BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/1989

Jim Ellis Atlanta, Inc.

Find a Location

(770) 458-6811View Additional Phone Numbers5901 Peachtree Industrial Blvd, AtlantaGA 30341-1630 Send email to Jim Ellis Atlanta, Inc.View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/1989

BBB has determined that Jim Ellis Atlanta, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Jim Ellis Atlanta, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues1
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service9
Total Closed Complaints 14

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Jim Ellis Atlanta, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (14)
04/02/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My vehicle was delivered to me back in November I was promised by the dealer in the we owe that my bumper would be fixed due to it being damaged from transport. They took it the first time and tried to cheat it by wet sanding the bumper which did not get rid of the damage instead it is still visible. I have been trying to get them to fix it properly but no one would return my calls & when I spoke to the manager he promised it would be resolved but when I went to the dealership they don't remember promising me that they would fix it. The service that I am receiving from them overall is so awful I would not advise anyone over there. All I want is my vehicle fixed it is brand new how is that so hard.
Product_Or_Service: Volkswagen

Desired Settlement
I would like a check to get my bumper fixed somewhere else.

Business Response
Mr. ****** I apologize for the unresolved issue. We have had some personnel changing positions and unfortunately the ball got dropped in the process. A member of our Management team will be reaching out to you shortly to resolve this. I apologize again for the lack of responsiveness and professionalism to this point.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept that I have purchased the vehicle in November we are now in March if I would have never reached out then who would. I have been there numerous of times with no support.

Final Business Response
The cosmetic and mechanical issues have been corrected.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I am completely satisfied

05/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I brought my recently purchased 2007 Audi a8 to Jim Ellis Audi because the check wold withne light came on. A120007)previous diagnosis by an independent mechanic determined that I had a misfire in cylinder #4. Jim Ellis charged me $1200 to replace the fuel injector, then returned the car to saying that the problem was fixed. I didn't make it home from the dealership before the check engine light came back on. When I took the car back to jim Ellis, they kept the car for another 5 days. I was then advised that they have a new diagnosis of a bad valve spring which according to them would cost $5000. I argued unsuccessfully for a full refund of the $1200 that I spent for a problem that they did not fix, or a deep discount on the labor for the valve spring repair. I spoke to the service manager mr ********* who basically told me that my car was old with high mileage (144,000) so he described it as a "money pit". He told me to get rid of the car because as soon as I fix this problem, something else is going to break. He also said that the $5000 quote was the discounted rate. That was the 1st time I was told that. I also complained to Audi USA, but they sided with the dealership. I just don't think its fair to spend $1200 for jim Ellis to basically do a trial and error type repair on my car. I felt like they should have diagnosed the problem the first time, then let me decide if I want to do the repair.

Desired Settlement
I would like a full refund or a deep discount on the labor. I'm not sure that I trust Jim Ellis to work on my car, because of this experience.

Business Response
This is not the dealership Mr. ******* dealt with. He dealt with the Jim Ellis Audi Atlanta dealership on Peachtree Industrial Avenue. I have forwarded this to the corporate office. Please note in this complaint that we are not the correct business for this issue.
thank you.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They just explained the same thing I did. They did not address me paying for a service and having the same problem.why wasn't the valve spring diagnosed initially? I need an explanation as to how they can justify me paying $1200 and still have the same problem

Final Business Response
In response to the most recent rebuttal, we respectfully disagree that we owe any refund on Mr. *******'s repair. However, in the interest of a fair resolution and everyone's desire to close this case, we will offer a 50% refund. We deny any wrong-doing. This is a 7 year old vehicle with high mileage and we feel that these issues are typical of this age and mileage. On a vehicle of this type, we can never guarantee that fixing one item will not cause or result in a problem with another item. Therefore, we would not want to offer any additional "discount" on labor. Our offer of a 50% refund is a goodwill gesture only and is our FINAL offer.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

10/17/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 8/13/13 I purchased a 2010 Wheego Whip electric low speed vehicle through ebay. The vehicle was delivered to me via car carrier. The vehicle has 700 miles & appears to have light use. It is a battery powered vehicle with 12-8 volt batteries & a 40 hp electric motor. My 1st time out, the batteries were low & I had to use someones electric outlet to recharge the batteries to get home. I called The manufacturer for tech support, speaking to *** ***** *** advised me to run the car 3 times until it reached the red zone on the battery meter & recharge it fully each time. I did that & the range on the car was 6-10 miles depending on what accesories are used. I called *** back, he advised me the batteries are near dead & need to be replaced at a cost of $3500.00. I discovered this car was donated to Georgia Tech for faculty use. It appears the car was never charged properly resulting in dead batteries. The car was never previously titled with 700 miles. The seller never disclosed the batteries were dead. The salesman, ******* ***** has presented this issue to his superior. I paid $3449.00 for the vehicle, in the present condition it is useless. The seller never disclosed the batteries were dead, when I asked about the condition, they were represented to be in good condition
Product_Or_Service: 2010 Wheego Whip
Account_Number: XXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I would be able to use the vehicle if the batteries were replaced, I'm asking for the funds to replace the batteries or to return the vehicle back to Jim Ellis Mazda for a full refund.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******
We have reached out to the manufacturer of the vehicle, ****** for assistance on the matter. We have not received an answer from them as of yet. The vehicle battery was charged and maintained as per ********* instructions when given to us,and the vehicle was operating properly when it left the dealership. We would have never sent a vehicle that would not run to a client. We haven't given Mr. ***** an answer yet, simply because we have not gotten one from ****** yet. As soon as we have response from Wheego, we will find a suitable resolution for all parties.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I will be out of town 3 weeks returning on 11/9/13. Only then will I know if the resolution has been resolved in the sum of $1750.00 I gratefully thank Stacey Hodges on behalf of Jim Ellis Mazda & the Atlanta BBB for all their help in this matter.

Final Business Response
We have accepted a request by Mr. ***** to pay half of the battery replacement. I notified him by email on 10/15/13.

Respectfully,

****** ******

01/14/2015Problems with Product / Service
01/06/2014Billing / Collection Issues
09/08/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I brought my car into Jim Ellis Mazda repeatedly since June 2014 paying over $2500. On my latest visit in May 2015. I brought my car in due to it making a rattling noise and producing white smoke while driving. After paying over $900 I was informed all issues were repaired. 2 weeks later less than 800 miles later my car begin to produce the same white smoke and stalled on the side of the express way. My car was towed back to Jim Ellis Mazda on June 19th and I was given a curtsey car. I was informed the following week that I needed a new engine because the car overheated and cracked. Jim Ellis Mazda stated the thermostat stuck and the car got too hot. I asked why I did not receive a warning and why the same white smoke I complained about previously returned. The service department stated they could not explain why I did not receive a warning. I asked if they tested the car once they repaired it. The service manager read the report and stated the mileage at arrival was the same at departure. They could not confirm the car was test driven and it the repairs actually took. I have been playing phone tag with one of the managers since June. It is now August 12th and I still have their curtsey car. They will not admit fault but have stated that me and my family keep the curtsey car and treat it as our own until a agreement can be met. I would like for this issue to be resolved.

Desired Settlement
I believe this issue can resolved by the 3 listed below: 1-I would like a refund of the monies I paid Jim Ellis Mazda since June 2014.2-The car to be fixed at no expense to me because I do not feel it was fixed in May when I brought it in.3-A even trade. Provide me with a trade in car off the lot with no additional monies due.

Business Response
Mr. & Mrs. ******'s vehicle was brought in on 5/22/15 with a concern of "... during acceleration, hears some rattling and a plume of white smoke comes out ...". When the technician inspected the vehicle, he was unable to find any issues related to the concern, but found that motor mounts #2, 3 & 4 were all broken and felt that the vehicle was unsafe to drive. He also found oil leaking from the valve cover gasket. The total for these repairs were $988.15, which were approved by the owner. Once the mounts were replaced, our technician test drove the vehicle, but could not find any issues nor duplicate the customer's concern. When checking for fault codes, there were none stored or pending. Therefore we didn't have a basis of repair or recommendation regarding his "rattling & plume of smoke" concern. A clerical error was made by our technician by not recording the outgoing mileage, therefore the computer defaulted to the same mileage that was recorded at check-in. However, his notes on the customer's paperwork do state "road tested vehicle". The vehicle was ready for pickup on 5/26/15.

On 6/19/15 (24 days later) with 158,900 miles (an additional 878 miles), the car was towed in with the customer citing the same concern as the previous visit, only this time the car died. Upon inspection, we found that the engine had overheated and cracked due to the extreme heat. When checking for faults, found P0117 (ECT sensor circuit low input), which typically means the thermostat has failed. When checking the "freeze frame" data stored in his computer, we also found that the vehicle registered 273.2 degrees Fahrenheit at the time of the fault, and was driven for 17 minutes & 33 seconds. Therefore, the vehicle continued to be driven while overheating, subsequently causing irreparable damage to the engine. It was explained to Mr. ****** that if this issue was occurring at his last visit, we would have had the same fault showing in his computer, plus it would not have made it the additional 878 miles he had driven the car since then. So, as a courtesy to Mr. & Mrs. ******, we allowed them to use our courtesy loaner while trying to find a financially sound solution for them. For five weeks, we put forth a tremendous amount of effort in our search for a viable alternative, but Mr. ******'s expectations were beyond every reasonable effort, and offer, that was made by the Service Manager, General Sales Manager & General Manager with Jim Ellis Mazda.

***** ********
Service Manager
Jim Ellis Mazda/Saab/Maserati
***********************
*****************
Direct:*************
******************


07/17/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My vehicle's A/C is not working. I have taken it to the Chevy dealership multiple times. They are not able to find out or fix the real problem. They have done work that had nothing to do with the problem. My car thinks it the engine is over heating, the over heating fan is staying on, and it has already drained my brand new battery multiple times. I have also missed out on work because of these issues.Chevy ran a full diagnostic on my vehicle 3 times.I also used to have the ability to roll my windows down with my key fob. I'm no longer able to do this and none of the local Chevy dealerships, including Jim Ellis, know how to fix it. My case was sent to the BBB Auto Line because I answered a question wrong. My case number is **********. Please get all my paperwork transferred from them.

Desired Settlement
1.I would like a refund for the unnecessary coolant flush that didn't fix the problem. 2.I would also like to be compensated for the parts I had to go and find on my own that actually had something to do with the problem. 3.I would like a new car battery or to be repaid for the car battery I recently bought. 4.I want to take my vehicle to another Chevy dealership to see if they can truly repair the problem. 5.I would also like the ability for my windows to roll down with key fob to be repaired.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******* Service Dire
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ******************
Customers Service History-

RO ******
Date: 4/4/2014
Miles: 47023
Service- Maintenance 1 / Oil Change-Tire Rotation-Multi Point inspection.

RO ******
Date: 10/29/2014
Miles: *****
Service- Maintenance 1 / Oil Change-Tire Rotation-Multi Point inspection.

RO*******
Date: 12/08/2014
Miles: *****
Service- Check Engine light on-
Coolant Level was low at this time-Also at this time of diagnosing the concern we found multiple codes set / relating to high and low volts- We advised the customer on the concerns and declined for us to further diagnose.
Customer Stated: Had to jump start vehicle-We tested the battery at this time and showed a full charge /we asked Mr ******* if he wanted to replace the battery based on having to jump start the vehicle and with a build date of 10/17/2010 and a Delivery date of 12/10/2010---Miles at ***** he declined.

RO ******
Date: 2/10/2015
Miles: *****
Service-Check Engine light is on. Getting AC Off due to Engine Overheating Message-Engine coolant Temp History codes set. Coolant Fan stays on.
Concern was due to coolant thermostat housing leaking coolant. This Concern was covered by GM 100%. And housing and coolant was replaced.
Customer states the TPMS light is flashing. (Service Tire Monitor System). We diagnosed and found 3 bad tire sensors at this time. Customer advised to replace them at this time.
Customer States that the windows will not roll down when using the key fob. The vehicle has not been built, showing within the "build out sheet" that we pull from the GM global system with this option.
(As I could see Me. ******* was driving his vehicle with this concern from 12/8/2014 till 2/10/2015 with a difference of 4,751 miles.)

RO ******
Date: 4/15/2015
Miles: *****
Service-Check Engine light on and AC shuts off due to Engine temp. Also engine fan stays running when vehicle is shut off and pulled battery down.
Last visit here was at ***** and now ***** with a difference of 5268 miles. We found a hose clap not holding enough pressure causing a leak and the condition above. We replaced the hose clamp at no charge to the customer without accepting responsibility of the worn clamp but a goodwill gesture.
When we went to pull the vehicle in at this time the vehicle started up without any problem with the battery, and as indicated on RO*******- 12/8/2014 the customer declined the replacement of the battery.


In closing based on the customer's comments.

This vehicle is designed to shut the A/C system down when going into an overheat condition, so not to put anymore strain on the engine. Each time we addressed this concern, the vehicle had a coolant leak issue, which in return will create an overheat condition and in return shutting down the A/C system. (Working as designed). Also on RO******* dated 12/8/2014 the customer declined for us to continue diagnosing the check engine concern and a low coolant within the engine. And as we could see, continued to operate the vehicle with this condition existing.
The coolant system flush is strictly done as a maintenance offer at around 60K miles and was approved.
When it comes to the key fob concern with automatic windows brought down, we cannot see this option built within this vehicle based on the build out sheet we run from the GM computer system. The vehicle does have the window express down feature from the window switch itself.
I also return a $100.00 to the customer based on the replacement of the wheel sensors. Mr.******* felt it was to expensive and to help him out we sent him a check for a $100.00, again just as a friendly gesture. We would have no problem with helping Mr.******* out with his service needs but we cannot create an option within the vehicle that it was not built with.
We would have no problem showing him what were looking at showing the build out. I hope this answers all the concerns. At this time I do not feel we are responsible for a refund for the service we rendered and we also provide a him money back along with a repair that we billed internal to our dept.
Thank you,
**** *******










Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The process that Mr. ******* explained was innefective. If the diagnostic could not find the problem, a manual way of checking for problems, electrical, coolant, or otherwise should have been employed. I don't know how the hose clamp got loose that Mr. ******* speaks of. I was not made aware that they were correcting the issue as a good will gesture. I took at as an error on there part. The issue of me having to replace my temperature sensors after doing my own research to resolve this problem hasn't been resolved. Also the problem of "AC off due to engine temp" still exist, even when the car and the engine are cold. I have seen nothing from Mr. *******'s service department to show me that they now have the ability to fix the problem, which they have already failed multiple times to fix before. My battery is still being drained, and I still occasionally need a jump start. My vehicle was built with the ability to role my windows down with the remote. If this was an "accident" as I've been told, it needs to be recreated.

I need a Chevy dealership to permanently fix all the problems that they have failed to diagnose and correct regarding my engine and collant system. If they can not do this, a refund of all the parts I have purhased on my own will be in order.

08/11/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Car not registered
I purchased a new car from Jim Ellis Porsche on June 7 2014 and the car has still not been registered to me. I am left driving on expired license plates.
The Company has said it is because I needed to pay my personal property tax in SC where I am registering the vehicle and I did pay them. After seven weeks I was told today that it will be another four weeks til the car is registered. I am left with no choice but to drive with an expired 30 day temp tag.
Its very easy for them to blame the customer but they did not live up to their responsibility as a new car dealer to register the car in a timely fashion.

Desired Settlement
I believe they have never consummated the lease and I want a refund

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******** ** ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *********@jimellis.com
This customer purchased his new Porsche on June 7th, 2014 while living in South Carolina and instructed our team to register the vehicle in his county of residence. Unfortunately, his registration was returned due to unpaid property tax on a SC mobile home requiring an original paid property tax receipt. He was advised he would need to provide an original paid property tax receipt before his registration would be processed. He was also advised that each state has a minimum of 3-4 week processing time once they receive all of the required documentation and that we could not provide an additional temp tag and or dealer tag while his registration was being processed.

At that point the customer wanted to change the registration to Texas to avoid paying the SC property tax. We contacted Killeen, TX DMV on several occasions and conveyed to him the Texas requirements along with the approximate $2,500 taxes that would be due upon registration. He also inquired about registration in several other states including Virginia and Georgia until ultimately advising us on Friday, July 25th, 2014 that he wanted us to proceed in SC and paid his property taxes on Friday, July 25th, 2014. A copy of the SC rejection notice and paid property tax receipt can be provided upon request.

Being in automotive industry management and an automotive consultant, this customer is fully aware that registration is a complex process determined by the respective state and NO DEALERSHIP has the ability to supersede the legal requirements.

Everyone at Jim Ellis Automotive Group strives to provide exceptional service to our customers and our extra efforts to assist this customer have been no exception.

08/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Jim Ellis Audi Atlanta Repairs, May 29, 2014Called to make an appointment with the dealer and they could not verify I had work done on this vehicle before at this location. I had to read them the vin number so they could locate. Upon arriving for my appointment they could not find the vehicle again. When they did find it they did not have my telephone number, again. We straighten this out and they said they would run a diagnostic on the convertible top to see why it would not retract.***** indicated he would call when they had those results. After four hours I called the dealership to see if they had found the problem. They were glad I called because they did not have my phone number; I gave it to them again. They told me the results of the diagnostic was a bad value. They told me the cost would be approximately $350.00. I told them I needed the top working and to proceed. I returned to the dealership later in the day and was told the new value was in but it needed to be adjusted. My wife and I had another appointment in Fayetteville and would not be able to wait any longer.***** assured us this was fine and we could pick up the car on Friday, May 30th or Saturday. (The vehicle was left for service on May 29th.) I received a call at home mid-morning of the 30th stating the vehicle also needed a new motor for the top. The cost for this was $850.00. I ask why they had not found this in the diagnostics check.***** attempted to tell me it would not show up in this test. He assured me it had to be replaced. When I picked up the vehicle I explained to***** that I did not think this was a necessary repair and that I was being charged unfairly. I was not contacted by any representative of the dealership to follow up on my service. I have waited one and one half months before filing this complain to see if time would ease the pain. I am a senior citizen on a fixed income and cannot afford to be taken advantage of by this type of dealer service department. The total bill for service was $1,068.23.
Product_Or_Service: May 29, 2014
Account_Number:*******

Desired Settlement
I feel while the motor was replaced, I do not believe their was need of this part. If Jim Ellis can have a factory representative call me and explain how the motor problem would not be discovered in the diagnostic that would be acceptable. I do not want a service individual from the dealership to call me with another lame story.

Business Response
This issue is with the Audi dealership in Atlanta. The complaint was sent to Jim Ellis Motors in Marietta.
can you please forward to
thank you

Final Business Response
When checking Mr ****** vehicle,per Audi guidelines. We found that there was no signal from the right rear micro switch for the convertible top per the Audi diagnostic computer. this switch provides a signal to the pump motor that runs the top. The faulty switch was not sending a signal to the top motor to operate. Once the technician replaced the faulty switch,he re-established a signal to the top motor. The top motor would turn on but not provided enough power to open the top. So the motor had to be replaced to get full function of the convertible top.
The technician follow all the correct procedures,he would not have been able to test the top motor until he corrected the faulty switch. Jim Ellis service followed proper repair procedures, we feel that there is no reason to refund any moneys at this time.

11/22/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 04/17/13 I traded my used car in at Jim Ellis Buick for a brand new 2013 ***** ****** the financing terms of my contract was 72 months 9.90% payments being $545.54 starting 06/01/13 and my registration being transferred from my old car to the new car when I went to make my payment on 06/01/13 they would not give me the information on where to send my payments nor had I received my vehicle registration after numerous attempts to make a payment and to obtain my registration Jim Ellis contacted me around 06/20 and told me that I had to return the car due to financing not going through a few days later they called me back and asked if I could get a co-signer because if they had to sell it to someone else it would be considered a used car So I obtained a co-signer and my car was returned to me with Jim Ellis stating that my terms was the same with the addition of a co-signer, Gap insurance, and a bumper to bumper warranty and that they will now be able to transfer the registration. In September my daughter was driving my vehicle and was pulled over by a police officer who advised her that not only was my car coming up as used but the registration on my plates was still coming up as the car I traded in. So Jim Ellis told me that I would need to get another temporary tag until they are able to register it. On October 30 my car was pulled over once again and towed the the police officer explained that the car is coming up as having no insurance in which I have had insurance on this vehicle since 04/17 and when I explained to the officer that my vehicle was a brand new car purchased through Jim Ellis and I had received 3 temporary tags since april and was scheduled to pick up another one on october 31 they advised me that it is illegal to have more than 1 temporary tag issued and that this car is showing as a used car. I went home to review all my paper work and realized that my contract has changed I am listed as the Co-signer the interest rate is now 13.94% $666 for 72 mths starting 08/01
Product_Or_Service: 2013 ***** ******
Account_Number: VIN: ***************

Desired Settlement
I would like my initial contract terms signed on 4/17/13 with myself as the buyer and the addition of the co-signer, gap, and the warranty

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ****** **** ****
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *****@jimellis.com
Jim Ellis Chevrolet Buick GMC strives to get the best rates possible for our customers through the banks we have relationships with. In fact, financing is arranged by us for almost 80% of our customers. However, it is the banks that decide the credit rating tier that determines the interest rate the customer will receive. When we "spot deliver" a vehicle, we contract the customer according to our best estimate as to what rate we think the bank will offer based on the customer's credit rating. We rarely estimate incorrectly. Differences between what we think the bank(s) will offer and what they actual offer is sometimes due to incomplete or incorrect information provided to us by the customer. We can only be accurate if we are given all of the required, accurate information. In this case, the bank discovered an anomaly between what the was told to us and the actual situation and thusly, the interest rate changed. Again, it is the bank that decides the tiers from which the interest rates are determined, not us. If *** ****** believes she can get a better rate from her personal bank, then she is welcome to do so. However, we have contracted her on the best possible rate we can obtain given all of the facts. Additionally, it is our policy that all facts of the contract are fully disclosed when the customer takes delivery of a vehicle, even if there is a change in circumstances and the contract is amended. That Ms. ****** was "surprised" by the interest rate when she reviewed her paperwork is unlikely. We absolutely make sure all customers know what they purchased and what they are paying for all aspects of the transaction. And of course, it is explained to the customer that if the best we are able to do for them is not acceptable, then they have the choice not to sign the contracts. Interest rates are determined solely by the creditworthiness of the customer and we did the best we could. I wish Ms. ****** and all customers would qualify through our banks for the best rates, but unfortunately, this is not the case.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/01/1989Business started: 05/01/1989
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: February 1983, GA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jimmy Ellis (Vice-President)Customer Contact: Ms. Callie Sheridan (Executive Assistant)Mr. Jim Ellis (President)Mr. Rodney Woods (Vice President)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Products & Services

This company offers new and used car sales, service and parts.

Alternate Business Names
Jim Ellis Porsche of Atlanta, Jim Ellis Audi of Atlanta, Jim Ellis Mazda of Atlanta

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Jim Ellis Atlanta, Inc.

5901 Peachtree Industrial Blvd

Atlanta, GA 30341-1630

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 5805 Peachtree Boulevard 

    Atlanta, GA 30341(770) 234-2100
    (877) 465-2802
    (888) 377-0712
    (888) 440-1369

  • 5855 Peachtree Ind Blvd 

    Atlanta, GA 30341(888) 814-7086
    (888) 814-7367
    (888) 748-6114

  • 5901 Peachtree Industrial Blvd 

    Atlanta, GA 30341-1630(770) 454-8200
    (770) 234-8024
    (770) 458-6811
    (888) 726-0047
    (888) 893-6299
    (888) 256-2408
    (770) 216-7590
    Fax: (770) 234-8091
    Fax: (770) 454-3776

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Jim Ellis Atlanta, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (770) 454-8200
  • (770) 454-3300
  • (770) 454-3333
  • (770) 234-8024
  • (770) 234-8011
  • (888) 726-0047
  • (888) 893-6299
  • (888) 256-2408
  • (770) 216-7590

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (770) 234-8091
  • (770) 454-3776
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.