BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/19/2006

Family Savings Federal Credit Union

Find a Location

Phone: (888) 311-3728Fax: (256) 543-1541View Additional Phone Numbers342 Charles Hardy Pkwy, HiramGA 30141-1848 Send email to Family Savings Federal Credit Union

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/19/2006

BBB has determined that Family Savings Federal Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Family Savings Federal Credit Union's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Family Savings Federal Credit Union

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
12/01/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Family Savings has made an multiple errors in collecting payments from the wrong account and has now threatening to reprocess my husbands truck.
My husband has a auto loan that was behind. In August and September they took money out of my Mother in laws account to make payments. We also made payments so this made it very confusing. They would occasionally draft the payment out on due dates. My mother in law called me to let me know that my husbands truck payment was severely behind now that the credit union had to credit her account. They gave her the collection details as the reason behind their wrong doing. Now they state they have corrected their mistake at our expense. They are now threatening to reprocess the truck and are unwilling to correct the issue on our end. They state it is all our fault and if we were current they would not have looked at my mother in laws account to make the payments. Also that it is our responsibility to keep up with them posting payments. When we were looking at the payment due it was showing current payment. Now they are calling and emailing constantly to get us to catch up the payments. Very poor collections practices and customer service.

Desired Settlement
We have ask repeatedly for them to defer the wrongly posted payments but they will not due to the fact our account is behind. We are willing to make the payments but are unable to do so all at once.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *************-Collections
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email:*********
The amount of information that I will be able to disclose will be limited due to the fact that ***** ***** is not an owner on the loan in dispute. The member, ***** *. ***** **. does in fact have an auto loan at Family Savings Credit Union. We obtain the right of offset on any and all accounts when delinquency is an issue. In this particular case, the wrong account was offset and the primary on that account questioned the transaction. It was then we realized that we had offset the wrong account and had to reverse the previous two transactions which caused the loan in question to revert back to the status prior to these transactions. We have in no way threatened this member. ***** ***** is asking that we make an exception to our standing collection policy and defer the payment(s). The error that we made and corrected only put the loan account back to the status prior to the payments that were credited in error. It is in fact the members responsibility to make sure the payments are made and to report any errors that might occur. I spoke with ***** earlier this week and made payment arrangements with him. I am unable to defer payments on the loan because this it does not meet the requirements outlined in our current policy. I will be glad to answer any further questions from the BBB or ***** ***** at any time.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Credit Unions, Financial Services, Banks

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 01/19/2006Business started: 01/01/1951
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Banking & Finance
2990 Brandywine Rd Ste 200
Atlanta, GA 30341-5529
(770) 986-1633

Type of Entity


Incorporated: April 2002, AL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Danny Varnon (Vice President)Customer Contact: Mr. Jerry Lane (Area Manager)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Credit Unions, Financial Services, Banks

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Family Savings Federal Credit Union

342 Charles Hardy Pkwy

Hiram, GA 30141-1848

To | From


5 Locations

  • 711 E Meighan Blvd 

    Gadsden, AL 35903-1917(888) 311-3728

  • 445 Highway 53 E 

    Calhoun, GA 30701-3058(706) 602-2800

  • 10 Fox Chase, SE
    PO Box 338 

    Cartersville, GA 30120-0338(770) 382-9597

  • 342 Charles Hardy Pkwy 

    Hiram, GA 30141-1848Fax: (256) 543-1541

  • 101 Felton Dr 

    Rockmart, GA 30153-2013(770) 684-8601

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Family Savings Federal Credit Union is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (770) 443-2655
  • (706) 602-2261

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (770) 386-4633
  • (770) 684-5305

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Credit Unions


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.