BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 01/09/2015

Nationwide Credit, Inc. (Headquarters)

Phone: (800) 456-4729Fax: (770) 612-7335

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

61 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 21 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues44
Problems with Product / Service16
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints61

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (61)
06/03/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint

Unable to reach company. Call corporate office and they tell you to email. Code for email doesn't work. phone #'s do not work. Sent a fax and haven't heard back

Desired Settlement
I want someone to contact me so I can pay them or tell me that they are no longer in business.

Business Response
June 1, 2016

***** *******
******************************************

RE: Complaint Case #: ********

Dear Ms.********:

On behalf of Nationwide Credit, Inc. ("NCI"), I would like to acknowledge the communication dated
May 18, 2016, (the "Complaint"), that NCI received through the Better Business Bureau regarding your account ending in **** (the "Account"). As the Chief Customer Advocate for NCI, I appreciate the opportunity to respond directly to you. I assure you that NCI takes this matter very seriously and has investigated the matter fully to provide you with a comprehensive response. NCI is a third-party debt collector. NCI's client placed the Account with NCI on October 7, 2015, for collection of a past-due balance of $3,619.64.

Assertions in the Complaint

- You were unable to reach anyone from NCI, as the phone numbers did not work
- You called the corporate office and you were told to send an email; however, the code for the email did not work
- You sent NCI a fax and did not hear back from NCI

The desired resolution is for someone from NCI to contact you so that you can pay them.

Investigation results

I have investigated the assertions and can inform you of the following.
- On March 17, 2016, the Account was recalled by NCI's client
- On May 17, 2016, NCI received a fax from you stating that you could not log into the website and that you could not reach anyone at NCI on the phone. Since the Account was returned to NCI's client, NCI could not contact you regarding the Account. NCI informed its client about the fax and the Complaint on May 18, 2016
- NCI only has record of phone calls from you to NCI's phone number, ************. NCI's associates were on phone calls when you called and you were sent to voicemail. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. Additionally, NCI does not have record of your phone call to the corporate office or of a conversation where NCI advised you to send an email that would have required a code
- Since the Account is no longer with NCI, NCI will not be able to accept a payment for the Account. If you would like to further discuss the Account, please contact our client at ************

I believe that this response adequately resolves the matter as it pertains to NCI and addresses the concerns in the Complaint. As the Chief Customer Advocate for NCI, I am committed to ensuring that NCI's practices are fair, reasonable and proper. If you have any further concerns relating to this Complaint, please contact me directly by phone at ************ or at my address mentioned below.

Respectfully submitted,

******* ****
Chief Customer Advocate
Nationwide Credit, Inc.
**************
****************************

This communication is an attempt to collect a debt by a debt collector or consumer collection agency and any information obtained will be used for that purpose.

Mailing Address: ************** ****************************


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I wish that the rude lady at the corporate office could have explained this to me. Thank you

02/18/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
NCI cashed check when they are not servicing my account any longer.
I made a payment of $25.00 to National Credit Inc. on or about January 7th 2016. NCI account ending in XXX-****I used my personal bank to send a check payment to NCI. I made the payment online. I received a letter from NCI dated January 12th 2016 that they no longer service my account and the $25.00 payment has been sent back to my bacnk for processing. NCI also states in the same letter they no longer service my account. I confirmed with my bank that NCI did cash the bank check. My bank has not received payment from NCI from my credit.

Desired Settlement
I would like the refund of $25.00 sent back to my bank for my account credit. NCI may also personally cut me a check should they choose to.

Business Response
February 16, 2016

***********
****************
***************************

RE: Complaint Case #: ********

Dear Mr.*******:

On behalf of Nationwide Credit, Inc. ("NCI"), I would like to acknowledge the communication dated
February 2, 2016, (the "Complaint"), that NCI received through the Better Business Bureau regarding your credit card account ending in 3002 (the "Account"). As the Chief Customer Advocate for NCI, I appreciate the opportunity to respond directly to you. I assure you that NCI takes this matter very seriously and has investigated the matter fully to provide you with a comprehensive response. NCI is a third-party debt collector. NCI's client placed the Account with NCI on April 3, 2015, for collection of a past-due balance of $3,622.06.

Assertions in the Complaint

- On January 7, 2016, you sent NCI a payment of $25.00
- You received a letter from NCI, dated January 12, 2016, stating that NCI no longer serviced the Account and that the $25.00 payment would be sent back to your bank for processing
- Your bank stated that it did not receive a $25.00 credit back in your bank account from NCI

The desired resolution is for NCI to credit the $25.00 back to your bank account or to personally send you a check.

Investigation results

I have investigated the assertions and can inform you of the following.
- On June 6, 2015, you logged onto NCI's self-service website and set up a payment of $25.00 that posted on June 8, 2015
- On July 23, 2015, you logged onto NCI's self-service website again and set up a payment of $25.00 that posted on July 24, 2015
- On December 24, 2015, our client recalled the Account and NCI ceased collection activity on the Account
- On January 11, 2016, NCI received a check in the mail from you in the amount of $25.00
- As the Account was already closed on NCI's systems, on January 12, 2016, NCI forwarded the payment to NCI's client, and NCI's client applied the payment toward the balance of the Account. NCI also sent you a letter the same day to inform you that since the Account was no longer with NCI, NCI forwarded the $25.00 to NCI's client for processing
- The banking institution that you used to pay the $25.00 is the same bank that is also NCI's client for the Account on which NCI was collecting. We believe this may have been the cause of the confusion regarding where NCI forwarded the payment
- Since the Account is no longer with NCI, if you would like to further discuss the Account, please contact our client at*************

I believe that this response adequately resolves the matter as it pertains to NCI and addresses the concerns in the Complaint. As the Chief Customer Advocate for NCI, I am committed to ensuring that NCI's practices are fair, reasonable and proper. If you have any further concerns relating to this Complaint, please contact me directly by phone at ************ or at my address mentioned below.

Respectfully submitted,
********* ****
Chief Customer Advocate
Nationwide Credit, Inc.
**************
****************************

This communication is an attempt to collect a debt by a debt collector or consumer collection agency and any information obtained will be used for that purpose.

Mailing Address: ************** ****************************


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


12/07/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
For some unknown reason this company has been calling my phone several times a day for the past month or so, they do not leave a message on the answering machine. I have no business with this company and have no idea as to why they are calling as much as they do and not leave a message to explain the calls. I have submitted a complaint against them with the FTC but have not heard anything back from that complaint.If this is an important call then they should leave a message on the machine.My phone gets 5 to 10 calls daily from unknown numbers that do not leave a message and I stopped answering or returning any calls that do not leave a message.I have no idea as to why this company would be calling me, if they are a collection agency then I have no outstanding debts of any kind.Their practice of several calls daily is not wanted by me, if there is any reason that they need to contact me then they should start leaving a message.

Desired Settlement
I need their daily phone calls to be stopped since I have no dealings with that company

Business Response
December 3, 2015

******* *****
*******************
***********************

RE: Complaint Case #: ********

Dear Mr. *****:

On behalf of Nationwide Credit, Inc. ("NCI"), I would like to acknowledge the communication dated
November 19, 2015, (the "Complaint"), that NCI received through the Better Business Bureau. As the Chief Customer Advocate for NCI, I appreciate the opportunity to respond directly to you. I assure you that NCI takes this matter very seriously and has investigated the matter fully to provide you with a comprehensive response.

Assertions in the Complaint

- NCI has been calling you several times per day for the past month without leaving a voice message to inform you of the reason for the calls
- You submitted a complaint against NCI with the FTC but have not heard anything back
- You have no outstanding debts so you do not know why NCI is contacting you

The desired resolution is for NCI to stop calling you or to leave a voice message if there is a reason to contact you.

Investigation results

I have investigated the assertions and can inform you of the following.
- NCI is a third party debt collector and called your phone number ending in 3074 (the "Number") in connection with an account that was assigned to NCI by one of its clients. As NCI was not sure if it had reached the right party, NCI did not leave any voice messages. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced due to the calls
- On November 19, 2015, NCI ceased all calls to the Number after receiving the Complaint and will not place further calls to the Number
- NCI has not received any complaints from the FTC that reference your name or the Number

I believe that this response adequately resolves the matter as it pertains to NCI and addresses the concerns in the Complaint. As the Chief Customer Advocate for NCI, I am committed to ensuring that NCI's practices are fair, reasonable and proper. If you have any further concerns relating to this Complaint, please contact me directly by phone at ************ or at my address mentioned below.

Respectfully submitted,

******* ****
Chief Customer Advocate
Nationwide Credit, Inc.
**************
****************************

Mailing Address: ************** ****************************

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
A brief phone message on the first call should have been made and then I would not have had to make this complaint and as a senor citizen I don't appreciate calls that do not leave a message stating why the call was made to me.

07/22/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
After setting up a payment plan and making all payments on time, I am trying to make my second to last one and can't get into my account to do so.
I set up a payment plan and have 2 left. My payment was due 7/9, but I was told that I could pay anytime in the same month. I have been trying to make my payment through the website, just as I have in the past, but it says my account is invalid. I have called repeatedly and can't get through to anyone. I have also submitted requests for contact in writing via email. I received one call back, which I missed due to an interview. No message was left. I called back almost immidiately and was put into a call queue for over 3 hours before being disconnected. No attempt to contact was made to my work or email, as requested if I wasnot able to be reached by phone. I just want to pay my bill and don't want to get stukk with all the payments I've made being worth nothing.

Desired Settlement
I would like to be able to make my payment and have no issue making my last one next month.

Final Consumer Response
Thank you!

I finally reached this company only to be told that after sending the, multiple payments, they had transferred my"debt" to another company without notifying me and had simply closed my account. I contacted the other company and was able to make a payment with them, but this is a really poor business practice. I never received a call, email, or letter notifying me of any changes, just the frustration of trying repeatedly to log in to my no longer existent account and calling this company a million times.

***** ************
Sent from my iPad

07/20/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was contacted by Nationwide Credit Inc. (**************) about a personal issue but after arguing with the agent whyt he had been calling an unlisted number, the agent said he had to have some info (birth year and last four of social) to answer my questions. After much debat, I gave very limited information, then the agent not find my information. When I asked why they were calling my unlisted work number, the agent said he had no record of anyone contacting that phone number. This company has been calling my unlisted work number for a week but the agent had no call history with my work phone number. This seems to be a scam. The phone number says it is from Maretta, GA but when you look the phone number up, it does not exist anywhere. When you call the above number, it states the business as "Nationwide Credit Inc." If you do not get an agent, it takes you to a voicemail that has recorded background office information with no one talking and then says the voicemail is full.
Product_Or_Service: n/a

Desired Settlement
Remove my unlisted work number and quite calling me. My unlisted work number is ************.This is what I see when I do not answer the call:FromSubjectReceivedSizeCategoriesMarietta GA (No email address available)Missed call from Marietta GA9:52 AM 6/24/2015 2 KB

Business Response

July 13, 2015

******* ********
*******, ** *****

RE: Complaint Case #: ********

Dear Mr. ********:

On behalf of Nationwide Credit, Inc. ("NCI"), I would like to acknowledge the communication dated June 29, 2015 ("the Complaint"), that NCI received through the Better Business Bureau. As the Chief Customer Advocate for NCI, I appreciate the opportunity to respond directly to you. As the Chief Customer Advocate for NCI, I appreciate the opportunity to respond directly to you. I assure you that NCI takes this matter very seriously and has investigated the matter fully to provide you with a comprehensive response.

Assertions in the Complaint

- NCI contacted you at your unlisted work number, ************, from ************ about a personal issue;
- NCI requested that you provide your birth year and last four of your SSN in order to advise why NCI had been calling;
- You provided your information but NCI could not find your information;
- NCI stated it had no record of calling you but you received calls from NCI for a week; and
- When you call NCI and you do not get an agent, you are directed to a voicemail that has recorded background office information with no one talking and it then says that the voicemail is full.

Your desired resolution is for NCI to stop calling you at ************ and remove the phone number.

Investigation results

I have investigated the assertions and can inform you of the following.

- NCI called ************ between June 19, 2015, and June 23, 2015, to speak with you in an attempt to locate the right party for a personal business matter. In each call, NCI reached a receptionist and was transferred to you but received your voicemail.
- NCI received two phone calls from ************ on June 22, 2015, and June 24, 2015, but NCI's records show that these calls were disconnected prior to reaching an agent or voicemail.
- On June 24, 2015, the NCI associate called ************ and a receptionist transferred him to you. The NCI associate advised that he was calling regarding a personal business matter and requested that you provide your year of birth to confirm he was speaking with the correct individual prior to disclosing the reason for the call. You requested the reason for the call but due to federal regulations, the NCI associate was not able to provide that information without verifying additional information. This was the only call where NCI spoke with you.
- To protect the privacy of its customers, NCI can only disclose personal information after establishing the identity of the person it is speaking to. Your birth year was requested so that NCI could compare it to the information on its files. At no time did NCI ask for the last four digits of your SSN. Since the birth year could not be verified, the NCI associate could not proceed with the call and professionally ended the call.
- NCI will not place further calls to ************ or ************.

As the Chief Customer Advocate for NCI, I am committed to ensuring that NCI's practices are fair, reasonable and proper. If you have any further concerns relating to this Complaint, please contact me directly by phone at ************ or at my address mentioned below.

Respectfully submitted,




******** ****
Chief Customer Advocate
Nationwide Credit, Inc.
**************
****************************

Mailing Address: ************** ****************************

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I accept NCI's response based on their final action. There is no receptionist at my company so that part of the story I am not for sure why they are saying that. To get to my extension, I have to give it out which I did on a couple of personal applications. I actually spoke to the same NCI agent on two different phone calls that were placed about fifty minutes apart on I believe the same day. The NCI agent was not very professional as it is made out to sound and it is funny now they have a record to calling me when the agent said they did not. NCI DID ask for my SS number but I refused because the company sounded sketchy and after hearing the voicemail with just office background noises I was not sure if this company was legit. In order to find out why they where calling my number so much I did have to give the last four of my social and my birthday (and partial address) to start getting my questions answered by the NCI agent when I called the number back. So NCI did ask for the last of my SS some where in my return phone call to the company. Consumers, take caution about this company as you can see the company is trying to cover their tracks.

Page 1 of 3
04/08/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The mailed collection letter indicated that alternative/negotiated plans would be available on website.The website only allowed 1 lumpsum payment.
We received a letter indicating that our debt had been assigned to this company. The letter suggested that by logging in to their portal we could see options for negotiated or installment payments. When we logged on to the website and entered that we would be able to settle the payment in installments, the site said that only 1 payment was possible. Their original message in the letter was faulty, misleading, deceptive. The letter should have indicated that the only option being made available to us by them was a full payment option. No other choices. We have no means of making a one time payment.

Desired Settlement
We would like them to allow an installment based payment of this debt.

Business Response
March 30, 2016

**** ******
**********************
***************************

RE: Complaint Case #: ********

Dear Mr. ******:

On behalf of Nationwide Credit, Inc. ("NCI"), I would like to acknowledge the communication dated
March 16, 2016, (the "Complaint"), that NCI received through the Better Business Bureau regarding your American Express account ending in 2002 (the "Account"). As the Chief Customer Advocate for NCI, I appreciate the opportunity to respond directly to you. I assure you that NCI takes this matter very seriously and has investigated the matter fully to provide you with a comprehensive response. NCI is a third-party debt collector. American Express placed the Account with NCI on March**, 2016, for collection of a past-due balance of $40,373.05.

Assertions in the Complaint

- The letter that you received from NCI informed you that by logging into NCI's portal you would be able to see options for negotiated or installment payment plans; however, when you logged into the website and entered that you would be able to settle the Account in installments, the only option available was to make one payment
- The letter was faulty, misleading and deceptive as it should have indicated that the only option available to you was to pay the amount in full

Your desired resolution is for NCI to allow an installment payment plan.

Investigation results

I have investigated the assertions and can inform you of the following.
- On March 8, 2016, NCI sent you a letter to inform you that the Account was placed with NCI for collection and that you could schedule payments, negotiate alternatives and manage your Account on NCI's Secure Online Portal
- Due to a systemic issue on the Account, the option to make multiple payments on NCI's Secure Online Portal was unavailable at the time you accessed NCI's Secure Online Portal; however, we have since resolved the issue and you are now able to settle the Account in installments on NCI's Secure Online Portal. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused
- If you would like to further discuss the Account, please contact NCI Operations Team Lead, ******** ******** at*************, extension ******

I believe that this response adequately resolves the matter as it pertains to NCI and addresses the concerns in the Complaint. As the Chief Customer Advocate for NCI, I am committed to ensuring that NCI's practices are fair, reasonable and proper. If you have any further concerns relating to this Complaint, please contact me directly by phone at************* or at my address mentioned below.

Respectfully submitted,

******* ****
Chief Customer Advocate
Nationwide Credit, Inc.
**************
****************************

This communication is an attempt to collect a debt by a debt collector or consumer collection agency and any information obtained will be used for that purpose.

Mailing Address: ************** ****************************


03/30/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint

I have been calling for over a week to change the date of a withdrawal from my bank account, as there will not be sufficient funds, no return call. They're voicemail says all account management can be done on they're web site, except the login requires an account number, which they say is on any correspondence from them. I have never received any correspondence from them. No return calls!

Desired Settlement
I don't want the charge to be attempted from my bank account! I need to speak to someone to change the date, before tomorrow, and I've been trying for over a week to contact them, without a return call, no email...

Business Response
March 28, 2016

****** *********
*****************
*************************

RE: Complaint Case #: ********

Dear Mr. *********:

On behalf of Nationwide Credit, Inc. ("NCI"), I would like to acknowledge the communication dated
March 14, 2016, (the "Complaint"), that NCI received through the Better Business Bureau regarding your American Express account ending in 1005 (the "Account"). As the Chief Customer Advocate for NCI, I appreciate the opportunity to respond directly to you. I assure you that NCI takes this matter very seriously and has investigated the matter fully to provide you with a comprehensive response. NCI is a third-party debt collector. American Express placed the Account with NCI on February 23, 2015, for collection of a past-due balance of $1,600.44.

Assertions in the Complaint

- You called NCI for over a week to change the date of your payment, but NCI did not call you back
- NCI's voicemail states that account management can be done on NCI's website which requires an account number that can be found on any piece of correspondence in order to log into the website; however, you have never received any correspondence from NCI

Your desired resolution is for someone to contact you so that the payment date can be changed before the funds are withdrawn from your bank account.

Investigation results

I have investigated the assertions and can inform you of the following.
- On April 6, 2015, NCI spoke with you and you agreed to pay $466.00 on April 17, 2015, $103.00 on the 15th of each month for 10 months and $104.44 as the final payment on March 15, 2016
- On March 11, 12 and 14, 2016, NCI received voicemails from you in which you stated that you wanted the final payment in the payment arrangement of $104.44 that was scheduled for March 15, 2016, to be changed to another date because you did not have sufficient funds in your bank account
- On March 14, 2016, NCI called the phone number on the Account ending in 9675, however, that call was disconnected by an unverified person who answered the phone. On the same day, NCI cancelled the $104.44 payment that was scheduled for March 15, 2016
- On March 16, 2016, NCI called the phone number ending in 9675 to set up a new payment date, and you paid the final payment of $104.44 on the Account and the Account now reflects a zero balance. On the same day, NCI notified American Express of the Account status
- The Account will be sent back to American Express by April 15, 2016, but if you would like to further discuss the Account in the meantime, please contact NCI Operations Team Lead, ******* *****, at*************, extension ******

I believe that this response adequately resolves the matter as it pertains to NCI and addresses the concerns in the Complaint. As the Chief Customer Advocate for NCI, I am committed to ensuring that NCI's practices are fair, reasonable and proper. If you have any further concerns relating to this Complaint, please contact me directly by phone at************* or at my address mentioned below.

Respectfully submitted,
********* ****
Chief Customer Advocate
Nationwide Credit, Inc.
**************
****************************

This communication is an attempt to collect a debt by a debt collector or consumer collection agency and any information obtained will be used for that purpose.

Mailing Address: ************** ****************************


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They lie.

03/01/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I requested the company provide me proof this account belongs to me per the 15 USC 1692(e) and 15 USC 1692(f), and they have failed to do so.
Re: Account # *************...

Your company is reporting the above referenced account on my credit report as a collection account. I have disputed this item with the credit reporting agency and they reported you confirmed the account as valid. In a good faith effort to resolve the matter amicably, I must demand proof of this debt, specifically the alleged contractor other instrument bearing my signature, as well as proof of your authority in this matter. Absent such proof, you must correct any erroneous reports of this past debt as mine.

I must ask you to provide the following information:

1. Please evidence your authorization under 15 USC 1692(e) and 15 USC 1692(f) in this alleged matter.
2. What is your authorization of law for your collection of information?
3. What is your authorization of law for your collection of this alleged debt?
4. Please evidence your authorization to do business or operate in this state.
5. Please evidence proof of the alleged debt, including specifically the alleged contract or other instrument bearing my signature.
6. Please provide a complete account history, including any charges added for collection activity.

You have thirty (30) days from receipt of this notice to respond. Your failure to respond, on point, in writing, hand-signed, and in a timely manner, will work as a waiver to any and all of your claims in this matter, and will entitle me to presume that you placed this on my credit report(s) in error and that this matter is permanently closed. Provide the proof, or correct the record and remove this invalid debt from all sources to which you have reported it to.

For the purposes of 15 USC 1692 et seq., this Notice has the same effect as a dispute to the validity of the alleged debt and a dispute to the validity of your claims. This Notice is an attempt to correct your records, and any information received from you will be collected as evidence should further action be necessary. This is a request for information only, and is not a statement, election, or waiver of status.


The above letter is what i have not received a response to. My next step will be contacting the FTC,

Desired Settlement
I want proper validation of this account per the 15 USC 1692(e) and 15 USC 1692(f). This is a lawful request and they are required by law to provide me with the requested information.

Business Response
February 18, 2016

****** ******
*****************
************************

RE: Complaint Case #: ********

Dear Mr. ******:

On behalf of Nationwide Credit, Inc. ("NCI"), I would like to acknowledge the communication dated
February 4, 2016, (the "Complaint"), that NCI received through the Better Business Bureau regarding your account ending in 0281 (the "Account"). As the Chief Customer Advocate for NCI, I appreciate the opportunity to respond directly to you. I assure you that NCI takes this matter very seriously and has investigated the matter fully to provide you with a comprehensive response. NCI is a third-party debt collector. NCI's client placed the Account with NCI on January 8, 2016, for collection of a past-due balance of $1,196.09.

Assertions in the Complaint

- You requested that NCI provide you with proof that this Account belongs to you per 15 U.S.C. §§ 1692(e) and 1692(f)
- NCI is reporting your Account on your credit report which you have disputed with the credit reporting agency
- You are demanding that NCI provide you proof of the debt, specifically the alleged contract or other instrument bearing your signature, as well as proof of NCI's authority in this matter

The desired resolution is for NCI to provide you with the following:
- Evidence of authorization under 15 U.S.C. §§ 1692(e) and 1692(f)
- The law that authorizes NCI to collect information and the alleged debt
- Evidence of authorization to do business or operate in this state
- Proof of the alleged debt, including specifically the alleged contract or other instrument bearing your signature
- Complete Account history, including any charges added for collection activity

Investigation results

I have investigated the assertions and can inform you of the following.
- On January 9, 2016, NCI sent you a letter to inform you that the Account had been placed with NCI for collection. This letter was NCI's only communication with you and NCI did not receive a request from you to provide proof that the Account belonged to you prior to receipt of the Complaint
- NCI is a licensed debt collector. However, California law does not require NCI to be licensed in order to do business in the state of California
- NCI does not report information to any credit reporting agencies
- On February 9, 2016, NCI's client recalled the Account. NCI closed the Account, and it is no longer with NCI. On the same day, NCI requested that NCI's client send you the application that you signed and the Account statements which will include your complete Account history to provide proof of the debt
- If you would like to further discuss the Account, please contact our client at ************

I believe that this response adequately resolves the matter as it pertains to NCI and addresses the concerns in the Complaint. As the Chief Customer Advocate for NCI, I am committed to ensuring that NCI's practices are fair, reasonable and proper. If you have any further concerns relating to this Complaint, please contact me directly by phone at ************ or at my address mentioned below.

Respectfully submitted,

************
Chief Customer Advocate
Nationwide Credit, Inc.
**************
****************************

This communication is an attempt to collect a debt by a debt collector or consumer collection agency and any information obtained will be used for that purpose.

Mailing Address: ************** ****************************


12/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
bad customer service.do not provide services fully except taking money.
phone calls usually go to voicemail that is never returned. when someone does answer and you have a problem they disconnect you. they were suppose to let original debtor know that the debt was paid off but they did not.

Desired Settlement
contact original debtor that debt is paid.

Business Response
November 23, 2015

******** *******
***********************
***********
*************************

RE: Complaint Case #: ********

Dear Ms. *******:

On behalf of Nationwide Credit, Inc. ("NCI"), I would like to acknowledge the communication dated
November 9, 2015, (the "Complaint"), that NCI received through the Better Business Bureau regarding your QVC account ending in **** (the "Account"). As the Chief Customer Advocate for NCI, I appreciate the opportunity to respond directly to you. I assure you that NCI takes this matter very seriously and has investigated the matter fully to provide you with a comprehensive response. NCI is a third-party debt collector. QVC placed the Account with NCI on August 3, 2015, for collection of a past-due balance of $99.79.

Assertions in the Complaint

- You called NCI and left voicemails that NCI did not return
- When NCI has answered your calls, NCI has disconnected the calls when you stated that there was a problem
- NCI did not inform QVC that the past-due balance on the Account was paid

The desired resolution is for NCI to advise QVC that the past-due balance on the Account was paid.

Investigation results

I have investigated the assertions and can inform you of the following.
- On October 19, 2015, you paid the past-due balance on the Account
- On October 20, 2015, NCI transferred the funds received from you to QVC and reported the Account as paid in full to QVC
- On November 4, 2015, NCI received a voicemail from you requesting a return call since QVC had advised you that NCI had not notified them that the Account had been paid
- On November 5, 2015, NCI received a call from you and the call was disconnected after you provided your phone number to the NCI agent. NCI then received a second voicemail from you. A NCI manager returned your calls that same day and you stated that QVC had advised that the Account was still in collections. The NCI manager stated that NCI would again notify QVC that the Account was paid and NCI contacted QVC the same day. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by the misunderstanding between NCI and QVC
- If you would like to further discuss the Account with QVC, you may contact QVC Manager, ******* ***********, at ************

I believe that this response adequately resolves the matter as it pertains to NCI and addresses the concerns in the Complaint. As the Chief Customer Advocate for NCI, I am committed to ensuring that NCI's practices are fair, reasonable and proper. If you have any further concerns relating to this Complaint, please contact me directly by phone at ************ or at my address mentioned below.

Respectfully submitted,

******* ****
Chief Customer Advocate
Nationwide Credit, Inc.
**************
****************************

This communication is an attempt to collect a debt by a debt collector or consumer collection agency and any information obtained will be used for that purpose.

Mailing Address: ************** ****************************

11/30/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have sent this company several letters stating this is not my debt and that I'm a victim of identity theft.
I have sent this company several letters stating this is not my debt and that I'm a victim of identity theft. I also have told this company to stop calling************* but they continue to call. I want them to remove this charge from my credit report and not to call me anymore. If I receive one more call, I'm going to sue.

Desired Settlement
I have sent this company several letters stating this is not my debt and that I'm a victim of identity theft. I also have told this company to stop calling ************ but they continue to call. I want them to remove this charge from my credit report and not to call me anymore. If I receive one more call, I'm going to sue.

Business Response
November 19, 2015

***** *****
******************
***********************

RE: Complaint Case #:*********

Dear Mr. *****:

On behalf of Nationwide Credit, Inc. ("NCI"), I would like to acknowledge the communication dated
November 9, 2015, (the "Complaint"), that NCI received through the Better Business Bureau regarding a QVC account ending in **** (the "Account"). As the Chief Customer Advocate for NCI, I appreciate the opportunity to respond directly to you. I assure you that NCI takes this matter very seriously and has investigated the matter fully to provide you with a comprehensive response. NCI is a third-party debt collector. QVC placed the Account with NCI on August 16, 2015, for collection of a past-due balance of $155.24.

Assertions in the Complaint

- You sent several letters to NCI stating that the debt they are calling you about is not yours because you are a victim of identity theft
- You told NCI to stop calling you but they continue to call

The desired resolution is for NCI to remove this charge from your credit report and to stop calling you.

Investigation results

I have investigated the assertions and can inform you of the following.
- On October 19, 2015, NCI received a letter ("the Letter") from you stating that you were a victim of identity theft
- On October 20, 2015, NCI called your phone number ending in 0213 and was advised by an unidentified third party that the phone number did not belong to you. NCI immediately ceased calls to that number. Later that same day, NCI processed the Letter and ceased collection activity on the Account
- On October 21, 2015, NCI provided a copy of the Letter to QVC for further review
- As NCI does not report information to the credit bureaus on behalf of QVC and has not reported any Account information to any credit reporting agency on the Account, NCI forwarded a copy of your Complaint to QVC for review
*- If you would like to further discuss the Account, you may contact NCI Operations Manager, ******* ******, at **************, extension ****** or QVC Account Manager, ******* ***********, at ************

I believe that this response adequately resolves the matter as it pertains to NCI and addresses the concerns in the Complaint. As the Chief Customer Advocate for NCI, I am committed to ensuring that NCI's practices are fair, reasonable and proper. If you have any further concerns relating to this Complaint, please contact me directly by phone at ************ or at my address mentioned below.

Respectfully submitted,

******* ****
Chief Customer Advocate
Nationwide Credit, Inc.
**************
****************************

This communication is an attempt to collect a debt by a debt collector or consumer collection agency and any information obtained will be used for that purpose.

Mailing Address: ************** ****************************

Page 1 of 10

Industry Comparison| Chart

Collection Agencies, Collection Agencies - Government Loans, Credit & Debt Counseling, Collection Systems, Credit - Debt Consolidation Services

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.