BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/30/2011

Taylor Construction

Phone: (770) 587-3454Fax: (770) 587-34188607 Roswell Rd, AtlantaGA 30350-1822 Send email to Taylor ConstructionView Additional Web Addresses

1TRUSTS
1 Person Trusts Taylor Construction

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/30/2011

BBB has determined that Taylor Construction meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Taylor Construction's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 23 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

23 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues5
Problems with Product / Service16
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 23

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (23)BBB Closure Definitions
04/22/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised written warranty or guarantee

Complaint: I purchased and had siding installed by Taylor Construction in 2001. In the summer of 2013 I found a part of the siding from around my bedroom window on the ground. I started calling Taylor Construction and was not able to get a representative to me call back. While my husband and I were at a camper show in January we talked to a representative for Taylor Construction and told him our story he said that it should be under warranty. I told him I was also interested in purchasing windows as well. We received a call to set up a meeting with a sales person the next week. The sales person came out and took the part from the ground and gave a quote for the windows. The next week the office called and said they had no record of the sale. I had to provided the contract. They sent a person to look at it *********** and he told us it would cost $175.00 for service call and another $75.00 for the part. I called the office and ask what about the lifetime warranty? and ask for a call back. A few minutes later the person that had given the cost came back asking to see the contract. later that after noon I called back to the office to have someone call me. They finally called me and they are saying that my Dog did the damage (I disagree) and that is is not covered under the warranty. I called the sales supervisor (*** ****** he said that I would have to pay the $175 but would give me a discount on the part if I bought the windows from them.
Product_Or_Service: Siding and installation

Initial Business Response
We have been out to see the problem that was reported by the homeowner. At the time of our visit it was apparent that a dog or an animal of some sort had chewed on the piece of siding and had damaged it. There was also other evidence of animal related damage on the property. We advised the homeowner that that type of damage would not be covered under the warranty. We offered to fix the damage at our normal rate. The homeowner declined to have us fix the damage.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

01/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Services resulted in additional damage (exp. Damaged product during shipping)

Complaint: On or about Jul7 24,2013, Taylor Construction came to my home to install soffits and gutters. The installer dropped his ladder against the outside wall of the kitchen. On the inside of the wall was a Mickey Mouse CooCoo Clock. The ladder fell against the wall with such force it knocked the clock off the wall. The clock fell on a antique riding toy with such force it broke both axles on the riding toy. I went out to tell the installer about the damage. He made a call to his boss, a man named ****. **** told the installer to have me call him, which I did. The man named **** told me not to worry about the damages they would take care of the problem.I have called the company on several occasion. Every time I call there was only an answer machine. I left messages on many occasion. Today a real human answered. I told her what had happened and she put me on hold and then cut me off.I had gone to ebay and found both items. Both items were available in July. I went to ebay today and the clock is $279.99. The riding toy is no longer available.I have used Taylor Construction before and was very pleased with Taylor's installation on that occasion, that's why I called them in June to set up arrangement for the soffits and gutters on the rest of the house. The installers in July were nice and did a good job but the customer service after the installation is not acceptable. I spent a lot of money for all the work Taylor has done for me in the past, which turned out well but the customer service I have received after the last installation in July leaves me to tell other to look for another company that has the integrity to stand behind the problems there workers cause. Taylor needs to take care of the damages done by the installers and replace the customer's belongings caused by their employees.
Product_Or_Service: Soffot system and gutters

Initial Business Response
From: *** *****
Sent: Monday, January 13, XXXX XX:XX PM
To: '****** **********
Subject: RE: BBB Complaint

****** ******** enclosed is my response.

SPOKE WITH HOMOWNER 1/13/14 AGREED TO $450 reimbursement. Check mailed today



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
After six months a representative of the company called and totaled up my losses due to there employee. I agreed to the amount and received the check today.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

08/16/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Service Complaint Issue

Complaint: 7/19/13We had a roof put on our house four weeks ago. The company hired A Disposal dumpster company which placed a dumpster in our driveway. The dumpster was placed and had blue paint in it. The dumpster was picked up and blue paint is in our driveway and all through out our subdivision. I have call many times and spoke to MANY people promising that this will be cleaned up HOWEVER it has not been done yet. We have a signed addendum that states that clean up was to be by 7-13-13. Many promises no action and the home owners are not pleased with us with this mess. We also have pictures of this big mess.PLEASE HELP US!. Please, please, help! I am a teacher on a small budget that wants a fair deal on a job that was paid for in full and now left with a BLUE DRIVEWAY AND BLUE SUBDIVISION.Thank you,
Product_Or_Service: roof done/dumpster placed Taylor construction

Business' Initial Response
We are working with Mrs. **** to resolve the problem.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

05/13/2014Advertising / Sales Issues
11/15/2013Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 5
08/15/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Construction & Remodeling Services, Insulation Removal, Windows - Vinyl, Windows - Wood, Windows, Windows & Doors - Installation & Service, Windows - Installation & Service, Exterior Structures - Gazebos, Arbors, Pergolas, Bathroom Remodeling, Siding Contractors, Roofing Service Consultants, Roofing Contractors, Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures, Contractor - Insulation, Home Improvements, Contractors - Gutters, Gutter Leaf Guards, Contractors - General, Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/01/1991Business started: 11/19/1985New Owner Date: 05/01/2008
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Secretary of State- Professional Licensing Boards
237 Coliseum Dr
Macon, GA31217-3805
(478) 207-2440
http://www.sos.ga.gov

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joe Mazure (General Manager)Mr. Jim Felton (President / Owner)Mr. Peter Fisher (Production Manager)Ms. Shirla Walsh (AP/AR Manager)
Number of Employees

42

Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services, Insulation Removal, Windows - Vinyl, Windows - Wood, Windows, Windows & Doors - Installation & Service, Windows - Installation & Service, Exterior Structures - Gazebos, Arbors, Pergolas, Bathroom Remodeling, Siding Contractors, Roofing Service Consultants, Roofing Contractors, Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures, Contractor - Insulation, Home Improvements, Contractors - Gutters, Gutter Leaf Guards, Contractors - General, Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling

Alternate Business Names
JEF Consulting LLC
Industry Tips
General Advice When Choosing a Roofer
BBB Warns Spring Time Brings Home Improvement Scams
Home Improvements
Safe & Sound: Securing Your Home
Winterizing Your Home

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Taylor Construction

8607 Roswell Rd

Atlanta, GA 30350-1822

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • Taylor Construction Company, Inc.

    8607 Roswell Rd 

    Atlanta, GA 30350-1822(770) 587-3454

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Taylor Construction is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.