BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 02/19/2010

Stone Mountain Nissan

Phone: (678) 252-3100Fax: (678) 252-3157

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues5
Problems with Product / Service6
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints11

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (11)
09/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased a 2007 BMW 335i, put a few hundred miles on the car and found 3 major oil leaks-
After driving 850 miles to do business with SMN, and after buying a Drive Train Warranty, I get back only to discover 3 major leaks on the car. One of which their service shop "fixed" prior to selling (Rear Main Seal). The Oil Pan leak was denied through my warranty saying that it was pre existing.. what good is a warranty if the car is not covered? I will not be blown off since I am 7 hours up the road. I paid a premium for my car, and expect it to be road worthy for at least a couple thousand miles...

Desired Settlement
I want my car to be fixed asap- I have purcahsed all the parts to fix the car, I just need labor covered...

Final Consumer Response
The dealership COMPLETELY took care of me.

05/11/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Their website has a popup promising 100 Amex card when purchasing a used car from them..not received yet.Also,they didn't do an emission inspection.
We purchased a used 2012 Fiat Pop from them on Feb 22nd 2015 and at time of sale provided them with a copy of a popup from their website that they will give a $100 Amex card when a vehicle is purchased. Also we had to get the emission inspection done 3 weeks after they sold it to us so we could apply for a tag. We faxed them on March 25th and provided details and the receipt for the emission and later that day someone named Mike called my wife and told her they will send us a check for $125 to cover the popup ad and emission inspection payment.Two weeks later i called and left a message for Mike,but no response yet.One week after that i got him on the phone and he said it was in his box for two or three days and he had to sign off on it before it could be mailed but it has been 10 days since then and i don't believe the mail is that slow to take over 10 days to go 30 miles.They should pay the $100 they promise on the website for purchasing a vehicle from them or they should not mislead the public that way and we want the $25 for the emission inspection that they were required by law to do in the first place.

Desired Settlement
The $125 we were promised...plain and simple.

Business Response
we spoke with the customer and the issue regarding the $125.00 has been resolved to the customers satisfaction.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
We received the check for $125 as promised and are satisfied with the resolution to this matter.

04/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I TRUSTED MY HARD EARNED MONEY TO STONE MOUNTAIN NISSAN. I PURCHASED A 2004 ************ ON 10/15/2013 FROM STONE MOUNTAIN NISSAN. ON 10/18/13, I TOOK THE CAR BACK TO THE DEALER BECAUSE THERE WAS A LOUD, WHEEZING SOUND UNDER THE HOOD AND THE BATTERY LIGHT WAS ON. THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT WAS NOT ABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM, HOWEVER THEY SUPPOSEDLY CHANGED THE BATTERY & ALTERNATOR - EITHER IN GUESSING THE PROBLEM OR NOT TRYING TO ADDRESS WHAT THEY KNEW WAS THE REAL PROBLEM. THEY DID SAY THAT THEY DID NOT HAVE THE MACHINE TO HOOK THE CAR UP TO IN ORDER TO DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM- ONLY ***** COULD.THEN WHAT WERE THEY CLAIMING TO FIX ON THE CAR? AND WHY WOULD THEY SELL A CAR IF THEY WERE NOT SURE THAT IT WAS IN GOOD WORKING CONDITION TO BE SOLD? WHY SELL A CAR TO A CUSTOMER NOT KNOWING IF IT WAS NOT UP TO STANDARDS? I FEEL THAT IT WAS JUST ABOUT GETTING THE MONEY IN THEIR HAND AND FORGET THE REST. THE LIGHT REMAINED ON AND THE SOUND REMAINED EVEN AFTER I TOOK THE CAR BACK ON 10/21 AND 12/19. I DROVE THE CAR WITH THE LIGHT GOING ON AND OFF ESPECIALLY WHEN I PRESSED BRAKES, WITH THE HOPES THAT THE LIGHT WOULD RESET, AFTER THE SUPPOSED REPAIR.FINALLY, I TOOK THE CAR BACK BECAUSE THE CAR BEGAN TO HESITATE WHEN I CAME TO A TRAFFIC LIGHT, AND ATTEMPT TO PROCEED. ALSO, THE CAR WOULD ROLL BACK WHEN I PUT IT IN DRIVE. THIS TIME, THE DEALER SAID THAT IT HAS A TRANSMISSION ISSUE AND THAT THEY CAN FIX IT IN HOUSE, HOWEVER,I WOULD HAVE TO PAY $1500. TO HAVE IT FIXED. ALSO THAT ***** WOULD FIX IT FOR $1500.( THEY HAD TAKEN IT TO ***** TO BE PLACED ON THE MACHINE TO BE DIAGNOSED. WHAT A RUN AROUND!! I AM SURE THE CAR HAD THE ISSUE AT THE TIME THAT I PURCHASED IT. STONE MOUNTAIN NISSAN HAS BEEN GIVING ME THE RUN AROUND SINCE THE FIRST TIME I TOOK THE CAR BACK FOR SERVICE. EACH TIME THE LIGHT REMAINED ON. AND EACH VISIT THEY DID NOT KNOW THE PROBLEM, BUT FIXED SOMETHING THAT DID NOT NEED TO BE FIXED.STONE MOUNTAIN NISSAN CONDUCTS BAD BUSINESS AND NEED TO PUT CUSTOMERS FIRST IF THEY PLAN TO STAY IN BUSINESS.
Product_Or_Service: ************

Desired Settlement
I WOULD LIKE STONE MOUNTAIN NISSAN TO EITHER REPLACE THE TRANSMISSION, REPLACE MY CAR, OR REFUND MY MONEY.

Business Response
We have been in contact with Ms. ***** regarding the problem with her car. We had agreed to help with the repairs as good will prior to her opening this complaint with BBB.
We spoke with Ms. ***** today and she stated that she was happy with the help we were providing. Her vehicle repair is expected to be completed by this Friday.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have been in contact with the ******* ******** ****** ****** at Nissan of Stone Mountain. I have asked them to repair my car, but at a reasonable or no cost.However, ****** was stern that THEY could not help me anymore than my paying $1,000.
So, contrary to what Nissan of Stone Mountain stated to you, No, I am not happy with the way I was cheated.
My car was repaired at a $1,000.00 expense to me.I was not happy because I felt like I was being forced to pay $1,000. or do without my car until WHENEVER I was successful in burrowing $1,000.00.

MY CAR SHOULD HAVE BEEN REPAIRED AT NO COST TO ME. The problem existed when I bought the car. I took the car back 2 days after purchase.
Bear in mind that the car was not checked out prior to being sold to me. This is evident because ****** and the Service Dept. made it clear that Nissan of Stone Mountain did not have a machine available to find out what was wrong with my ****** only ***** does.Therefore, Nissan of Stone Mountain sold me a car, not knowing or caring to know that it had a problem. Why take a customer's money ($9,000 in this case) and sell them a defected car? That is the way Nissan of Stone Mountain conduct business, bad business.
This type of negligent practice must be stopped.
I would like my refund of $1,000. and have nothing else to do with Nissan of Stone Mountain and their Heartless practices.

Final Business Response
Our goal at stone mountain Nissan is to work with our customers to the best of our ability in order to build a long lasting relationship.
Unfortunately with pre owned vehicles with XXXXXX miles there is always a possibility of some repairs, and we try to minimize those possibilities through our 117 point inspection. We spoke with Ms. ***** and believe that she is now happy with the resolution regarding the transmission on her car.
We look forward to doing business with her in the future.



Consumer Response
Thsnk you for your assistance. Stone Mtn Nissan & I have resolved our differences. Thanks.

09/08/2016Advertising / Sales Issues
09/25/2014Problems with Product / Service
06/26/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On May 4, 2015 I purchased a certified used car form Stone Mountain Nissan. It was a 2011 Toyota Corolla. The purchase price was $13,999. I was told that I still had the factory warranty on the vehicle until it reached either 7 years or 100,000 miles. After about 2 weeks of having the car, I tried to open the trunk using the lever on the inside and noticed that it does not work. The car trunk is only able to open with the remote on the key. I contacted my sales rep (Carl Lawson) who assured me that it was still covered under the factory warranty and that I need to get in touch with Toyota. I also spoke with a rep in the service department at Stone mountain Nissan by the name of Heath on 6/3 who told me to get in touch with Toyota. I then called Stone Mountain Toyota and spoke with Kelly on the same day 6/3 and was told that the factory warranty expired after 3 years of 36,000 miles. I was told that I would have to pay $104.95 for a diagnostic test and then pay to have it fixes. I just think that this is unfair. I went to a car dealer to prevent issues like these and bought a car for $13,999 and now I am having issues and I have not even made the first payment. I am requesting to have this issue investigated. I believe that I am getting the run around and I do not appreciate this.Thanks****************
Product_Or_Service: vehicle

Desired Settlement
I would like to have the vehicle fixed at no cost to me. I literally just purchased this vehicle and have not even made the first payment as yet.

Business Response
We spoke with Ms. ******* regarding her concerns with the 2011 Corolla she purchased here on 5/4. we have arranged to have her bring her vehicle in on Thursday 6/18 to have our Service Department diagnose and repair the problem. Additionally, we will provide a loaner vehicle for her convenience.

05/29/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
COMPLAINTOn April 18, 2015, I walked into the Nissan store at Stone Mountain and the sales agent was pretty friendly to me. I told him that I wanted to trade my range rover in for something else. He told me that he could help me. I asked him prior to me filling out any documents/applications that if he ran my credit would the inquiries hurt my score. He simply told me that they would be "soft inquiries". Coming from a person who is trying to purchase and home, I feel as if the salesman exaggerated to make a sale. I've tried calling and speaking with one of the managers and no one cares. I asked if they knew what there store number was and they told me, that they didn't have a store number. I found that to be quite odd. The operator that answers the phone leaves you on hold for ever and you cant get anyone else on the phone to help. Now I have 7 hard inquiries on my credit report which dropped my Equifax credit score 41 points . I am very upset to know that the salesman lied to me about something that was so simple. If he had told me that they were going to be "7" hard inquiries/banks on my report, then I would've walked away because I value my credit.The banks that were used on April 18, 2015 were -Ally Financial-American Credit Financial-Capital One-Credco-JP ****** ***** (Ran Twice)-JP ****** chase-NMACAny questions please contact me on my phone below****** *********************************

Desired Settlement
Deleted from Credit Report

Business Response
after the conversation with Ms. ****, we reviewed all of the documentations and found that Ms. **** did sign a credit application giving authorization to do a complete credit evaluation for the purpose of financing an automobile purchase. All the indications are that Ms. **** was fully informed of the type of credit evaluation that she was agreeing to have done.
We are happy to assist Ms. **** in working with credit agencies.

11/06/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a Nissan Frontier I made it clear that I intended to tow it behind a motorhome flat down( with all four wheels on ground) The salesman said it was towable flat down, I even made statements the purchase was contingent that I can tow it flat down. The salesman assured me that it was flat towable. I purchased all equipment to install in said frontier, only to find out that it isn't towable. I've spoken with the dealer several times only to be directed to Nissan corp. only to find out that this is a problem that should be handled on dealer level. the salesman did make a fraudulent statement assuming just to make the sale.
Product_Or_Service: Nissan

Desired Settlement
Stone Mountain Nissan should refund the purchase price plus sales tax, plus my out of pocket expenses for the many trips I've had to make back and forth trying to resolve this problem.

Business Response
It is the long standing policy of Stone Mountain Nissan to always refer the customer to the owner's manual when a question of towing arises.

The proper method for towing a Nissan Frontier 4X4 equipped with an automatic transmission behind a recreation vehicle is spelled out on pages 343, 344 and 430 of the owner's manual.

Further the owner's manual provides information on both the proper way and expressly warns against the improper way to tow this vehicle behind a motor home.

The prohibition on "flat towing" a Nissan Frontier 4X4 truck equipped with and automatic transmission is clearly expressed in the owner's manual. Page 430 cautions the owner to raise all four wheels off the ground when towing this vehicle.
"FLAT TOWING: Towing your vehicle with all four wheels on the ground is sometimes called flat towing. This method is sometimes used when towing behind a recreational vehicle, such as a motor home." This is a direct quote found on page 430 of the owner's manual.

Mr. ****'s allegation that we mislead him is without basis. We continue to value Mr. **** as our customer and stand ready to help him utilize the proper towing method for his vehicle.

07/26/2016Problems with Product / Service
07/29/2015Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Lube & Oil - Mobile, Auto Repairing - Foreign, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.