BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/21/2005

Car Connection, Inc.

Phone: (800) 275-2277Fax: (678) 382-3000View Additional Phone Numbers2558 Mountain Industrial Blvd, TuckerGA 30084-3810 Send email to Car Connection, Inc.

0TRUSTS
0 People Trust Car Connection, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/21/2005

BBB has determined that Car Connection, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Car Connection, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service7
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
03/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior repair

Complaint: The vehicle I purchased from this business has had an ongoing emissions Issue.
I bought a 2003 **** *** from car connection in October of 2013. On my way home to Charleston SC the Check Engine light emitted. I immediately called the dealer and told them what happened. I had the car diagnosed and the vehicle was diagnosed with a faulty catalytic converter. The vehicle was repaired with a poor performing catalytic converter according to 2 certified motor vehicle techs.The dealer and I e-mailed back and forth for about 3 months. The dealer refused to replace the part with the proper part. Now that I live in North Carolina I cannot register my car because the vehicle wont pass emission All I want is the right part installed so I can register my car.

Initial Business Response
The catalytic converter is not a part of any warranty included on the purchase of a vehicle from Car Connection. The law in ******* states that all used cars are sold "as-is", however, Car Connection does provide every customer a free power-train warranty which includes the major components (engine and transmission) on every vehicle under 80,000 miles. We also provide a 3-day, 300 mile no questions asked return policy to ensure our customers complete satisfaction with their vehicle.

At the time of Mr. ********* purchase, the Audi passed GA emissions testing which meant the catalytic converter was in perfect working order. When we were notified Mr. Rucker had an issue, we offered to assist fixing the problem if he would pay ******* towards the repair. Mr. ****** refused and advised our service department that if we did not assume full responsibility for the problem and repair it at our expense that he was not interested in hearing from any of our staff.

The last contact from Mr. ****** was on November 11th, 2012. It is not until a year and nearly four months later he contacts us requesting that we fix the car again. Mr. ****** was offered an extended warranty at the time of purchase and declined. At that time, he assumed all responsibility for any future mechanical issues.

At the time of Mr. ********* purchase, the Audi passed GA emissions testing which meant the catalytic converter was in perfect working order.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Just because the vehicle passed inspection at the time of installation that does not negate the fact that the part failed while I was driving it home on the day of delivery. I asked about an extended warranty and the finance manager said an extended warranty WAS NOT available because of the age of the vehicle. I was never notified of a return policy. Even if I was I would have been out of that coverage for miles because I live was living in Charleston, SC.

Final Business Response
Car Connection will reimburse ********* ******* towards the necessary repair. This is our final offer to rectify this ongoing issue.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I don't think that vehicles should be sold with inferior emissions parts. Even thought the catalytic converters were replaced they are not the correct specification that will allow the vehicle to pass inspections on a continual basis. I should have know there was a reason why Car Connection had this vehicle for so long. When the repair is made I will send them the bill and I will look forward to my ******* reimbursement. Thank you for your help.

****** *********.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

02/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: I am submitting this on behalf of myself and my husband, who is currently deployed. We purchased his vehicle from Car Connection in September of 2013. We have not received the vehicle tag or title. We get the runaround and broken promises each time we call to check on the issue. We were treated great at the time of purchase, but since then we are treated as if we are bothersome. The payoff to our trade in was submitted 2 months after the purchase of new vehicle. And that was only because we were getting numerous calls from the finance company of the trade in stating our monthly payment was almost 60 days late. We were told by the tag & title dept. and owner of Car Connection that they were calling ***** ******* (the trade in vehicle finance company) to get payoff amount and address. ***** says they never spoke to anyone at this dealership. Payoff information was obtained at the dealership the day we purchased this car. We received a letter from the lien holder of the new vehicle stating they have not received information on the title, and that is because there is no tag. The lien holder states they sent information regarding this to the dealership but got no response. We can no longer trust the dealership to get us our tag or title anytime soon. We feel seeking legal help is our only option at this point. We will never purchase another vehicle from this dealership again nor recommend it to anyone, after our experience.
Product_Or_Service: 2011 *** ******

Initial Business Response
Unfortunately the title process took longer than expected. When dealing with an out of state customer we can't oversee the titling process as much as we'd like to due to us not being a licensed dealer in the "home" state. ** misplaced some necessary documents and we were unaware the titling process had not been completed until Mrs. **** called after Mr. **** had been deployed. Car Connection paid a substantial amount of additional taxes and fees to ensure this got done and Mrs. **** now has a valid plate for their truck.

We take full responsbility for the incident and will take additional measures in the future to ensure this confusion does not happen again.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
We now have a tag...4 months later. I am satisfied as long as there are no more issues with the tag/title we received. Hopefully the dealership will also work on paying off car loans/leases in a timely manner, as that was not addressed above.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

07/17/2013Problems with Product / Service
07/10/2013Problems with Product / Service
03/19/2013Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/01/1996Business started: 09/13/1995
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: September 1995, GA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Vincent Tobia (President)Ms. Erika Tobia (Secretary)Mr. Michael Tobia (Treasurer)
Number of Employees

18

Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

This company offers nearly new cars, trucks, vans and SUV's.

BBB Program Participation
This company participates in the BBB Identification Program and has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes.
Industry Tips
Buying a Used Car
Dont Get Soaked Buying a Flood-damaged Vehicle
Purchasing a Car Online
Know the Facts About Used Car Fraud Before You Buy
VIN Cloning Swindles Luxury Car Buyers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Car Connection, Inc.

2558 Mountain Industrial Blvd

Tucker, GA 30084-3810

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2558 Mountain Industrial Blvd 

    Tucker, GA 30084-3810(678) 382-1000
    (800) 275-2277

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Car Connection, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (678) 382-1000
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.