BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Protocol Recovery Service, Inc.

Fax: (770) 426-7249View Additional Phone Numbers655 Molly Ln Ste 120, WoodstockGA 30189-6519http://www.protocol.us.com! There is an alert for this business !

0TRUSTS
0 People Trust Protocol Recovery Service, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Protocol Recovery Service, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating because it is out of business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

30 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 10 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues26
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 30

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (30)BBB Closure Definitions
02/17/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper collection practices

Complaint: Collector continually changed the amount owed through the conversation. Requested recordings, did not receive. Collection made for more than agreed.
This occurred on December 31, 2013. I called a number from my credit report for **** collections, which transferred me to protocol collections. I wanted to try to settle a charge off from 2010. I spoke with a woman who called herself ********** she quoted me around $1070 which I agreed to. I then asked about how I could pay and remembered I had a cap on my debit card, so I asked "should I pay you $1000 then mail you the $70?" to which she said no, I should call and see if I can up my limit and put it to $1800. She said something like my total was $1746, I was confused but had the $1070 written in front of me. So, wanting to get this settled, I called ********** and increased my limit. I called ********* back at her extension and then was told I was being charged $1796 and after she'd collected my card information also said there would be a $4 processing charge. The problem is the conversation was fast, confusing, and she jumped around a lot which I think is extremely poor practice. I tried to recall the charge with my bank, but since it was put through on my debit card I couldn't, I was not aware of this... which makes sense now why ********* really pushed for it. Anyhow, I called them back to request recordings and asked to speak with a supervisor - they said within 24hrs they would have them to me. They didn't. I called again at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX since Thursday evening and cannot get a response, I am put on hold w/o hold music for infinite time. I can't contest this with my bank because they need proof... where I can get no proof from these people. I really wanted to make good on my credit history (I've never had a charge off before) and was really mistreated, mislead, and confused by the collector and the company will not provide any recordings to me and I cannot contact them. I'd at least like to have a lawyer review the call, I still intend to pay my debt but this was not right.

Initial Business Response
Pursuant to your letter dated January 4, 2014, Protocol has reviewed the above mentioned account. The account in question was placed with Protocol Recovery Service on October 19, 2013 from our client. Protocol attempted to reach the consumer to negotiate a resolution to her outstanding debt.

On December 31, 2013, Protocol spoke with Ms. ****** and negotiated a settlement of the outstanding debt. The payment of $1,793.40 (plus a $4.95 processing fee) was processed on December 31, 2013. On January 2, 2014, Ms. ****** called Protocol and stated the previous representative had quoted her several different amounts when discussing the settlement arrangement, and the payment processed was not the agreed upon amount. Protocol reviewed the call recordings and found that the amount processed was the only settlement amount discussed.

If Ms. ****** has any further questions, she may contact Protocol's **** ********** **** ******, at (XXX) XXX-XXXX.

Sincerely,

******* *****
*********
Protocol Recovery Service
XXX-XXX-XXXX


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have still not been provided the call recordings for my own review as promised on the call January 2nd. In that particular recording you should hear that I was promised a copy of the recordings within 24hrs. At one point I was also told the recordings would have to pass through quality control, which I assume at this point they have. If the representative quoted the $1798.35 both at the beginning and end of the first call, and the amount before she charged my credit card then my complaint is clearly not justified - however, I would like another party be it myself or an impartial 3rd to review the call recordings. When I have also been promised recordings I did not receive, it makes it even more difficult to withdraw my complaint on the basis of your internal review of the collection recording, as it too would be a case of misrepresentation as well.

Final Business Response
Pursuant to your correspondence dated January 25, 2014, Protocol has reviewed the above mentioned account.

On February 4, 2014, Protocol's **** ********** **** ******, received a voicemail message from Ms. ******. Mr. ****** returned the call, but has not yet received a return call from Ms. ******. If Ms. ****** would kindly call Mr. ****** again at (XXX) XXX-XXXX, the call recordings can be played for her as requested.

Sincerely,

******* *****
*********
Protocol Recovery Service
XXX-XXX-XXXX

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

12/05/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper collection practices

Complaint: Constant repeat calls for someone that does not even live here.
This company has been calling me repeatedly attempting to collect from a person that I do not know. I have requested twice to be removed from their call list, and continue to receive phone calls. The agents that I end up speaking with are extremely rude and continuously hang up on me. I have called back to request having my information removed, and was hung up on again. I not rude, obnoxious, or cursing at the employees. I was simply asking why I was receiving the calls after I already asked to be removed from the calling list.


Initial Business Response
Pursuant to your letter dated November 20, 2013, Protocol has reviewed the above mentioned account. The account in question was placed with Protocol Recovery Service for collection on October 8, 2013 from our client.

Protocol attempted to reach the consumer on November 18th and November 20th to negotiate a resolution to their outstanding debt. On November 20th, the phone number XXX-XXX-XXXX was removed from our system and placed on our internal Do Not Call List. Upon receiving your letter, the account was closed and returned to our client. Protocol will make no further attempts to contact Mr. ********.


If you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
AS of yet, I have not received any further calls.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

12/03/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper collection practices

Complaint: Protocol Recovery Service, Inc has repeatedly, and from several different numbers, called my cell phone to leave messages for someone whom I have never heard of. There is not a live person to talk to. The message assures the recipient that "This is not a sales call." An option is given to "Press 3 if this is a wrong number." I have indicated multiple times that the number being called is a wrong number but continue to receive calls so frequently that I consider it harassment. I have had this phone number for years so that should not be an issue.
Product_Or_Service: none

Initial Business Response
Pursuant to your correspondence dated November 07, 2013 Protocol has reviewed the above mentioned account.

On October 10, 2013, Protocol received the account in question from our client and called all available numbers in an attempt to reach the appropriate party.

On November 07, 2013, Protocol received the above mentioned letter from your office, advising of our attempt to contact our consumer at the incorrect phone numbers. The numbers were promptly removed from our system and placed on our internal Do Not Call list. The account has since been closed and returned to our client.


If you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

09/23/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper collection practices

Complaint: This company has been calling me repeatedly attempting to collect from a person that I do not know. I have had the same phone number for 10 years so it is not possible that it is the person who had the phone before me. I have requested to be removed from their call list, and continue to receive phone calls. The agents that I end up speaking with are extremely rude and continuously hang up on me. I have called back to request having my information removed, and was hung up on again. I called back to speak to a supervisor and was again greeted with someone extremely rude who also hung up on me. I was not rude, obnoxious, or cursing at the employees. I was simply asking why I was receiving the calls after I already asked to be removed from the calling list. This company is a ridiculous waste of time and energy for people like myself. I looked online to find out what company this is and found multiple complaints regarding their harassing phone calls and rude employees.

Initial Business Response
Protocol would like to review Ms. ********'s complaint. If the consumer may provide the phone number to which we are calling, Protocol will review this matter further.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

07/18/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper collection practices

Complaint: Attempting to collect an alleged debt that is over 10 years old.
Many calls from random numbers, no messages, finally called back and they claim I owe $1,200 to ******* *** for which I do not even have a *********** account nor recall ever having a *********** account.

Business' Initial Response
July 15, 2013


RE: XXXXXXXXXX


To Whom it May Concern:

Pursuant to your letter dated June 21, 2013, Protocol has reviewed the above mentioned account.

The account in question was placed with Protocol Recovery Service for collection on June 21, 2013 from our client. Protocol attempted to reach the consumer to negotiate a resolution to their outstanding debt.
On July 10, 2013, Mr. ******** contacted Protocol and stated he did not recall the account in question. Mr. ******** asked for the phone number (XXX-XXX-XXXX) to be removed from our system.

On July 12, 2013, Protocol received the above mentioned letter from your office. The account was closed and returned to our client as disputed, and Protocol will make no further attempts to contact Mr. ********. The phone number was removed as requested.

If you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.


Sincerely,



******* *****
*********

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 6
11/19/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper collection practices

Complaint: Continuously calling and hanging up at all hours. When called, they claimed my number was given as a contact number which I know to be untrue.
I get a call from their number at all hours of the day or night. When the phone is answered, they hang up. When I finally called the number, they claimed that they were attempting to collect a debt owed by (name withheld)and that my phone number was given as a contact number. The person on the other end of the phone was rude and very non professional.

Initial Business Response
Protocol would like to review Mr. *****'s complaint. If the consumer may provide the phone number to which we are calling, Protocol will review this matter further.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The telephone calls in question were of a harassing nature. No message were left, no one spoke when the phon would be answered, the party on the other end would hang up. Automated call back was blocked and caller ID disabled. I had to use alternative methods to get the number of the persons (Protocol Recovery). The action initiated to have my number removed was done by ME and the company made no attempt to verify the number they were harassing. At the very least, I am owed a written apology for their harassment and affirmation that the company will halt their deceptive practices, again this in writing.

Final Business Response
Protocol can understand Mr. *****'s concerns. Our records reflect 3 outbound calls that were placed in an attempt to reach our consumer. None of the calls reached a live person, but instead to an answering machine, and thus the calls were disconnected. After the last outbound call was made on 10/23/13, Protocol received 4 inbound phone calls. The caller informed Protocol that the phone number we were dialing was incorrect. The number was removed from our files at that time.

Protocol has returned this account back to our client and placed Mr. *****'s phone number on our internal Do Not Call List. We apologize for any inconvenience that was caused.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

04/02/2012Billing / Collection Issues
12/16/2011Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Collection Agencies, Credit & Debt Counseling

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/30/2006Business started: 10/18/1999
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 1999, GA

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Richard H. Cerny (President)
Contact Information
Mrs. Mary Cerny (Secretary)Mr. Mark Sopata
Number of Employees

51

Business Category

Collection Agencies, Credit & Debt Counseling

Alternate Business Names
Protocol Collection, Protocol Recovery Service
Industry Tips
Debt Collection
Credit Repair Fraud Proliferates
DONT LET YOUR FINANCIAL SITUATION DETERIORATE
How to Choose a Credit Counseling Agency
Tips on Choosing a Credit Counselling Agency
What are Fair Debt Collection Practices?
LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 655 Molly Ln Ste 120 

    Woodstock, GA 30189-6519(770) 425-8865
    (877) 678-0567

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Protocol Recovery Service, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (850) 769-0165
  • (770) 425-8865
  • (877) 678-0567

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (850) 769-9819
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

According to information in BBB files, this company is no longer in business. If you have an unresolved dispute with this company you may wish to seek legal advice.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.