BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/04/2008

Minerva Beauty, Inc.

Find a Location

(678) 584-9734View Additional Phone NumbersPO Box 828, MonroeGA 30655-0828 Send email to Minerva Beauty, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/04/2008

BBB has determined that Minerva Beauty, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Minerva Beauty, Inc.'s rating include:

  • 4 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Minerva Beauty, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Minerva Beauty, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
11/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought 3 shampoo bowl cabinets from minerva beauty on 02/17/2014. The laminate is peeling off and the particles (like sawdust) inside is swelling and falling out. I emailed the company when the first and second cabinet started to peel (now the 3rd is falling apart). They emailed me and said if i send them $65.00 for shipping, they would send me a new cabinet. My response was, I do not want anymore of these cabinets, i would like my money back. They emailed me and said they would not take them back because they have been hooked up to plumbing. They are sink stations so of course i paid a contractor to hook them up to plumbing, i did not buy them for decoration. I have pictures of the stations and copies of emails if needed.
Product_Or_Service: Cumberland shampoo bowl cabinet
Order_Number: *********
Account_Number: ******

Desired Settlement
I would like a full refund for the 3 shampoo bowl cabinets. If the company wants the defective cabinets returned, i would like them to pay for shipping and packaging.

Business Response
Good Afternoon,
We have researched the customer's purchase history with us and we do in fact see where she purchased three shampoo bowls and shampoo bowl cabinets. That purchase was made on 2/17/14 and was logged to ship to Mrs. ******* on 2/26/14. We also have read back over our notes regarding this issue and we do see where she was having a problem with the laminate. Our policies state that outside of thirty days of receiving their equipment our customers will be responsible for shipping costs that may be necessary for sending any replacement equipment. "During the Warranty Period, Minerva retains the option to either repair or replace any product, part or component, which fails under normal use as a result of a defect in material or workmanship, with a comparable product, part or component. While returning items to Minerva for repair or replacement, purchaser will be responsible for all shipping costs incurred to and from Minerva, including but not limited to, duties, taxes, and brokerage fees."
We understand Mrs. ******* is frustrated and irritated and for that we apologize. It is not our intentions to have any of our customers have to go through this experience. Unfortunately, because of the amount of time that has passed since the customer has received her equipment we will not be able to refund her money. We will however waive the shipping costs and be willing to send her three brand new cabinets at no cost to her. We hope that she finds this offer to be satisfactory and is willing to not only accept our apology but also accept the replacement equipment.

Sincerely,

Minerva Beauty, Inc.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not want anymore of your defective cabinets. The cabinets should last for more than 1-7 months. I have to hire a contractor to install these cabinets, i do not have the time or money to replace cabinets every 1-7 months. I have been in business for 27 years. The cabinets i had previously were still in great shape after 27 YEARS. I replaced them because they were out dated. Your cabinets are defective and i want to return them. The cabinets were defective before the 30 day warranty was up, i have the emails with pictures of the defective cabinet that i sent you. Your apology does not solve this issue and i do not accept it. I don't care what your intentions were, you should stand behind your products. These cabinets are junk. I have never been so dissatisfied with a product or a company.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Good Afternoon, I am glad you addressed the molding put on the defective stations. If you have a copy of my first email with the picture, it shows the defective laminate peeling with NO molding. The molding was put on after I sent you an email asking you if my contractor could fix the defective station and you said yes. You also said if the laminate continues to peel you will honor the warranty, which was within the 30 days. The contractor followed the directions completely when putting the stations together and hooking them up. Again, i have copies of all these emails with pictures. I will be happy to post all the emails with pictures if you need to see them.

Final Business Response

Good Afternoon,
Again, as we stated in the previous response, our records do indicate there was contact from Mrs. ******* within the first 30 days. That is not disputed and our records/notes coincide with Mrs. *******'s notes and emails. However, this contact does not and did not change the course of action for resolution. We did state we would honor the warranty and we will. We will honor this warranty by replacing all three cabinets at no charge to Mrs. *******. This resolution would have been the course taken by Minerva within the first 30 days and this will be our course of action now at approximately 270 days.

"During the Warranty Period, Minerva retains the option to either repair or replace any product, part or component, which fails under normal use as a result of a defect in material or workmanship, with a comparable product, part or component."

Sincerely,

Minerva Beauty, Inc.

09/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My complaint involves the purchase of a Madison II Spa Pedicure chair on August 1, 2014. My chair arrived on Wednesday 8/6 where it was assembled per instructions sent by the company. That evening a certified Plumber from a reputable business in my town arrived at 5:30 to begin installation of the chair. I had previously had a spa pedicure chair in the same spot. The one I had broke on 7/31 so i was on a mission to find a replacement since that is what I do for a living.After searching on the internet for what seemed like an eternity i went back to the Minerva website. Found a pedicure chair I liked and preceded to speak to a salesperson via their chat. Since I had so many questions I asked her to call me which she did. After speaking to her and telling her my situation, asking her many questions I bought the chair using my credit card over the phone, it was to arrive in 2-3 business days.On that Wednesday night as the plumber is here working following the instructions provided by the company and his on expertise he had my chair hooked up and ready to try. we ran water in the basin and the water started running out from under the chair. now the only installation instructions for the plumber was to tighten the pipes under the basin of the chair and attach the cold and hot water and the drain to the chair. He was here at my shop from 5:30pm to 9:30pm. After taking everything apart and redoing it several times because it was still leaking from both openings in the basin he added silicon to all the fittings and told me to allow it to dry overnight. On Thursday morning after arriving at my shop i ran water into the basin and it began to leak. After the company sends me a new drain kit the plumber returns on Friday 9/8 to replace the pipes and fittings with the new kit. He leaves at 11:30 am and tells me not to run water in it for 24 hours. I checked it Sunday morning and it still leaked. Monday morning a different plumber went through the whole pipes and fittings even having to add more rubber
Product_Or_Service: Spa Pedicure Chair
Order_Number: XXXXXX

Desired Settlement
o rings to get it to stop leaking from both openings from what he could see the opening are larger than the fitting. as of today 8/14 the chair still leaks. I called the company on Monday and they said I cant return it because I opened it up and it was plumbed. I have a 1 year warranty and it does not say that on the paper. How could I know if anything was wrong with it or not if it wasn't opened up and put together and hooked up. I have called my credit card company and also complained.

Business Response
We apologize for the delay in the response but we were waiting to hear about the progress with the new plumber. We are sorry for the frustration that the customer is experiencing and we have tried our very best to do everything in our power to help with their issue. We sent out replacement parts via overnight shipping and requested to speak to the original plumbers who did the initial install. We believe the initial problem may have begun with the first set of plumbers who installed the chair. We think they may not have been too familiar with pedicure chairs and the issues may have stemmed from that lack of knowledge. Since the first set of plumbers installed the chair a second local plumber has been called out to look at the chair to fix any problems. We spoke to the second plumber, he said that he had corrected any issues and the chair should be up and running properly. We have also heard from the customer and they confirmed that the chair no longer had any issues and they were going to conduct business as usual. We have left several messages with the customer to please let us know immediately if they have any issues with their pedicure chair. If another issue arises we will again try to do anything we can for them. To our knowledge the chair has now been installed and plumbed correctly and there are no longer any issues. Therefore, a refund or return should no longer be necessary. We will be here for the customer should they need us for anything in future.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The issues are still here. After several days of using the chair the leak still exist. The second plumber did not do anything but take out the black rubber ring in the drain assembly and glue it to the bottom of the chair. When the plumber came in last week to check to see if it was still leaking I told him yes it was.
He called the company and spoke to Brian and looked at it and ran water in it a number of times while he was her and on the phone. But could not see it leaking.
Water is still leaking from the basin of the tub. It leaks during usage. Not just while the water is staying in the basin of the tub. The first plumber did not have to do any plumbing to the chair. Th pipes and fitting were already installed on the chair when it arrived all the instructions called for was for the plumber to tighten the pipes and hook the water. That is all they did and it has leaked from day one. The number to the first plumber was given to the company and they spoke to him.
The second plumber came by today I told him it was still leaking and he said he wasn't going to go anything else. I have told the company numerous times the chair is leaking. 3 plumbers have looked at the chair and cannot figure out why it leaks. Issues is not resolved. I called the credit card company and had the charges reinstated because Minerva said they wouldn't do anything to help me if I didn't accept the charges. I have a call in to Brian at the company now to see what the next steps are. I want to send this chair back for a full refund. This has caused loss revenue for me not to mention the undue stress it has caused me. This chair should not be leaking.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As of today I have not received the pedicure basin. I have called Minerva back and told them the freight line cannot find it.

Final Business Response
It was our understanding that the freight carrier had momentarily lost the pedicure basin. We were able to put a locator on the basin and it was retrieved and delivered. The plumber installed the new replacement basin on Monday 9/15/14. We have checked in with the customer and she said that everything was in perfect working order and there are no longer any leaks. We called back on Tuesday 9/16/14 to double check and we were told it was in good shape and the customer was satisfied. We have paid the plumber and it is our hope that all is well. In speaking to the customer we reassured them if they had any future issues to please let us know.

07/31/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My order was shipped to the wrong address. When I spoke with them about this issue the were extremely rude and offered no assistance.
On July 9th at 3:28 pm I received an email confirmation of my order #********** to be shipped to *****, NE. The billing address had an error in the zip code but the shipping address was 100% accurate and payment was authorized. The shipment went to the billing address and not the shipping address that Minerva sent to me in a confirmation email. On July 14th the delivery was made to the billing address. This is 90 miles away from the shipping address. I emailed on July 15th to discuss my concerns and was contacted by phone that morning. The customer service representative was extremely rude and offered no assistance in resolving the issue. He did state they had "transposed it wrong". Even when I mentioned I would have to drive 1 and 1/2 hours one way to pick up the order he responded with "well, you have to go there anyway". I asked to speak to his supervisor. I was put on hold and then cut off. He did not call back to attempt to resolve the issue. I did not speak to a supervisor. My business partner then attempted to speak with the supervisor and was promised a call back by 2pm on July 16th. That call never came. Repeated attempts to reach anyone to resolve this issue were unsuccessful. Immediate payment was processed and the accurate shipping address was verified. Since this delivery was not processed as confirmed and caused extra costs on my end. I would like a refund on shipping costs.

Desired Settlement
Refund on $139.00 shipping cost.

Business Response
When the order was created the zip codes were entered incorrectly and this should have been caught on our end. This was our fault and we will certainly refund the shipping back to the customer. We will call today (7/21/14) and get their credit card info for the refund. Our apologies will be expressed to the customer.

08/20/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Beauty Supplies & Equipment, Beauty Salons

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/08/2008Business started: 11/01/2006
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: November 2006, GA

Business Management
Principal: Bryan Bowman (Customer Service Manager)
Business Category

Beauty Supplies & Equipment, Beauty Salons

Products & Services

This company is a manufacturer and distributor of salon and spa equipment, furniture styling chairs, pedicure and manicure chairs.

LocationsX

2 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Minerva Beauty, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 332-0123
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Beauty Supplies & Equipment

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.