BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 12/09/2011

Automobile Acceptance Corporation

Phone: (770) 996-1907Fax: (770) 994-1696

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

46 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues29
Problems with Product / Service17
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints46

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (46)
01/21/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
when i tried to make my car payment over the phone, the number had been change, and i could not make my payment. and i keep trying to get someone on phone, and couldnt get a customer service to week and half later.then at this time, i was told i must pay a late payment. I feel as though i shouldnt have to pay a late fee, for something that was out of my control, and i try to make this payment on time.i have never been late on this car payment

Desired Settlement
i would like this late fee to be refund to me

Business Response
We apologize for any frustration that Ms.******** has experienced and would like to provide the following response.

1. Her payment was due on 11/21 and we left five messages for her between 11/22 and 12/1, and she never responded to our efforts.
2. The phone number for our IVR has not changed and we had 34 customers to use this payment portal every day from 11/21 to 12/1.

Based on the above, we are sorry but we are not able to waive the late fee.

If you have further questions, please advise.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The number to 1866 537 3085 is not a working number, it says they are doing system upgrades, and cannot process your request, this is the number i have used over last year and half to make my car payment.I could not get customer service on new number. I made forth every effort to pay this payment on time.If there system was working properly, this payment would of been made on time.If you call the above number, you will find it is still not working properly,and customer service is not available, when i called back. you have keep calling. It doesnt matter if 35 other people got threw, i wasnt able to get threw,that doesnt pertain to my issue. I still feel this late fee should be refund to me.

Final Business Response
We will gladly issue a check in the amount of $25.67 which represents the overage on her account.

This is calculated as:

Ms.******** paid $576.00; her payment is $549.83 which created an overage of $26.17. Her next payment was short by $.50 bringing the overage to $25.67.

Sincerely,

Automobile Acceptance Corporation


Final Consumer Response

10/12/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have been with this company for almost two years and has never been late on a payment. As of this past August according to Automobile Acceptance my payment was late since it didn't post until Sept 4th which I fully understand. To my understanding my account is being reported to the credit bureaus every 30 days in which this payment posted before the 30 days. My problem is that I have been a great paying customer since opening this account and will continue to be,but now that this has been reported to the bureaus my credit score has dropped tremendously and now am back at square one trying to establish better credit. In all fairness I just want Automobile Acceptance to reconcile or correct my credit report.

Desired Settlement
Answer is above

Business Response
We thank Ms. ****** for her comments regarding the matter. We have spoken with her and advised that we will update her credit file to reflect a current rating. She stated she was satisfied with this response.

Sincerely,

Automobile Acceptance Corporation

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


01/12/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Money is still being taken out of my acct. after account is paid in full.
My last payment was last month and my account is paid off. I even received my car title in the mail. But this month the monthly payment was taken out of my bank account, I called AAC and was told I needed to show proof, I was told to fax a copy of my statement , I told the lady I don't have a fax, so she suggested I get in my car in a storm and drive somewhere to have it faxed over. I told her I don't have the money or time to do this. I can't get money out of my account because this companies pending transaction is there, So this leaves me with nothing, and if another transaction comes in before this issue is resolved then I will go into overdraft, I have called AAC several times and have emailed a copy of my account alert my bank sent me. I don't think I should have to suffer because of a mistake made on there part, If I made a mistake this company would profit from it.

Desired Settlement
Full payment of 165.29 plus the overdraft fee of $30.00

Business Response
We thank Ms. ******* for her comments and would like to offer the following response.

First, we apologize for the situation. Her account was paid in full and we did process an ACH payment after this. However, she chose to set her account up on automatic bank draft, and the document she executed stated that it was her responsibility to contact us to stop this draft if her account was paid in full.

This last payment did return to us as NSF. As a gesture of goodwill, we will gladly refund the $30 NSF fee she incurred provided she will furnish proof of where she was charged this. She can fax such proof to ************, Attn: Mr.****. Upon receipt of valid proof, we will issue a check to her and mail to the address we have on file.

If you have further questions, please advise.

Sincerely,

Automobile Acceptance Corporation




Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
My bank, Chase, has refunded the 165.20 to my account so there will not be an overdraft. I understand I did set up an automatic bank draft, It seems to me a company should keep records of who pays and when, and not depend on their customer to do this for them. But that shouldn't give a company the right to continue to take your money after
debt is paid in full, If I had missed a payment it would have been a totally different story.... I would be a terrible person. What are you?

07/23/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was told when I purchased the car that if I made my payments on time for 6 months, that I would be given a voucher for $400 to have any work I wanted done on my car for maintenance covered. I called on 07/21/14 at 9:30 am and the Customer service rep I got told me that I did not qualify because my May 10th payment was late. I made my payment on May 10th like I was suppose to and she tells me because the office was not open to process my payment that it made it late. I explained to her that the office not being open did not have anything to do with me. That I made may payment on May 10th like my agreement states. So I don't understand how they can try and penalize me for that. I made the payment on the 10th and it was on time. The only resolve I want is for them to honor my the agreement made and give me my $400 voucher.
Product_Or_Service: 2009 Hyundai Sonata
Account_Number: ********

Desired Settlement
The only resolve I want is for them to honor my the agreement made and give me my $400 voucher, nothing more nothing less.

Final Consumer Response
I was contacted yesterday by a supervisor name ***** ****** who said they had reviewed my account and that they would honor the voucher. So I did get the results I wanted from the basis of my claim.

04/18/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I took out a loan, with this company in the end of Nov.2014, I have made all my payment on time, for some reason, My payment for Feb, 2014 was not process, and wash/t presented to my bank, for payment, now this is feb, 3 2014, I received a phone call, 1 month and 1 week later that my bank return it for NSF, now anyone know it don't take this long to process, a pymt if that was the case. My bank never received this quest for a pymt so there's no way it could have been return for NSF, and a month later. I talk with the representatives to find out they don't want to hear you out, and they are right. No customer service skills, to hear the client out and they are right no error on there end and want you to sent your personal bank statement with all your information to them to prove that only they are wrong! also for them to force insurance on my vehicle stating that my insurance, inform them that my insurance has lapses was another untrue statement made by them, leading my to again fax in my insurance documents to prove them wrong. Just when are you'll going to listen to the customer and own up to your mistakes. Can never reach a manager or supervisor. and for any company if this was try facts what ever happen to a courtesy and waive the fee for the customer.
Product_Or_Service: loan
Account_Number: XXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
the late fees refund to my account as well as the nsf fee. I would also like to speak with a manger as well

Business Response
We apologize for any frustration Ms. ***** has experienced. Her business is greatly valued and please find below our responses to her concerns.

1. Ms. ***** gave us a checking account number on 2/3/14 and we read it back to her for confirmation. This check was returned due to an invalid account number, and there was a delay in reversing this off of the account. Any account with a returned item is assessed a $30.00 NSF charge, however, as a goodwill gesture, we have credited her account for this fee.
2. We did receive proof of insurance and have credited back our collateral insurance premium of $68.00 to her account.
3. The March 2nd payment was not paid until March 13th which was more than ten days after the payment was due. The contract calls for a 5% late charge when a payment is made more than ten days so a late charge of $27.65 was due. However, as a sign of goodwill, we will credit her account this amount also.
4. As of now, her account is current and her next payment is due 4/2/14.

We hope we have responded to her concerns and if you need additional information, please advise.

Sincerely,

Automobile Acceptance Corporation


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This response is inaccurate facts, I didn't call them on Feb. 3, 2014 my husband spoke with them on this date.
And if the account number was invalid why did it take six weeks to bring this to my attention. That which was on March 13, 2014 when I made the payment at that time. to cover the payment for Feb. 3, 2014. My March Payment was made on March 3, 2013 in their local office in Marietta,GA. not on March 13, 2014, that's when they first notified me that my Feb, payment didn't process.
I was in their office on March 3, 2014 and they didn't say anything about my payments behind I ask my balance and that;s what I paid. It wasn't brought to my attention that my account was behind until a phone call on March 13,2014. I will contact them on tomorrow to make sure they have credit my account as they stated in the above response.

Final Business Response
Please find our response below.

1. As to her voice on the phone - as previously stated this was a general statement since she filed the complaint. The recording does reflect a male voice who stated he was Mrs. *****'s spouse.
2. As to the credit - this credit request was sent via email to the accounting department at 10:53am on 3/21/14, which is the same day we responded to the earlier complaint. When the department got ready to adjust the account later that day, they saw there was a credit in transit of the same amount; therefore, they did not process it. They assumed someone had already done such. However, as it turned out, Mrs. ***** came into the office and made a payment of the same amount between the time the request was email and the time it was opened.
3. Her account has been credited the $85.30 and this was done in two separate transactions, $27.65 on 4/2 and $57.65 on 4/2.

We apologize for any confusion and we hope that we have answered her concerns.

Should additional information be needed, please advise.

Sincerely,

Automobile Acceptance Corporation


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
once again, they stated that they listen to the call and stated that it was my voice, they need to speak facts and not assume. if you stated that you listen to the call to resolve this issues. You need to address the facts of the matter.I Spoke with two of your representatives today and theres no credit back to my account. I want my money refunded towards my april 2,2014 payment not a credit to the balance. I also was waiting for a call back today and no call . I will be in there marietta branch tomorrow for a payoff , for this is another issue that will be address at a later time if its not corrected on tomorrow. They still not understanding that the information about my payments are incorrect my march payment wasn't late.

Page 1 of 3
02/11/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The car lot sold me a car and ch told me I had to have Full coverage Insurance, Which I provided at the time I purchased and made my first down payment, in that case I would not need there Insurance that they offer there at the car lot because my car insurance ********** a cover me under full coverage. This place made me pay a additional $35 every month added on to my car payment for 8-10 Months. It was not until I went and looked over all my paperwork to see why was I pay such a HIGH car payment every 2 weeks totaling about $384 a month for a 2004 Nissan Xtera. After bring it to there attention they gave me a hassle and did not want to charge back all the extra charges even after I explain to them that this was obviously some kind of under cut SCAM.After weeks and weeks of more charges I was able to speak to someone at try and get it corrected and let them know it was not my fault the car sales SCAM me and I just wanted my money back for the underline deceit. Also this company Automobile Acceptance has Misleading contact information on ther website. That does not directly give correct PHONE NUMBERS, and the representatives that answer this line ************ are rude and disrespectful and would not transfer me to a higher person owner supervisor or anything PLEASE HELP me BBB.
Product_Or_Service: 2004 Nissan Xtrea SUV
Account_Number: Automobile Acceptanc

Desired Settlement
I would like them to have there car back 2004 Nissan Xtrea, and they also cover the $75 personal property recovery fee that they say Snatch masters towing is allowed to charge for me to get my personal property out of the 2004 Nissan SUV. That they repossessed on last Monday 01/19/2015. PLEASE help me BBB. These to companies are Scamming consumers with all the Misinformation they are leading to consumers.

Business Response
We thank Mr. ***** for his comments and would like to please offer the following response.

1. Mr. ***** was required to have full coverage insurance before he could take possession of the car. He took advantage of the Collateral Protection Insurance program which provided the coverage needed. He paid the required bi-weekly premium of $38.00 until he advised us that he had full coverage insurance through another company. Upon verification of this coverage, we issued a full refund of the amount he had paid, $380.00. This amount was credited to his account in two transactions, $38.00 on 7/15/14 and $342.00 on 7/28/2014.

2. As to the $75.00 fee charged by the recovery agency: We were forced to take possession of our collateral and the agency that completed the recovery imposes a fee of $75.00 to anyone that wishes to recover their personal belongings. This is a fee that is allowed by the State of Georgia and we as the lender are not involved in the assessment or collection of this money. Mr. ***** will need to contact the recovery agency on this matter.

If Mr. ***** would like to regain possession of his automobile, we welcome the opportunity to assist him.

If you need additional information, please advise.

Sincerely,

Automobile Acceptance Corporation


02/03/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Since the month of October 21 when my insurance went into two days of not having coverage I then picked up insurance the 24 of October when December 3 came I paid automobile acceptance $272.00 for payment a week after payment representative called me to make another payment and wanted me to pay more than what need they then told me i had to pay collision which I told them I had I had full comp collision with my insurance.so I had been paying collision on car as well and shouldn't have..which I told them they needed to rectify this. In the meantime I had insurance company to fax a insurance binder to them.the 3rd day representative want me to reinstate my car loan..which will put me in a bigger upside down value I have a 2006 Volvo which is valued at 5000 to 6000 and my finance loan is 16169.67 with a Apr 23.50 open 10/03/2013 high credit top 27473.84 yeah which is upside down enough I made 3 payments in the long of September 2014 never miss a payment with bank statements to prove along with their payment history. There are a few discrepancies on their payment history along with my bank statements.. if someone can look into this mix up I would appreciate it thank you frustrated customer.

Desired Settlement
Giving me required credit towards my payments because they reported bad on my credit which makes it bad for me to trade and get another car

Business Response

We thank Ms. ***** for her comments and would like to provide the following response.

1. As to the insurance, her account was charged $3.00 on 12/3/14; however, this was credited back on 12/30/2014.
2. Since 9/26/2014, we have received six payments totaling $1,449.00. (When she made the payment on 9/26/14 she was making her 9/27/2014 payment). However, three of these six payments were returned due to NSF. These NSFs totaled $680.00; which means she has only paid three complete payments since 9/26/2014. She paid the 9/27, 10/11 and 10/25 payment, leaving her account due for 11/8/2014.

We encourage Ms. ***** to remedy this situation as quickly as possible by contacting us today.

If you need additional information, please advise.

Sincerely,

Automobile Acceptance Corporation


12/24/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I'm under charter 13 bankruptcy, my case is ACTIVE At 12/04/14 at 11:00pm AUTOMOBILE ACCEPTANCE CORP reposes my truck they try to told me my bankruptcy was dismissed but still active they drag my truck 200ft with back tires dragging the ground I'm pretty sure there is damage to my rear-end transmission and tires i try to explain and show the paper work that my bankruptcy still active he did not care in result of AUTOMOBILE ACCEPTANCE CORP trying to reposes my truck i may be losing my job there for because they did a repossession while my bankruptcy is active my lawyer will be contacting them and all damage better be pay in full

Desired Settlement
I want my truck back and all the damage be repair

Business Response
We apologize for the situation that occurred and it has been resolved with Mr. *****.

If there are any additional questions, please let us know.

Sincerely,

Automobile Acceptance Corporation


12/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased my vehicle in January 2014. Financing was through Automobile Acceptance. The loan included $500 in gap insurance. I refinanced the vehicle in September 2014 with a new company that paid off Automobile Acceptance. The new company included $699 in gap insurance. Research shows that there should be some refund of the original $500. I went to the dealer first and they did all the required documentation and was told that Automobile Acceptance is not refunding. I then called Automobile Acceptance and finally get to the right department to get a person who I'm sure is doing what the company is telling her to do, but she was really ugly about it and was no help at all. Once she heard the word refund she shut me off and did not want to hear anything else that I had to say.

Desired Settlement
According to the dealer when I was giving them the documents needed for requesting the refund they told me that I should get the majority of it back since we refinanced so early in the loan. I would like a refund of $400.

Business Response
We thank Ms. ******* for her comments and would like to please offer the following response.

1. As to the refund, we please ask that Ms. ******* refer to the Cancellation section on the GAP Addendum she executed. It states, "This Deficiency Waiver Addendum is non-cancelable by the Creditor or Borrower after thirty (30) days".

2. As to the employee being rude, we have listened to this call and while we do not feel she was unprofessional, she could have provided a better explanation. This issue has been addressed with her.

If you have further questions, please advise.

Sincerely,

Automobile Acceptance Corporation


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Since I have made the complaint I have heard from other people that work with my husband that have stated that Automobile Acceptance is the worst company to finance an auto with so had I known that before hand I would of waited on financing or requested another company. Its sad that we consumers don't have a choice in some things. For example the gap insurance I believe was one of those that it was just put in there without us getting to decline. So with all that said I disagree that a person has to just live with it and I will be making sure that my family and friends and others will know my feelings on this company and I will detour them from taking any financing from them.

11/24/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Continue to update credit profile after filing bankruptcy and being notified of vehicle included in the bankruptcy.
I filed for bankruptcy on Sept 21, 2014. Auto Acceptance continued to update my credit report after the filing as past due AFTER my filing date. The vehicle was included in bankruptcy so they should have updated my credit report as INCLUDED in Bankruptcy with a zero balance. They have the vehicle back in their possession but still has not updated the credit file. They should have not have anything reported after Sept 21, 2014.

Desired Settlement
Update Credit Report with no credit reporting after Sept 21, 2014. Erase any updates to credit report after my bankruptcy filing. Update account on credit report to reflect "Included in Bankruptcy" and Zero Balance. You have the vehicle back because you requested it after knowing I was filing bankruptcy.

Business Response
Please be advised that once we receive the official discharge notice from the bankruptcy court, we will update her trade line to state "included in bankruptcy and a zero balance". This is an automated process and we send a file on the first of each month so please keep this in mind.

If you have any questions, please advise.

Thank you.

Automobile Acceptance Corporation


Page 1 of 7

Industry Comparison| Chart

Consumer Finance & Loan Companies, Title Loans, Loans, Financing Consultants, Financing, Financial Services

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.