BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/24/2014

Dependable Transmissions Plus, LLC

Phone: (770) 923-3993Fax: (770) 923-20121386 Indian Trail Lilburn Rd STE 100, NorcrossGA 30093-2609 Send email to Dependable Transmissions Plus, LLC

0TRUSTS
0 People Trust Dependable Transmissions Plus, LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/24/2014

BBB has determined that Dependable Transmissions Plus, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Dependable Transmissions Plus, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Factors that raised Dependable Transmissions Plus, LLC's rating include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
05/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Repairs resulted in additional damage

Complaint: Brought my Kia Soul in for a new clutch. Hood was removed and not replaced properly. Owner denies removing the hood although it is obvious.
Took my 2010 Kia Soul in for transmission diagnostic and repair. Picked up vehicle on 4/5/2014. Returned on 4/14/2014 for check up on seals for warranty.

Today while checking oil level, i noticed hood was below the rest of the body. I attempted to open hood and immediate scraping of metal against metal. Hood opened part way and I notice that the bolts on the hood have been removed. This hood has never been removed prior to taking it into this shop. The vehicle has been missing the hood arm that keeps it since prior body repair in 2011 where the whole front end body was replaced from front to doors. The bolts on the hood have been removed and can be verified by the scraping of the paint off the bolts themselves from the use of a tool.

I called the owner and he emphatically denies removing the hood. I am not mechanic, but I am sure that to work on a transmission you have to open the hood to see from above.

I am pretty upset that instead of being honest about it it was full denial. This damage to my vehicle effects it's resale value and the look of my vehicle.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ********* ******** Ofc Mg
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ****@dtplusnorcross.com
Mr. ***** took possession of his vehicle after repairs were complete on 4.4.14, He returned on 4.14.14 for his 7-10 day warranty inspection, a service we require of each customers following vehicle repairs. Neither time did Mr. ***** mention vehicle damages to. Mr. ***** called into Dependable Transmissions Plus days later and spoke with General Manager ** ******* inquiring about his hood being removed. He assured Mr. ***** there was no reason to remove his hood for the repairs he was having done. ** offered asked Mr. ***** to return to the shop so we could assess the accused damages, Mr. ***** refused saying, he'll have someone else look at his vehicle.
The procedures of rebuilding, replacing and or repairing a transmission and/or clutch, the hood is NOT required to come off. We had to prop his hood with a cushioned rod/stick as a protection for our customer's vehicles, when we encounter such conditions as he stated, the hood arm not being on his vehicle due to prior front end damages.

Procedure to remove and replace transmission of his 2010 Kia Soul are as follows:

2010 Kia Soul L4-1.6L

Removal


Use fender covers to avoid damaging painted surfaces.
To avoid damage, unplug the wiring connectors carefully while holding the connector portion.
**** all wiring and hoses to avoid misconnection.
1.Remove the air cleaner assembly and the intake hose by removing the bolts and the clamps

2.Remove the ECU by removing the bolts(2ea) and a nut.
3.Remove the battery (A).
4.Remove the battery tray by removing the bolts(3ea).
5.Disconnect the vehicle speed sensor connector (A) and the back lamp switch connector (B).
6.Remove the ground wire by removing a bolt.
7.Remove the snap pins (A) and clips (B).
8.Remove the control cable bracket by removing bolts(3ea).
9.Using the special tool (XXXXX-XXXXX), support the engine assembly safely.
10.Remove the transaxle upper mounting bolts (A-2ea) and the starter motor mounting bolts (B-2ea).
11.Remove the transaxle support bracket bolts (A-3ea,B-3ea).
12.Lifting up the vehicle.
13.Remove the front wheels and tires.
14.Remove the lower arm ball joint mounting nut and the stabilizer link mounting nut from the front knuckles. (refer to Front suspension system in SS group)
15.Remove the under shield cover.
16.Drain the transaxle fluid by removing the drain plug.
17.Disconnect the drive shafts from the transaxle. (refer to Front Driveshaft in DS group)
18.Remove the CKP sensor (A) by removing a bolt.
19.Remove the roll stopper bracket by removing bolts(A-1ea,B-2ea).
20.Remove the clutch release cylinder assembly.
21.Remove the bolt left in the engine side.
22.Supporting the transaxle with a jack, remove the transaxle lower mounting bolts(A-3ea, B-1ea).
23.Lowering the jack slowly, remove the transaxle.

Installation


1.Install the transaxle lower mounting bolts (A-3ea,B-1ea) after fitting the transaxle assembly into the engine assembly.

Tightening torque :
A 35 - 50 Nm (3.5 - 5.0 kgf.m, 25.3 - 36.2 lb-ft)
B 43 - 55 Nm (4.3 - 5.5 kgf.m, 31.1 - 39.8 lb-ft)

2.Install the bolt left in the engine side.

Tightening torque :
43 - 55 Nm (4.3 - 5.5 kgf.m, 31.1 - 39.8 lb-ft)

3.Install the clutch release cylinder assembly.

Tightening torque :
15 - 22 Nm (1.5 - 2.2 kgf.m, 10.8 - 15.9 lb-ft)

4.Install the roll stopper bracket by installing bolts(A-1ea,B-2ea).

Tightening torque :
A XX - XXX Nm (9 - 11 kgf.m, 65 - 79 lb-ft)
B 50 - 65 Nm (5.0 - 6.5 kgf.m, 36.2 - 47.0 lb-ft)

5.Install the CKP sensor (A) by installing a bolt.

6.Connect the drive shafts to the transaxle. (refer to Front Driveshaft in DS group)
7.Refill the transaxle fluid through the filler hole. (refer to Service Adjustment Procedure)
8.Install the under shield cover.

9.Install the lower arm ball joint mounting nut and the stabilizer link mounting nut to the front knuckles. (refer to Front suspension system in SS group)
10.Install the front wheels and tires. (refer to installation in SS group)
11.Install the transaxle support bracket bolts (A-3ea,B-3ea).

Tightening torque :
A 70 - 95 Nm (7.0 - 9.5 kgf.m, 50.6 - 68.7 lb-ft)
B 60 - 80 Nm (6.0 - 8.0 kgf.m, 43.4 - 57.9 lb-ft)

12.Install the transaxle upper mounting bolts (A-2ea) the starter motor mounting bolts (B-2ea).

Tightening torque :
A 60 - 80 Nm (6.0 - 8.0 kgf.m, 43.4 - 57.9 lb-ft)
B 39 - 60 Nm (3.9 - 6.0 kgf.m, 28.2 - 43.4 lb-ft)

12.Install the transaxle upper mounting bolts (A-2ea) the starter motor mounting bolts (B-2ea).

Tightening torque :
A 60 - 80 Nm (6.0 - 8.0 kgf.m, 43.4 - 57.9 lb-ft)
B 39 - 60 Nm (3.9 - 6.0 kgf.m, 28.2 - 43.4 lb-ft)

13.Put aside the engine support fixture (XXXXX-XXXXX).
14.Install the control cable bracket by installing bolts(3ea).

Tightening torque :
15 - 22 Nm (1.5 - 2.2 kgf.m, 10.8 - 15.9 lb-ft)

15.Install the clips (B) and pins (A).

16.Install the ground wire by installing a bolt.

17.Connect the vehicle speed sensor connector (A) and the back lamp switch connector (B).

18.Install the battery tray by installing the bolts(3ea).

19.Install the battery (A).

20.Install the ECU by installing the bolts(2ea) and a nut.

21.Install the air cleaner assembly and the intake hose by installing the bolts and the clamps.





Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was never taken around my vehicle to access any damage to the vehicle when I picked up my Kia on 4.14.14. I was shown the old clutch in a box, signed papers and asked to return before 10 days past.

The "damage" is that my hood was NOT replaced correctly. If you look at my car you cannot tell it from a glance, and you cannot tell it by walking about the car, You can however tell it when you are seated in the drivers seat as well as when you open the hood. When one opens the hood there is metal against metal, the bolts on the hood as well as chassis have the black paint scraped off of them from the use of a socket wrench, and the hood is 1/4 of an inch below the rest of the body. Does this business seriously think that they did not do this? I know this business removed my hood because there is no bar to hold up the hood, and hasn't been since 2011 when the whole front in was replaced and repainted. So yes, your company removed my hood and needs to re-install it properly free of charge and touch up the paint from where your mechanic removed the bolts. The bolts are damaged from being removed. If they did all the work listed above then they would have to have the hood open, and since the hood has no bar to keep it open on it's own, they removed the hood.

I have filed a complaint with my insurance agency and request the this business provide me with their insurance agency so I can file a complaint with the proper people.

I have never heard of this Mr. ********* ******** Ofc Mg. I have never sopken or seen him. I do not know who he is. I spoke with **** WHom I assume was the manager of this store. I take issue with Mr. ********* ******** Ofc Mg because he has never met me, never talked to me and knows nothing of this. When I called the business to inform them of this issue I spoke with **** who was not helpful.

I want my hood put back on properly. It is obvious that they had to remove it with all the work they claim they did (i.e. removing battery, removing ECU) this requires an open hood.

If they do not resolve this, I will take them to civil court and sue for repairs and refund of the $1400.00 I spent on my transmission and for the ignorance they are claiming.

So, I will not accept any response from someone I have neither spoken to or met. Respectfully, Mr. ********* ******** Ofc Mg, you don't know me and we have had no dealing.

I want my hood put back in order and it is your businesses responsibility to do so.

Sincerely

**** ** *****
Not a "***" consumer

Final Business Response
Mr. *****, your hood was never removed while in our possession. It is standard to open your hood for the type of repair you received at Dependable Transmissions Plus, but to remove your hood as you stated, did not occur in our facility. We had no reason to remove your hood. ** offered to look at your hood, why did you refuse to bring your vehicle to us to access your damages??
We pride ourselves on the integrity of our business, and consumers as yourself, who set out to scam a business, makes wanting to go above and beyond the call of duty for other consumers impossible. To further prove your accusations against Dependable Transmissions Plus, we'll gladly see you in court Mr. *****.


Best Regards,

Ms. ********* ********

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service, Auto Repair - Shocks, Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension, Auto Repair - Suspension, Auto Repair - Vintage, Auto Repair - Mobile, Auto Repairing - Foreign, Auto Repair & Service - Airbags, Auto Repair & Service - Diesel

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/07/2014Business started: 02/14/2013
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Timothy Kimble (Owner)
Contact Information
Mr. Randall Byrd (Manager)
Number of Employees

5

Business Category

Auto Repair & Service, Auto Repair - Shocks, Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension, Auto Repair - Suspension, Auto Repair - Vintage, Auto Repair - Mobile, Auto Repairing - Foreign, Auto Repair & Service - Airbags, Auto Repair & Service - Diesel

Industry Tips
The Hail Season is Here

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Dependable Transmissions Plus, LLC

1386 Indian Trail Lilburn Rd STE 100

Norcross, GA 30093-2609

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1386 Indian Trail Lilburn Rd STE 100 

    Norcross, GA 30093-2609(770) 923-3993

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Dependable Transmissions Plus, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Repair & Service

The Hail Season is Here
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.