BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/25/2007

Sons Honda

Find a Location

Phone: (770) 228-2888Fax: (678) 572-1014200 Highway 81 W, McDonoughGA 30253-6405 Send email to Sons Honda

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/25/2007

BBB has determined that Sons Honda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Sons Honda's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Problems with Product / Service5
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Sons Honda

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)
06/07/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a new vehicle from sons Honda on or around March 22 2016 and while doing the financing i told the officer that i had already been approved financing with my credit union but would give them the opportunity to get my business. while she was looking for different rates she showed me 3 different bank that she was shopping the loan with.One was suntrust bank , one was Bank of america and one was Capital one. i told her that i do no do business with BOA due to previous problems that i have had with them. She said that suntrust had a better rate and we would use them. we filled out all the paper work stating that suntrust is the lien holder. Now 2 weeks later i am receiving a welcome pack from bank of America stating that i will be paying them. i do not wish to do any business with boa at all and told this lady that. i don not understand how i can sign a contract stating that i am going to do business with one bank and them without and notice all or option to get a different way of financing on my own i am just told that this is who i will do business with. i feel like this is not an appropriate way to conduct business by forcing customers to use a bank that they business chooses to do business with. it will cost me more money to have the care refinanced now and cost me a lot more time on get this done. i feel like the dealership made enough money off the sale of the car and all the extended warranties that was purchased due to sitting in an office with a financial person to wear me down to sell more things than to let me get my own financing and just bring a check for the price of the car with out the other additional products.
Product_Or_Service: 2016 honda pilot

Desired Settlement
i would like the chance to try and get refinancing on my on with the bank of my chose with all adjustments being taken care of or return of the vehicle for the dealership to take possession and i find me another vehicle to buy possibly at a different dealership

Business Response
Mr. **** is refinancing with the bank of his choice and we are going to pay the interest incurred for the first month with Bank of America.

Consumer Response
i have been waiting for sons honda to reimburse me for my gap insurance and for the interest and they have not yet, i have discovered that the dealership altered my signed contract and that did not even apply my credit application with the company that my contract states that it is with. this is just very unacceptable for a company to do this in todays world. it makes me feel that my identity was taken to sell a car to who they wanted to do business with . it has taken way to long for this to be dragging out. there has been no sense of urgency to resolve this matter on their behalf i have give may hard earn money to a business that i had n intention of doing business with just to keep my good name in place. bank of america has messed my credit up in the past due to their error but they refused to correct it so i refuse to do business with them. i would like for the dealership to pay me back every payment plus interest that i have to make until they do the right thing.

Final Business Response
We have offered Mr. **** the option of obtaining his own financing and we will take care of any finance charges related to the loan we obtained for him. Based on the desired settlement he asked for we are on the exact same page but this need to be taken care of immediately.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I think its funny that they say this needs to be taken care of immediately but they have chosen to drag their feet trying to get this resolved, they did not drag their feet when trying to sale the car. they did not drag their feet swapping the loan so they could get the sale, all they have done is dragged their feet trying to get this resolved. i have made tier job easy by doing all the leg work before the car was even made. all they had to do was sell the car, due to their lack of effort to resolve my finance options have expired causing me to have to spend more of my time doing something that has already been done. all of this things have cost me and financial lost by have to take time off of work, re applying for loans fuel for my car to go to these places plus the headache of dealing with this and having to deal with bank of america when i absolutely hate having to do business with them, 90 days after i drove off lot. i hope that when its all said and done that i am reimbursed like i am requesting on 5/19/2016.

10/08/2014Problems with Product / Service
10/27/2015Problems with Product / Service
07/22/2015Problems with Product / Service
03/24/2015Problems with Product / Service
10/14/2014Advertising / Sales Issues
01/08/2014Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Parts & Supplies - Wholesale & Manufacturers, Auto Parts & Supplies - Rebuilt, Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/01/1991Business started: 09/01/1991New Owner Date: 01/16/2007
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: March 2007, GA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Freddie Felton Jr. (General Manager)Customer Contact: Ms. Jackie McElwaney (Executive Assistant)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Parts & Supplies - Wholesale & Manufacturers, Auto Parts & Supplies - Rebuilt, Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Sons Hyundai, Sons Automotive Group

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Sons Honda

200 Highway 81 W

McDonough, GA 30253-6405

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 2425 N Expressway 

    Griffin, GA 30223-6411

  • 105 Sons Dr 

    McDonough, GA 30253-7627

  • 200 Highway 81 W 

    McDonough, GA 30253-6405(770) 228-2888
    Fax: (678) 572-1014

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Sons Honda is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.