Department.

Based on our records, a special arrangement was set up for you in April 2016 to pay $95.32 in addition to the current bill for six months. The arrangement has not been kept. We show $100 payments for each month with the exception of July where a $100 payment was made on July 7, 2016 and $150 was paid on July 18, 2016. To secure your account, a deposit of $270 is required of which $150 has been billed. An additional deposit may be required when the existing deposit on the account is less than two times the average monthly bill and the customer's payment history is unsatisfactory (late/partial payments, returned checks and /or cut non pays). Additional deposits may be collected in an amount up to $150 per occurrence not to exceed two times the Average Monthly Bill.

Ms. **********, the deposit billed and the late fees are valid. Deposits are required for all service customers; however, the deposit may be waived upfront depending on the results of the credit assessment when establishing an account. A security deposit is needed to serve as protection of company assets at the premise and to ensure payment of the final bill. We can bill the $150 deposits in three installments to make it more affordable. If your bills are paid each month by the due date for 12 consecutive months once paid in full, the deposit will be credited or refunded to you with 3% interest.

Thank you again for writing and making us aware of your concerns. You are a valued customer, and we look forward to serving you in the future.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No I don't accept that. If you look and see that I have been paying $200 a month and last month I paid $250 trying to get my bill down but when I pay $200 a month I would think $100 would go towards the $95 agreement and the rest towards my bill instead of it going to the current charges and stacking up giant fees. That is rediculous and its set up to charge me huge fees and this deposit of $150. I work hard for my money and I try my best to pay my bills. If you see I'm paying my bill and some then why would you keep adding on fees. This is rediculous that not even 6 months ago you sent me an almost $800 bill and here it is 5 months later and you are sending me another almost $800. Yes that is crazy when I'm not using that much electric it's only in fees to Georgia power. This is rediculous and I expect something to get done. This is out ragious and rediculous that you are allowed to do loyal and long time customers like this. Please help me fix this because I have worked hard to get my bill down to $284 and here this month its almost $800. That is out ragious. I need something done about this. It's like a financial rape and I have the bills to prove it. Please do something about this because it's getting out of hand. It's like they can charge me whatever even when I pay my bill. I could see if I wasn't paying but $200 or more a month is paying the bill so why should they be allowed to keep charging me extra.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Every bill I get I am charged $95.32 multiple times so no my payments are not going toward the arrangement. I am billed multiple times each month for these same fees which makes my bill even higher. I work hard to pay my bill and keep up to my arrangements. Yes I make $100 payments but it totals up to $200 or more a month. I should not keep getting charged four different $95.32 in one month. That is rediculous and outrageous. If I'm paying $200 or more a month and my bill each month has ranged from $100 to $189 then the rest should of went towards my arrangement instead of charging me four times on one bills for those fees. That's getting over on customers and taking advantage of me. I have pics of my bills where I can show you where I was charged last month four times for $95.32 and I have been paying my arrangements that I made. This problem needs to be fixed and it needs to be fixed soon. I feel like Georgia power is taking advantage of me and my account. They are refusing to do anything about this but yet still keeps charging me these outrageous fees. This needs to be fixed because being charged four times in one bill for the $95.32 is outrageous. Please help me fix this because this is becoming and ongoing problem with Georgia power.

Final Business Response
Ms. **********, as I have explained in the last two complaints, an agreement was made with Georgia Power Company on April 8, 2016 to place $571.92 into a special arrangement to pay $95.32 plus your current bill for 6 months. The $571.92 was the difference between actual kilowatts used at your previous address and what you were billed on our Flat Billing program. Based on the terms and conditions of the program mailed to you prior to billing, if the contract is terminated before the twelve months are fulfilled , a flat-bill adjustment is due at billing; however, because you were not advised again in the local office when you transferred your service, we worked with you.

Your balances and payments are as follows:
April -Amount due $179.56($149.56+$30) Amount paid $-100.00
May-Amount due $280.77($79.56 + 201.21) Amount paid $-100.00
June-Amount due$ $368.47 ($180.77+$187.70) Amount paid $-100.00
July-Amount due $$534.18($268.47+$265.71) Amount paid $-250.00
Aug-Amount due $571.07($284.18 +286.89) Amount paid $-250.00

On August 3, 2016 a $150 deposit was billed to you due to late / partial payments. As a courtesy, we billed that $150 in three installments at $50.00 each.

We do understand high bills are frustrating and we are committed to working with you, but respectfully, we bill based on kilowatts used measured through the meter and not based on income. The bills you receive will list by item the past balances that have not paid in full as agreed; however, you are not being billed several times in one month. The balance on the account is valid and no other adjustments will be made.

09/01/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Georgia Power has had an account on my credit report for years now that does not belong to me. I sent a letter requesting validation months ago.
Georgia Power has had an inaccurate or fraudulent account on my credit report for years now that does not belong to me, although they never made any effort to contact me and I discovered this by finding it on my credit report, after being denied credit.

I sent a letter requesting validation of this alleged debt months ago. This account has caused me to not be able to open up lights in my name, I have been denied credit and employment.

According to the Fair Credit Reporting Act, Section 609 (a)(1)(A), your company is required by federal law to verify - through the physical verification of the original signed certified consumer contract - of any and all accounts you request to be posted and or reported on a credit report.

I demand to see a copy of the Verifiable, Validated Proof (an original Consumer Contract with a wet-ink Signature on it, copies of copies are not Validation and by Law are not considered proof), that you have on file for the account listed above.

Under the FCRA, unverified, invalid accounts must be removed. They sent something to Equifax that they tried to pass off as proof but I (Terrence Thomas) have never in my life signed a contract with Georgia Power.

Desired Settlement
If you are unable to provide the me with a copy of the verifiable/validated proof that you have on file within 15 calendar days from receipt of this notice, for the account listed above then you must at once remove the account from (Your Name) credit reports. I demand the account be verified or removed immediately!

The law is very clear as to the Civil liability and the remedy available to me for the "negligent noncompliance" (Section 617) if you fail to comply with this Federal Law.

Business Response
Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns. We have been unsuccessful at locating your information in our system. Additionally, we have attempted to make contact with you at the phone number provided. We were advised the phone number provided was an incorrect number. Please provide more information to allow Georgia Power to assist.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Name: ******** ******
Account #**********

I demand to see a copy of the Verifiable, Validated Proof (an original Consumer Contract with a wet-ink Signature on it, copies of copies are not Validation and by Law are not considered proof), that you have on file for the account listed above.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Please note that it has been over 30 days and Georgia power has still NOT provided any validation for this debt. As my cards were lost anyone could have used my ID. I am requesting validation for this debt. My wet ink signature on a consumer contract. This is what you must provide by law UNDER SECTION 609 (a)(1)(A) and SECTION 611(a)(1)(A) of the Fair Credit Reporting Act.

So you cannot deem your information as accurate without the verifiable proof as the law states. Once If I receive what is requested, I will make arrangements to pay, if not I demand that it be removed from my credit report.

In the event that Georgia Power chooses to not provide verifiable proof or follow due prices to remove this account from my credit report, I will have no choice but to persue further legal action.

This account is not accurate. And is fraud as far as I am concerned.

Final Business Response
Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. I appreciate the opportunity to respond. Providing excellent customer service is the cornerstone of Georgia Power and anything less is unacceptable.
We have made attempts to contact Mr. ****** and to no avail, we left a voicemail for a return call to assist with this matter. Our records indicate the account was established on 02/09/2011 in the local business office with a verified lease agreement and photo id. The debt of $347.77 for service 2/9/2011 - 6/242011 is valid.
We are committed to working with our customers should they become delinquent in paying their bills. We mail reminder notices, make courtesy calls, and payment arrangements. However, when an account is closed and the final bill is not paid, we will report this debt to the credit bureau. Georgia Power is not in violation of the Fair Debt Collection Act.
Mr. ******, we will be more than happy to assist you with arrangements. Please contact our Revenue Recovery department at ************** Monday - Thursday 8:00 am - 6:00 pm or Friday 7:30 am - 3:30 pm for further assistance. Thank you again for making us aware of your concerns. We apologize for any inconvenience this matter may have caused. You are a valued customer and we look forward to serving you in the future.

08/19/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Service was not set up on time because of GA Power and I had to pay $100 in fees. I demand $100 to be credited to my account.
On May 20, 2016 I set up my new account when I moved to new apartment. I did not receive my bill next month and I thought that I have moved in almost at the end of month and I will probably receive it next month. Next month was July and I still did not have my bill and I called GA Power on July 14th and I was told that i have not completed my account set up and an email with instructions was sent to me. I checked all my email folders Inbox, Spam, Trash and was not able to find any email sent from GA Power. The next day I sent all documentations to them and they confirmed receipt. Yesterday I received my bill from my apartment complex with $50 fee for not transferring electricity service to my name. I called GA Power immediately and informed about situation and even spoke to one of the Supervisors. He told me that he will investigate and will send me original backup email sent to me on 05/20/2016. Today I called again GA Power as I did not receive any emails from them. I was told that "There is nothing we can do, we can't help you and we don't keep backups ". Now I have to pay $50 fee for the the service period May-June and another $50 fee for the service period June-July until service is transferred to my name after July 14th. What kind of customer service is this. I was not even able to speak with the Supervisor. Customer Representative was great but neither he nor his supervisor helped me.

Desired Settlement
I would like $100 be credited to my account as I have already payed $50 fee for the month of June and I was advised by my apartment complex that there will be another fee for the month of July.

Business Response
The customer has contacted our Online Customer Care team and asked Georgia Power not to contact him. However, our records indicate a pending connect order was issued via the Online Customer Care center on May 20, 2016. The following message was given and required acknowledgement before the customer could proceed.
Deposit and Office Visit Required
If you do no not have a Social Security #, please be aware that paying a deposit and visiting a local Georgia Power office with a picture ID will be required to turn on your service.
The pending connection order was voided on June 6, 2016 after the customer did not meet the obligation requirements of showing a picture ID in a local office. Unfortunately, this was not a Georgia Power error. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this matter may have caused. Mr. ******* is a valued customer and we look forward to serving him better in the future.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
"The customer has contacted our Online Customer Care team and asked Georgia Power ""not to"" contact him"- I have never told not to contact me.You have never followed up, never called, never contacted me so I could ask you not to. When did you contact me? Instead I have contacted you 3 times via phone to have my problem solved 07/14; 07/21 and 07/22 and all 3 times you did not help or just did not want to help and your employees didn't know what to do. I am very good customer and I always pay my bills on time never late and I will be for a long time. Now you are blaming me. Is it really my fault? You do not have proof of neither sending email, mail nor anything else and all you have are just words; we have sent, informed. Where, when, how? How can you be so sure and claim that you have informed me if you can't prove it? Please lets be fair and professional. If you can't prove then it can't be accepted. I am not new customer to GA Power and I know what I need to do and how. Please be guided accordingly and accept my claim. I am not accepting your response as you have not proved anything. Please be fair with your decisions. I look forward for your response. Thank you.

Final Business Response
I apologize if there was any previous miscommunication. However, our records indicate a pending connect order was issued via the Online Customer Care center on May 20, 2016. The following message was given and required acknowledgement before the customer could proceed.
Deposit and Office Visit Required
If you do no not have a Social Security #, please be aware that paying a deposit and visiting a local Georgia Power office with a picture ID will be required to turn on your service.
Mr. *******, the pending connection order was voided on June 6, 2016 after you did not meet the obligation requirements of showing a picture ID in a local office. Unfortunately, this was not a Georgia Power error and not a valid claim.
We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this matter may have caused; you are a valued customer and we look forward to serving you better in the future.

08/18/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I'm being charged a deposit based on tenants from over a year ago.
I am really concerned as to why I am being penalized by having a deposit based on past tenant's history at a residence. I was told in May of this year that my deposit would be 330.00. Now I'm being told it's 491.00. This is not my fault for the other tenants. I understand my 330.00 because of a passed bill I had which was paid off July 11.

Desired Settlement
Would be willing to pay my original deposit.

Business Response
Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. Although your complaint expresses dissatisfaction with our company, I appreciate the opportunity to respond.

Proving excellent customer service is the cornerstone of Georgia Power. Deposits are required for all rate payers. They serve as protection to ensure payment of a final bill.
A deposit may be billed or waived depending on the results of an Equifax credit assessment, or a customer's previous payment history with Georgia Power.

Deposit amounts are determined by the most current 12-month usage history at any address. The deposit is calculated by multiplying two times the average monthly bill (AMB) amount at the address. The AMB at ********************************** was $245 (2 x $245= $490). Due to a credit assessment with Equifax and your unpaid final bill balance at ************************************, a $490 deposit was required. However, as a courtesy to you, Georgia Power is willing to accept $245 upfront and bill the other $245.

Ms. *****, if your bills are paid each month by the due date for the next 12 consecutive months, the deposit will be credited or refunded to you with 3% interest. You are a valued customer and we look forward to serving you in the future.



Page 1 of 31

Industry Comparison| Chart

Electric Companies, Public Utility Consultants

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/01/1952Business started: 06/26/1930
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: June 1930, GA

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Gaydrea Brown (Customer Service)
Business Category

Electric Companies, Public Utility Consultants

Alternate Business Names
Georgia Power

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Georgia Power Company has received 3.7 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Georgia Power Company

241 Ralph McGill Blvd NE 10th fl Bin 10105

Atlanta, GA 30308-3374

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 241 Ralph McGill Blvd NE 10th fl Bin 10105 

    Atlanta, GA 30308-3374(888) 660-5890
    (404) 254-6526
    (404) 506-7469

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Georgia Power Company is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (404) 254-6526
  • (404) 506-7469
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Electric Companies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.