BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 04/22/2011

Green Basement & Remodeling

Phone: (678) 445-5533

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues3
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints8

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (8)
07/21/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We were charged for items outside of our signed contract. We were unaware of the extra charges until after we submitted the final payment. We requested an invoice the next day and saw that we were charged for extra prep work for our wall painting that we did not authorize or agree to ($538). Their designer, ***** ****, emailed us AFTER we signed the contract that they may need to charge for additional work. We responded by saying that we did not agree with this, having already signed the contract. It was not discussed again. We were also charged for two mirrors ($400). Their contractor mistakenly threw out our old mirrors, so the construction manager told us that Green would "eat the cost" of the mirrors due to their mistake. The total amount overcharged and due to us as a refund is $938. We have requested the refund and have been denied on several occasions through their Operations Manager. We have also requested to have a meeting to discuss the issue with their owner, Operations Manager and Construction Manager; this request has been unanswered now for two weeks. In addition, we were not provided a final walk through to go over any issues we may be having. We have issues with the construction of the bathroom (standing water in the shower in at least five areas for over a 24 hour period), leaking water around all areas of the seamless shower glass, cracks in the decorative tile grout behind tub, and a hole the grout in the toilet area), and the requests for repair have also gone answered. The construction manager did come out and assess the issues, but no repairs have been scheduled. Emails, calls and texts to have these issues repaired have gone unanswered.
Product_Or_Service: Master Bathroom Remodel
Account_Number:*****

Desired Settlement
We would like to have a refund for the costs in excess of the signed contract amount, which is $938. We would like to have the following repairs to our bathroom:*Shower floor properly graded so that it drains after use*Have shower glass properly caulked so that it does not leak*Repair cracks in grout behind tub*Fill in hole in toilet room between tiles

Business Response
We have met with customer and came up with plan to fix this issue. We are very confident that customer will be pleased in the ending results.

Consumer Response
The issue was resolved to our satisfaction, with a refund and the outstanding issues corrected.

08/11/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Green Basements was hired as a general contractor to finish my basement but did not obtain the required permits for the work and did not complete the work according to building code. They must not be able to bid on work without obtaining proper permits. On or around September 2012, I hired Green Basements as a general contractor to finish my basement. In May 2014, another contractor doing work in the house informed me that Green Basements had covered up 2 gas valves that were critical to access in the event of an emergency. This is a huge safety concern in the event that I would need to turn the gas off on those gas lines.In June 2014, Green Basements did honor its warranty work, and installed one access panel for one of the gas valves they could find. However, they are now requiring me to pay $125 to search for the second gas valve, and an additional $375 to repair the drywall once they install a second access panel that should have been there in the first place. I will not pay for warranty work, especially when this is work to adhere to building code.
Product_Or_Service: General contractor services
Order_Number: Invoice *****
Account_Number: XXXXXXc

Desired Settlement
Green Basements needs to resolve this issue in the following two ways:1. Waive the $125 invoice sent to me to cut holes in my ceiling to locate the gas valves that were covered up. This was work not completed according to building code and should be warranty work.2. Do not bid on work without first obtaining the required permits.

Final Consumer Response
This was a misunderstanding and has been resolved to the mutual satisfaction of both parties. I appreciate the effort that Green Basements has exhibited to listen to my concerns and ultimately waive the fees that I was originally billed. Thank you.

01/05/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Green's Basement was contracted to construct a gym and wine cellar in the basement of our home in 2014. We were promised that the general contractor would be consistently on site throughout the completion of the 2 month project. The job took over six months to complete, the GC was not consistently on site to monitor the workers, the work area was not kept clean and dirt was tracked throughout the house, and they continued to forget to place the supply orders which further delayed the project. The wine cellar temperature control is not set up properly and the wall mirror in the gym has cracked and the floor wasn't laid properly. We asked repeatedly to speak to the owner about the workmanship issues and all of the request were denied. The customer service person then tried to threaten and bully us for the finally payment of $2,500. We said we would pay when we spoke to the owner, when the work was completed and when our issues were addressed. Over one year later the owner has not returned our calls or email and now they have sent us a letter charging late fees. The owner of this business has not demonstrated any care or concern about our situation.

Desired Settlement
We desire a meeting with the owner, the work to be completed properly, and for the bill to be adjusted to remove the final payment and any associated fees.

Business Response
The customer contracted us for work and in that contract included for us to run a supply line off of their existing HVAC unit into the wine room. There was no separate thermostat or template control for the wine room in the contract. The zone system that was existing in their basements was malfunctioning and the zone that we tied the wine room into was running continuously and would not shut off. We were told by the customer that if we fixed this, at no additional charge to them, they would be present and have final payment. We then met our HVAC guys onsite and fixed the issue that was not Green Basements & Remodeling's problem. The customer was not home at the time of repair but their partner was and they did not have final payment. When we called the next day to collect payment customer refused to provide payment.

Our operations manager is responsible for handling field issues and has reached out to the customer numerous times. The customer has refused to meet with him and only wants to talk to the owner. If they are unhappy, our operations manager is still willing to come out and meet with them.

Consumer Response
The company still has not addresses their poor customer service, that they were going to give a $500 credit or replace the gym floor, and that the mirror has cracked. We have lost days from work to follow up on their inconsistent management of our project. We even had to ask the project manager to clean up the downstairs because they were tracking construction dust throughout the basement. We have a trail of emails that tell the story of delayed order placement, where they ordered the wrong materials, painted the gym the wrong color, etc... We also have an email that states that we will pay the corrected remaining balance after we speak to the owner about having the issues fixed.

Final Business Response
Our process is to meet with our operations manager as he has the authority to resolve issues with customers on behalf of the owner. Our operations manager is available to meet 1/4/16, 1/5/16, 1/7/16, 1/8/16, & 1/9/16. Please let us know which day works for the customer.

12/10/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Repeated delays, abysmal communication, unstated contract terms.
Contract was for new granite counter top and glass tile backsplash and was to be completed on July 31. After breaking the counter top during installation, it took over two weeks for them to get a new piece and install it, during which there was minimal communication from Green, particularly to inquiries from us requesting call backs or status updates. During this time we had a non-functional kitchen, as there was no longer a sink. Once the counter top was installed, the tile work, which had repeatedly been stated would take one day, and which by all professional standards should only take a single day (35 square feet, including overage), took two full days to install plus an additional day to grout. The grouting was also delayed because the company provided the wrong grout, despite it being clearly called out in the contract.

During this process we repeatedly requested a discount for the difficulties encountered. Upon receiving the final bill, the only discount offered was $75, later increased to $100. Both included a rider stating that we could not express displeasure with Green Remodeling in any manner. These terms are completely unacceptable in a professional contract, and if the "discount" was not so insulting to their customers then they wouldn't be necessary either.

Finally, we requested that the final bill be adjusted for the proper amount of tile that was used -- the initial estimate provided to Green Remodeling was 28 sq ft; the contact was written for up to 40. The final amount, including 10% overage, was 35 sq ft. Green refuses to properly adjust the amount, now claiming that they have a 40 sq ft minimum -- a detail that was never previously stated and is not in any contract documents.

Desired Settlement
We request a refund of the tile overage to properly reflect the size installed -- this is $173.90. And an additional refund of 10% of the adjusted total, which would be $351.98.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *****
Contact Phone: **********
Contact Email: **************************
We are glad to hear you are happy with the end results. It was unfortunate that the granite broke unexpectedly and things like this do happen occasionally. Because we tried to match the granite already installed, the job took longer than expected. In retrospect, we should have replaced all the countertops at once with a new slab.
We have received your final payment in full but will be reaching out to you in the near future.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Company called one time, but not at a time when anyone could speak with them. I would prefer all correspondence be via email, and they have my address, but again, I have not been contacted that way.

I accept that accidents happen. The lack of communication during the process, the exceptionally poor speed of the tile installation, and claiming minimums or under-billing at the end are all unprofessional and unacceptable.

Final Consumer Response
It has, once again, been over two weeks since we were promised payment and we have yet to receive it or any other contact from Green Basements and Remodeling.

I expect rapid resolution to this.

Final Business Response
As of 2:47 PM, 12/9/15, both parties agree that this is settled. GBR will reimburse the customer said amount of $351.98 and the customer agrees to desist in all negative public comments about GBR.

06/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We're having our basement finished, and they are doing a good job. Where they fail is in communicating details to the customer. The last written timeline or schedule I have from them is from 4/30 and today is 5/27. I've also asked for an itemized list of the materials, labor and costs about ten times. Each time they've promised on the phone or via email, but never sent the information. What they don't know is their contractor left his folder in the basement overnight so I've seen this information. Why they refuse to send me a copy, I don't know. There was a charge in the paperwork for "sealing tile" in the bathroom, when there is no tile in the bathroom. When I asked about this, I was assured there was a credit for that, instead of a charge, but without an itemized list, it's difficult to tell what is being purchased. I realize over the last month, they needed to get some inspection details ironed out, but the last contact I had with them, they said expect an emailed schedule and work would begin again on Tuesday. Well it's Tuesday, no emailed schedule, I'm working from home and no work is being done. This has been the routine for the last few weeks, hear nothing, a week goes by, I call them, I get promises then it starts over again. The check for the current work was cashed three weeks ago, and we find work is halted again.
Product_Or_Service: Basement remodel
Account_Number: ******a

Desired Settlement
I would like some clear communication, email being preferred. An email once or twice a week is not a lot to ask for. Home improvement projects are large and complex. We're not asking to change anything, just to clarify what is being done when and how much it costs. We recognize there are snags, and minor setbacks, which are acceptable, and these have been communicated. What is not acceptable is offering information for communications and not delivering.

Business Response
Our goal at Green Basements and Remodeling is to not only have our clients happy with the final product that we deliver but also make sure they are happy with the process by which that product is achieved. One of the ways we try to achieve this is to assign a project manager and scheduler to each project with the expectation that your project will be handled professionally and that you will receive the necessary information and schedule updates in a timely fashion. Unfortunately we have had an unexpected and unusually high turnover rate at our scheduler position and this turnover rate has manifested itself with gaps in communication and transfer of information to some of our clients. We have recently turned your project over to one of our most experienced and longest tenured schedulers. We are of the opinion that you already have an outstanding project manager assigned to your job and that your project will run smoothly and you will receive the updates and information that you are requesting from this point forward. We thank your for your feedback and apologize for any frustration we have caused you.

02/14/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In 2009-2010, Green Basements & Remodeling (then Castle Painting & Remodeling), repaired a shower stall leak in my master bathroom. The leak has returned causing wood rot around the shower. Given that this service is still under the original 5-year warranty, I contacted Green B&R. I have contacted them three times over two weeks, leaving messages with the receptionist, without a response. Customer service was a problem with this company in 2009-2010, and continues to be with the lack of concern and interest in customer satisfaction.
Product_Or_Service: Shower Stall Repair

Desired Settlement
I would like to receive a return call from the ***** of Green B&R, ***** *****. The leak damage should be assessed, and repaired according to the terms of the 5-year warranty.

Business Response
We received a message last week and notified the customer that we would arrange for someone to come out and look at the problem. It did snow last week and the office was closed for 3 days. We received our 2nd message from the customer on 2/3 which was Monday. We are reaching out to ****** today (Weds 2/5) to arrange for someone to come look at the problem so we can properly address it. Thank you.

04/30/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Basement - Remodeling, Windows - Installation & Service, Exterior Structures - Gazebos, Arbors, Pergolas, Bathroom Remodeling, Construction & Remodeling Services, Roofing Contractors, Deck Builder, Basement & Foundation Contractors, Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing, Drywall Contractors, Contractors - General, Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.