BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Kia Mall of Georgia

Phone: (678) 804-2000Fax: (678) 804-2112View Additional Phone Numbers4180 Buford Dr, BufordGA 30518-3460 Send email to Kia Mall of Georgiahttp://www.lovemykia.comView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Kia Mall of Georgia is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Kia Mall of Georgia's rating include:

  • Failure to respond to 2 complaints filed against business.
  • One complaint filed against business that was not resolved.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Kia Mall of Georgia

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (8)
01/21/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

I purchased a car from Kia Mall of GA May 8, 2014. I was told during the sale my car was equipped with a tire kit. As a consumer that meant I was equipped with a spare tire, jack, etc. I had a flat tire on the interstate on June 13, 2014. At this time is when I noticed that the spare kit was actually a pump with a can of goo to fill the tire. I notified my salesman that day of my disappointment with the misrepresentation. I have since talked with the manager and owner who take absolutely no responsibility for the misrepresentation by their sales staff. In fact they referred me to KIA corporate, when it is not corporates fault that the sales person was misleading.Had the option to purchase a spare tire been talked about during the sale, I would have been certain to include a spare in the deal. I am very upset and saddened buy the customer service and misrepresentation of the vehicle purchased.
Product_Or_Service: Kia Optima`

Desired Settlement
I would like the tire kit to be replaced with an actual spare tire kit at the cost of the dealership.

Business Response
We regret that we are just now seeing this complaint. This matter with Ms. **** has been resolved. We paid her $110 for a new tire and did some touch-up work on her rear bumper gratis. Ms. **** left here as a happy customer.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The $110 for new tire is reimbursement from an insurance plan I purchased that covers tire costs, not a resolution from the dealership. The work done on the bumper was fixed because it happened during a maintenance appointment at the dealership.
I had to pay $202.74 for a spare tire kit and $15.00 for it to be installed in my car. I still request reimbursement for these fees from the dealership. I would have purchased these at the time of purchase of the car had I been informed these items were not part of the tire kit that came with the car. It is my opinion that the dealership did not properly inform me at the time of purchase in regard to a spare not being included in my purchase, thus putting me and my family in danger on the side of the interstate when a tire went flat.

12/26/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Denied several requests for a vehicle cost printout, but was given a verbal phone confirmation only for it to go unrecognized upon visiting the dealer
I had originally inquired about a black 2014 Kia Sportage with the "Popular Package" that I had found listed online through Car *****, by KMoG. The price was advertised for $19,997, which I then contacted the dealership and was assisted with the necessary information needed to expedite my purchase. KMoG agreed to sell their car for $19,000 and would honor any valuation from CarMax of my own vehicle as long as I had a legitimate printout. When CarMax's evaluation of my car appraised for $5500, they reneged on the price at which they had agreed and told me their price was now the $19,997 originally listed. However, they would honor the manufacture-wide military discount for which I am eligible and would bring the cost of their vehicle to $19,597.

At that point I requested a printout via email of the total cost breakdown on several occasions before my 6 hour drive from Memphis. While this was repeatedly not provided, I spoke to ***** ****** over the phone who confirmed for me three separate times the cost would be $19,567 before tax. Giving me his word, I made the drive to Atlanta to purchase the car. However, once it was time to sign the necessary paperwork, he then told me the price of the vehicle was $19,997 and they could not honor the military discount as the advertised price listed included all applicable incentives. Having taken screen shots of the page I had found the car listed on, I knew this to be completely false.

He then proceeded to explain his confirmation of the cost for $19,567 was a "mistake" and that he could not honor the military discount. I then asked ***** to honor his "mistake" by speaking to his management and while he did tell me he spoke to them, his body language was indicative of someone who viewed the situation as a consummate imposition. I was never offered the opportunity to speak to anyone higher up, but was informed that **********r was his immediate superior. Taking ***** at his word that he had notified his chain of command, it is fair to reason that ***** was aware of the issue and chose not to take action in rectifying the situation.

While the amount of a $400 difference was never a personal financial stumbling block, the fact that a dealership in an area located relatively close to several significant military installations was not able to honor a manufacturer-wide advertised military discount, was both disheartening and disrespectful. As an Air Force veteran who was once stationed at Dobbins AFB in Atlanta, with many friends in the metro area, I would strongly recommend to my fellow servicemen and women that Kia Mall of Georgia is not an establishment deserving of their business.

What I found especially upsetting was that not only was the original deal not honored, but I was forced to incur additional mileage to my car and spend money on the necessary fuel required to drive the 12-hour round trip. I hope my grievance will be the beginning of new business practices at Kia Mall of Georgia and offer future customers a fair and honest buying experience.

Desired Settlement
I feel the only truly legitimate settlement would be for Kia Mall of Georgia to honor the original cost of $19,000 for their car, in addition to honoring the $5500 appraisal of my current vehicle. Should they honor their original agreement, this would be fair taking into account the incurred cost of travel should I need to make another 12 hour trip.

Business Response
We are very sorry that we are just now seeing this complaint. We would be more than happy to review this deal if the consumer is still in the market. We will, as always, honor the military discount.

11/21/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

On 08/31/2013 I purchased a Kia Optima from Kia Mall Of Georgia in Duluth GA. I told the "Finance Manager" that I did not want any additional warranties or insurance. I was rushed through the contract process because "other people were waiting". When my husband reviewed the contract, he found that it did indeed contain two extra policies to the tune of $2687.00. I cancelled both policies via certified mail on 09/19/2013. To date (11/04/2013)I have not received my promised refund. I contacted the dealership today, and was told that " the dealership had received all monies due me and that a check would probably be mailed out in 3 to 4 weeks." When I asked why the delay? I was told that refunds had to be approved by several dealership employees and some of them were out of town.
Product_Or_Service: extended warrenty & gap insurance
Account_Number: 150EGP XXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
Since the dealership admittedly has my money in hand. SEND IT TO ME!!!!!

Business Response
Mrs. *******,

I would like to clearify our process for cancelations. The fact is it has nothing to do with needing approvals from multiple people within our business. Once we have received all required papaerwork and funding from third parties we than finish processing the refund on our end and send the check to you. We received the final payment on 10/29 and just finished proccessing your refund yesterday 11/12. Your check was proccessed and mailed to you today. The paperwork you signed made you aware that this entire process can take upto sixty days. We are within that window with your refund. If you don't receive your check by 11-15 please contact our office. Thank you.

11/27/2013Problems with Product / Service
09/02/2013Problems with Product / Service
03/29/2013Problems with Product / Service
06/08/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Told lies to get us to purchase, to the point we are paying over 2xs what the car is worth, cannot get services we were told were included in sale
Purchase date was May 20th 2014, we purchased a 2014 KIA soul red zone edition, purchase price was $24,000 give or take after fees etc. Salesperson was *****, her supervisor who did our paperwork was ******. Our problems began pretty much immediately after the sale when we got a notice of a recall that had been in effect prior to our purchase that we were never notified of during the buying process, we were notified by KIA in the mail. Since that time we have had 3 more recalls on this vehicle things like fixing the steering wheel, the brake pedal and the airbag. Had we known there was an oustanding recall we would have never purchased this vehicle. I am a question asker so I went to work on these people because this was a major purchase, my boyfriend the primary purchaser asked them as well. We asked about the GPS system, my boyfriend specifically because he's a tech guy, we asked about it needing updates and how that worked, ***** told both of us at 2 different times that they were done there and were included in the purchase. We went in for our 3rd n 4th recalls and asked them about updating it *** **** the service manager told my boyfriend that we had to go online to do it. OK no big deal, till we get online to update it and it's trying to charge us $60. Its not the money its the principal that she bold faced lied and it being less than a year of ownership and us having to already update it, how many more times are we gonna be forced to pay this $60 while we are still financing this car? I called ***** and when confronted she said "I told you you could get it done here but I never said for free" she then told me if I couldn't do the $60 I could go on eBay and try to find one or get a gps. I tried to get help from her supervisors to only be put into voicemail boxes or play phone tag with their other supervisor chad. Other issues, we were told we could get oil changes included in our purchase, only to go over all the paperwork and realize we were charged for all those years of "free" oil changes and it was tacked on to our loan. In those oil changes are supposed to be tire rotations, which they have never done since we owned this vehicle and have brought it in for an oil change. Our KIA has rims and if they don't get rotated regularly the lug nuts will fuse to the wheel assembly. We have 1 rim that we had to touch up with paint and its never moved locations after any oil changes. So they charged us for a service we arent even getting with our "free" oil changes and actually doing damage to our vehicle that I guarantee they will not cover in the warranty or at their location. We asked about future refinancing and was told it was possible that we could talk to our bank. When we did about 5 months after we boughy it, we found out we were paying after financing $36,000 for a vehicle that was worth $17,000 at best, that all the "free" or included things they tacked on to our loan by deceiving us, they had us so upside down in our loan that not even with an 804 credit score would our bank refinance us and our bank told us additionally that no bank would. That we got deceived and should have came to them first. We showed our banker all our paperwork from the sale and everything. She also gave us paper work showing how much our car is really worth and how the bank wouldn't refinance it at all. We were supposed to get the car detailed for free the day of the sale but it took them so long the service dept closed, so ***** told us we could bring it back up there for the detailing and since they couldn't do it that day she would give us a 2nd one for the inconvenience, but that never happened either. So here we are stuck paying almost $500 a month for the next 4 years on a car that has a recall every 2 to 3 months that can't be updated as the salesperson stated, that never gets the "free" tire rotation that we have actually already paid for that when we try to get help we either talk to a machine or a salesperson who recants her words.

Desired Settlement
We want what was promised to us at the time of sale. We want the updates for our vehicle for free for the entirety of our financing as we were told it would be. We want our tires rotated at every single oil change so they don't fuse or get warped, and trust me I will check. I doubt we can get a refund of any sort or take the vehicle back, but the least they can do after deceiving us into buying a vehicle we are stuck with for 5 years that is probably gonna fall apart or blow up due to known issues from recalls is hold up their end and do what they said they'd do. We would never have purchased a vehicle with recalls on it, but they never told us that. We would probably have never purchased it if we knew we were going to have to pay for updates on it every few months so its computer system works right, but ***** told us they were included, so we were OK with that. We would never have gotten the oil changes had we known we were actually paying for them in our loan, we could have done it cheaper ourselves, but ****** and ***** lead us to believe it was included. And had we known the rims and seats and everything on the vehicle at the time of purchase that we were told by ***** was standard on our type of car were gonna add to our car not being worth what we are paying for it we would have either chose a different soul or not purchased at all, but again we were deceived. Lastly an apology for lying to us from ****** and holly in writing would go a long way with us but I doubt we will even get that. So if they can just give us our updates and tire rotations like they are supposed to I'll be happy.

08/24/2015Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Services, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 08/22/2001Business started: 06/01/2001
Type of Entity


Incorporated: January 2004, GA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott Jenneman (Vice President)Mr. Craig Cappy (Operator)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Services, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

This company offers automotive sales, service, body repair, and parts sales.

Alternate Business Names
Capco 2, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Kia Mall of Georgia has received 1.00 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of F.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Kia Mall of Georgia

4180 Buford Dr

Buford, GA 30518-3460

To | From


1 Locations

  • 4180 Buford Dr 

    Buford, GA 30518-3460Fax: (678) 804-2112

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Kia Mall of Georgia is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (678) 804-2112

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (678) 804-2010
  • (678) 804-2041

Additional Web Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.