BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Ricoh Americas Corporation (Headquarters)

Phone: (800) 627-1109Fax: (770) 621-1647

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Billing / Collection Issues3
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service8
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints16

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (16)
10/14/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a WG-30w waterproof camera from this manufacturer. It is advertised as being good to 30 or 40 feet depth in water. My daughter used it ONE time in 3 feet of water and the seals leaked and water flooded the camera. I called the seller and they said they will not touch it if it is used in water. I contacted the manufacturer and they said to mail it to them and they would repair or replace it. I did and they returned it untouched because they said it was corroded. Yes I am sure it was because THE SEALS LEAKED ON THE FIRST USE. i am a widow trying to put my child through college and $300.00 is not easy to come buy. I purchased the product because it was suppose to be waterproof only to be told "since it was used in water" and leaked causing it to corrode they will not fix or replace the item. I can not believe we allow companies to sell items with false advertising and not make them do something to correct the problem when it fails to perform in the manner that they state it was created for. Please someone help me with this issue. I don't know where else to turn and $300.00 in a fortune for someone like me.
Product_Or_Service: Ricoh WG-30W
Order_Number: ********************
Account_Number: ********************

Desired Settlement
I would like an exchange for the item since, they claim to have a 1 year warranty on the product. If they are not willing to stand behind the new product they provide and exchange it should the same thing happen, then I would like a full refund of the purchase price.

Business Response
Ricoh Imaging received an escalation from Customer Service on 10/5/15 regarding this customer issue. A UPS label was issued to the customer on 10/6/15 for return of the product to the Denver office for examination.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I called again after I filed the complaint. The guy I spoke to was very helpful and said he would escalate the problem. They sent me a label to return the camera and followed up with a phone call back to me on 10-13-2015. They seem to be trying to make it right. I appreciate your help and the effort of the new person "***" from the company who has been helpful but also very polite.

02/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Overloaded service techs, no parts
As a power user production customer our deadlines must be met for our clients. Ricoh does not carry sufficient parts to fix the problems quickly. Also anytime something goes wrong ie... a parts shows up and is bad we are delayed by days longer for repair. Communication from management is poor. The techs are great but have their hands tied by corporate issues. I cannot be down and delay customer jobs by 5 days. If this keeps up Ricoh may need to come get the equipment if someone will let them in because we will have no business. They will have destroyed our reputation and demolished our business.

Desired Settlement
Proper service commitment and weekend service charge refund for bringing out a tech due to improper equipment repair during the week.

Final Consumer Response
Ricoh has contacted me and resolved the current issues.

12/31/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Ricoh refuses to honor the invoice provided by amazon.com as proof of purchase for a product.
I purchased A ricoh Afficio Sg 3110dn printer on july 31st, 2013, from Amazon.com. when the printer's usb port stopped working recently, I contacted Ricoh on december 13th, 2013' for warranty service, but was told that although the product is covered by the warranty, Amazon.com's invoice is not acceptable as proof of purchase because it does not contain the model number of the machine. Ricoh's confirmation number for the case is XXXXXXXX.

Desired Settlement
I would like Ricoh to either service the machine or offer to replace it.

Business Response
Ricoh representative spoke with the customer today 12/30/13 and the customer indicated that they have return the unit back to Amazon and Amazon has refunded their money. The customer has since purchased another Ricoh printer from different vendor. Thank you

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

10/29/2015Advertising / Sales Issues
09/23/2014Problems with Product / Service
09/24/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The Company is sending us a bill and harassing us for another firm's invoice.The name and address and I am sure the tax id # does not match our firm.We have no Ricoh/IKOS products

Desired Settlement
Stop harassing me and if they have a billing issue go to the correct firm.**** ****** X-XXX-XXX-XXXX #1 and XXXXX is the unethical person. ***********@ricoh-usa.comWe have contacted him directly.

Business Response
Ricoh apologizes for the mix up and Mr **** ***** nor his business should receive any additional inquiries for the invoice in question.

10/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have a year warranty on a printer I purchased. I was told this when I purchased it 9/2013 and as of yesterday 8/26/14. When I forwarded the invoice showing it was just under a year, I was told that I will get another email. I never got the email until I forwarded another email asking when was the email going to be sent. I then received an email stating I can not be helped because I only had a 90 day warranty. Further, this identical thing happened with the 1st Ricoh I bought 4 months earlier, it went out of whack a 13 months after I purchased it and was told that my warranty just expired the month before. I was also told with both machines that they can not be fix I would have to purchase another one.
Product_Or_Service: Ricoh Printer
Order_Number: *****

Desired Settlement
A refund or replacement and be told that no matter what happen it can not be replaced or repaired, I will never buy another Ricoh again. These machines are disposable not meant to withstand normal usage, and not meant to last over a year. The sales tactics is let the consumer just buy another printer rather then us fixing it.

Business Response
I spoke with the customer and the issue has been resolved via an exchange in early September.

10/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My complaint with this company is that I have not been able to get someone that help me with my issue. I sign a contract with them for 3 different machines for my 3 locations. everything works fine while you are reviewing signing the contract, but once you do everything changes. I've been having a problem with these 3 machines, they stop functioning correctly, but I keep making my payment of $401 every month on time. It's been 2 years now and nothing changes. The person that I did the original contract his name is **** ******* keeps ignoring my issue, he keeps telling me that he will fix this but like I said before 2 years had pass and nothing yet. I fid out that the contract can't even be terminated and if I try to stop making payments I guarantee you they will be on my rear trying to collect, I believe they'll suddenly become quick and efficient. I hope someone at this company cares enough about its clients and do something. I still have 27 months in this contract that's about $10k that I still have to pay but the machines don't work properly even the technicians that are sent to fix these machines tell me that those machines are too old and obsolete. I cant believe this company treat customers like that. Specially have people representing them as bad as this **** ****** (Major Accounts Sales in Atlanta GA)does. I need to hear from someone, this has been going on for too long.
Account_Number: XXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I am only asking Ricoh to replace the machines, because I need reliable ones to properly take care of my customers in my office!

Business Response
From what I have uncovered the issue surrounded the customer not being able to scan after upgrading their PCs to Windows8. A firmware was needed and installed allowing the MFPs to once again scan. I called the customer leaving a vm to gauge satisfaction.

03/30/2016Problems with Product / Service
02/25/2016Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
03/03/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company ignores contract terms and overbills. Then they use aggressive Collection tactics to browbeat small businesses to pay the fraudulent charges under the Turn it over to Collections threat.We had a service contract with Ricoh for a Ricoh copier we own. The contract allowed charges for copies used over 18,000 per quarter. Where no invoice is due they have billed $848.47.Their final invoice calculated charges for copies over 18,000 per YEAR (not as contracted). Evidence of the error has been provided to several of Ricohs representatives, but they persist to press their fraudulent billing practice. I suspect this fraudulent practice is making Ricoh a lot of money across the country at the expense of us small businesses.The majority of the aggressive contacts have been made by ***** ******* at Ricoh in Macon Georgia.

Desired Settlement
I had requested a credit memo be issued to show me this fraudulent invoice (#XXXXXXXXXX) has been cleared up. I didn't get that CM. I want the fraudulent invoice credited off their system & I want proof.

03/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I recently (may of 2013) purchased my leased office equipment with the understanding that I would be able to get it under a service contract. I was contacted on May 31st with a quote for service and I had some questions. Time passed and despite several inquiries nobody returned my calls, emails, or addressed my questions. More time passed, it's now December 20th 2013, and I just spoke with someone that mentioned RICOH had sent me another quote back in October. I never received that quote and it's not located in any of my old email archives, but that's not the case. The quote was for more than twice the original quote I received in May and still did not answer my original questions. I have yet to receive ANY calls from RICOH to get this resolved. I'm the one having to track them down. I purchased this equipment with the understanding that I would be able to get it covered for a reasonable monthly service charge and usage fees. If I had known things were going to be this difficult to get any communication from RICOH, I would have never gone this route.
Product_Or_Service: Copier
Order_Number: N/A
Account_Number: Equipment ID: XXXXXX

Desired Settlement
What I want at this point if for RICOH to honor the original quote sent on 5/31/2013.. and TO PICK UP THE PHONE AND ACTUALLY CALL ME. I've been a RICOH customer for over 10 years under my own business, and another 5+ in my previous business where I would constantly recommend their services. Please CALL ME at XXX-XXX-XXXX and let's get this issue handled already.Regards,****

Industry Comparison| Chart

Copiers & Copier Supplies, Information Technology Services, Services - General, Professional Services - General, Printers

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.