BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/02/2005

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/02/2005

BBB has determined that Christmas Lights Etc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Christmas Lights Etc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service6
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Christmas Lights Etc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (8)BBB Closure Definitions
01/07/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Defective product was returned using the company's return procedures. The company has not provided a replacement or credit and will not communicate.
Defective product was returned for replacement using the company's return procedures. The company received the return on 12/05/2014. The company has not provided a replacement or credit and will not communicate with me after leaving several phones messages and email. The company's phone system forwards calls to a general mailbox after a very short time. There is no chance to speak with a customer service representative.

Desired Settlement
Immediately ship the replacement with expedited shipping.

Business Response
During this time of year returns can take up to 2 to 3 weeks to be processed. If you can provide me with the tracking number of the return as well as the total number of strands that were defective we will be happy to send out replacements.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
For a company that provides services related to merchandise to be used for specific calendar dates, the lack of contact from customer service is unacceptable.

The tracking number is: ******************

Please send 3 strands as an acceptable resolution.

Final Business Response
Unfortunately we are sold out of those light strands, we sold the last on 12/26. We have gone ahead and credited you back for those 3 strands.

12/19/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I received an email advertising Black Friday Sale 20% off sitewide. Use coupon ***** I ordered lights that were already on sale (23% off the regular price). I bought $163.15 worth of lights. I used the coupon code **** and the website said the discount would be taken off at the final checkout. However, the final price did not change when I submitted my order. I emailed customer service, and asked why the discount wasnt applied. The response was Ticket ****** The coupon did apply. It doesn't show off the bottom of the order like most, it discounts the item a total of 20% the actual price. I re-verified and it is correct. Thanks! I was assured the coupon did apply, but my ****** account showed I paid the full amount. I emailed again and the reply was Ticket ****** Order #XXXXXX, Ticket ****** The coupon applies off the product itself. If it's marked past the discount of 10 or 20% it will not apply on top of that price. It is to mark regular priced items up to 20% off. Thanks!This email ad is deceiving. It states the sale is 20% off sitewide. Nowhere in the ad does it say the discount only applies to regularly priced items nor does it specify that sale or clearance items are excluded. It specifically states sitewide, which makes one assume that all products are on sale, irrespective of the current price (on sale or otherwise). Customer service also assured me that the coupon did apply. Please help resolve this issue. Thank you.
Product_Or_Service: LED christmas lights
Order_Number: XXXXXX

Desired Settlement
Receive the 20% discount as advertised.

Business Response
I apologize about the confusion on the sale. The advertisement did say 20% site wide but did not say 20% your entire order. I will go ahead and credit the difference to the customer because of the confusion.

12/11/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company failed to provide credit for defective merchandise returned according to the company's return process.
I purchased various items from this company in October. (Order #XXXXXX) $120 worth of replacement LED lights were defective, so I returned them. UPS confirms the company received the merchandise on Nov 1. I called their Customer Service department on November 15, and was told it takes them 3 weeks to process a credit. It has now been 4+ weeks and still no credit.

Desired Settlement
Credit to the card used to purchase the merchandise

Business Response
I apologize for the time it has taken for the credit to be issued. During this time of year it can take 3 to 4 weeks to process returns fully. I have gone ahead and credited the customer for the defective merchandise today and it should show on their card within 3 - 5 business days.

04/09/2014Problems with Product / Service
01/10/2013Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Christmas Lights & Decorations, Internet Shopping

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/07/2005Business started: 03/01/2000
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: March 2000, GA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Peter Brenner (Customer Service Manager)Ms. K. Ramminger (Customer Service)
Number of Employees

21

Business Category

Christmas Lights & Decorations, Internet Shopping

Alternate Business Names
Wintergreen Corporation

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Christmas Lights Etc.

205 Curie Dr

Alpharetta, GA 30005-3976

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 205 Curie Dr 

    Alpharetta, GA 30005-3976(866) 962-7382
    (877) 595-1031

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Christmas Lights Etc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 962-7382
  • (678) 341-1225
  • (877) 595-1031

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (866) 790-0253
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Christmas Lights & Decorations

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.