BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/25/2007

BMW of South Atlanta

Phone: (770) 969-0755Fax: (678) 479-46984171 Jonesboro Rd, Union CityGA 30291-2251 Send email to BMW of South Atlanta

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/25/2007

BBB has determined that BMW of South Atlanta meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised BMW of South Atlanta's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 21 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

21 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service17
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 21

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on BMW of South Atlanta

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (21)BBB Closure Definitions
11/04/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was sold a 2008 750 Li by BMW South Atlanta on 3/30/2013 with frame damage. I did not know that vehicle had frame damage until I tried to trade the vehicle in to BMW Global Imports in Georgia. That is when the sales representative came to me and said that they could not give me more than $16,000 for this vehicle because of frame damage. I gladly walked out of the dealership, because I thought that they were trying to low ball me on my trade. The following weekend I took my vehicle to Car Max in South Lake Georgia to have them give my a written appraisal offer for my vehicle. Forty five minutes later the appraisal offer came back for $16,000 due to Frame Damage. I immediately called my sales agent at BMW South Atlanta and demanded answers. He told me that I would have to talk to the General Manager. After two weeks of phone calls to the General Manager, he and I spoke and I said to him that I was sold a $36,000 dollar BMW with frame damage. He told me to come back to the dealership and they would work out something on a trade, but when I got there they offered my $20,000 for the vehicle and the GM never came out to discuss the issue of me being sold a vehicle with Frame Damage. Since then I have left multiple messages for the BMW South Atlanta GM and I have not received a call back. My next step it to write a detailed letter to BMW corporate. This is unacceptable from a dealership, and to be sold a BMW extended warranty on a vehicle with Frame Damage feels like I was double robbed. I have tried to sell the vehicle private party and had two buyers, but once they got it checked out, they pulled out of the deal because there mechanics indicated Frame Damage on the vehicle. How can a dealership with this kind of history sell vehicles and sell warranty's with Frame Damage? This is truly unacceptable and embarrassing to the BMW brand and corporate ownership at BMW of South Atlanta. Please double check your vehicles after purchasing from BMW of South Atlanta.
Product_Or_Service: BMW
Account_Number: WBAHN83528DT78316

Desired Settlement
I would like to be paid the private party value of the vehicle, plus a full refund of the Extended Service Warranty.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Steve Carvalho, GM
Contact Phone: 678-479-4600
Contact Email: scarvalho@sonsautogroup.com
First off - we Value Mr. Strickland as a customer and would like to assist in servicing his automotive needs.
Mr. Strickland did in fact purchase a used BMW 750 from our center back in 2013. This was not a new nor certified vehicle and neither BMW of N. America nor the state of GA require any disclosure for previous damage and repair. Further, this is a structurally sound vehicle that met BMW standards complete with a clean Carfax and AutoCheck report and does not disqualify for any warranties hence when he requested a warranty we obliged and sold him a warranty with his purchase. This unit and all terms of sale are not in violation of any state or factory covennat or law. I as the General Manager spoke directly with Mr. Strickland shortly after he was given the $16000 figures from the other dealers and assured him that in any case the vehicle was worth more than they offered and further to dispute his claims I did in fact explain in detail about these vehicles being of "Unibody" construction and if a quarter panel was replaced it could in fact be termed "frame damage" but it was not as serious as the terminology sounds but is technically an accurate categorization of the vehicle. I then invited Mr. Strickland back to our center to see if we could help him replace this vehicle as he stated his needs have changed and he now needs a SUV to accomodate his family. Wev structured a deal for Mr. Strickland on a SUV in inventory and offered him a trade value of $21500 on August 7 2014. Kelly Blue Book "Good Private Party Condition" which is the value for over 54% of vehicles like his is $21,270. Trade in value for the same condition and equipment is $19025 so we have exceeded his request and as I stated to him previously, the other dealers may have been trying to take advantage of him by offering a trade value as low as they have offered. Unfortunately, I cannot apologize for anything here to Mr. Strickland as we did not do anything wrong as if we were to reacquire this vehicle on trade we would not hesitate to place it back on our lot and re-sell it to another Client as it is a great 7 year old vehicle. Excuse me if the presumption I am about to make make offends Mr. Strickland in anyway but I beleive the real issue lies in the fact that Mr, Stricland is upside down on his loan by several thousand dollars and this is the catalyst for this issue. Upon purchase the vehicle Mr. Strickland purchased 2 policies totaling $4989 that naturally have been added to his loan amount(These policies can be cancelled for partial refund as per warranty company guidleines) Further Mr. Strickland made this purchase without putting any cash as down payment so unlike most consumer he has rolled his taxes and fees that amounted to about $3000 into this loan. The toal of warranties, taxes and fees have added about $8000 to his loan and without putting down any cash on this purchase the loan payoff balance exceeds the value by more than 20%. The other variable that Mr. Strickland must take into consideration is that luxury vehicles such as this are expected to depreciate at an annual mileage of 10-12k miles and he has driven in excess of this and it also further depreciates the vehicle.
To Recap: This vehicle was not sold in violation of any factory or state disclosure laws and has a clean carfax and autocheck in this regard. It does in fact qualify for extended warranties as the warranty company also deems it to be warrantable in its current conditon. GM did in fact address these issues and have quantification of this as our phone calls are recorded for training purposes.I the General manager have returned every message that has been left for me including having his Client advisor contact him numerous times. Finally, my center has already offered Mr. Stricland a trade value that amounts to more than KBB private party sale and he can in fact cancel his purchased warranty policies for a partial refund per the policy contract.
In closing: We value Mr. Strickland as our Client and this complaint as well as the threat of contacting BMW of N. America in this regard are suggested by our center so he can realize that we did not do anything incorrectly and at the end of this discovery we welocme Mr. Strickland to return to our center and will always try to help satisfy his automotive needs should he decide to return and give us the opportunity.

11/27/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a 09 **** ****** for my wife on September 19, 2013 from the BMW dealership in Atlanta Ga. Within two weeks the check engine light came on. We had purchased an extended warranty so we took the car to our hometown mechanic since we live two hours from Atlanta. He informed us the thermostat needed replaced which was covered under our warranty, but he also found carbon build-up on the valves. This couldn't have happened within two weeks. Our mechanic informed us of a service bulletin from BMW about this issue. So we called BMW and let them know of this issue and they said it was our fault for not running high test gas (which we did use). So they said we had to bring it back to Atlanta for them to assess the problem for themselves. After they assessed the car they called saying it would cost us $695.00 to correct this issue. They had the car for a week and repaired the thermostat (that our warranty covered) and a recall voluntarily. They didn't touch the carbon issue. After many phone calls BMW said if I would try two fuel treatments in my gas and return after that another two hour drive (and they offered to supply the two fuel treatments and we still havent recieved those), and if the carbon issue wasn't resolved they would pay for half of the repair cost. We return to pick up the car of course it wasn't ready after repeated calls that we were coming. When they pull it around it had trash in it, stains on my leather seats, and some kind of "gunk" running down from my gas tank. Well it's been two weeks and my engine light is back on. BMW wants me to bring them the car to them to repair ( and I pay half). I feel they knew the car was subpar and I don't think that we should be responsible for the repair. At the time of purchase we were assured that the car was in "excellent running condition because their shop had inspected the car completely" per ***** ******** our sales person. Again we only had the car two weeks when the check engine light came on.

Desired Settlement
My wife has wanted a **** ****** for a couple of years and she loves her car.I would like to keep the car for her, we just want the car repaired. I believe if it can't be repaired then we can explore a replacement or a refund. This has been an awful experience and we just want these issues resolved. I do feel that we should not be responsible for the repair.

Business Response
To Whom It May Concern:

Mr. ******* purchased a used vehicle from our location back on Sept. 19,2013. Mr. ******* shopped this vehicle online and had access to the ****** and ********* records as furnished online by my Center.

Mr. ******* then had an opportunity of dicovery upon visiting our center. He was asked to test drive, inspect and be sure that this vehicle met his criteria prior to delivery

Mr. ******* signed an FTC guide stating that the vehicle was sold "As Is" No Warranty, he signed a "We Owe" stating that we have not verbally promised anything in addition, he signed a "purchase disclosure" specific to his vehicle stating that he acknowledges that the vehicle has no warranty or guarranty and any occurence after delivery will be at his expense and finally he signed a warranty declination page stating that he declined to purchase any warranties for this vehicle. All of these signed documents are available by request and consent of the customer to release to BBB on his behalf.

A few weeks after purchase, mr. ******* calls our pre-owned manager telling him that his mechanic has looked at the vehicle and it needs about $6000 worth of repairs. Upon hearing this I advise ****** ********* my pre-owned manager to let Mr. ******* know that we would absolutely look at his vehicle here in our shop and if possible extend some goodwill to assist but we would not extend goodwill for a vehicle in an outside repair shop.

The vehicle arrives at our dealership and Mr. ******* states that his mechanic confirmed a "carbon" issue that **** has published a bulletin in regards to.

I, ***** ******** personally spoke with Mr. ******* after the vehicle arrived at our shop and firstly stated that we are not obligated to address anything on this vehicle as it was purchased "As Is" however I did offer to assist with 50% payment of any required work as a goodwill gesture.

Mr. ******* outside warrantry paid for a thermostat so the only thing left was the carbon blast of the engine. Our suggestion to Mr. ******* was to try a fuel additive for 2 tanks of gas and if that fails then we can open up the engine and my offer -which I sent to him in writing via email - would still stand. I used the anology of not having open heart surgery if there were alternative remedies to the issue instead of having heart bypass surgery - which is what the carbon blast is equivalent to in terms of opening up the engine. I offered to provide the fuel treatment, pay for his fuel to drive to Atlanta, detail his vehicle once again, provide a loaner car and of course absorb 50% of the ticket.

My staff put in the first bottle of fuel treatment and filled up his tank with gas. Upon his re-fueling 10 days later, the check engine light is back on the vehicle. As part of our initial resolution, he was to bring the car back to have it checked and or have the decarbonization treatment done as per my good will resoution. He instead has sent an email directing us to buy back the vehicle and has also opened this BBB case instead of following through with the proposed resolution.

He makes references to the dealership selling him a vehicle that we knew was deficient - quite the contrary as this vehicle was purchased here as brand new and has always been serviced at our center. The vehicle has never missed any service interval and upon our inspection prior to sale there were no codes, indications or deficienices present or detected via computer scan tools. This is a good vehicle.

His current check engine light could be from a multitude of things including tier 2 gas, not clicking the fuel cap, sediment at the gas station in which he filled up etc...

That said we were still waiting for his return to go forward with the resolution that we agreed upon a couple of weeks ago but instead we are in the demand and threaten stage of buying back the car.

Lets' be clear - BMW & **** of South Atlanta do not have to do anything in this case in regards to a customer purchasing a car out of warranty that now has issues but we are willing to offer goodwill in the spirit of customer service. Also, we will absolutely not be buying this vehicle back from Mr. ******* as there is nothing to substantiate any wrongdoing on our end as he claims.

Our goal is always to try to help customers but when the expectation of what was delivered is not realistic it makes any resolution other than what the customer wants diffciult to attain.

We sincerly hope that Mr. ******* finds resolution fitting by his perception and further we are willing to be 100% compliant with any investigation by any authorized agency to confirm the condition and state of this vehicle.

I will personally inform Mr. ******* that in light of this BBB case and his threats of potential litigation to follow that I will have to rescind my offer of goodwill as everything related to this file will be turned over to our legal department.

I can personally be reached for any further comments or questions.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I did purchase this vehicle on 9/19/13. It was 21 days(10/10/13) after the date of purchase that the check engine light came on. I do in fact have an extended warranty on this vehicle. I dropped the car off at the mechanic here in town that day because my wife and I where going out of town. They called to advise me of there diagnosis 10/15/13. There was an issue with carbon build up on the valves that was causing a misfire with the cylinders and the thermostat needed to be replaced. My extended warranty was willing to replace the thermostat but was not willing to fix the carbon build up issue because they feel this is not an issue that we could have caused in 21 days. **** also has a service bulletin out for this exact issue. At this point I called BMW/MINI of South Atlanta and spoke with ****** ********* on 10/15/13 about the issue and he advised me he was going to speak with ***** ******** which is the ******* ***** ******* about helping us resolve this issue. I never told Mr. ********* the repair was $6000 which Mr. ******** stated. They did request that we bring the vehicle to them which we complied. Their diagnosis was the same as the mechanic here in ******* but yet they tried to blame us for "tier 2 gas". Mr. ******** did make a request that we try the fuel treatment for two tanks of gas, that he would supply the treatment. We picked the car up from them on 10/24/13 and they did supply one treatment, we never received the second treatment that was promised. After multiple attempts to get the second treatment with no success, I spoke with **** ******* a ******* ******* at the dealership on 10/29/13(because we still had not received the fuel treatment) and requested a equivalent treatment we could purchase locally. He recommended any fuel treatment from the "parts store". I purchased the treatment and installed that day when I refueled. When the check engine light came back on a few days later I called several times and tried to speak with Mr. ******** he was not available. I left a message for him to call me back with no response. At this point I sent him an email on 11/6/13 with no response from him once again I sent him another email that I can forward it to you if you would like. I was not a threat which is clearly stated in the email, I was just letting him know that I have rights also. That is when I opened the complaint with the BBB. Several of his statements in his response to you are not accurate. I would like to point them out now, Mr. ******** accuses us of using "tier 2 gas" when in fact I can produce receipts verifying otherwise. He also states I told Mr. ********* the repair was $6000 which is false, he also stated that "they are still waiting for my return to go further with the resolution" where in fact he told me to "use another service center to perform your vehicle tasks". I can also forward you the email confirming this statement. He also stated that they would detail the car again, they have not done this the first time. Once again I would be more than happy to provide any and all of the above stated e-mails. We did request in an email that we would like this to be resolved by either returning the vehicle or coming to a fair resolution. If BMW/MINI of South Atlanta did a complete, and comprehensive inspection as they have stated they did, they would have know this issue was "pre-existing" and therefore we feel it is only fair that they take care of this issue. As you can read in the emailed we did not threaten anyone (that is stated in the email) we only desire to be listened to and treated fairly, but we also have avenues we can take if need be.

Final Business Response
With all due respect to the BBB and Mr. *******, any further resolution is conmpletely out of my hands. Upon the client stating formally in an email the following: "Not only could I pursue legal action against the dealership for misrepresentation, I may also have a claim under the Fair Business Practices Act for fraud".

The enitre ordeal is no longer at my discretion.

My spirit and intent was to offer goodwill to a client to help remedy his concern but in light of the potential threats of litigation and fraudulent claims, I am compelled to turn all matters going forward over to our legal department.

I thank the BBB for the outstanding job you do in trying to mediate in these matters and I truly wish Mr. ******* the best going forward.

I can be reached directly for any further inquiry from the BBB at (XXX) XXX-XXXX.

Regards.

11/06/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 7/22/13, I took my 07 BMW **** to South Atlanta BMW to have underbody damage from a pothole incident addressed.Damage assessment had been previously diagnosed that day as swaybar/subframe damage by another shop. I chose to take the car to the closest BMW dealership assuming I would receive a higher quality of service. During consultation with service advisor ****** ******** I was advised they would have to do their own diagnosis. After I agreed to repairs & submitting insurance claim information, the car was repaired & picked up on Aug 2nd; the beginning of my nightmare. First issue was parts of the car wasn't reassembled properly & poor front end alignment. On Aug 9th,I returned to the dealership to have this & other issues addressed; the greatest of which was an underbody squeaking/popping noise which caused me a huge level of concern as to the safety of the vehicle & quality of the repairs. This visit exemplified the poor level of service received from BMW S ATL. After expressing my concern about repairs,I felt dismissed & disrespected by advisor ******** Since progress wasn't being made my husband & I asked to see the manager. We spoke with ******* ***** ******* ***** ******** about service advisor's disrepectful attitude & unwillingness to have previous work inspected. The manager advised they would reinspect work they had done. Leaving that day, I didn't feel comfortable inspect was done.After heightened levels of concern about the safety of my vehicle due to continued squeaking/popping noises,I took the car to another shop,where it was revealed that 3 bolts to the subframe weren't tightened & 1 bolt was omitted. This made me furious to know BMW of S ATL's work was indeed incomplete even after the reinspect, but more so it put me, my loved ones & others in danger. I contacted my insurance adjuster & the car was put in another shop & repairs were done....correctly. Work was warranted at BMW South ATL but I wasn't going back to give them another shot to cause me harm! Will NEVER return!!

Desired Settlement
I would like reimbursement for the associated expenses I paid to the second shop to inspect the problem of the missing bolt and the 3 loose bolts to the subframe/sway bar.

Business Response
Please accept my apology for your inconvienence. Please advise the dollar amount of the reimbursement you are looking to receive. Our records show this was an ******** claim.

Final Consumer Response
I didn't entertain BMW's response as they obviously didn't
take time to thoroughly read and understand.....which is another disregard for this customer. I requested BMW of South Atlanta to reimburse me for having to take my car to another shop to have the problem they caused by leaving work incomplete (they omitted 1 bolt and left 3 loose from subframe/sway) even after returning to them to check their repair(obviously they didn't re-check or missed twice....I don't know which is worse) BMW of South Atlanta returned with response that my repairs were paid by an insurance claim which is true but as noted above that wasn't my request. I believe it is my insurance company's responsbility to take action against BMW of South Atlanta for inferior repair thus putting their insured, ***** ******,and others on the road in danger. While driving this subframe/sway bar could have dropped causing injury or worse. Other dealerships and auto professionals who I tell this horror story to can't believe a so called reputable company could be so negligent and not take responsibility. This has caused inconvenience and anxiety of driving a car that wasn't repaired correctly. Thankfully, there was a true repair professional who was able to repair my car with excellence that BMW of South Atlanta wasn't capable of doing......even when given a second to go over their work. During my conversation with the repair shop management about the incomplete work received from BMW of South Atlanta he as

Final Business Response
Please advise the dollar amount of the reimbursement you are looking to receive.

10/25/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased BMW 740i with Xzilon paint protection. I canceled Xzilon and filled out all proper paper work for refund. 3 months later still no refund.
I purchased BMW 740i with Xzilon paint protection. Couple days later, I called ****, the finance manager, and canceled Xzilon appointment and filled out all proper paper work for refund. I was told the refund will be credit directly to BMW Finance account. This never happen for 3 month. We called at least 20 times in last three months to inquire about the refund. Every time my wife and I call, **** is either on vacation or not available. So we left one message after another on his voice mail and **** never returns our call. My wife drove to this dealership over 10 times to try to get an explanation on why the refund was never processed and **** or other manager(s) will tell us to be patient and wait. **** definitely makes me and my wife feels like BMW don't care about their customer after the check cleared.

Desired Settlement
Request for a full refund of the Xzilon paint protection as promised.

Business Response
An email was sent from our GSM ***** ******** to Mr. ***. Proof of the product cancellation was attached to the email. A check has been mailed to his finance company as per our agreement with them and will be subtracted from the outstanding balance owed to them.

01/20/2015Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 3
02/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had an oil change on my 2009 BMW 750il at BMW of South Atlanta at the end of October. The oil changed was performed but the O-ring was not replaced correctly and almost all of the oil drained out of my engine. My check engine light came on as a result so I spoke to ***** **** in the service department at BMW South Atlanta. He authorized BMW of ******** to do another oil change but told me he couldn't authorize a diagnostic because my loss of oil wouldn't make the check engine light come on. So, I paid BMW of ******** to performed a diagnostic test and ******* ********* the service advisor, informed me that I had four bad fuel injectors. I asked him how could that be since the car only has 56,000 miles on it. He told me he would talk to BMW and see if they would cover the costs. He said he would call me and let me know. He never advised me not to drive the car. So, I drove the car to ********* for Christmas that day with no issues. The next day, the car would not start. ******* ******** called me the day after Christmas and told me that BMW would replace my fuel injectors at no cost to me. I told him my car was at BMW of ********* waiting to have another diagnostic performed and he told me to have it towed back to ********. I paid almost $500 for towing, and $237 for another diagnostic, only to be told that the fuel injectors ruined the engine and they would not cover the costs, almost $30,000.My warranty company and my insurance company both sent appraisers to look at the car and both appraisers concluded that fuel injectors went bad and leaked fuel into oil, which caused the engine to shut down. Both stated that, in their expert opinion, the fuel injector malfunction was a direct result of the loss of oil in the engine. Both denied my claim. I put less than 200 miles on my car between the oil change at South Atlanta and the diagnostic in ********. I have called ***** **** at BMW South Atlanta multiple times to resolve this but he has ignored my calls and my voice mails.
Product_Or_Service: Motor Vehicle

Desired Settlement
I want BMW South Atlanta to accept responsibility for what happened to my car. I want them to put a new engine in my car because I had no issues with my car until all the oil leaked out of it.

Business Response
Customer came to BMW of South Atlanta one time on 10-28-13 @ 56058 miles for an oil change. Apparently we double gasket the oil filter cap which cased a minor leak. This leak was repaired at BMW of ******** on 11-25-13. We see zero relationship with a minor oil leak and fuel injectors and accept zero responsibility.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I did not have a minor oil leak. I have pictures from my garage that show a huge puddle of oil in my garage and a trail of oil in my driveway. I had to add 3 quarts of oil before I took it to BMW of ******** to get the oil change done properly.

My check engine light was not on until after I lost most of the oil from the engine. My car had 56, 352 miles on it when the check engine light initially came on. It had 56,535 on it when it was diagnosed with bad fuel injectors. It is unheard of for any car, much less a BMW, to have bad fuel injectors at 56, 500 miles. It can't be just a coincidence that my fuel injectors went bad and started leaking fuel into the oil right after BMW of South Atlanta botched the oil change. I have two independent experts who looked at my engine and are willing to testify to that.

Final Business Response
Customer came into BMW of ******** 11-25-13 at 56353 miles and check engine light was not on. "minor oil Leak", gasket replaced, added 1 qt of oil to fill.

Customer came into BMW of ******** 12-24-13 at 56536 miles with check engine light on, fuel injectors. Customer declined and drove away.

Customer came into BMW of ******** 1-3-14 with same problem at 56836 miles.

Injectors are not related to a minor oil leak.

02/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
. After bringing my XXXX XXX* BMW in for servicing, a car purchased at the dealership, the service was terrible. After receiving my car back from servicing on December 7, 2013, I was told everything was okay with my car by ***** ******** service advisor. It was brought in for a general service and a pass issue, a gasket leak and tires needed. I drove off the lot and upon reaching the highway I noticed my engine light had come on. I immediately returned to the dealership. My service advisor had left, so another advisor helped me. I explained to him the engine light problem that was not a problem when I initially brought my BMW in for servicing. He took the car to the back to check out the problem and then returned with vehicle about 1/2 hour later and said all was ok and that a wire had come loose . I then proceeded again out of the lot and by time I arrived home the light came on again. I immediately called South Atlanta BMW and by this time the service department had closed. So I ask to speak to a manager. A general manager came to the phone, ***** ********* I explained to him what had just happened concerning my servicing. He instructed me that it would be ok to drive my vehicle with the engine light on as long as it doesn't turn red. I explain to him I would not be able to bring my car back there because I was headed out of town for a job in ********. He said well ok just take my car to a BMW dealership upon my arrival in ******** and South Atlanta BMW would incur the charges.Upon arrival I did just that and when they serviced my car they found the engine light being on because of a bad oxygen sensor and a bad drive belt. I was disgruntled because some could of happen to me while driving 10 hours to ******** I put my trust in South Atlanta BMW dealership. Then upon paying for the servicing I was told they would not pay. After questioning they decided to pay me $400 for servicing and not for parts. When I agreed and ask for a check I have not heard from them or **** ******** ******* manager
Product_Or_Service: **** BMW ****

Desired Settlement
I have been a loyal customer of South Atlanta BMW from day one. I kept up with the servicing of my **** BMW ***** There was a verbal contract made with me by the general manager when he told me they would incur the charges when I get to ******** . And it was badly serviced and engine light was not an initial problem. I paid $1589.94 for the service I received. And I agreed regretfully for $400 in return and have not received.

Business Response
on 12-9-13 We installed a valve cover gasket. Afterwards the check engine light came on and we cleared the code. Client drove to VA. The other BMW dealer said it needed and 02 sensor..."which is not related to a valve cover gasket". Our service manager offered $400.00 store credit.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First of all there was a oral contract with the manager on duty. He said they would incur the charges, which was $1350 along with a rental car charge of $40. These charges incurred in ******** in which he who represented South Atlanta BMW. And that was incur charges in ******** and not a $400 credit South Atlanta BMW dealership. It's just so funny I did not have the engine light problem until I brought my car for general service to their dealership, wow. And now they don't want to own up to their faulty responsibility for not diagnosing the problem once I immediately returned when the engine light suddenly came on upon my departure from South Atlanta.i agreed to a lesser refund of $400 in cash. They didn't have a problem in taking my charge by the of $1500 or so but now they have a problem in refunding me for bad service. A company that doesn't stand by their word. I thought a mans word was his bond.

Final Business Response
It has been determined that our repair of the valve cover gasket and the other dealers repair of the 02 sensor are not related. BMW of South Atlanta's offer of a $400.00 store credit for the customers inconvenience still stands.

10/07/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I contacted the Mini of South Atlanta service department on July 16th to arrange a roof rack install on a Mini. I had to fly to Atlanta to pick up the car that was given to me by a family member, and needed a rack installed so I could drive the car back up to ************* where I live with my kayak on top. I explained this situation almost two months before the date that I needed the car ready by, 8/30/13. The service department told me to contact the parts department and see what parts would be needed. I was told to wait to order them until two weeks before I needed the car ready. I called the parts department on several occasions over the course of the next few weeks and was given a different part number and different price quote each time.When I called to order the parts two weeks before 8/30 I was told that parts would have to be ordered from Germany and this could take 2 weeks +. That timeline put the installation in jeopardy. Initially, they couldn't figure out a solution but they found a way to get a roof rack locally from another source. Fast forward to 8/26, when I called to touch base with the service department, and I was told everything was all set for the installation to occur on 8/28. Then I got a call on 8/29 stating that one small part had not come in and they weren't sure it would come in time to be installed by 8/30 the day I told them almost two months in advance that it needed to be installed.Initially the service department tried to back out of waiting on the part. I was told by the service department that I should just go to **** *** ***** and get a cheap foam block carrier from **** *** ***** and strap it to the top of my car. I thought this was insane for a 18 hour trip from Georgia to ************** Then I got a call on 8/31 saying that the part had been delivered but the wrong part was in the box. I had to scramble since I planned to start the drive back to ** on 9/1, so I took the advice of service and bought the foam block kit which caused damage to my paint.
Product_Or_Service: Roof Rack Installation

Desired Settlement
I would like Mini Cooper of South Atlanta to arrange for a ****** Mini Cooper dealership to fix the paint wear marks caused by the kit they recommended that I buy to transport my kayak from ******* to ************** There aren't many good places to hook straps on the bumper/frame of the Mini Cooper, but I found the best options for hooking on the metal frame underneath the car. I gave them ample notice to complete the roof installation successfully but they failed at every possible turn.

Business Response
Spoke with Service Director **** ******* It is not MINI of South Atlanta's responsibility to repair paint problems from customers installation of the foam block carrier.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This was the recommendation of the Mini dealership and I mistakenly trusted that it would work on a Mini Cooper. These foam block systems DO NOT work on Mini Coopers and should never have been recommended by a Mini service representative. Furthermore, this problem never would have arisen if they dealership had procured the parts needed for the job with almost two months advance notice!

Final Business Response
This vehicle was given to the customer as a gift. He needed to transport his kayak to ************** He was advised from day one with the vehicle being 12 years old the roof rack parts would have to be ordered from Europe. The roof rack came in but the mounting brackets were incorrect. We recommended another option with the foam block system. At this time he will need to be referred to MINI of North America as MINI of South Atlanta will not pay for his repair.

01/07/2015Advertising / Sales Issues
06/01/2014Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/02/1999Business started: 05/01/1999New Owner Date: 01/16/2007
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: March 2007, GA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. C. V. Nalley (President)Customer Contact: Jackie McElwaney
Number of Employees

80

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
BMW Mini of Union City, Sons Automotive Group, Sons AC Morrow, LLC

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for BMW of South Atlanta

4171 Jonesboro Rd

Union City, GA 30291-2251

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4171 Jonesboro Rd 

    Union City, GA 30291-2251(770) 969-0755

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*BMW of South Atlanta is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.