BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/24/2004

Gwinnett Place Ford

Phone: (770) 476-2090Fax: (770) 497-1591View Additional Phone Numbers3230 Satellite Blvd, DuluthGA 30096-4641 Send email to Gwinnett Place Ford

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/24/2004

BBB has determined that Gwinnett Place Ford meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Gwinnett Place Ford's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service9
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 15

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (15)BBB Closure Definitions
10/15/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 8/7/13 I signed documents to lease a 2013 Lincoln MKZ. I drove the vehicle home and a little less than a week later I received a call from the finance department stating that **** did not want to do the lease but capital one would finance it for much higher payments. I refused the new terms because I thought that everything was a done deal once I signed and drove off with the car.The next day I called **** Corporate office and inquired about the lease terms and I was told that since I signed the documents that I was bound to the lease, I then called an attorney and explained and I was told that **** was bound to the lease even if it is not signed by them because they wrote it up and its implied. I called the dealership to explain my findings with the sales/finance manager, I was told that I had received buyers orders that says everything is conditional upon financing. This was not explained to me up front. On 8/16/13 when I returned the vehicle I asked the sales manager for my $5900 check back at least 3 times. He refused and I had to leave because the rental car person was there to pick me up. I was expecting to receive my original check back since they said that the deal was not consummated. I checked my bank account a couple days later and was furious to see that the dealership had cashed my check. I called and made a fuss and they cut me a check the following day.ABC recently aired a showed called The Lookout I was appalled to see the segment about two women who had went to separate dealerships and the exact same thing that happened to me happened to them verbatim. I now know that the dealership has committed a fraudulent act against me. The show alerted me to the yoyo financing practices that dealerships are doing to cause harm to consumers, which is why I am contacting the BBB & FTC to file this complaint. I still dont have a car and I have wasted lots of money on rental cars.
Product_Or_Service: 2013

Desired Settlement
I feel that the lease terms that I signed and agreed upon should be honored, as well as be made whole for the time and money that I have lost, as well as prevent this from happening to anyone else.

Business Response
Unfortunately the terms the customer would like cannot be obtained by the lender for certain reasons. Customer did have purchase options and choose not to use those therefore a deal could not be completed between the two parties. No monies have been retained of customers and we feel that any and all obligations have been fulfilled by our dealership.

08/22/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Extra fees added onto advertised price of my car.
I purchased my car in may of 2012. I just recently was notified that the only fees that could be applied to an advertised price were tax tags and title. Looking over my agreement I was charged a "dealer fee" of $699.99 and an "admin fee" of $31.99 on top of the advertised purchase price.

Desired Settlement
I would like the admin fee of 31.99 and dealer fee of 699.99 refunded back to me.

Business' Initial Response
Looking through customers deal there is no evidence of any advertised price, therefore customer is not eligible for any type of refund based on the claim.

02/26/2014Advertising / Sales Issues
08/20/2013Problems with Product / Service
02/19/2013Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
02/17/2015Problems with Product / Service
05/31/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
11/26/2012Problems with Product / Service
06/21/2012Guarantee / Warranty Issues
06/04/2012Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/01/1996Business started: 12/01/1988New Owner Date: 04/01/1999
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: March 1999, GA

Business Management
Mr. Mike Jordan (General Manager)
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Stacy Kelley Customer Contact: Mr. Ed Curry Ms. Beth Haye (Director Customer Relation)
Number of Employees

50

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Boomershine Ford (f/k/a), GAFUT, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Gwinnett Place Ford

3230 Satellite Blvd

Duluth, GA 30096-4641

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3230 Satellite Blvd 

    Duluth, GA 30096-4641(770) 476-2090
    (886) 438-6203

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Gwinnett Place Ford is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (886) 438-6203
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.