BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/1994

Atlanta Toyota

Fax: (770) 476-1952View Additional Phone Numbers2345 Pleasant Hill Rd, DuluthGA 30096-4323 Send email to Atlanta Toyota

0TRUSTS
0 People Trust Atlanta Toyota

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/1994

BBB has determined that Atlanta Toyota meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Atlanta Toyota's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues3
Problems with Product / Service7
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 15

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (15)BBB Closure Definitions
05/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Repair Complaint Issue

Complaint: I recently purchased a 2007 Ford Explorer less than 30 days ago.
I purchased a 2007 Ford Explorer 4Door 2WD XLT on May 3rd 2014 thru my credit union (Piedmont Plus Federal Credit Union) 16 days after the purchase a wrench symbol appeared on the dashboard then the truck would not pull. I had it towed to a Ford Dealership and found out the trans cooling system was disconnected from the radiator causing the transmission to need a overhaul it also has a coolant leak all of this will cost almost $4,000 to repair. I know the truck was bought as is but when I saw the truck it was at a Ford Dealership. I want the truck but I think Atlanta Toyota should pay for the repairs even though the truck was sold as is I think the trans cooling system was not reconnected properly causing the damage to the transmission. I'm being told by Atlanta Toyota that theirs nothing they can do since it was sold as is I think they should either pay for the repairs or replace the truck cause now I'm stuck with a truck with transmission problems and I can't pay to have repaired I've talked to one of the General Managers (***** ********* but I'm hearing the same thing nothing I can do. My sales rep was a ***** ********** I paid 13,251.81 by check thru my credit union (Piedmont Plus Federal Credit Union)the problem happened on the 19th of April as I was coming home.

Initial Business Response
This traded-in vehicle went through our thorough inspection and reconditioning process. During this time we had not discovered anything wrong with the transmission. We then sent the vehicle to a Ford dealership to have some more work performed and again no issues with the transmission issues were evident. When Mr. **** purchased the vehicle from us we disclosed the "As Is" agreement which explains that the vehicle has no warranty coverage from the dealership and only comes with any factory warranty that may be left. Of course Mr. **** was offered the option to purchase an extended warranty however he declined.
Mr. **** contacted us several weeks later saying the vehicle had been towed to a Ford dealership due to transmission problems. He said that he understands he bought the vehicle "As Is" and that he did not purchase a warranty, however we should pay to have it repaired. We disagree.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

02/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Contract Complaint Issue

Complaint: My family and I were interested in buying a used van to meet the needs of our family of five. I was checking online and I found what looked like to be a really great deal on a 2010 Honda odessey. I emailed Atlanta Toyota instantly and received a call back within twenty minutes. I remember asking what the catch was, a 2010 van worth $20,000 for only $14,000 with only 24,000 miles? No catch just a great deal. I set an appointment to go the next day. I went ahead and filled out the credit app before to make time go by faster since I have 3 children one being a newborn. The bank approved it. I drove 1 hour to get there and just as I was about to sign the first document I asked to see the car fax report. The carfax came back a damaged or salvaged title due to flooding. I was amazed the whole time they had a van with a bogus title and they didn't know? I feel like they totally wasted half of my day and drained my wife emotionally. the next day they texted me and stated they had a 2007 Honda with 90,000 miles for the same price. How does this make since? yesterday there was a 2010 van with 24000 miles for 14,000$ and today there is an 2007 Honda same exact van just 3 years older with more than triple the miles and they are asking the same price. They hold to there story that they didn't know the 2010 had flood damage but they sell models 3 years older with more than triple the miles for the same price? not a happy customer. I feel like Atlanta Toyota obviously lied to me concerning the price and condition of the vehicle. I feel used and taken advantage of.

Initial Business Response
As we communicated to Mr.******* through FaceBook after he put negative posts on our page, this situation happened primarily due to the unusual winter storm. We had a skeleton crew at the time with no used car managers in the store. Here are some facts:


1. The CarFax to that vehicle is linked on our website on the Vehicle Display Page like ALL our used vehicles. He found the car online. Simply clicking the CarFax shows it has a branded title, right on top.

2. Mr. ******* did a credit application online. When he came in the building after his test drive he went directly to the Finance Department to see what kind of financing we had worked out for him. Again, NO used car managers were left due to the storm, not a normal situation. ****, who was on duty, had to pick up his child from daycare because they were closing early. Normally, the deal would have gone through the sales desk first.

3. The new car manager found out that there was a customer in the Finance Department on that vehicle and immediately paged the salesperson to inform him that that vehicle had a branded title and could NOT be financed by one of our lenders. The salesperson and the Finance Manager then told the customer this information, at which time the deal ended because we could not get a loan on this vehicle. It DID NOT STOP because the customer asked for a CarFax and "caught us" as he claims (it's on our darn website). WE STOPPED the transaction because we would not have been able to secure our loan with a branded title. We COULD NOT have finalized this deal if we had wanted to. I concede to the customer that the salesperson was unaware of the branded title so did not inform him, however again this was due to the staffing situation. We apologized for the situation and at the time Mr. *******

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

10/04/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: Had to car service (at another dealership) for the same problem that Atlanta Toyota didn't take care of...led to faulty brakes, dangerous
February 2013 went in for service at Atlanta Toyota b/c brakes had gone bad...received pads and drums, had rotors (front/rear) resurfaced and paid accordingly ($364)....heard a few brake noises here and there afterwards, but confirmed w/ a service rep at a local dealership it was normal after that type of service, esp. when backing out..Sept 2013, brakes sounded very unusual and took my car to the nearest dealership for safety purposes(not Atlanta Toyota) found out front brakes needed to be resurfaced ...paid $130....called manager at Atlanta Toyota, nothing resolved, he told me to fax paperwork and that was it. Former loyal customer that is very disappointed with their service.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***********************
Contact Phone: 770-622-7989
Contact Email: *****************************
We have been trying for the past two days to reach ****** to work out a solution. We will continue to try and update this later

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

08/07/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Advertised price not honored

Complaint: On April 20, 2013 I purchased a Silver 2009 Lexus GS350 from Atlanta Toyota. (Vin *****************) The car was advertised online for 28,628.00. After agreeing on the price of the car with the salesman, I went to see the finance manager. The finance manager then gave me a cost well above the advertised price. The price included GAP, Lojack, tax/title and an Admin. Service Fee. These additional charges were added without asking me. After questioning the additional charges, I was told that the GAP Ins and Lojack were optional but I had to pay the 599.00 Admin Service Fee. I did some research after purchasing the car and discovered that this is an illegal practice. I would like a full refund of 599.00 from the dealership.
Product_Or_Service: 2009 Silver Lexus GS350
Account_Number: Deal # *******

Business' Initial Response
We have resolved this matter with the customer. The customer is satisfied with the outcome.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

01/23/2013Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 3
06/11/2013Problems with Product / Service
05/31/2012Advertising / Sales Issues
03/20/2012Guarantee / Warranty Issues
02/09/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/01/1991Business started: 04/01/1988
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: April 1988, GA

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Wayne Levitzki (General Manager)
Contact Information
Mr. Rusty Gentry (General Manager) Brian Mayfield (General Manager)
Number of Employees

200

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Atlanta Toyota Atlanta Buick
Industry Tips
Buying a New Car
Dont Fall Victim to Enticing Auctions Ads for Cars!
Purchasing a Car Online
Spot Delivery Complaints are on the Rise
VIN Cloning Swindles Luxury Car Buyers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Atlanta Toyota

2345 Pleasant Hill Rd

Duluth, GA 30096-4323

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2345 Pleasant Hill Rd 

    Duluth, GA 30096-4323(770) 476-8282

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Atlanta Toyota is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (770) 476-8282
  • (770) 622-7984
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.