BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 06/03/2011

Pure Talk

Phone: (877) 820-7873

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues5
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service7
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints13

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (13)BBB Closure Definitions
08/15/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to substantiate charges

Complaint: Billed $147.90 in July, as opposed to $87.90. Was told I used 804 MB of data on one day, when I normally don't use that much in a month.
I have been with Pure Talk since May 2011 as a satisfied customer, and have referred numerous people to Pure Talk. Normally my bill is $87.90 a month. My wife and I stay within the 1000MB allotment so as not to be charged extra. However, on this months bill I was charged $147.90. Pure Talk has stated that I used 804 MB on one day (6/17).

This seems inaccurate for several reason: 1) I don't use 804 MB of data in a months time normally, and 2) I was at work that entire day, and have Wifi at work (thereby there would be no data used). When I have explained my issue to 3 different Pure Talk customer service employees, none seemed interested. Their attitude was that I used the data, so the charges are correct. I contest that it is an error because I would not have used such a large amount in one day, especially given that I was in a wifi area.

As a loyal customer since May of 2011, who has referred numerous people to Pure Talk, I would like to have the extra data charges removed. I believe them to be in error and contest the accuracy of the information. I believe that the word of mouth that I have done on behalf of the company and continued usage of their product should be worth something. The past and future positive referrals are worth more than the $60 currently in question.

Thank you for your time and consideration.
***** *****

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: * ********,********** ***
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****************************
We have researched his account and found the usage to be accurate. However, we do see that the usage was a significant increase from his normal monthly usage. Therefore, management has decided to waive the extra charges for this one-time only.

As a reminder, smart phones can be running applications in the background that one may not be aware of. Watching a video, downloading music, updating apps, etc. can also eat up data quickly. WiFi connections can be lost and the phone will automatically switch to 4G or which ever connection is available. The best way to avoid unwanted usage is to turn the data feature off on the device, until it is needed.

We have refunded $60.00 to his credit card. The customer notified us that he is satisfied with our response and has made setting adjustments to his phone. We are pleased that this complaint is resolved and thank the customer for his continued business with PureTalk.

Consumer's Final Response
I did receive a response from the company, and my complain is now resolved to my satisfaction. Thank you very much for your assistance!

***** *****

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

08/08/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to correct billing errors

Complaint: My Monthly Service Charge: $20.00, they still charge me $30.00 and there no addition minute to my account.

My Monthly Service Charge: $20.00, I did add a $20.00 Flex Plan about 2 months ago. They charge me $30.00 last month but there no addition minute to my account, so I canceled the $20.00 Flex Plan on 6/9/2013. They still charge me $30.00 this month and without addition minute.

Business' Initial Response
We are in receipt of the complaint and the account is being reviewed. An official response will be given soon. Thank you.

Consumer's Final Response
The complaint has been resolved, was a misunderstanding.
Thank You

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

08/20/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues
04/08/2013Problems with Product / Service
03/19/2013Billing / Collection Issues
Page 1 of 3
07/31/2012Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Cellular Telephone Service & Supplies

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.