BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 05/25/2007

Sons Acura

Phone: (770) 968-5252

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service7
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints9

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (9)
01/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I would like to warn the public from using Sons Acura reapir services. I have taken my vehicle for oil changes many times here and have always been weary and after taking my 2007 Acura TL for timing belt service, i am now convinced that they are negligent to their customers.I have had issues where i got my car back with grease stains inside and they had to try to clean it out. I have had vehicle fitness inspection with bad feedback. I.E. i changed the air filter and cabin air filter before getting service and was advised that they were dirty and needed changing (big fee to do this i may add). I was advised that i needed brakes on occasions and later told that the brake lining thickness is 8mm or greater after further review. I have been advised to get transmission flush after getting one done 15k miles before. To cut a long story short, i picked up my vehicle from Sons after they performed the timing belt service and my vehicle ran terribly after pickup with loud rattling under my hood. Their write up said i needed two engine mounts, granted my vehicle was not doing this before i dropped it off. I called and asked why my vehicle is running so poor and it had no signs of this before coming in. They wanted me to come back in and advised about the engine mounts. I took my vehicle somewhere else for inspection and i was advised that Sons Acura left all the bolts for my engine mounts untightened and this was the cause for the rattling sound i was getting. They had a special for timing belt and seemed to want to make their money back with engine mount replacement. Also, i found it very troubling that if i had this problem, they didnt call and advise for me to take care of this, it would have been in the same area where they were working, but no, instead they would prefer to charge another labor hours for this repair and this was if it was there before. I will no longer be taking my vehicle here for service and advise others to find somewhere else.
Product_Or_Service: Timing Belt Service

Desired Settlement
I would say for them to replace my engine mounts but i am too afraid that other items may be tampered with at this point. For the repairs that i now have to do due to their negligence of not tightening my engine mount bolts, i feel they should refund me for the labor that was performed with my timing service and only charge me for their parts or compensate me by giving me the mounts that need to be replaced so i can have that work done.

Business Response
I have spoken to Mr. ****** and have agreed to provide him with 2 motor mounts at no charge.

*** ****
******* *******
Son's Acura

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I accepted Acura's response to the case. I like being fair and like when i am treated fairly and Acura's general manager did not dispute or try to refute the issue at hand as to not own up to what may have been an oversight and i believe this is how a business should handle matters. I look forward to hearing from Acura as to picking up the parts.

Thank you,

****** ******

01/27/2014Problems with Product / Service
05/03/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues
03/06/2013Problems with Product / Service
12/28/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My 2004 ACURA TL has recently been experiencing issues where the transmission would lock up, potentially leaving myself and my passenger(s) susceptible to a vehicular crash and rendering the vehicle immobile. While checking the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), the U.S. Automotive Recall and Acura websites, I saw that there had been a recall (00-04 CL & TL A/T RECALL) for the ?exact same issue? I was having with my Acura. I then proceeded to call the 1800 number that was on Acura?s webpage.

Upon calling this number, I was instantly met with resistance about the recall and was given the run around about the appropriate person to speak with regarding this issue. I was specially told that my car was not impacted by this recall and Acura would not honor the safety defect that potential affected 1,099,796 units according to the recall summary that is displayed on all three websites previously mentioned. When I requested to speak with a Zone Manger or someone that would look into my inquiry, I was put on hold for 20 minutes, only to speak with a customer service agent by the name of ******. ****** reiterated that my issue was not applicable to the recall and suggested that I take the vehicle to an Acura dealership at my own expense. I informed ****** that I was not pleased with his decision to dismiss my inquiry and I requested his contact information to file a formal complaint, which he refused to give me.

I am reaching out today because my vehicle has been affected by NHTSA RECALL NUMBER: 04V-176 and I have not received the customer service that anyone would find acceptable in resolving this issue. I would like for my vehicle to be repaired by Acura at no expense to me and for someone at Acura to follow up with me by the end of this week with a resolution to this matter.

Desired Settlement
I would like for my vehicle to be repaired by Acura at no expense to me.

Business Response
Mr. *** wants Acura to fix his vehicle under recall in which it does not qualify. Sons Acura paid the diagnostic fee required to determine eligibility for the recall. It was determined by Acura that the vehicle was not under the recall. If my dealership can be of any further assistance please let us know.

01/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a vehicle from Sons Acura and completed all the necessary forms on November 2, 2013. I received a call from the ******* Manager on November 18, 2013, stating the payoff check was mailed to the wrong address and now theres a new payoff amount. I was also informed that due to this error, I needed to sign additional forms. As a result of the payoff amount increasing, she stated I was charged too much for the GAP insurance and that the lowering of the GAP insurance would offset the amount of the payoff increase. On November 19, 2013, the car salesman came up to my place of employment so I could sign the new forms. On December 2, 2013, I start receiving calls from my prior bank stating Im delinquent on my bill. I attempted to reach the **************** Manager at Sons Acura on several occasions. I finally was able to make contact on December 4, 2013, and I was transferred to accounts payable and was informed they did not mail the check to pay off my old vehicle until December 2, 2013, and that amount was good thru December 12, 2013. As of today, December 9, 2013, I have contacted my prior bank and they still have not received the check to pay the vehicle off. In addition, I was informed that they would provide me an extra key and I have yet to receive notification that the key has arrived.I have purchased numerous vehicles and have never experienced the unprofessionalism and sloppiness of this transaction. I have endured unnecessary stress as a result of this. This has been the worst car buying experience I have ever had!!! I will never purchase or refer anyone to Sons Acura.

Desired Settlement
A formal letter of apology from the company to attach to my credit report in case this lack of professionalism causes any negative impact on my credit rate.

Business Response
My name is *** **** I am the ******* Manager for Son's Acura. I spoke to Mrs. ******** husband on Dec 30th 2013. I explained the reason the gap price was lowered was so that the customer would not be charged for the increase in the payoff. I have verified that the car has been paid off. I offered Mrs. ***** a complementary service and clean up on her next visit.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My husband spoke with the ******* Manager due to my frustations with this organization. My car was finally paid off on December 19, 2013, but car was purchased from Sons Acura on November 2, 2013, so that issue has been resolved. New issue is I canceled the GAP insurance timely for a full credit of $800, but I received only $500 this past weekend. I was advised by the ******* Manager I would receive a full credit. I contacted the ******* Manager on Monday and left her a message regarding my concerns and I have not heard from her yet. I will be contacting her again today to see if she can answer my concerns.

Final Business Response
I have checked with accounting this morning on the difference that was not paid. There were two polices one was a gap protection for $500 and the other was a road hazard policy for $300. We only received 1 cancelation form for the gap that is why it appeared to be short. I have instructed the office to cancel the Road hazard policy and issue a full refund. I will have a check that can be picked up Friday afternoon or I can place it in the mail. I am sorry for any confusion this may have caused.

*** ****

******* *******

Son's Acura

11/29/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Vehicle was sold as a certified pre-owned vehicle. It has been in the shop 2X since July for outside water leak. Employee asked us to file on warranty
2009 ***** ******* purchased 7/27/2013. Vin number ***********XXXXXX. No single person seems to have a direct solution for our vehicle. Within the first two weeks I brought my vehicle into maintenance department to do the emissions and have a outside leak looked over. I was told that there indeed was a leak and to take to to the ******** of ********* service bay to "talk them into" doing a diagnostic on the vehicle for free, and to have a report to bring back to Sons Acura so they could accurately fix the problem. When I got to the *** maintenance counter I was made to feel silly for my request. They ensured me it was the dealerships responsibility. Frustrated the service department handled it anyways. Giving us a courtesy car for a month while it was in the shop. When we received the vehicle back, I noticed the sealant on all the widows and hoped it was a precautionary measure because I had repeatedly voiced several times the leak did not appear to be coming from the windows, but the sunroof. With in a few rains, our leak was back. Except this time the radio, air, lights, speakers and air bag sensor all seemed to intermittently come on and off. Being a family vehicle it is disturbing not knowing if the air bags would deflate on their own. I contacted *** our sales representative to fill him in and find out what our next step should be. ** had previously told us to deal with him personally because we were having such a hard time getting any where with anyone else. The car was in service around 10/1/2013. No calls from anyone at the dealership. I started my follow ups. I called and left a message for ** on 10/29/2013. I put a call in again on 11/1/13. ** seemed uneasy when he told me my situation had been transferred to ***** *** and that I would need to come up to the dealership and speak with *****. I instead called *****. At first he wasn't sure what loaner car I had and ask several questions about that, he in fact was the one that gave us that loaner car. Then he said that I needed to come up to the dealership to pick up the ******* and that I could keep the *** as a loaner car. However there was a lot of damage to my car internally from the water and it was going to cost the dealership and myself a lot of money. So his suggestion for me was to take out a claim on my warranty for the damage, however I needed to take it to different dealership and pretend that I had no previous knowledge of the water damage. When I asked why I would need the warranty now after all of the service from the dealership, he stated that Sons Acura could not do this because the warranty would not take a dealership claim. That instead your dealership would pay the hundred dollar deductible for us and allow us to keep the *** as a loaner car. When I then stated that I had spoken with the warranty company previously, he seemed very uncomfortable and asked me repeatedly if I had spoken to the warranty company about our car's service problem? I at that time had not I was merely trying to get a copy of the signed warranty for the vehicle. Which the warranty company stated that I should have received a copy of the signed warranty at the time of the purchase of the vehicle. I have asked everyone in this particular location for this signed copy which to this day I have yet to receive. I asked him repeatedly to explain to me what he needed me to do. Which each time I asked it was very clear he wanted me to get my car, take it to a different dealership and make a claim on my warranty, denying any knowledge of the previous service work. While the perk in it for me was to drive this loaner car and for the dealership to pay the warranty deductible. 11/1/2013 I placed and email to ****** ****** with a vague response on 11/2/2013. On 11/4/2013 I received a call from ***** claiming that our loaner car was sold and was needed on the lot. I returned his call 7pm spoke to ******* record our conversation where he states to have a different loaner car.

Desired Settlement
The settlement I am asking to receive is completed service on the vehicle. Including all water damages to be replaced to previous working order. My sales person Oz and I worked very hard to get into this vehicle, ultimately needing a co-signer on the loan. I traded my 2010 *************** in along with the loan I owed on it. Which was not paid in accurate time affecting my credit. My loan is for 6 years and the vehicle is used as a family vehicle. I would have never purchased a substandard vehicle with a known water leak. Nor would I have purchased from a dealership with a inadequate reputation. Two of my family members were working for the company at this time. So I felt a pre-owned certified vehicle from Sons Acura was a great option for our family. I feel that Sons Acura has not been listening to myself or my fiance. Which has resulted in accumulating water and aggravation of the damages. No one in the building can give me a straight answer on what they intend to do about the problem at hand. The vehicle has been in the shop for 60+ days. I am unsure of who is fixing it, what parts are going into the vehicle and have not been given any of the repair reports. I placed a call to the *** service center on ************. and no one in that particular center had any information for me, they instead told me to contact Sons Acura. I am unaware of how to resolve this problem. I would ideally like for my ******* to be fixed without aftermarket parts and no water damages or leaks. However if that cannot be achieved I am willing to listen to different alternatives. I am in no way trying to be difficult, up until this point I have made all the request asked of me. I just want this resolved.

Business Response
We at SONS Acura apologize for any inconvenience Mr. ***** has experienced regarding the purchase of his vehicle. We would be glad to help in any way possible, and will be in touch today.

06/08/2015Problems with Product / Service
07/25/2013Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.