BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/25/2007

Sons Acura

(770) 968-5252View Additional Phone Numbers7060 Jonesboro Rd, MorrowGA 30260-2905 Send email to Sons Acura

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/25/2007

BBB has determined that Sons Acura meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Sons Acura's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 16 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Billing / Collection Issues1
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service9
Total Closed Complaints 16

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Sons Acura

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (16)
01/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I would like to warn the public from using Sons Acura reapir services. I have taken my vehicle for oil changes many times here and have always been weary and after taking my 2007 Acura TL for timing belt service, i am now convinced that they are negligent to their customers.I have had issues where i got my car back with grease stains inside and they had to try to clean it out. I have had vehicle fitness inspection with bad feedback. I.E. i changed the air filter and cabin air filter before getting service and was advised that they were dirty and needed changing (big fee to do this i may add). I was advised that i needed brakes on occasions and later told that the brake lining thickness is 8mm or greater after further review. I have been advised to get transmission flush after getting one done 15k miles before. To cut a long story short, i picked up my vehicle from Sons after they performed the timing belt service and my vehicle ran terribly after pickup with loud rattling under my hood. Their write up said i needed two engine mounts, granted my vehicle was not doing this before i dropped it off. I called and asked why my vehicle is running so poor and it had no signs of this before coming in. They wanted me to come back in and advised about the engine mounts. I took my vehicle somewhere else for inspection and i was advised that Sons Acura left all the bolts for my engine mounts untightened and this was the cause for the rattling sound i was getting. They had a special for timing belt and seemed to want to make their money back with engine mount replacement. Also, i found it very troubling that if i had this problem, they didnt call and advise for me to take care of this, it would have been in the same area where they were working, but no, instead they would prefer to charge another labor hours for this repair and this was if it was there before. I will no longer be taking my vehicle here for service and advise others to find somewhere else.
Product_Or_Service: Timing Belt Service

Desired Settlement
I would say for them to replace my engine mounts but i am too afraid that other items may be tampered with at this point. For the repairs that i now have to do due to their negligence of not tightening my engine mount bolts, i feel they should refund me for the labor that was performed with my timing service and only charge me for their parts or compensate me by giving me the mounts that need to be replaced so i can have that work done.

Business Response
I have spoken to Mr. ****** and have agreed to provide him with 2 motor mounts at no charge.

*** ****
******* *******
Son's Acura

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I accepted Acura's response to the case. I like being fair and like when i am treated fairly and Acura's general manager did not dispute or try to refute the issue at hand as to not own up to what may have been an oversight and i believe this is how a business should handle matters. I look forward to hearing from Acura as to picking up the parts.

Thank you,

****** ******

01/27/2014Problems with Product / Service
05/03/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues
03/06/2013Problems with Product / Service
01/25/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
Page 1 of 2
01/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a vehicle from Sons Acura and completed all the necessary forms on November 2, 2013. I received a call from the ******* Manager on November 18, 2013, stating the payoff check was mailed to the wrong address and now theres a new payoff amount. I was also informed that due to this error, I needed to sign additional forms. As a result of the payoff amount increasing, she stated I was charged too much for the GAP insurance and that the lowering of the GAP insurance would offset the amount of the payoff increase. On November 19, 2013, the car salesman came up to my place of employment so I could sign the new forms. On December 2, 2013, I start receiving calls from my prior bank stating Im delinquent on my bill. I attempted to reach the **************** Manager at Sons Acura on several occasions. I finally was able to make contact on December 4, 2013, and I was transferred to accounts payable and was informed they did not mail the check to pay off my old vehicle until December 2, 2013, and that amount was good thru December 12, 2013. As of today, December 9, 2013, I have contacted my prior bank and they still have not received the check to pay the vehicle off. In addition, I was informed that they would provide me an extra key and I have yet to receive notification that the key has arrived.I have purchased numerous vehicles and have never experienced the unprofessionalism and sloppiness of this transaction. I have endured unnecessary stress as a result of this. This has been the worst car buying experience I have ever had!!! I will never purchase or refer anyone to Sons Acura.

Desired Settlement
A formal letter of apology from the company to attach to my credit report in case this lack of professionalism causes any negative impact on my credit rate.

Business Response
My name is *** **** I am the ******* Manager for Son's Acura. I spoke to Mrs. ******** husband on Dec 30th 2013. I explained the reason the gap price was lowered was so that the customer would not be charged for the increase in the payoff. I have verified that the car has been paid off. I offered Mrs. ***** a complementary service and clean up on her next visit.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My husband spoke with the ******* Manager due to my frustations with this organization. My car was finally paid off on December 19, 2013, but car was purchased from Sons Acura on November 2, 2013, so that issue has been resolved. New issue is I canceled the GAP insurance timely for a full credit of $800, but I received only $500 this past weekend. I was advised by the ******* Manager I would receive a full credit. I contacted the ******* Manager on Monday and left her a message regarding my concerns and I have not heard from her yet. I will be contacting her again today to see if she can answer my concerns.

Final Business Response
I have checked with accounting this morning on the difference that was not paid. There were two polices one was a gap protection for $500 and the other was a road hazard policy for $300. We only received 1 cancelation form for the gap that is why it appeared to be short. I have instructed the office to cancel the Road hazard policy and issue a full refund. I will have a check that can be picked up Friday afternoon or I can place it in the mail. I am sorry for any confusion this may have caused.

*** ****

******* *******

Son's Acura

11/29/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Vehicle was sold as a certified pre-owned vehicle. It has been in the shop 2X since July for outside water leak. Employee asked us to file on warranty
2009 ***** ******* purchased 7/27/2013. Vin number ***********XXXXXX. No single person seems to have a direct solution for our vehicle. Within the first two weeks I brought my vehicle into maintenance department to do the emissions and have a outside leak looked over. I was told that there indeed was a leak and to take to to the ******** of ********* service bay to "talk them into" doing a diagnostic on the vehicle for free, and to have a report to bring back to Sons Acura so they could accurately fix the problem. When I got to the *** maintenance counter I was made to feel silly for my request. They ensured me it was the dealerships responsibility. Frustrated the service department handled it anyways. Giving us a courtesy car for a month while it was in the shop. When we received the vehicle back, I noticed the sealant on all the widows and hoped it was a precautionary measure because I had repeatedly voiced several times the leak did not appear to be coming from the windows, but the sunroof. With in a few rains, our leak was back. Except this time the radio, air, lights, speakers and air bag sensor all seemed to intermittently come on and off. Being a family vehicle it is disturbing not knowing if the air bags would deflate on their own. I contacted *** our sales representative to fill him in and find out what our next step should be. ** had previously told us to deal with him personally because we were having such a hard time getting any where with anyone else. The car was in service around 10/1/2013. No calls from anyone at the dealership. I started my follow ups. I called and left a message for ** on 10/29/2013. I put a call in again on 11/1/13. ** seemed uneasy when he told me my situation had been transferred to ***** *** and that I would need to come up to the dealership and speak with *****. I instead called *****. At first he wasn't sure what loaner car I had and ask several questions about that, he in fact was the one that gave us that loaner car. Then he said that I needed to come up to the dealership to pick up the ******* and that I could keep the *** as a loaner car. However there was a lot of damage to my car internally from the water and it was going to cost the dealership and myself a lot of money. So his suggestion for me was to take out a claim on my warranty for the damage, however I needed to take it to different dealership and pretend that I had no previous knowledge of the water damage. When I asked why I would need the warranty now after all of the service from the dealership, he stated that Sons Acura could not do this because the warranty would not take a dealership claim. That instead your dealership would pay the hundred dollar deductible for us and allow us to keep the *** as a loaner car. When I then stated that I had spoken with the warranty company previously, he seemed very uncomfortable and asked me repeatedly if I had spoken to the warranty company about our car's service problem? I at that time had not I was merely trying to get a copy of the signed warranty for the vehicle. Which the warranty company stated that I should have received a copy of the signed warranty at the time of the purchase of the vehicle. I have asked everyone in this particular location for this signed copy which to this day I have yet to receive. I asked him repeatedly to explain to me what he needed me to do. Which each time I asked it was very clear he wanted me to get my car, take it to a different dealership and make a claim on my warranty, denying any knowledge of the previous service work. While the perk in it for me was to drive this loaner car and for the dealership to pay the warranty deductible. 11/1/2013 I placed and email to ****** ****** with a vague response on 11/2/2013. On 11/4/2013 I received a call from ***** claiming that our loaner car was sold and was needed on the lot. I returned his call 7pm spoke to ******* record our conversation where he states to have a different loaner car.

Desired Settlement
The settlement I am asking to receive is completed service on the vehicle. Including all water damages to be replaced to previous working order. My sales person Oz and I worked very hard to get into this vehicle, ultimately needing a co-signer on the loan. I traded my 2010 *************** in along with the loan I owed on it. Which was not paid in accurate time affecting my credit. My loan is for 6 years and the vehicle is used as a family vehicle. I would have never purchased a substandard vehicle with a known water leak. Nor would I have purchased from a dealership with a inadequate reputation. Two of my family members were working for the company at this time. So I felt a pre-owned certified vehicle from Sons Acura was a great option for our family. I feel that Sons Acura has not been listening to myself or my fiance. Which has resulted in accumulating water and aggravation of the damages. No one in the building can give me a straight answer on what they intend to do about the problem at hand. The vehicle has been in the shop for 60+ days. I am unsure of who is fixing it, what parts are going into the vehicle and have not been given any of the repair reports. I placed a call to the *** service center on ************. and no one in that particular center had any information for me, they instead told me to contact Sons Acura. I am unaware of how to resolve this problem. I would ideally like for my ******* to be fixed without aftermarket parts and no water damages or leaks. However if that cannot be achieved I am willing to listen to different alternatives. I am in no way trying to be difficult, up until this point I have made all the request asked of me. I just want this resolved.

Business Response
We at SONS Acura apologize for any inconvenience Mr. ***** has experienced regarding the purchase of his vehicle. We would be glad to help in any way possible, and will be in touch today.

06/08/2015Problems with Product / Service
07/25/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
12/14/2012Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/01/2004Business started: 09/01/1991New Owner Date: 01/16/2007
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Freddie Felton (General Manager)
Contact Information
Mr. Street Nalley (General Manager) Joyce Rocket (Office Manager)
Number of Employees

41

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Sons Automotive Group

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Sons Acura

7060 Jonesboro Rd

Morrow, GA 30260-2905

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 7060 Jonesboro Rd 

    Morrow, GA 30260-2905(770) 960-1150
    (770) 968-5252

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Sons Acura is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (770) 960-1150
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.