BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/1985

Gwinnett Place Honda

Phone: (678) 957-5000Fax: (678) 957-5100

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues5
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service10
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints16

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (16)
06/01/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought a NEW Honda Odyssey and was sold a car with few defects or tampered?1) Misaligned hood (major)2) Defect on paint job (major?)3) Dent on back door (minor)4) Some scratches in the inside (minor)I went back to the dealership few days after I noticed it, ***** (Sales manager) noted it was normal but I insisted not. He ask me to comeback, I came back and was sent to the service department and they inspected the car but noted could not fix it so they have requested me to drive to the collision department. Moved to the collision department and inspected the car and noted a misaligned hood, defect paint job (it makes me wonder now if the was previously damaged and fix and was not done correctly) anyways;***** said they need work order to fix the car. It was hard to notice at time of delivery because the pollen count was high and it has slightly covered the car. I also notice some scratches in the interior and some drink stain in the car but that one did not bother me much because the sales guys are really nice. **** and ****** (one of the Managers) has offered to fix and they promised me that it would not show on the vehicle history report??? I don't even know if this is legal but that's not what I really would like to do, I paid to get a new vehicle not a new repaired vehicle. I choice to buy a new one to avoid this type of issues but here I am battling for my rights as a consumer. They should have swapped me with another vehicle as soon as I reported it instead the issue was not handled seriously. This is a quality issue that dealer approved to sell as new vehicle but I truly believe that it may have been an honest mistake. That does not take away this issue so I believe that they should make it right with the consumer where everyone could agree to the solution. I should not suffer for the dealers mishap on quality inspection.I tried to get some resolution from your dealership but could not come to terms.
Product_Or_Service: 4/11/2015
Account_Number: ******

Desired Settlement
Here are some acceptable options:1) Refund - returned the vehicle refund full amount2) Repair and make adjustment on the purchase price to reflect vehicle condition3) Trade with a new one at no cost

Business Response
We traded Mr. ****** into a new vehicle at no additional cost to him.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


02/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Reached an agreement with the salesperson, **** **** in the purchase of the vehicleSalesperson did not include the agreed price in the paperwork for the finance personInitially, I was advised that it would take 30 minutes to meet with finance & it turned out to be almost 2 hours laterIt was late on a Sun night and I requested to complete transaction the next day but was not allowedBecause it was late, I did not check the numbers closely in the documents when meeting with the finance personLater when I arrived home Sun night, realized that sales price in the agreement was not price we had agreed toContacted salesperson the next day & he and I could not agree on what happenedSpoke with his manager, ****** & we agreed to split the difference & a check would be mailed with certified inspection information and ******* reportReceived check and it was $75 short of what the manager and I agreed to and none of the documents requestedThis is the second time the dealership provided false and misleading information and did not do what had been agreed to
Product_Or_Service: **** Honda ***
Order_Number: N/A
Account_Number: Deal NO: XXXXX

Desired Settlement
Request that sale of vehicle be voided, funds refunded and car be returned to dealership.

Business Response
this complaint is resolved the customer has recieved all of refund in amount of 275.00 dollars and is in process of removing said complaint from BBB

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

01/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My husband and I went to Gwinnett Place Honda to buy a vehicle on August 3,2013. After my husband decided to sell his vehicle to them to make the down payment. His refund is $800.00. We asked the car salesman when would we get the check he told us in 7 business days. On August 12,2013 my husband was admitted into the hospital diagnosed with Congestive Heart Failure. On August 13,2013 the 7th business day I called our salesman to explain our plight and asked him when would my husband get his money. He said he would see what he could find out. I had to take a week off from work and we had no money and I was back and forth at the hospital. He never called back and when my husband called from the hospital on Thursday he told him it was on the way. Never came. Last week he admitted the reason why he hasn't gotten it is because the place that finance our loan has not given them the money yet, but as soon as they get the money he will get his check. Well the business that held a lien on our car got their check on August 23,2013 15 days exactly when he told them they would get theirs. Even in emergency they would not send his money they had the car so we should have gotten his check. Gwinnett Honda has not been forthcoming with us concerning the entire process of why my husband has not got his check.We were never told any of this in the beginning. I spoke to the lady that writes the check and she told me that she will send the check when she get the paper title. That means a longer wait time. This whole situation has caused so much pain and agony to my husband and me. I still have medicine I need to buy and appointments I now have to cancel because we have no money. I does not seem to be of concern to them at all and that is very poor customer service. I will be a very present sounding board about this because I am so appalled at their actions.

Desired Settlement
We feel that they need to send him his check NOW!!!!!!!!We feel also that they owe us an apology as well.

Business' Initial Response
We have contacted the customer and after apologizing for the unfortunate misunderstanding, we have over-nighted the check to her today. With this, the customer is very satisfied and assured me that everything is fine and that she will close the case.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
We are very satisfied with their resolution. Mr **** was very nice and understanding.

Consumer Response
I am so distraught over the fact that I purchased a vehicle on August 3,2013 and it has stopped working as of November 13,2013. My husband and I came to Gwinnett Honda because we thought that we would be purchasing a automobile that would help me get to work. Not only am I out of a car but I have been subject to riding a bus part way to work and catching a cab the rest of the way. I have had to spend over $550.00 in a rental. I found out that the warranty we purchased won't cover the repairs or rental car. I have been told that there is nothing that can be done. I don't think that we have been treated fairly in this situation. I feel that no company should put their customers out in the cold literally without a vehicle.
Product_Or_Service: 2008 ***** ******* ***

DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation)
They can either fix the vehicle and cover my rental fees or give us another car. If they don't want to do that give us the down payment back so we can go somewhere else.


Business Response
Ms. ******'s car was repaired at ** ****** ***** returned to her on 1/3/14. Gwinnett place Honda paid for the repairs.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am very thankful that Gwinnett Place Honda finally decided to pay for the repairs but not before causing some serious issues that could have very well been avoided. They refuse to pay for my rental fees which actually was our 2 car notes that have not been paid. Now we are at risk of having our car repossessed.Therefore putting us in the same situation of not having a car to drive. This whole situation have caused me and my husband much stress and peace of mind.

12/18/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was giving incorrect information when asked and major mistakes where made in the creation of my application.
I purchased a car from. Complete obsessed about my budget and the closing of the deal I asked when will my 1st payment be due. I was told December 25th, a date that is hard to forget. As that date approaches I start to wonder why I have not received a payment booklet in the mail. At that same time I get a call form honda finance saying that my 1st payment is 17 days late?!? I call my sales person and the finance manager to attempt to get help with and clear up this issue. I am told that that is not what I was told, which is incorrect. And that the reason I haven't received the booklet is because I did not right down my complete address on the credit application?!? Impossible! I ask to have the application with the missing information scanned or faxed to me. I got nothing. In trying to get this resolved I was told by both the finance manager *** and his managers supervisor ******** ****** that I would be call back and giving more info but I never was I called numerous times and left numerous messages. When they told me "that it was my fault" the address wasn't complete. I reminded them that they also copied my insurance card which is in the file and it also has my complete address on it. Also that in any case that some very important information is missing, is it not there responsibility to review the information an contact the customer to get it corrected so that no issue that could negatively effect the customer and their credit score can happen??? To this point **** ****** , **** supervisor said he would make some calls to honda finance but he has not called me back. This is the holiday season I budgeted for what I was told I do not have the funds to make two car payments in one month, nor should I. This is a mistake made by their finance team and should be corrected by them. I the customer should not suffer for providing myself horrible customer service???

Desired Settlement
I want the 1st payment date to be what I was told 12/25. I want them to pay the 1st payment before it is reported to my credit and have the late fee removed from my account.

Final Consumer Response
After going through multiple managers I finally made it to Mr. ***** ***** He handled the issue exactly as I wanted it and was a complete professional. I am back to being very please with Gwinnett Place Honda.

08/09/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Prior to purchase we noticed ants, they advised they would have it detailed. At home within 24 hours the vehicle was infested.
I purchased a 2011 ***** ***** stock# XXXXXX*, vin# ***********XXXXXX, ******* with ******* for $29,875.25 on 7/31/2013 at 10:00pm. My financing was thru **** ******* ****** ***** for $32,500. Prior to purchase we noticed ants. ***** "******,"advised he would send vehicle to detail. We took vehicle home and within 24 hours vehicle was infested with more ants. On 8/2 we brought vehicle back. ****** *********** **** adhiere they would 4 days to fumigate. I advised we have small children and we wish to return the vehicle and Cancel the contract. I requested my check back and indicated accounting was closed (****). I requested letter to indicate the contract was cancled and they would return those funds to ****. They advised ****** ******* advised they could not for legal reasons. She spoke with ****** from **** ******* which provided her the information to fed ex the funds. I requested to speak with her and ****** said said she went home for the day. I requested a typed letter signed on letter head advising the vehicle was returned because it was infested. They finally agreed and indicated they would return funds after 10 days.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting for 32,500 be returned to **** ******* Asap and a letter indicating i will am no longer responsible for this vehicle. I am released from all liabilites.

Business' Initial Response
On August X XXXX, Gwinnett Place Honda contacted **** ******* credit union to reimburse customer for the money, back stated it would take a few days to clear. ***** **** ***** spoke to the customer on 8/5/13, they will meet on 8/7/13 to speak to customer in person.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Business' Final Response
I met with Ms ****** ***** this morning and after listening to her, i gave her my sincere apology for what she has gone through and gave her check back for the full amount of the loan.

She has my direct number to call me with anymore concerns or anything else I can do to make it better.

***** ****
*** Gwinnett Place Honda

Page 1 of 2
04/10/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On October 28,2011 I went to Gwinnett Place Honda to purchase a vehicle. I intended to trade in my accura legend as part of the down-payment. The original contract gave me a credit of $500 for this trade-in. When I left the dealership my sister told me she wanted the car and did not want me to trade it in. I turned around and a few minutes later another contract was written without the trade-in but with a cash down payment of an additional $1250. The finance manager increased the price of the car by the additional down payment. For the same car I was charged a sales price of $20,037.79 and then 30 minutes later $20,745.61. I have the same monthly payment despite an additional down payment of $750. I have called Honda financial and faxed them the 2 contracts and they agree I am due to refund of $750 however they have advised me that the companies are individually owned and suggested I contact the Better business bureau. I have personally met with ***** ***** the Finance Director at Gwinnett Place Honda. He reviewed the receipts and agreed there was a $750 discrepancy and agreed to refund the money if his investigation found I had not received any additional services. Multiple emails and phone calls have not resulted in any response
Product_Or_Service: Honda Accord Sedan
Order_Number: ******
Account_Number: Deal#***** cust #***

Desired Settlement
I wish to receive the promised refund of $750.

Business Response
As per our conversation today with the customer by phone, a refund of $750 will be issued. This customer has agreed to close the complaint/case.

01/21/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Told that TV was covered under warranty and that it came stock. We purchased CPO. The TV turned out to be aftermarket. GPH has refused to return calls
We purchased a CPO Honda Odyssey touring edition. We were told that the TV came stock in the vehicle and that it was covered under warranty. There was recently an issue with the TV. when we took it to a Honda dealership for repair, it was discovered that it was aftermarket. We have reached out to Gwinnett Place Honda management 3 times and they have refused to return any correspondence. We spoke with their service department and we were told that since we bought, we had to deal with it and that we should have known better than to purchase the vehicle without having that checked out.

Desired Settlement
We would like to have the TV system replaced with certified Honda parts from a dealership that is in our area (Columbus, OH). In addition, we wish to be reimbursed for new tires and a new battery that were required to be purchased within the first 6 months of purchase. This vehicle was clearly not a CPO vehicle.

Business Response
Our service manager found out that DVD player is a factory item and it is covered under Honda Certification. Told customer to take his car to the Honda dealership in Ohio (customer moved to Ohio since he purchased the vehicle from us) and have it fixed there under Certification warranty.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The DVD player was determined to not be a factory item. The dealership did cover the cost of repair, but the repairing dealership did note that the item was NOT factory installed!

06/25/2015Delivery Issues
02/03/2015Advertising / Sales Issues
02/05/2013Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Repair & Service

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.