BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/16/2012

Cost Plus Processing, LLC

(770) 391-9191View Additional Phone Numbers7799 Roswell Rd, Sandy SpringsGA 30350 Send email to Cost Plus Processing, LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/16/2012

BBB has determined that Cost Plus Processing, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Cost Plus Processing, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • 14 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Cost Plus Processing, LLC's rating include:

  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues6
Problems with Product / Service8
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 14

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (14)BBB Closure Definitions
09/24/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Credit, Billing or Collection Complaint Issue

Complaint: contract did not indicate they were a sub for another company & fees were charged before notified & would refuse to notate the account when I called.
our checking account would be charged fees and 3 wks later we would receive notification of it as well as different amounts being deducted. Also, after terminating our contract there were repeated deductions daily. We stopped payment on this account as we cancelled our contract and Cost Plus was still trying to deduct fees. I contacted them and was connected to Priority Payment Systems and they refused to notate the account that I even called to remind them we terminated our contract with Cost Plus Processing. They did not stand behind their fees to be charged and added fees.
**** ******** is the most unprofessional person and refusing to discuss the matter with me and went over my head to my boss which my boss tells me to handle, as I am over accounts payable. **** tried to say I haven't contacted him since 3/28/13, however, that is not true. I have documentation in file where I have contacted them including speaking to ***** when he contacted me about the return of the machine which I did and shipped UPS and have receipt information from when they received the machine back.
Somehow another company Priority Payment Systems got involved and our contract was terminated with them May 2012. We are now receiving threatening letters from them and the fee is going up every week. Need help in resolving this matter.

Initial Business Response
First of all ****** ******** is not an owner of mountain view pawn and we have no agreement with her on it. Cost Plus did everything proper and correct in which mountain pawn signed up for. We even spoke to the actual owner to better get an understanding of why he was switching and it seems like ****** just wants her friends to do the processing and lied to the owner about us not saving him money. **** went to the location and showed the owner how they have been saving money with us. We told them once we received our loaner terminal we would credit them the early termination fee back. We received it back at the end of the month in august and they will see the refund for the early termination fee that was charged credited on septemeber statement.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


Final Business Response
This merchant's account is closed and all fees have been waived. The merchant no longer has any obligations to Cost Plus or ******** ******* ********

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

05/07/2014Problems with Product / Service
05/06/2014Problems with Product / Service
02/05/2013Problems with Product / Service
08/16/2012Billing / Collection Issues
Page 1 of 2
01/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a contract or agreement

Complaint: A representative from Cost Plus Processing by the name of ****** ****** approached me about switching my credit card processing services from another company to Cost Plus Processing. At the time I explained to him that I was currently in a contract with similar company and that there would be a penalty for ending my contract with them prematurely. The penalty consisted of a fine for early termination as well as paying out the rest of the lease for the card processing machine that they had provided. ****** assured me that Cost Plus Processing would take care of such fees in order to facilitate me switching over to use their services. He went as far as to say that this was a common practice in his line of work. I agreed to start using Cost Plus for my credit card payment processing at my small business, under the impression that they would cover the financial penalty for ending my prior agreement early. This occurred on March, 13th of 2013. Since that time Cost Plus never made any attempt to reimburse the agreed upon fees to help me pay for ending my agreement with the other processing company early. I have called the previously named representative who sold me their services and he has not provided me with a solutions and ensures me that someone will call me to settle the matter. Meanwhile the other company charged me the fee for ending the contract early (which they are entitled to) as well as the cost of the lease of their machine which I no longer use. I tried calling Cost Plus' headquarters on numerous occasions and they are equally ineffective at providing me with any solutions, always reverting to the "we will call you" excuse.
Product_Or_Service: Credit card payment processing
Account_Number: account number XXXXX

Initial Business Response
Re: DSR Automotive
We have thoroughly reviewed Mr. *******' entire file and see no indication that there was any agreement to reimburse Mr. ******* any fees from any previous agreements. Mr. ******* alleges that Cost Plus Processing agreed to reimburse an ambiguous amount for lease fees and early termination fees. Cost Plus would never agree to reimburse a merchant for an undefined amount. The amounts of reimbursement were not presented to us until after commencement of the contract. As much as we would like to assist Mr. *******, it is not economically feasible as our margins are very thin on this account.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept their response for the following reasons:

Cost Plus has demonstrated their unwillingness to solve my problem time and time again, whether it is by contacting them directly or through the Better Business Bureau. They have resorted to giving me "the run around" in hopes that I will simply give up and just accept the consequences caused by one of their unscrupulous representatives. For these reasons I feel that they have been disrespectful with me from the start and have acted in bad faith. Saying "As much as we would like to assist Mr. *******, it is not economically feasible as our margins are very thin on this account" just shows how little they regard hard working small business owners like me.

I would like to request that Cost Plus close my account immediately without penalties of any kind and take back their hardware. I feel that this business relationship is at a point that is beyond repair and I no longer feel comfortable doing business with them since I can no longer trust them.

Final Business Response
The crux of Mr. *******' complaint alludes to an alleged oral representation made before executing the agreement with Cost Plus Processing (Cost Plus). Mr. ******* had ample opportunity to insist any of the promises verbally made be included in the agreement. Additionally, there was another opportunity days later to include these verbal representations at the time of equipment installation. However, we have signed documentation, from the installation, stating I have received "cancellation form" and understand closure of previous merchant account is my sole responsibility.. Mr. ******* had opportunities to make sure all provisions were included in our agreement and any alleged oral agreements are always superseded by a written agreement.

Additionally, Mr. *******' only complaints are directly related to a prior agreement, we would like to stress that no complaints or concerns have risen regarding the current agreement in either of two BBB filings. Our agreement with Mr. ******* is fair, equitable and more than competitive.

Cost Plus would never give Mr. ******* the 'run around'. We have been direct and we will honor the signed agreement, as we expect Mr. ******* to do the same. We cannot be any more direct than that. We are trying our best to accommodate Mr. ******* and have provided the service he requested in writing. We have also done a savings comparison of where he was at with his prior processor and where he is now. We are saving him a full percentage point per month.

Lastly, Mr. ******* certainly has the option to close his account if he chooses, we just ask that he follows the closing procedures.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

08/27/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized bank debits

Complaint: Failure to honor agreement that overrides previous paperwork. Company is very unprofessional on handling their situations, very deceitful.
Bought business in April of this year and had switched accounts on our credit card and company has been deceitful in their failure to honor agreement of paperwork. Has deceitfully taken money from a bank account in the amount of $990.00,n they said we would have earlier termination fee because of wanting to quit using credit card machine, but then on 06-12-2013 they terminated our account and said we would not be obligated to our merchant agreement. On 6/18/2013 they took out $495.00 from an account under the name: ******** ******* ******* and the Company we were dealing with was Cost Plus Processing, and then again on 7/02/2013 another $495.00 was withdrawn, making a total of $990.00, Person spoke with was **** ****** and he made the comment that we were not getting our money back and that was that.

Business' Initial Response
Cost Plus Processing (CPP) has a signed agreement (Contract) by ******** **** representing ****** ********* executed on 04/17/2013 for a term of three years. CCP has honored this agreement to the fullest and would like to continue honoring the agreement. However, Ms. **** chose to terminate the agreement and therefore incurred a $495 early termination fee in accordance with Part III, Section A. 3 of the agreement. The $495 is the only fee related to Ms. ******** agreement and the account is fully closed at this time.

The other $495 fee Ms. ***** references is not related to this agreement. We referred Ms. ***** to her bank ****** ******** **** of *** to address this with her Bank.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
When i say "the company" I am referring to "Cost Plus Processing and whoever is in control of payments". The last conversation I had with Mr. ***** he told me that my bank had sent a letter stating that all negative and positive withdrawls and deposits be switch to my account number. I have my bank statements showing that Cost Plus Processing has made the withdrawls from my account. Even after paying $495 to end contract I have still been over charged by Cost Plus Processing for fees and I have been called to the bank to stop payments. I can send copies of my statements and I have faxed copies of my bank statements to Mr. ****** I was told by Mr. ***** they have my money and I will not get any money back and when Mr. ***** talked to **** ******** said to him, "You wanted to talk to the big dog well you got him I am the big dog". Mr ***** said the conversations was recorded. I would like copies sent to me of the conversations, because when I called him back and started asking him questions he didn't want to answer any, wouldn't answer how much they charged me, wouldn't tell me how much was taken out of my account. all of the withdrawls from my account is from Cost Plus Processing. I have been overcharged and want my over charges back and the money I had to stop payments on after I received a letter stating my account was closed. I can send copies of these statements to anyone who needs them. I had to change accounts so I am out further cost because of all this. I had called Mr. ***** after going to my bank and he told he could no longer talk to me or help me unless I drop this with the BBB. I just want back the charges that had been wrongfully taken from my account and the charges I had incurred from stop payments I had to go to the bank for after receiving my letter from them my account was closed.

Business' Final Response
This BBB case was opened on August 15, 2013 and the original complaint was specific to two fees. However, Ms. ***** alludes to continuing fees for unknown amounts and an unknown term; that is simply not the case. It appears the Merchant can say anything she wants regardless of the truth. The Merchant only references withdrawals from her account and no deposits. This is purposely deceptive. It is very hard to defend against such vagueness. We will, however, continue to defend these baseless allegations.
Here are the facts:
1. Ms. ***** signed a 3 year agreement with Cost Plus Processing (CPP) in April 2013. Ms. ***** has not disputed this.
2. Ms. ***** had elected to close her merchant account in June 2013. Ms. ***** has not disputed this.
3. Ms. ***** incurred a $495 Early Termination Fee for not fulfilling the 3 year agreement. Ms. ***** is disputing this but there is clear language stating the Early Termination Fee ( $495 Early Termination Fee) in accordance with Part III, Section A. 3 of the agreement.
4. There has not been any activity related to this merchant account since June 17, 2013.
5. We have definitive documentation regarding Ms. ******** merchant account activity from inception to termination, provided below:
06/17/2013 ********** ********** ($495.00) WITHDRAWL - CHECKING
06/17/2013 ********** ********** ($4.95) WITHDRAWL - CHECKING
05/31/2013 ********** ********** ($37.04) WITHDRAWL - CHECKING
05/15/2013 ********** ********** $56.20 DEPOSIT - CHECKING
05/10/2013 ********** ********** $468.00 DEPOSIT - CHECKING
05/03/2013 ********** ********** $67.84 DEPOSIT - CHECKING
04/30/2013 ********** ********** ($32.95) WITHDRAWL - CHECKING
04/24/2013 ********** ********** $0.00 DEPOSIT PRENOTE CHECKING

The above lists 4 withdrawals from Ms. ******** bank account relating her merchant account.
$495.00 = Early Termination Fee
$4.95 = First Data Corp will mail a check to the Merchant for $4.95 - refund
$37.04 = Account Maintenance Fees for May
$32.95 = Account Maintenance Fees for April (Account opened 04/17/13)

All three charges fall well within the terms of the 3 year agreement signed by Ms. ****** CCP stands by the agreement and was willing to honor the agreement to the fullest until she terminated the agreement. The $4.95 was an erroneous billing from a third party, NOT COST PLUS PROCESSING, and they agreed to mail a check to the Merchant.

Lastly, the Merchant references a 'letter' two times; again we are unaware of any 'letter'. Also, Mr. ******* comments have been taken out of context; he simply informed the Merchant that we would be addressing her concerns through the BBB. Since we were unable to have a cogent conversation with the Merchant, we felt compelled to continue this via the BBB.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

06/26/2014Billing / Collection Issues
03/13/2014Problems with Product / Service
07/02/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Credit Card - Merchant Services, Credit Card Processing Service, Business Services - General, Credit Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/08/2011Business started: 02/18/2011
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Phil Beniamino (CEO)
Number of Employees

12

Business Category

Credit Card - Merchant Services, Credit Card Processing Service, Business Services - General, Credit Services

Industry Tips
A Poor Credit History Impacts More Than Credit; BBBTips Advise How to Improve Your Credit Report
BBBTips on Business Credit
BBBTips on SBA Loans
Controlling Credit Card Processing Costs
Improving Your Credit Score
Is Your Teen Ready for a Credit Card?
Online Credit Cards - Look Before you Click!
Use Caution with Gold and Platinum Card Offers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Cost Plus Processing, LLC

7799 Roswell Rd

Sandy Springs, GA 30350

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 7799 Roswell Rd 

    Sandy Springs, GA 30350(855) 391-9190

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Cost Plus Processing, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (855) 391-9190
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.