BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/05/2002

Mall of Georgia Ford

Phone: (770) 932-4060Fax: (770) 932-26164525 Nelson Brogdon Blvd, BufordGA 30518-3488 Send email to Mall of Georgia Ford

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/05/2002

BBB has determined that Mall of Georgia Ford meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Mall of Georgia Ford include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service7
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Mall of Georgia Ford

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (9)
01/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
***** Manager ***** ********** When he finally decided to show up. and I pointed out to him the defects he said to me "That is Karma..."
OMG! Where do I start! 1. The sales Dept. tried to exhort $500.00 out of my wife and I after the sale was completed on 12-29-2013!2. I took my car in today 1-25-2014 to have a ******* (a GPS based anti-thief system) installed and have the ****** paint protection applied. My car was returned with half the application still on the car and wet! You would think that if someone is going to apply a sealant the the car would be washed and dried properly before the ****** would be applied. 3. If that wasn't enough the car was returned to me with a scratch that wasn't there before prior to being serviced. When I complained to the ******* Manager ***** ******* he proceeded to tell me that wasn't a "Service Problem" but a sales issue. I requested to speak with the ***** Manager ***** ********** When he finally decided to show up. and I pointed out to him the defects he said to me "That is Karma when you pay me the $500.00. I'll fix the scratch" and rudely walked away! I have filed a complaint with Ford's Customer Relationship Dept. and they are launching an investigation. I will gladly submit for scrutiny my contract and ask anyone to show me where I owe them $500.00.

Desired Settlement
I want the scratch fixed and a written apology for the rude and unprofessional service and behavior.

Business Response
The original deal was done on a weekend and the customers Bank was closed. The next business day we called for a payoff and it was $500.00 higher. The customer singed a leagle form stating that if the payoff collected was too much that we would refund the customer the difference, but if it was less than the amount estimated that the customer would pay the difference. When we called the customer to collect the shortage for their payoff they cursed out the manager and told him that he wasn't going to pay it and we would never get it from him. I made the decision to write it off and move on. As far as the ****** it is applied to every vehicle when they come in. The policy they purchased transfers the warranty to them and offers a reapplication every 6 months for 3 years. So I am not really sure why they were getting it done to begin with. As far as the scratch goes there is nothing that was done that could have caused the scratch. The vehicle had nearly 5000 miles on it only after less than 1 month of ownership, which tells me that they are doing a lot of driving and it could have happened anywhere. We have no issue correcting the problem as a goodwill gesture once we are made financially whole for the original transaction. I will gladly show anyone the forms that prove the money is owed to us. I do apoligize for the attitude that my manager expressed to the customer. I will handle that internally. With that being said the customer can reach me and I will provide him the proof that shows the money is owed and gladly repair the scratch as a goodwill gesture. I will be reaching out to the customer today to try to come to a resolution.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The only point I will make is that the vehicle has less than 1000 miles not 5000!

12/02/2013Billing / Collection Issues
07/14/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a new Ford F-150 from the Mall of Georgia Ford MOG)dealership on 12/08/15 and was sold a "service contract" and "protection plus plan" that cannot be used at the local dealership where I would take my new vehicle for service.

The financial manager sold me this coverage knowing that I lived in Florida and was taking the vehicle back to my home, but did not fully explain that the product I was purchasing WAS NOT a Ford "Extended Service Plan" and that it may/may not be valid where I lived.

I have attempted to resolve this issue numerous times since 05/24/16 with the MOG Financial Manager who sold me the plan as well as the MOG Financial Director. The MOG Financial Director stated on 06/21/16 that their Regional Financial Director was contacting the service plan provider, Mechanical Protection Plan (MPP), and that he would be contacting me with an answer within 7-10 days.

I have already contacted MPP and they are willing to close out my account, but it is prorated so that I would lose ~$862 for something that is clearly not my fault.
Product_Or_Service: Service Contract and Protection Plus maintenance p
Account_Number: Agreement #: ********

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a full refund of my total purchase price for the service plan and protection plus plan in the amount of $4735.00. I understand the MPP company will reimburse a certain amount and am only asking that the MOG company make up the difference since it was their employee who "sold" me a unusable product.

Business Response
We are not the underwriter of the policy and do not make the rules for cancelation. The Service Contract is valid all over the US. We have several stores in Florida and the same contracts are sold there. It is the local dealer that will not accept the policy. We experience this a lot when we sell to out of state customer. Smaller stores refuse to service customers cars when they don not purchase through them. I am not sure how we are supposed to know if a customers local dealer will or will not accept the plans we offer here. The plans we offer are and have always been honored at any dealership. The customer receives a card to keep in their wallet which has a 1-800 number on it to have the dealer call for payment. If a particular dealership will not accept it I suggest finding a dealership that will.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I understand that the MOG Ford dealership may not be the underwriter of this policy, but they are in fact the broker of this deal and along with that they are inherently responsible to make sure the perspective customer knows what they are purchasing.

When my wife and I were sitting in the Sales Manager's office and discussing how we would finance this vehicle, he asked if I was interested in a "maintenance plan" and I assumed he was referring to the Ford Extended Service Plan (ESP) that is typically offered by dealers so I asked for more details.

At that time we talked about the coverage being offered and the cost of the plan, but NOT ONCE did he ever state there was a potential that it may not be accepted at my local dealership OR specify that this was NOT a Ford ESP as one would rightfully expect to be purchasing from a dealership.

I am confident that if he had explained the details of how this plan worked I would have contacted my local dealership to confirm whether or not they accepted this plan before purchasing it.

IF as the MOG Ford dealership says, "We experience this a lot when we sell to out of state customer", one would think they would make it a common practice to ensure potential customers know these details.

The withholding of this information, whether it be intentional or not, is why I question the business practices of the particular sales manager and the dealership as a whole and request a full refund of the policy purchase price.

In my last communication with the MOG Financial Director on/around 06/21/16, he stated that he had spoken with his Regional Finance Director and that he was in fact going to contact the MPP office and work with them to remedy this situation and that I would hear back from him in 7 to 10 days.


Final Business Response
We sell over 300 new and preowned vehicles each month. The last thing we are thinking about when every customer is trying to get out of here is weather their local dealer is going to give them a hard time with the extended protection policies we offer. We offer products that are approved by the state and are sold in the state where this customer lives. I suggest that the customer reaches out to their local dealer and explain to them the situation. There is no reason at all that their local dealer will not honor the policy. All they need to do is call the 800 number and they will provide a credit card to the dealer on the spot for covered maintenance. For larger claims they need to submit a claim just the same as they would to Ford. In every finance office there are sings and brochures that say MPP not ESP on everything. Each form that was singed states the same. My staff even mentions the name in their presentation multiple times. We will gladly have the policy canceled but are not willing to cover the prorated portion the customer will be charged.

12/28/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We have brought our vehicle in for the same issue 6 times within the past year.
Purchased car in September of 2013, used with less than 11,000 miles. Noticed a lurch upon acceleration but wasn't sure. Finally took it in 3/6/14. Clutch was replaced. Problem started occurring again and was taken back in 6/5/15. Software was updated. Taken back 8/11/15 and was updated again. Taken back 9/16/15 and clutch was replaced again. Taken back in 12/01/15 and another update was performed. Took in today, 12/15/15 because it has hesitated on my wife upon acceleration a few times while pulling into traffic since 12/1/15. Was told they found nothing wrong this time. Was told that if/when it happens again I will need to bring back vehicle and leave it for a few days. We know the associates in auto are doing what they can but the problem has yet to be fixed and is a safety issue. Warranty has been extended but that does us no good if the problem never gets fixed and our warranty runs out. Also upon reviewing paperwork from original sale, noticed that the vehicle had clutch replaced 7/26/13 with less than 11,000. It has had 3 clutches and 3 updates. Has approx. 47,000 miles and is 2 years old. We have a claim open with Ford but last contact, was told to file BBB by claims rep.

Desired Settlement
We would like a permanent fix, not a bandage. Would like to resolve the issue without conflict.

Business Response
As the customer stated this is not a complaint with Mall of Georgia Ford but with Ford Motor Company. We have escalated the issue to the top of the chain at Ford and they are in contact with the customer to work out a resolution with them. We will be following up with the customer to assist in any way we can to rectify this situation.

02/06/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On Jan 10,2015. I purchased ford fusion (vin number: *****************) and should be a new car. but today I googled the vin number and found is pre owned car.Here is the link(http://buycarandsellcar.com/pre-owned-ford-fusion-2015-for-sale-by-car-dealer-in-ga-gainesville-30504/4364275)
Product_Or_Service: Ford Fusion 2015

Desired Settlement
return this car and get a brand new car

Business Response
The vehicle we sold the customer was not a pre-owned vehicle when he purchased it from us. It was a new vehicle and it had never been titled until he purchased it. The information accompanying the link the customer provided is in error and has nothing to do with Mall of Georgia Ford nor any of our operations. Thank you, though, for bringing this to our attention. The vehicle was "new purchased". This means that it has never been titled until we titled it for the customer, making the customer the original owner. We are sorry for any confusion this link may have caused you; but, we are not responsible for inaccuracies out on the web.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Do you have any other paper work(except carfax report) can prove this one is new car?. Because in that link picture gallery, looks like exactly same model,color,interior touch screen and configuration(parking sensors).

for example, can you show me the invoice title you purchased from them? I don't need see the price and just need "new purchased" title with this car vin number


Final Business Response
I reached out to the customer this morning and he is coming in to see me Friday or Saturday to verify that the vehicle was a new vehicle.

01/29/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I leased a 2014 F150 and purchased a backup camera to be installed. My expectation, based on a test drive of another F150, was a fully functioning camera. After installation, when placing the vehicle in reverse, the camera did come on. However, in the upper left hand corner there is an icon for a zoom function. When I pushed the icon, the zoom function did not work. I called the dealership and was put in touch with the person who installed the camera; only to learn the zoom function would not work because the Sync module installed in my vehicle does not allow that function. I then called Ford Motor company, filed a complaint (***********), spoke with ******* in the executive offices, and explained the problem. She told me it was a dealer issue. I then reached out to the salesman, explained the situation and never heard back. I learned he had punted to his sales manager who contacted me and we began an email exchange at my request. At the end of the email exchange, here is his response to resolve the problem: "I have talked with everyone that I know to talk to. I have been told the only way to have the feature the way you are wanting it is to order the vehicle from the factory with the equipment. I was wanting to find out if you wanted me to just remove the option for you." Two points: First, I was sold a feature that does not work as advertised. Second, anyone purchasing a backup camera that is not factory installed needs to be aware. I find it unacceptable that the general manager of the dealership employs a sales staff unknowledgeable about this issue, and find Ford's position one of poor customer satisfaction. In either case, Ford and this dealership have lost a customer; which based on their handling of my problem, will not matter anyway.

Desired Settlement
Simple, fix the problem.

Business Response
When adding the after-market camera for the customer's new F-150,the matter and importance of the "zoom feature" on the back -up was not expressed to us. The vehicle was purchased and has already been titled. In the body of the text the customer wrote, he points to the fact we have tried to resolve the issue: but with no success. We are sorry, but there is nothing more that can be done.

12/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My son use to work for Mall of Ga ford and was let go. However, we have purchased several vehicles from this dealership. We have recalls that need to be done and my son took his truck there today to get it done and they refused to do it. We also have 2 other vehicles that need to be done and **** ****** told my husband to take our vehicles somewhere else. It is unrealistic to take our vehicles over 20 miles away to another dealership when we purchased the vehicles there. They sure didn't mind taking my money for the vehicles they wanted so badly to sell me. We also paid for an MPP program that is only good at this dealership. The rude way we have been treated by ***** ( the service manager) and **** ****** is beyond unprofessional. This Ford dealership's service department is rude, and only wants to make a buck. They are not concerned with true customer service. With that being said they need to honor Ford recalls and service agreements.
Product_Or_Service: Ford F150 truck

Desired Settlement
I want the recalls done and I want the service manager fired and someone that will truly think of the customers.

Business Response
Numerous times we tried very hard to satisfy this customer. We never, ever declined them service. But, we have suggested that they find a new service department to do business with. In fact, they set three appointments online just this past week, and did not show for any of the three.
There is a pattern here that goes back some time. As a matter of fact, the last few times they were here in our service department they were rude and very difficult to work with. This is a consistent issue with this customer that never seems to get any better. There must be a mutual feeling of respect and dedication to solving problems. My service department staff has lost all patience with this Customer and has decided it would be in the best interest of everyone to choose to no longer have a business relationship with them.
I understand their reasoning and I approved their request. My service staff has very high Customer Service Scores as compared to other Ford dealerships throughout the region. We are not in the business of refusing to do business with anyone; and we have not taken this step lightly.
As far as the Service Agreement they are referring to; it is valid at any dealership or service center with Ford Certified Technicians. There are two other Ford Service Departments less than 15 miles from us. They can have all their service needs met at either of these two locations.
We will not be servicing their vehicles in the foreseeable future in the interest of all parties.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The responder is not speaking the truth. **** ****** (General Manager) called me, ******* ******, and informed me that they would not perform any service on our vehicles due to negative survey responses we had submitted. We have provided positive responses for over 10 years of buying from Mall of Georgia Ford. We complained when my wife had to wait over 4 hrs for an oil change. I also complained about getting a multitude of survey requests for the same service. Lastly, I complained about a negative action taken against my son (who worked there) for a fraud attempt that a customer tried to do. Since then, much more has come to our attention. My wife works for the police dept and we are aware of that fraud. No attempts have been made to resolve anything with us. **** said he would make an appointment at another location, but it is 15 miles away (45 minutes drive time) one way (30 miles round trip). Mall of Georgia Ford (MOFG) is 3 miles from me. Further, I purchased an MPP program for each of my vehicles (3 active now) that I must use there. Over $1500 per vehicle. **** ****** told me that he does not care if I bought them and would lose that service. They even refuse safety recalls and the U.S. Highway Safety Administration stated that is illegal. They took the case and recommended we contact the State Attorney General (we are doing this). We have a case number with the U.S. Highway Admin and a case number with the Federal Trade Commission. I believe that ****a ****** is manipulating survey results for MOFG by stopping service with anyone who complains. I have purchased 10 vehicles from them in the past and only from them. We intend to pursue all options open to us.

Final Business Response
Our prior statement stands.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/05/2002Business started: 12/17/2001
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Secretary of State- Professional Licensing Boards
237 Coliseum Dr
Macon, GA 31217-3805
(478) 207-2440
http://www.sos.ga.gov

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Erik Conley (General Manager)
Contact Information
Ms. Kathy Miller (Comptroller)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Mall of Georgia Ford

4525 Nelson Brogdon Blvd

Buford, GA 30518-3488

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4525 Nelson Brogdon Blvd 

    Buford, GA 30518-3488(770) 932-4060
    Fax: (770) 932-2616

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Mall of Georgia Ford is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.