BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 05/18/2007

LRR Collection Agency

Phone: (888) 262-4819

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
03/03/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper collection practices

Complaint: In August 2013 I signed an agreement agreeing to terms to pay an old debt. As agreed upon, in August and September they took payment of $75 directly from my bank account. The payment amount was to increase to $100 beginning in October. As it turns out, they took no payments in October, November, December or January. I had no contact from the company, phone or mail. I did not discover the issue until February 8th, so I immediately sent a letter, along with a money order for the payments. Today I received a notice of garnishment from my employer. I do not understand why the payments were not withdrawn from my account, and then they took action to garnish my paycheck. They had the information needed to take their payments and they failed to do so. They could have made an effort to communicate any problem with me so that it could have been resolved. I have been treated as if I did not fulfill the terms of the agreement I signed. In fact, it is ******************** that failed the terms of the agreement.I did check today and found that the letter containing the money order was not delivered until February 18th, though it was mailed to them February 8th. The tracking showed that there was no authorized agent available to sign for it. I do find it odd that a law firm would not have anyone available that is authorized to sign for a letter.

Initial Business Response
As Mrs. ********* notated this account is handled by ************************. I was able to receive the following information from them:

8/21/2013 Mrs. ********* consented to $75 a month for August and September and then a $100 starting in October. Mrs. ********* post dated a credit card draft for the $75 for the 2 months but did not for the $100.00 after September payment.

10/1/2013 after the 2x $75 payments the office called *********** in attempt to set up an automatic draft on the $100.00 agreement. Since there was no response the office set up a Promise to Pay for $100 due on 10/29/2013. 10/15/2013 the Promise to Pay letter was sent to ********************

12/09/2013 since there was no payment Mrs. ********* was called at ************ & ***********2 with no response. A consent letter reminding her of her promise $100.00 was sent on 12/10/2013.

1/09/2014 with no payment for November or December a Default Judgment was sent. 2/4/2016 a garnishment was filed and a certified letter was sent on 2/6/14 letting her know of the pending garnishment mailed to ********************

************************ gave more than customary notice that a garnishment would commence. As required by law, a certified was mailed to Mrs. ********* within 72 hours of filing the garnishment.

************************ has had personnel available at ******************** in Atlanta and ***************** in Vidalia to sign Feb 8th to 18th, with the exception of Feb 11th, 12th, & 13th which was during the two snow storms that hit Atlanta. ************************ has received her $400 payment and have amended the garnishment to reflect this amount.

Thank you

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

07/30/2012Billing / Collection Issues
10/14/2011Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Collection Agencies, Collection Systems

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.