BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/20/2013

Adventure RV & Auto Sales, Inc.

(770) 897-92942325 Highway 19 41, HamptonGA 30228-2342 Send email to Adventure RV & Auto Sales, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/20/2013

BBB has determined that Adventure RV & Auto Sales, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Adventure RV & Auto Sales, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Factors that raised Adventure RV & Auto Sales, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Adventure RV & Auto Sales, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
04/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Transmission & Motor went out in a '06 Dodge Diesel Truck ($26,000) within 5 weeks of purchase. Called owner of business & he was rude & accusatory.
I bought a 2006 Dodge Ram 2500 Diesel Truck on 1/3/15 from ******* at Adventure RV & Auto Sales, Inc. in Hampton, Ga. Acct. *****. It was financed through the ******************************** Purchase price was $26,000. First payment of $407.63 due on April 6, 2015. The transmission started slipping on February 6th, took it to a transmission shop nearby and was told to bring it back the following week when the mechanic would have time to look at it and not to drive it until it was brought back. It was not driven all week. Cranked it up on February 13th and started out of the neighborhood to the transmission shop and didn't make it a block when the engine started knocking so loudly that it had to be pulled over to the side of the road and shut off. It would not crank back. Called Adventure RV & Auto immediately and told them about the situation and was told this had never happened before and that they would have to get back with us. A week went by and hadn't heard from them. Called repeatedly with no answer. Finally got back in touch with them on February 23rd and spoke with the owner of the business who was rude from the beginning and accused my 30 year old son, who was driving it, of rough housing in the truck when all he had done was drive it to work and back for a month and haul his 4 wheeler in the bed of the truck. Normal operating conditions. He wanted to know why we hadn't been in touch with him sooner and we told him we had called 2 weeks earlier and explained about the transmission and was supposed to get a return call and never did. Asked him several times if he would get his tow truck to come and get it, he would not agree to pick it up. Ask him if he would fix the problem and make it right. He would not commit to a yes or no. Told him this was not a $5000 vehicle that I paid $26,000 for it and hadn't even made the first payment on it and the motor and transmission is out. Ended up hanging up on him because of his rudeness. My son never talked rudely to him, only defending himself in the phone call. Meanwhile, I had went to the tag office January 28th to get a tag for it and had to get an extension because the paperwork had not been filed. The tag office called them and asked them when would it be turned in and was told that they were waiting on the title paperwork from Carmax. Which means I was sold a vehicle without Adventure RV & Auto even having a title. Also, I never got the carfax report that is supposed to come with every vehicle sold at this dealership. I went back to the tag office when my first extension expired to get the tag and had to get yet another extension because the title paperwork still had not been filed. Finally received the tag in the mail on March 4th, a full 2 months after buying the truck, along with a $10 late title penalty and a $67.29 ad valorem title penalty. Which I feel they are responsible for. Also the tow bill of $135 on February 24th to take the truck to a diesel mechanic since the owner of the dealership would not agree to come and get the truck and fix it. I asked the mechanic I towed it to if he could tell me what happened to the motor and he said he would have to tear it down to find that out at a rate of $65 an hour and it would probably take 3 hours. I told him to go ahead and also give me an estimate of what it would cost to fix it. March 20th I picked up the repair estimate of $20,397 to replace the motor and transmission with a remanufactured one for both. He said the crankshaft had locked down, which in turn caused engine failure. Mr. ********** wasn't concerned about customer satisfaction when I called to tell him I was having a problem, so I'm filing this complaint with the Better Business Bureau. Also, the truck didn't fall into the category of the "3 month 3000 mile warranty on every vehicle sold" because Diesel's are excluded. Customer service was great until I had a problem, then it seemed as if they had received their money and wasn't concerned with my situation.

Desired Settlement
I want a Replacement 4X4 Double Cab Diesel Truck with the equal value of $26,000. Plus, for Mr. ********** to repay me for the expenses that I have incurred with the breakdown of this vehicle. Which, so far, include a $135 tow bill, $10 late title penalty, $67.29 ad valorem title penalty and $195 tear down fee for the diesel mechanic.

Business Response
WE have had no request for reimbursement on title fees
prior to this complaint and I agree that we will pay those fees and have mailed out a check for 77.29 to the address above. It is unfortunate that this customer is having problems with the vehicle that they purchased here, however she purchased this vehicle AS-IS. She also signed a waiver specifically stating that she did not want a warranty.I can provide the supporting documents if you will send me a fax number or email address that I can forward them to you so you have proof.

Regards
***** **********


03/25/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
When we got the vehicle the mirror is broken and the tack did not work correctly. Instead of fixing it correctly they only wanted to fix half of the mirror. It took seven days to actually to get fixed. We contacted the business several days in a row. They gave us the run around and never returned our calls until we suggested we bring the vehicle back and get our money back. We were told that we are not the only ones that received poor customer service. We got in writing that were to repair these items and still only got part of the repairs listed. We just wanted to let people know not to buy anything there. I witnessed un professional conduct in the office at the time od purchase. I will never buy anything from that place. We also had to replace all headlight s and other lights to the front of vehicle. We almost did not make it home because they were broken. Wr find several things wrong with the vehicle that we have to fix ourselves.this business is very unprofessional. I do not recommend it to anyone.

Desired Settlement
We just decided to fix ourselves instead of having to deal with them anymore.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ********** ********
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ****************************
we include a 3 month 3000 mile powertrain only warranty at no charge with the sale of all our vehicles. This customer notified us of a broken mirror and a gauge (tachometer) that wasn't working properly after he purchased the vehicle.
Even though It was outside of our warranty coverage we decided to repair the 2 items in the spirit of good customer service and made arrangements immediately. We had to order the mirror and it took a weeks to receive. We arranged to have the customer come to our shop and have the Gauge repaired at my expense. He did so and said he was satisfied with repair. The mirror arrived the next day and He refused to pick up the mirror and it is still here at my shop.
I can provide the name of the technician as well as the cancelled check where I paid the technician to prove that we did what we said we would do even though It was outside of our warranty terms. Yet again it seems that no good deed goes unpunished.
I respectfully ask that this case be closed as it is baseless and without merit. I am happy to provide documentation to prove that we did the right thing with regards to this customer.

Sincerely

***** **********

01/28/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased used car from ***** ********** at Adventure RV&Auto Sales on September 26th. ***** Guaranteed my car with his personal 3 month warranty. On October 10th car malfunctioned. My wife called ***** and he said he would pick up vehicle and have it fixed. My wife told him she would need a car in the mean time, ***** explained he was busy and would have to return her call which never happened. Tow truck arrived and no car was sent. My wife contacted ***** and he said we would have to use the 3rd party warranty we purchased and did not tell us this until car left our yard. ***** hung up on my wife without giving the location of car. She called Towing company to get location.Warranty Co. issued an inspection for the car. They denied claim and their reason was "the mechanical problem with the vehicle's timing chains was pre-existing to your ownership of the vehicle." Yes I do have this in writing. I went to dealer. I explained they aren't paying for repairs, are you? ***** said if they aren't fixing it, I have to. He asked me to wait until Monday to cancel warranty and give him time to talk with warranty co. On Monday ***** was not available so I cancelled warranty. I finally got him on the phone and he told me I can not cancel my warranty and I told him its cancelled and he stated "You will not see one red penny of that money." He then told me " get an lawyer and I will see you in court."He hung up the phone. This full refund that our lien holder is due if we cancel is being denied within hours of cancelling. My car has been in the shop broke down for 12 days. Repair shop was told by ***** he is responsible. We had to pay a $400 shop bill and another $100 to have car with a broken down engine moved. ***** gave permission and stated he was responsible. Other complaints under different complaint types are to follow. I am currently being advised by legal representation with filing a civil suit against ***** ********** and the Auto Repair Shop he used. Please see complaint that follows this one.

Desired Settlement
Refund of Warranty $1311.00Refund of Auto Repair Bill $400Refund of towing 2nd time $100Refund of cost to repair vehicle $1137, this is the estimate for the warranty job from the Auto Repair Shop Mr. ***** ********** had car towed. The actual cost of repairs for a non warranty job is going to cost us another $1500 not including bill paid today to move car with a broke down motor. He is coming out better than we are. If I have to continue with my civil suit it will be more expensive.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ********** Presiden
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email:*****************************
1. We have sold hundreds of vehicles and have never had a complaint from anyone and we are honest and trustworthy and take care of our customers.

2. Our Prices and fees including a $399 Dealer service fee as well as a $99 Title processing fee are displayed on all of our cars on the the price sheet and are prominently displayed on the rear driver's side window of every car with a Buyers Guide stating the vehicle is being sold WITH A WARRANTY

3. The warranty we include is a 3 month 3000 mile limited power train warranty on every vehicle that we sell, at no cost to our customers.

These are "LIMITED POWER TRAIN" warranties and absolutely do not cover any and all repairs for problems that may arise from the purchase of a used vehicle. In this case the customer decided to purchase an upgraded warranty from ******************** called a Plus Plan and that warranty was to be for a term of 1 year and unlimited miles at a cost of $1311.00, which was financed into his loan at************ bank. All of the warranties are sold by us and serviced by ******************** Inc. ******************************************************* Because this loan was financed he is looking to the wrong entity to facilitate a refund for a warranty that in reality will not actually be paid for until the loan is paid off.
If he has a problem with a warranty it is with the warranty company as we do not service warranties and in this specific case the warranty was paid by his lender. He should petition his lender and or the warranty company if he wants a refund for the warranty.

We sold this customer a great vehicle that was in great shape when they received it with absolutely no problems except that it was missing the headrest for the 2 front seats, which we ordered the day before we sold the car and it did take near 30 days to receive the headrests but we did order them and did what we said we would do. The vehicle was in great running condition with no check engine lights and no noises coming from the motor, the vehicle was in absolutely pristine condition when they took possession of the vehicle and they repeatedly voiced their gratitude for getting such a nice vehicle and also thanked us for helping them to get such a low interest rate on the loan. They loved the vehicle this is apparent by the fact that they drove the vehicle for over 800 miles in the first 2 weeks with absolutely no complaints at all only 1 phone call asking about status of the delivery of the headrests. That's it !!!
If there had been a pre existing problem that could have been detected at the time of sale and anyone had detected it obviously I would have noticed it or the customer would have, however there was no problem at the time of purchase or for that matter for several weeks after.



When they did have a problem his wife called me screaming and demanding that I bring her a vehicle immediately because her husband stayed gone from home too much and she needed a car so she wouldn't be stuck at home. I explained to her that she had purchased a warranty and that warranty provided for a rental car. She demanded that we should bring her a rental car because her husband wouldn't take her to get one. I referred her to a very reputable mechanic shop who came and picked up her vehicle and then the next day after picking up the vehicle from her the warranty company called to set up a time to inspect the vehicle at the mechanics shop. She refused to allow them to work on the vehicle and asked them to take it to a shop 60 miles away and began to be very combative and unreasonable about everything with the mechanic shop as well demanding that they give her a rental car at no charge.

Finally 2 days later she agreed to allow the first mechanics shop to diagnose the problem and get the warranty company involved. She finally authorized them to take apart the front of the motor and determined that the repair was not covered by the warranty that they had purchased. She then demanded that the vehicle be returned to her house and refused to allow us to work out a resolution At that time they decided they wanted a refund for the warranty because it didn't cover the repair at hand and they both started threatening me with language that they would ruin me and ruin my good name.

The husband said he didn't want the car repaired and that he would do it himself. He just wanted the money from the warranty which was paid for from his loan I told him I didn't collect the money from the warranty and therefore I cannot refund the money for the warranty. He has the contact info for the warranty company. He can contact them and ask for a refund.

I advised the customer that I would go above and beyond my company's level of responsibility for this unfortunate problem that has arisen regarding the repair of his vehicle to reach a resolution, however he and his wife are very demanding and unwilling to listen to reason.

We are willing to work with this customer to reach a resolution that works for both parties; however we are not responsible for the part that failed on this vehicle. Every used vehicle sold anywhere at any dealership is just that. IT IS USED!! Here at Adventure RV & Auto we do the very best job possible to mitigate the risk of purchasing a used vehicle for our customers by completing a rigorous inspection and recondition each vehicle to the highest standards.

Please contact me at your earliest opportunity.
Thanks

***** **********, President
Adventure RV & Auto Sales, Inc





Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I had the right to cancel my third party warranty within 30 days of purchase for a full refund. Just as contract states Adventure Auto and Rv receives this refund check to return to my lender. They have received the check and refuse to refund this money we are due. I will be emailing a copy of our warranty contract this evening. Please pursue this matter as far as you can. This man has not worked with us to settle this. He told me to get an attorney. Buyers should stay away from this dealer and it's sad that you have accredited this business. This man should read the fine print on cancelling These third party warranties. The dealership is responsible for the refund. We will not sit back and allow this dealer to get away with this. We will await response but are prepared to file a small claims suit for everything owed to us. The buyers guide was not given to us as he stated. Also the state of Ga has rules themselves that this dealer needs to research. I will not go away until I receive all money due to me. I have filed complaints with several agencies including the IRS.

05/27/2015Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Recreational Vehicles - Dealers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/18/2013Business started: 01/21/2013
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 2013, GA

Business Management
Principal: Kevin Carrington (Owner)
Contact Information
Ms. Donna L. Carrington
Number of Employees

2

Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Recreational Vehicles - Dealers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Adventure RV & Auto Sales, Inc.

2325 Highway 19 41

Hampton, GA 30228-2342

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2325 Highway 19 41 

    Hampton, GA 30228-2342(770) 897-9294

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Adventure RV & Auto Sales, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - Used Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.