BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/24/2004

Gwinnett Place Ford

Phone: (770) 476-2090Fax: (770) 497-1591View Additional Phone Numbers3230 Satellite Blvd, DuluthGA 30096-4641 Send email to Gwinnett Place Ford

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/24/2004

BBB has determined that Gwinnett Place Ford meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Gwinnett Place Ford's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Delivery Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Gwinnett Place Ford

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (11)
05/19/2016Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought a van from this dealership 40 days ago from out of state in TN, and they collected TN sales tax.Can't get registration done.

I bought a 2015 Transit 250 van from this dealer on 3/26/16. Since the van was financed in house, they collected TN sales tax and promised to deliver a registration and tag. I was issued a 45 day drive out tag for the meantime.
This time has expired and this dealer has yet to come up with a registration or a tag for this vehicle. I contacted then several times regarding this issue, and we are now down to them ignoring my inquiries.
The county clerk in Knox county TN, whom I have called several times, has no record of any paperwork being filed with them or any taxes paid. With an expired temporary tag, I am driving this vehicle in TN illegally, but since it is a cargo work van that I work out of, I cannot afford to park it and be out of work.
The dealer refuses to issue another temporary tag to extend the time they have been dragging along to get my van registered with the proper authorities.
The dealer is also failing to provide the couty clerk with tracking number to prove that the deal sheets and the tax amounts were mailed in to them in a timely manner.
Please help!!

Desired Settlement
I want my van registered in TN and a tag issued in a timely manner. They had 45 days to do it and failed to do so.Or issue another temporary tag to give them more time to issue the tag and pay the taxes to the state of TN.

Final Consumer Response
I received my tag today. Thank you.

05/11/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Extended Warranty is misrepresented verbally to customer and a very pertinent detail is completely omitted.
I purchased a used vehicle from Gwinnett Place Ford and purchased their recommended extended warranty contract. I specifically asked for "$0.00" deductible. I specifically questioned what was covered or better stated, not covered, by the warranty. I was told my contract provides a $0.00 deductible and their Platinum coverage coverage contract which is a bumper to bumper contract that details what is not covered. All acceptable and I purchased it. Until I received my contract details in the mail 7 months later, the warranty company sends an agreement that has "Disappearing Deductible waived when repairs are made at selling dealership". That description is in bold print on the front of the contract for a layman/novice purchaser to see and understand. The contract I signed had that description buried in 8 sized font on page 2 of the contract. Additionally, no verbal statements were made to me as of the disappearing deductible if I don't service the vehicle at their dealership. Now this would not be an issue but I purchased a Nissan Leaf electric vehicle where there is so much electronic equipment that requires an authorized dealer to repair. Additionally, I live 35 minutes away from Gwinnett Place Ford and 12 minutes from Regal Nissan of Roswell. Furthermore, I explicitly remember stating to the finance manager that I live near the Regal Nissan and if his warranty would allow me to service there then I will purchase their contract. Otherwise I will go to my credit union and purchase their contract if his did not meet my qualifications. The address on my contract is very specific in detailing where I live and the disappearing deductible condition on the contract is highly deceptive to even a well educated and well versed buyer such as myself. Now I must drive my vehicle 35 minutes (with no traffic) to have the Ford Dealer then tell me they can not service my vehicle and then drive that distance in the other direction plus the additional 12 minutes (no traffic). I feel I was very deceived by the contract and the verbal description and representations made by the extended warranty sold by Gwinnett Place Ford. Given that condition, there should be a more easy to read description of the "disappearing deductible" by bigger font or bold print on the limitation of the service agreement. As it was sold and represented to me it is very deceptive as the manager knew I lived and worked almost 50 minutes away with traffic as we discussed my occupation and the very obvious address listed on my contract. Given this deceptive sales practice I would like to receive a refund of the service agreement or have a contractual agreement to waive the $100 service deductible on the vehicle should it require future service. I feel this is an amiable, proper, and reputable action by Gwinnett Place Ford.

Desired Settlement
Given this deceptive sales practice I would like to receive a refund of the service agreement or have a contractual agreement to waive the $100 service deductible on the vehicle should it require future service. I feel this is an amiable, proper, and reputable action by Gwinnett Place Ford.

Business Response
First I would like to say that any perceived misrepresentation was purely a misunderstanding. You see we also own Gwinnett Place Nissan where we would direct **** to take his Nissan Leaf. The disappearing deductible is honored there as well as at the Ford store.

However, we will gladly enter an agreement to pay the $100 deductible for each use of the coverage or Cancel the Service Contract and give **** a full refund. If he chooses the refund option, the refund would have to be sent to his lender if he financed the Nissan Leaf. If he did not finance it he would receive a full refund but would be giving up the future coverage.

Please pass the two options on to **** and let me know how he wants to proceed.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Gwinnett Ford, thank you for your prompt response and commitment to resolving the service problem. I am not opposed to using Gwinnett Nissan and will consider that if my schedule accommodates me traveling to that location. In traffic, I am 10-15 mins from Regal Nissan and work in town so traveling 30-40 mins to Gwinnett Nissan and then increasing my work commute isn't what I planned for. My question to you would be how may we enter into an agreement that would make this easy for you and me all while facilitating the $100 deductible payment if and when it ever needs to be paid? Please advise and thank you again for your prompt resolution.

12/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 18 November, 2015 I purchased a used 2015 Honda Civic Si from the Gwinnett Place Ford Dealersip in Duluth, GA. Everything was fine with the vehicle, until 20 November, 2015, when I noticed wires from the truck cover going underneath the cargo tray. I removed the tray to find a numerous wires and two cables going underneath the back seats, which appeared to be the remenants of an aftermarket speaker system. I took the vehicle to Autonation Honda of Columubs to see about removing the wires. The tech told me that the cables were still hooked up to the battery and were a fire hazard. The vehicle should have never been sold in this condition. I asked him to disconnect the cables from the battery so that it was safe to drive. I contacted the Ford Dealership and spoke to the gentleman who sold me the vehicle. I explained to him the situation and sent him pictures of the exposed wires and cables. He stated that he must speak to his manager and he would call me right back. He did not call me right back. I waited 30 minutes and then called him. I was told that the manager stated that their dealership did everything that was needed to make the vehicle safe. In addition they would not reimburse me for any out of pocket expenses to remove the cables. I asked if they would remove the cables for me if I brought the vehicle back to them. Once again, I was told that the manager would have to be consulted and I would be called right back. That was 4:30pm on Friday, 20 November. It is now 10:15am on 23 November and no one has called me back. I don't expect much from this dealer. It is obvious that they do not care once the sale has been made. My issue is their willingness to sell a vehicle to a customer with a potential fire or safety hazard. Not to mention their indifference once the issue has been brought to their attention.
Product_Or_Service: 2015 Honda Civic Si

Desired Settlement
I have already paid money out of pocket to have the wiring and cables removed from Southern Motors Honda in Savannah, GA. It would be nice for the Ford Dealership to reimburse me for that, but the removal of the wires is purely cosmetic. The problem was leaving the wires hooked up and allowing me to drive the car off the lot when it was a potential fire hazard. I don't want any of their future customers to be placed at risk.

Business Response
We mailed a check to the customer yesterday for $130.00. This is the amount he spent at the Honda store in Savannah to have the wires removed.

I responded earlier that our intentions were to reimburse him for the actual expenses for the removal. It took several days to get the information from the Honda store that did the removal.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


03/28/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Autodealer fraud and misleading advertisement.
On 3/10/2016 I purchased a 2015 Ford Mustang convertible VIN# *****************. I went online and found the car listed for $23,988. I met with ****** (car seller) and he told me the car had 1 owner and it had not been in any wrecks. Once I was approved for financing. I went to the finance office to purchase the car with *** ******. He had me sign the contract and buyer's guide first (binding me to the purchase). He scanned or faxed it. Then, he left the office and returned with the first sheet of the carfax and had me sign it. Since, I didn't have my checkbook, he told me I could bring them in tomorrow and I would get all of my paperwork. He explained I would get copies of everything that I signed and the window form. I returned the next day 3/11/2016 and they gave me an envelope that was supposed to have the paperwork. The next morning 3/12/2016 I went through the paperwork and noticed that the window form and carfax was missing, I was charged for a environmental fee ($997), and I was charged a customer service me (699.99), and the price of the car was $25,999. I went into the dealership and spoke with **** ****, a manager, to get the window sticker and the carfax on 3/15/2016. I also asked him about my concerns. He told me that I needed to speak with ****** or the manager (***** ********). *** *****(Pre-owned Director) called me on 3/16/2016 and apologized and said that if I come in he would get me the paperwork I was missing, remove the fees, and look into the vehicle price because he didn't want me to think that I was taken advantage of. I returned to the dealership on 3/18/2016 and *** wasn't there and ****** did a lot of talking but never got me the carfax instead he told that that was finance's job and *** ****** could get it. I left without the requested paperwork and the fees still on my account. I called *** 3/21/2016 Monday morning to get the documents and ask him again about the fees. He recanted his original statement and told me that he couldn't remove the customer service fee for or the environmental package fee because the work was done on my car. I asked him for an invoice so i could know what was done to my car. He told me there wasn't an invocie and it was really just a way for dealerships to make a profit. I went into the dealership again to and asked ****** for the window sticker and the carfax and that I had to sign my warranty removal. ****** told me that the window sticker was thrown away. I told him that my contract states that the window form is part of my contract, but I have never seen it. I asked him for a copy of it. He told me that it only says "as is" and I don't need it. He left to get the form that I had to sign. He returned not with my carfax or a copy of the window form, but with ***** ***** (Finance person)and he tried to get me to keep the warranty. I signed the document to remove the warranty. ****** returned again without any of the requested documents. I explained to him that I needed the carfax, a copy of the warranty removal, and a copy of the window ticket. He left for a long time and returned and handed me a stack of papers. Later, I noticed that he only gave me the carfax. I read the carfax and noticed that it stated that my vehicle was a rental vehicle. I am confused because when I asked before I signed the contract. I was told that my vehicle only had 1 owner. I texted him 3/22/2016 at 8:08am asking for the other missing documents to be emailed to me. He read it at 9:01am, but I haven't received any response. I would never had paid for a rental vehicle had I known. Let alone $25,000 for a rental vehicle. I contacted the dealership about the vehicle being a rental and it not being disclosed to me on 3/22/2016. *** responded that I signed the carfax and it was a form of disclosure. I had explained that I didn't notice rental on the carfax, but I was legally binded to the car before I saw the carfax so it should've been said and not snuck in there after I have signed.

Desired Settlement
I would like the window sticker that was on my vehicle or a copy of it. I would like a copy of the warranty removal document. I would like either the invoice for my records and details of the work that was done to my vehicle or a refund for the environmental package fee of $997. The customer service fee states that it includes scheduled service reminders, service discounts, limited towing reimbursement, key registration, customer appreciation award, and services included in the Preferred Customer Benefit package. No one could tell me what the preferred customer benefits package is. Tim ***** told me he never heard of it. Either way, I haven't received any of that, so I would like the customer service fee refunded (699.99). The sneaking in the rental vehicle after a customer signs the contract is really bad for business. I absolutely love my car, but my experience has been tainted. Sneaking fees and charging clients more than the listed price on a vehicle, hoping that they don't see it before they sign, is horrible. Even if GA doesn't have a cooling off period, I would like them to atleast make it right.

Business Response
In response to ***** ********'s complaints I would be happy to go item by item and explain each event.

However, we have already offered to refund the $997 Environmental Protection Pkg charge and cancel the Optional Service Contract coverage and provide her with any documents she would like.

Or we will refund 100% of the purchase price and down payment and take the car back, effectively unwinding the deal and putting her back where she was prior to purchasing the vehicle.

She asked my manager if she could have until tomorrow to decide and was certainly told that she could let us know then.

If you more clarity on her concerns, let me know.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Buyers beware!!! I do not accept the dealerships response because it was a ploy to shut me up. I turned the car in and they gave me my deposit back. However, they sent a guy who had nothing to do with the incident with the apologies. Not only that, I had to sign a non-disclosure agreement to not ruin the dealership's reputation. Before I signed I informed them that I did inform Dale Russell and Clark Howard and if they wanted to do an investigation I was going to answer their questions. It was confirmed by ******** (the general manager) that I could finish anything that was started before I signed. However, I couldn't start anything new. Because this was started before I signed, I am able to let people know that this dealership is crooked and filled with a bunch of people who are only there to make money and they don't care how they do it. Even if it is fraudulent or on the borders of fraud.

03/09/2016Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On February 23rd 2016 I brought my 2006 F-150 to the Quick Service Lane of Gwinnett Place Ford for an oil change and tire rotation. A couple hours after dropping the vehicle off I received a call from the service advisor informing me that in addition to the oil change and tire rotation many additional service items needed to be addressed based on the inspection. The service advisor started by saying that the brake fluid, rear differential and spark plugs needed attention. I stopped the service advisor at that point and asked how that was possible? I had a 100,000 mile service performed at 101,383 miles and at that time the differential had been serviced and the spark plugs had been replaced. The brake fluid had been flushed at 118,971 miles. The truck had 121,300 miles at the time of the current service. At that point the service advisor admitted that the service tech had not actually looked to see if these items needed to be replaced but they were based solely on mileage. That there was no inspection performed on these items. I declined any additional work and arranged to pick up the truck later in the afternoon. As I drove away from the dealership the brake pedal started to pulse and the ABS light illuminated on the dash. I continued to drive home, stopping several times to see if turning the truck off and restarting would clear the problem. In each case the brake pedal would eventually pulse and the light would return. On February 24th 2016 I returned to the dealership. I explained what had been happening since the truck was serviced. A couple hours later I received a call that the exciter ring was damaged and that the repair would be $358 dollars. I was told there was no way it was damaged during the service performed the prior day. It must have already been damaged and the vibration from the impact wrench shook the ring apart. After the blatant upsell I experienced the prior day associated with items found to need service that were not inspected I do not believe the dealership. I believe they broke the exciter ring and they are unwilling to admit their error.
Product_Or_Service: Oil Change and Tire Rotation

Desired Settlement
I do not believe this dealership/service department to be honest in their dealings with me. I plan to take the truck to an independent mechanic and would like the dealership to pay the cost of my repair.

Business Response
My Service Director and Mr. ******** have talked by phone and it was reported to me that he has been satisfied through the efforts on that phone call.

If this is not true please let me know.

02/26/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Did not want 2 accept our financing.Ranned credit 5 times, we promised 2 only. Caused my scores to drop. They Lied & was out to get us 4 no reason.

We were an easy buyer, we looked up the vehicle on line called they still had it went right there and only looked at the one vehicle. After we had agreed on the price and the deal. We at that time let them know we had our own financing. You had to be there to see the looks on there faces.The sales person Tony, supposing wrote down the price I had shown him on my pad that we would agree to and then we were to sign it, left out one of the numbers, I noticed it but got side tracked when signing it and forgot to ask him about it. When he came out, he had written a zero behind the number and that's when I said to him that is not the number I told you,he said oh yes it is, I took out my pad and showed him, ,then he said **** the other sales person notice it in the office and that he realized that he didn't write but 4 numbers down, the said but I put it in and you had already signed the offer. Well from my background, that constitutes a counter offer. So he says well if it's goes any lower then that it won't be a deal but I was all in and wanted the truck. Then lo and behold he brings out the Carfax paperwork. 3 owners in the last 2.5 years? why so many owners.. Oh he had stories, but then again. Then he went back in and came back out to have us initial the Carfax.It was red flag and talked it over a while and then said ok. When negotiating the deal they came out there with a rate and a payment just assuming that we were not viable buyers and would fall for that. after we made the deal. we didn't want to fill out application because we told him we had our own financing. Salesman turns red and says we duped him. Then a***** came out, I guess he got mad when I teased him about not liking guys named*****, But I really was teasing. Well***** came out for what reason I still don't get. he told us that he wanted to have the opportunity to beat the interest rate that we had for our outside financing.( We Wonder why that is important?) At first we said no because we didn't want my husband ranned again. He told us he was only going to do 2 lenders in which he knew would give us a whole point lower than what we had through then the bank we came in with. He went into this long story about no such thing as a soft pull and that it would only be 1 point off our credit and the 2 places he knew would more than likely do it. I asked him are you sure there is no such thing as a soft pull on your credit he said yes he was sure. I laughed because I knew better. I work with peoples credit every single day & knew he was lying. . But against our better judgement we decided to go with it. a whole point lower, let's do it, right? Well they kept us there another 45 minutes. by the time we get back to the finance guy, he tells us that he doesn't understand what they were trying to do with us. He started quoting us the same rate we already had, and they ranned it to not 2 banks but 4 banks. We were out done and totally offended. The guy read my husbands scores and my husband hit the roof!***** lied to us. The finance guy even said and I quote "Well we usually do a soft pull to look at the credit before we send it off"! so that means a total of 5 hits on his credit. That's when my husband really got mad & me too;***** LIED and I knew he was not telling the truth. We walked because of the dishonesty and There was some reason they wanted us to go through their financing and not use our own. Who turns away willing and able buyers with their own finanicing?. It makes me really think about all the people they have done this way and not knowing, and the fact that they do so much volume. how long before we see them in the news. We think the there should be an investigation into there practices and placed in the media.

Desired Settlement
They should sell us a truck just like that one for the price we were willing to pay. If not then we would like them to be investigated for mishandling, and misleading customers and some type of compensataion should be given us for being lied to and the hits on our credit and we would like for every inquiry they put on out credit to be removed immediately.

Business Response
I am responding to the potential consumer's complaint related to sales practices. It appears from interviewing my employees and manager's that this person was the real source of the problems and not my people. Below, I will insert the comments made by the potential customers and my response. Since we never consummated a deal, there really is nothing I can do for them to help their feelings towards us. I must say though, that after they filed this complaint with the BBB, they re-contacted us to attempt to rekindle that deal we discussed with them. Unfortunately, we had already sold the vehicle that they wanted. And to be honest, I would not have wanted to sell it to them anyway, after my findings.

First complaint, the vehicle had three owners. We told them and showed them that it did. We were simply relaying the facts about previous ownership, nothing was hidden or misrepresented.

Second complaint, the sales person changed the price that the customer offered. This is untrue. The sales person wrote down the customer's offer which was $27,500 as $2,750. When the salesperson went to see the sales manager he noticed his error and added the 0 that was left off. We DID NOT CHANGE THE OFFER, we corrected the salesperson's error. Who would expect a business to sell a vehicle that the customer offered $27,500 for, for ONE TENTH of that amount? It was a simple error corrected by the person that made the error. I do not understand why the customer made an issue of this.

Third issue, the customer was combative and was rude to my manager, while he was simply introducing himself. As far as why he came out, he wanted to try and gain the financing ( we earn a commission from lenders)while saving the customer both time and money. He thought that if he could get a lower interest rate for the customer, they would be happier customers and could take the vehicle that day, without having to go back to their bank. And we would earn a commission from the lender it was placed with.

Next complaint,***** lied?***** told the customers that we would have to pull their credit and that it would show up in their credit file. The customer then suggested that we do a "soft pull" of the credit so that it would not show up The truth is and they don't want to believe it, is that Car Dealers DO NOT HAVE THE ABILITY TO DO SOFT PULLS. OTHER businesses do, but not us.***** told them that and they simply don't want to believe it. And choose to label him a liar, because they don't believe that Car Dealers CAN NOT DO SOFT PULLS.

Next issue, the customer is upset because we sent the application to four lenders. They think that each lender it is sent to affects their score. The truth is, their scores are not affected by sending an application to as many as five lenders. But on the sixth lender it can affect their score. They mention that the husband got upset when he saw his current score. Well, the one he saw was the same one that he walked into the dealership with, because the four we sent DID NOT AFFECT his score. That is why we sent it to four lenders and not six. How can we be responsible for the husband's score.

All in all, I think we and the people that filed this complaint are better served by NOT doing business than if we had done so. I am glad that they elected NOT to purchase from us.

I really don't know where else to go with this complaint, except to apologize for anything that upset them while they were at the dealership and wish them good luck in their search for a vehicle.

And as mentioned in the opening comments, they contacted us after this complaint was filed to try and come back and buy the vehicle.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We did contact the dealership, not to rekindle the deal at all. There was no way we were considering purchasing from them at that point so That is not true and It was never ever stated that that is what we wanted to do. I called to speak first to the finance manager because I was so disturbed by what went down and just wanted clarity as to why they would not even look at our financing packet to see what bank we had or anything of the sort so They didn't even know what the score was so how can they say that he walked in with it, and then I called to speak to the Owner of the dealership to find out why would they treat a buyer in such a way. as to the 3 previous owners of the vehicle we just wanted an explanation but they couldn't explain it and I will admit, they probably couldn't and just should have said they didn't know. The price was changed, that's the issue. Not that we planned to get it for 1/10 of the price, but he changed it! Not in front of us and though it was 27,500 he came back out at 27900. doesn't that constitute a counter either way? That's my point with that and my issue was that he told me that what I agreed too. Tony was great, so no problem with him.***** the sales manager got offended period. I was kidding with him about his name, however, I was not combative but had asked questions in response to his responses about what we were asking as I hope every customer does when they want to know something and he lied. He really did. The questions was not a suggestion of a soft pull, but whether or not them pulling it was a soft pull and his response should have been "dealerships can't or don't do soft pulls like other business" as stated in the their response but he said there was no such thing and that is when I said and I quote" Oh really?"and then " you are standing there telling me that there is no such thing as a soft pull?" and he said Yes. It was then asked how many points will the credit take a hit for, he said one. but that is not in their response said that the four they sent didn't effect the score. So who is telling the truth? NOW there was a 3rd contact to the dealership that was made by us from the internet that we didn't realize until the sales person called us back about another vehicle and when we found out it was from this dealership we said to him, and I quote, I'm sorry but you might have already heard about us from the weekend about us walking out of your dealership and we would unlikely purchase from there" the salesman said he had not heard but understood so there was NO REKINDLING A DEAL AT ALL! Now I agree that both parties are better served by not doing business with each other as we went to another dealership who really wanted our business, was happy to actually look at the financing we bought in which by the way was from Bank of America and then nicely explained that they like to be competitive with the rates because of the volume they do with the different banks and actually did what we asked of them and did only two banks to run the credit with. I know about credit, which is why we told***** only two and***** said they were only going to do two, but he did 4 and that is the main reason for us being upset. as you can see in their response it was dishonest. That is what this is really all about, the way everything was done and it just bothered us so badly that we placed this complaint. They never asked to see our paperwork, the salesman actually said to us and I quote "PUT THAT AWAY" So now we know the real reason they come out with those high interest rates as quote " ( we earn a commission from lenders)' SO I wonder how many people have gotten less than they deserve interest rate wise if they came in without their own financing because they get a commission from the lenders. So I will be satisfied educating consumers as I already do especially about this dealership. And will be contacting the CFPB to see if this is an ok practice especially when the public is unaware.. We are happy to say that we bought and is satisfied and not only did the dealership beat the financing we had, but made the bank we had match it and we are happy. So thank you and you can close this complaint.

07/20/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Finance Manager ****** ****** committed Auto fraud by lying about rates, vehicle pricing, and financing requirements.
On June 7, 2015 I purchased a new 2015 Ford Escape SE (Vin: *****************). From the time I entered that sales office everything was a lie. I was told in order to get the 5.9% interest rate I had to purchase $7,145.00 in additional maintenance contracts or I would have a 11.99% rate. Of course wanting the lower rate I agreed because I trusted a dealership to tell the truth. After speaking with some co-workers (I work for a bank) they told me to contact the Ford Credit Underwriting department. When contacted I was informed that I would have received the rate of 5.9% regardless of maintenance agreements. Furthermore, I had actually hurt my loan by oversaturating my loan as I am now stuck with $10,000.00 in negative equity. Seeing how they had lied to me about this I decided to look over every detail of my contracts. I was told that Skylink, and anti-theft device, was included at no cost. However, they charged me $800.00 for this device. They also overcharged me on the sticker price. The final vehicle cost based on the sticker was $33,397.00. ****** actually charged me $33,697.00. Effectively stealing $300.00 from me. On top of that was a $699.99 customer service fee. So in all they conned me, fraudulently, into giving them an extra $8944.99. I am seeking legal counsel for this fraudulent act.

Desired Settlement
I have already requested, via the contracted company, the refunds for the service agreements. At this time I am asking for Gwinnett Place Ford to refund the following:
$800.00 Skylink Fee paid to ford credit.
$699.99 Customer Service Fee paid to ford credit.
$300.00 Overcharge on vehicle sticker price paid to ford credit.
$2000.00 Inconvenience and settlement to me so that I will not seek further litigation.

Business Response
After receiving the customers phone call and email complaint, we promptly cancelled all products he requested be cancelled and refunded other requested monies that are customary charges and completely legitimate.

We are not interested in paying $2,000 for what he says is for inconvenience or for his threat of legal action.

For the record, he signed multiple documents agreeing to purchase and acknowledging the purchase of the items that were cancelled immediately upon his request.

Also, in the state of Georgia we are allowed to "mark up" the interest rate to any amount as long as we do not exceed state Usery Laws. So, Mr. ****** was free to charge the 11.99% at his discretion. Or charge the lower rate.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Firstly, Gwinnett Place Ford DID NOT cancel the products. I did. Secondly, I have been in contact with Ford Customer Relations & Ford Credit. It is considered Auto Fraud to state that I did not qualify for a Ford interest rate unless I purchased additional packages. Charging a customer $300.00 above the Sticker Price is also just wrong. This entire deal is wrong, and no I have not received all the monies that were owed. Sales Manager *** stated that I should have gotten an additional $3,500.00 credited to my Ford Credit Account. He stated in front of witnesses that what transpired was wrong and that the $3,500.00 check would be cut 06/29/2015 when the account staff was back in office. When I called into the dealership the Accounts Payable lady didn't even know what was going on. *** stated that the check was mailed on Sunday. Another lie. My ford credit account as still not been credited. As such I have spoken to Ford Credit and Ford Corporate Offices and have been advised by both to return the vehicle to the dealership. So that is what I am doing.

Final Business Response
***** has returned to the dealership and Traded in the Ford Escape, the vehicle that he purchased and the subject vehicle of the dispute. He told me personally that while he is still upset with ****** ******, he is happy with the outcome and really wanted a different vehicle.

I really know what to do at this point, he said he was happy.

10/15/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 8/7/13 I signed documents to lease a 2013 Lincoln MKZ. I drove the vehicle home and a little less than a week later I received a call from the finance department stating that **** did not want to do the lease but capital one would finance it for much higher payments. I refused the new terms because I thought that everything was a done deal once I signed and drove off with the car.The next day I called **** Corporate office and inquired about the lease terms and I was told that since I signed the documents that I was bound to the lease, I then called an attorney and explained and I was told that **** was bound to the lease even if it is not signed by them because they wrote it up and its implied. I called the dealership to explain my findings with the sales/finance manager, I was told that I had received buyers orders that says everything is conditional upon financing. This was not explained to me up front. On 8/16/13 when I returned the vehicle I asked the sales manager for my $5900 check back at least 3 times. He refused and I had to leave because the rental car person was there to pick me up. I was expecting to receive my original check back since they said that the deal was not consummated. I checked my bank account a couple days later and was furious to see that the dealership had cashed my check. I called and made a fuss and they cut me a check the following day.ABC recently aired a showed called The Lookout I was appalled to see the segment about two women who had went to separate dealerships and the exact same thing that happened to me happened to them verbatim. I now know that the dealership has committed a fraudulent act against me. The show alerted me to the yoyo financing practices that dealerships are doing to cause harm to consumers, which is why I am contacting the BBB & FTC to file this complaint. I still dont have a car and I have wasted lots of money on rental cars.
Product_Or_Service: 2013

Desired Settlement
I feel that the lease terms that I signed and agreed upon should be honored, as well as be made whole for the time and money that I have lost, as well as prevent this from happening to anyone else.

Business Response
Unfortunately the terms the customer would like cannot be obtained by the lender for certain reasons. Customer did have purchase options and choose not to use those therefore a deal could not be completed between the two parties. No monies have been retained of customers and we feel that any and all obligations have been fulfilled by our dealership.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/01/1996Business started: 12/01/1988New Owner Date: 04/01/1999
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: March 1999, GA

Business Management
Mr. Mike Jordan (General Manager)
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Stacy Kelley Customer Contact: Mr. Ed Curry Ms. Beth Haye (Director Customer Relation)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Boomershine Ford (f/k/a), GAFUT, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Gwinnett Place Ford has received 3.7 out of 5 stars based on 2 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Gwinnett Place Ford

3230 Satellite Blvd

Duluth, GA 30096-4641

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3230 Satellite Blvd 

    Duluth, GA 30096-4641(770) 476-2090
    (886) 438-6203
    Fax: (770) 497-1591

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Gwinnett Place Ford is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (886) 438-6203
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.