BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/14/2001

Rick Case Auto, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (770) 476-2800Fax: (770) 225-6950View Additional Phone Numbers3190 Satellite Blvd, DuluthGA 30096-4616 Send email to Rick Case Auto, Inc.

0TRUSTS
0 People Trust Rick Case Auto, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/14/2001

BBB has determined that Rick Case Auto, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Rick Case Auto, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 53 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

53 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 20 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues9
Billing / Collection Issues3
Guarantee / Warranty Issues4
Problems with Product / Service37
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 53

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (53)BBB Closure Definitions
07/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a contract or agreement

Complaint: Lack of communication, mismanagement, loss of time and funds, failure to follow through on tag work, etc.
Start of transaction: 8/12. Not yet resolved as of 11/27.

My transaction with this dealership started perfectly well, I provided $3,000 as a down payment, left with new keys and a smile. The tag should be in the mail in 30 days or less.

30 days went by, and I didn't see a tag, or a replacement for my temp. The payoff for my trade-in had also not been paid. I inquired about both, and the salesperson ****** ******* knew nothing about either, and referred me to **** *****

Cutting the story somewhat short, I have been back into the office 8-9 times, due to paperwork needing to be redone, or it was filed incorrectly, or my proof of income was lost, or they needed more paperwork. I've received three new temp tags, as they continue to expire.

I have placed dozens of calls and text messages, and have received the bare minimum of responses. I then contacted **** ******* general manager, but did not receive conclusive results.

Thus far, I have only received two apologies for any of the inconvenience. One for how often I have had to drive to the dealership, and one for the lack of communication....but no improvements have been made to it.

In the meantime, I have continued to make payments on my trade-in vehicle, as the pay off was never made. Each time I inquire about it, I have been guaranteed that I would receive these payments as a refund check.

It is now November, and I was approaching my first due date for the Genesis (which had not been financed yet) and had to make a payment for the trade-in (still not paid off). I asked the financing agent about this, and he stated he would make absolutely sure I would not have to pay for two cars in one month, and would look into Hyundai paying one.

They did not do so, so I have had to make both payments. I was reassured again, however, that I would receive all my extra payments on my trade-in, as a refund check.

In the midst of this, I have been informed that my trade-in was sold on 8/15. I have been making payments on a vehicle that the dealership had actually sold.

One extra thing: I have been paying insurance on my trade-in, as my financier required full insurance on it.

When inquiring further into that refund check, I learn that I am apparently not going to be receiving my payments back as stated multiple times. Instead, I am receiving my payments MINUS interest. The amount to be refunded is $2,956.66. Versus my total of $1,185.26 in payments and $2,235.40 in returned warrenty/GAP from previous financier, which comes to $3,420.66.

My warranty/GAP refund would have already been sent to me, but as the payoff had not been made, it was applied to my previous loan. This was a refund I expected three months ago.

I also wonder why I am responsible for interest on a vehicle that was sold only a few days after I traded it in. No response on this inquiry.

The trade-in financier won't return the full payments, as they didn't receive the payoff until recently. The dealership is stating that they will only refund what they are sent from the financier.

I have been compliant, and provided everything asked of me, and logged plenty of miles back and forth to bring paperwork, etc. And yes, I understand that dealerships are busy. But when you leave several voice-mails, text messages, and it's almost a week before you hear an answer in regards to a deal that's taking three months to complete....you wonder just how low on the priority list you really are.

Overall, I cannot say this transaction has been pleasant, or that I feel that I have received what I would consider good customer service, or follow through. I have lost time and money. I do not, remotely, feel like a valued customer.

Initial Business Response
Per the General Manager, all funds are to be paid to Mr. ******** in full by the lien holder.


Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The lien holder does not see this as funds to be returned, as it was interest that was accrued.

However, if they payoff had been made at the time of the purchase of my vehicle by Rick Case, this interest would NOT have been accrued and would NOT have been paid.

Also, I have in written statements, from two managers of Rick Case that my payments would be returned. There was NO mention that my payments would be penalized any amount of interest.



Business Response
Per the General Manager, all funds are to be paid to Mr. ******** in full by the lien holder.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The dealership needs to contact the lien holder, and explain that the INTEREST that I paid and have NOT been reimbursed, needs to be reimbursed.

This amount is $464, as covered in communications between myself and the dealership.

I have addressed this many times. The vehicle I traded in was sold. But since the dealership did not pay off the loan for several months, I was charged interest. That interest has NOT been reimbursed to me, even though it was on a vehicle that I no longer owned, and was in fact purchased by someone else.

The general manager and office manager stated all payments after the trade in of my vehicle would be returned to me. This was in direct response to my inquiry about making payments on a vehicle that had been sold to someone else.

All payments. No stipulations or exceptions.

I have not been paid in full. It has been six months. Please correct this, as it was stated would be done.


Business Response
Fortunately we were able to resolve Case # XXXXXXXX with Mr. ******** and he is coming in today to pick up a check for the amount requested in the sum of $464.

Thank you,

*****

***** *****
Business Development Manager
Rick Case Automotive Atlanta
Office - XXX-XXX-XXXX
Cell - XXX-XXX-XXXX


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
7/15/2014; I received a check from **** ******* General Manager, and am happy to report that the situation has been resolved. I appreciate all the attention that has been brought on this matter, and look forward to continuing to do business with Rick Case Hyundai.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

04/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized service

Complaint: I had to return my car yesterday. After having it for approximately 6 wks. I was told there is something wrong with my current car. No explanation. I asked no one could provide any explanation. I had to fill out another application I was told my credit would be ran once by ****finance. I wake up to several notifications that my credit was run multiple times by different finance companies. This dealership has been nothing but a problem from day one. 6 wks later and I am still paying the costs for walking into this place. I have already been billed by ***** finance for original car. I received nothing in writing saying that contract is voided. They expect payment by April 1st. The contract I signed for the swapped car is for ****to tell me why my credit is being ran by other lenders.
Product_Or_Service: 2011 Hyundai sonata

Initial Business Response
Wednesday, April 16, 2014

Better Business Bureau, Inc.
Via Email

RE: *****, ********, **** # XXXXXXXX

To Whom It May Concern:

We are in receipt of the complaint forwarded to you by ******** *****. In response to Ms. *****'s complaint, I am happy to report that ********'s questions have been answered by our finance director and her status is in good standings.

We are sorry for any inconveniences or misunderstandings and hope that Ms. ***** will return to our dealership for all her automotive needs. We hope that this satisfies your concern in this matter and closes the file as satisfactory. Thanking you in advance for your consideration.

Best regards,

***** *****
Business Development Manager
Rick Case Automotive

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

04/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Delayed completion of service

Complaint: I bought a 2014 Mazda CX5 on 1/19/14 & I have not heard anything on my car loan.I received notices from banks stating they cannot provide financing.I was assured by ************** Mgr that financing would not be a problem. I had a preliminary approval from my credit union; I wanted to see if Rick Case could beat the rate & they did. 2 mths later I still don't have financing or heard about next steps. 4 phone calls:-1st call:2/14-received a call from ******* asked if I received my plates & I told him no & that I still had not received my payment coupons; he promised to get back to me & never did.-2nd call:2/21-asked for ******* I had the same conversation with him but told him my temp plates expired on 2/18 & I had to get new one & I was tired of waiting for the plates & to just let me keep the old one. He said he would get back to me & never did.-3rd call:3/5-spoke with the receptionist & told her who I was/I was calling to speak to a Finance Mgr. She said he was busy & would call me backI left a phone # to call me. Never received a call.-4th call:3/9-spoke with the receptionist & told them who I was/my issue;I told her I had not received letters/phone call on my loan & I have bank rejection letters; she said ignore them since they dont mean anything & a women by the name of ???? would call me back.So on 3/10 I heard on the radio the announcer said ***** ****** has something about buying a new car; you must read the fine print&if you dont it can cost you thousands of dollars; he said Car Spotting from dealers will lure you to drive the car home & if the dealer does not get financing they can ask for the car back & payment for damages. I went through my papers& found nothing on this; I would have returned the car in 3 days of signing had I known. I sold my old car.As a small business owner if the deal falls thru,renting a car will be costly. I told Adrian my salary is $30,000/yr but business will net $200K /$300K.I paid a $6,500 deposit. My credit is ruined due to inquiries.
Product_Or_Service: Small SUV
Order_Number: XXXXXX

Initial Business Response
To Whom It May Concern:

We are in receipt of the complaint forwarded to you by ****** ****** ******. In response to Mr. ******'s complaint, I am happy to report that ******' financing was and is secure. Our finance department has spoken with Mr. ****** to clarify his status and provided him with contact information in order to obtain his account number and to make payments.

We are sorry for any inconveniences or misunderstandings and hope that Mr. ****** will return to our dealership for all his automotive needs. We hope that this satisfies your concern in this matter and closes the file as satisfactory. Thanking you in advance for your consideration.

Best regards,

***** *****
Business Development Manager
Rick Case Automotive

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

03/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Refund or Exchange Complaint Issue

Complaint: We purchased the CostGuard Vehicle Service Contract with our new 2014 Forte for $2070 and we would now like to cancel it and get a refund. I have called and left a message, plus I have emailed a couple of people there with no responses. They will not respond as to what I need to do to make this happen ASAP.

Initial Business Response
***** ******** came into our KIA dealership this past weekend and canceled his CostGuard Vehicle Service Contract. This issue has been resolved. Thank you

Consumer Response
The dealership took care of our issue in a very timely and priority way. We are satisfied with the outcome. Thank you to them and the BBB.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

02/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Delayed completion of service

Complaint: Purchased car from dealer on 15Nov2013. Still haven't received registration & title. Temp tags expired on 11Jan2014. No response from dealer.
Purchase date: 15Nov2013
Purchased: ******* ****** ** 2014
Contract #: XXXXXX
Paid in full: 24Dec2013 (date received by ******* Motor Finance)
Temporary tags expired on: 11Jan2014

My complaint involves severely delayed registration of my newly purchased car, delayed title and proof of ownership, being completely stranded without the use of my car (temp tags expired), and horrible customer service.

The dealer didn't send my paperwork over to my tag office until one month after purchasing my car from them (17Dec2013). The paperwork was incomplete and my tag office tried to contact them several times with no success.

The dealership also took over a month to return my old tag to me, but they failed to report that in my paperwork - this changes the registration (I had to inform the ** tag office).

I am currently displaced from my home due to total destruction from a flood. The dealer knows this, but refuses to send any information to my temp housing address. Instead, the dealer waited until just a few days before expiration to send me another temp tag. They also sent it to my home address (refusing my request to send it to my temp housing address), forcing me to travel under winter storm conditions to retrieve the 2nd temp tag.

I didn't want to be placed in that position again for the 2nd extension on the temp tag, so I contacted the dealership in advance (02Jan2014). They never sent me another temp tag.

I made several inquiries on status but was given the run around. I was passed **** to another dept that had no phone number, just an email address (*************************). That dept never responded to my email sent on 06Jan2014.

The dealership promised me on 08Jan2014 that they would overnight the completed paperwork to the tag office and overnight a 3rd temp tag directly to me (to my home - not my temp address). The tag office never received any of my paperwork. I never received the temp tag - and now I'm unable to drive anywhere!! My 2nd temp tag expired on 11Jan2014.

To make matters even worse, I cannot reach any representative at the dealership to resolve this matter. No one is picking up the phone or answering my texts.

I've been contacting **** ****** **** ***** ******** ****** (finance), ****** ******* (sales), and ****** (titles & registration - ****** office) by phone and text and I've emailed *************************

I've also contacted ******* Motor Finance on 13Jan2014 to seek their help and request a paid in full letter. They've reported that they will send me a paid in full letter within 5 business days. They assisted me in locating ******'s phone number, but since they're a separate company, they couldn't help me further.

This could not have come at a worse time. I've been unable to take care of critical activities to rebuild my home. I've lost days due to the severe weather conditions. Now I can't even drive my new car without proper tags!! I desperately need to be able to drive my car immediately!!!

Initial Business Response
Our ******* ***** manager has reached out via telephone and left a voicemail for ***** *****. We are waiting for a response. We also sent the necessary documents to the address she provided to us on January 22, 2014. We will continue to wait on her response and do everything we can to assist her in this situation. Thanks

Final Consumer Response
As I stated in my previous response, since I finally received my paperwork to register my car, I consider this case to be closed.

However, I do not agree that they've done everything that they could to assist me, and I remain utterly dissatisfied with their complete lack of post-sales customer service and failure to acknowledge how their actions have impacted me.

Since they have shown me such poor service and a complete lack of any desire to make amends for the delays and stress they've caused, I will be sharing my experience with the public via online reviews.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 9
02/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Repair Complaint Issue

Complaint: I had issue with Rick Case Hyundai Service Department at Duluth location about a year ago after that I decide not to use this location for anything. My wife had an accident and this location was closest and my insurance will not tow to another one so I had to use Rick Case Hyundai Duluth. They did repair on my car and I pay deductible. Let me mention first that there was no friendliness of the customer service at all. When I got there I was reminded about my argument with them a year ago. I picked up car from them and it was drove it next day, while I was driving car start making noise so I stooped and checked it. There was oil all over my front wheel where repair was done so I took it back to them next day. I was accused by Service rep that it was my fault, I hit something or something else. She didn't even look at the car yet. After mechanic looked at the car they found out that they put faulty strut on my car and it was leaking. I left my car there for repairs. After I picked up my car second time it was making scraping noise, I took it back and they said they didn't hear anything and everything is working properly. So I took it to **** **** ******** they were nice enough to look at it and try to fix it. After two month my car was still making this noise so I got tired and took it to another Hyundai dealer beside Rick Case. The guys at another dealership found problem and fixed it. After this I swore I will never take my car to Rick Case Duluth store, service is horrible. Service rep is ignorant, unfriendly and rude, Service manager is the same way. If you want to waste you time and money and get worse service ever take your car to Rick Case Duluth store otherwise avoid them as much as you can. I would not ever take my car there even they are the only Hyundai dealership left in Atlanta. I will try to fix it myself. This is the worse dealership ever!!!
Product_Or_Service: Car Repair

Initial Business Response
We apologize for your recent service experience at Rick Case Hyundai Duluth. We pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service and fixing cars right the first time. If you would like to contact us directly we can discuss the process in which you would need to proceed concerning your insurance deductible.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No, I didn't accept apology. I emailed to ***** ***** and her manager saying that. What was she apologizing for, bad weather, something else? As I said in the email to ***** ***** apology wasn't accepted and I never got response. They need to train their employees better and especially manager how to be polite to the customers. I stop going to Rick Case for anything now, I am using another dealership for all my needs

Final Business Response
Our Service manager was very aware of the issues and Mr. ******* is correct that he was contacted by our Service manager. However, the apology extended was sincere. It is very unfortunate that Mr. ******* did not feel the sincerity. Since Mr. ******* accepted the apology, we assumed this case had been resolved. We can only once again give our sincere apologies. Thank you

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

07/15/2014Advertising / Sales Issues
10/21/2013Problems with Product / Service
07/08/2013Problems with Product / Service
07/08/2013Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/01/1985Business started: 01/01/1985
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 1987, GA

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Kelly Smith Mr. Rick Case (President)Mr Tim Desmond Ms. Cindy Killingsworth (Comptroller)Mr. Joe Suitt (CFO)
Number of Employees

153

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Rick Case Audi, Rick Case Kia, Rick Case Mazda, Rick Case Hyundai, Rick Case Cars
BBB Program Participation
This company participates in the BBB Identification Program and has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes.
Industry Tips
Buying a New Car
Buying a Used Car
Dont Get Soaked Buying a Flood-damaged Vehicle
Dont Fall Victim to Enticing Auctions Ads for Cars!
Purchasing a Car Online
Spot Delivery Complaints are on the Rise
Know the Facts About Used Car Fraud Before You Buy
VIN Cloning Swindles Luxury Car Buyers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Rick Case Auto, Inc.

3190 Satellite Blvd

Duluth, GA 30096-4616

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 2493 Pleasant Hill Rd 

    Duluth, GA 30096-4325

  • 3190 Satellite Blvd 

    Duluth, GA 30096-4616(678) 258-2720
    (954) 377-7441
    (678) 258-2545
    (770) 476-2800

  • 11446 Alpharetta Hwy 

    Roswell, GA 30076-3801

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Rick Case Auto, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (770) 225-5600
  • (678) 258-2720
  • (954) 377-7441
  • (678) 258-2545
  • (678) 852-2134
  • (866) 581-5786

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (770) 418-1750
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.