BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 05/28/2010

Andean Motor Co.

Phone: (770) 887-2316Fax: (770) 888-0462

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
09/26/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The car I bought had has several service issues.
We bought my daughter a 2012 Chevy Cruz on August 8th for her 17th birthday. The car had a clean *** *** report, the only problem we saw was the back seat was rip which they said they would fix. Within the first three days she was stranded the car did not start. We had to pick her up at the chick-filet we bought it back to Andean for repair. They told us is was the security issue on the keys. Two days later she was stranded again, took it back to Andean they said they had fix the problem. In total she has been stranded 6 times and ****** has had our Car on 4 separate occasions. Since the 43 days of our purchase, it has been in ********* service shop 13 days. The last two times it was in the shop they did provide us with a rental car the first time was a nice Tahoe, the second time however not so nice economy car. When I called to to find out my option the this last time we brought the car in I talked with ***** **** told us he was the Sales manager and that since we were having so many issue we could either return the car and get our money back or get something comparable. After this last go around we decided to take **** up on his offer, I found out he not actually the sales manger. He doesn't recall making me offer of the refund. Now I can not get the General Manager to call me back ***** ******** after leaving several messages. I can not have my 17 year old driving this undependable car around. she will be traveling to college next year and I would feel right selling it to someone else.

Desired Settlement
Refund or an exact replacement we choose this car because wanted white. If this one is fix the need to at least extend the warranty at no additional cost

Business Response
My name is ***** ******** and I am the General Manager of Andean Chevrolet. There is no doubt Mrs. ******* has had issues with the Car she purchased for her daughter, we have resolved them at this time. I had **** ***** call her and offer her full purchase price towards the purchase of another vehicle, I was present during the phone conversation with her. We have been in constant contact with her during the repair of her daughters vehicle. I met with Mrs. ******* on this past Saturday 9/21/13 and told her I would have her a 2012 Cruze replacement,in white on Monday. It is here! If she wants an extended warranty on the on she owns that would be a possibility. I don't know why she filed a complaint, we have done everything we have told her we would do.
Regards,
***** ********

Final Consumer Response
****** has resolved my issues, by replacing my car with newer one with less mileage. I have to say that **** ***** will be the only reason I will return to Andean. He was sympatric to my situation and I felt he stood up for me when I needed his help. **** made the swap a smooth transaction as promised.

02/25/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased a used 2013 Tahoe with 17,000 miles in in January with a trade and 1,000 down.The vehicle developed a transmission problem. Not fixed
On our about 10-13 vehicle taken to shop for transmission issue. Put vehicle in reverse or drive and you can hear the engine roar but the vehicle would not initially move, but then lurch forward.I was told by the service advisor to contact the GM line and they would dispatch a tow truck to have it towed to the dealership. A rental vehicle was not offered. on Friday October 17 I picked up my vehicle around noon time. And took it home. That evening I went out to take my children somewhere and the vehicle started having the same issue again. I contacted the service advisor again who told me not to drive the vehicle and to have it towed in again. This time I asked for a rental vehicle because again, one was not offered.After two weeks I had not received a call regarding the status of my vehicle.I contacted the service advisor who told me that they only had one transmission guy and he had not had a chance to look at my vehicle yet. Right after that phone call I placed a call to GM. Immediately after placing the claim, the service advisor contacted me advising that they had not been able to reproduce the issue. He asked if he could take the vehicle home overnight after they had driven the vehicle over 100 miles. After 2 days, he advised that they were unable to reproduce the problem. Therefore, I picked up my vehicle. on December 4th I contacted a sales manager and advised that the vehicle was leaking fluids. He told me I needed to contact the service department. I contacted the service department and left a message for the service advisor I previously dealt with. To date, I have not had a return phone call from the service department. On Saturday December the 6th I spoke with the general manager who said I could take the vehicle somewhere else and have them look at it or I can bring it back in but there was nothing that they could do until I brought the vehicle in. I explained to him that I left a message for the service advisor who has yet to contact me back. On Sunday December 7, I was in the vehicle with my Sun and was able to reproduce the problem. On Monday I contacted the dealership requesting to speak with the owner. After my second phone call, the owner finally contacted me back. I explained all of the above. I have requested the dealership to purchase the vehicle back. They told me to bring it in to get an estimate. I brought it in but they don't want to give me enough to pay off my loan. On Monday December the 8 I called to speak to the owner. After my second call,I finally spoke with the owner who wanted to maintain the same position to but the vehicle back, but not for what I I owed. I also explain to him that I was able to reproduce the issue on the night before. If they took the vehicle back I will have a negative balance that would be added on to any vehicle that I purchased which in turn, would cause my payment to increase. And they wanted me to purchase another vehicle from them.
The safety of my children is important to me and I have been more than cooperative with the dealership in their request. I have been reluctant to drive the vehicle very far for fear that the vehicle would stop on me somewhere. Needless to say I don't have the confidence in the car maker or the dealership

Desired Settlement
For Them to take the vehicle back and pay off my loan regardless of the ' trade in value'.
OR if I've replaced the vehicle with another brand before this is settled, provide a check for the negative balance I will incur at another dealership.(difference between other dealer trade in value offer and pay off amount)

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** Fixed Ops Dir
Contact Phone: **********
Contact Email: **********************
RE: BBB Case #*********: **** ***********

To whom it may concern;
We, Andean Motor Co. are filing a response to the complaint letter from **** **********, issued by BBB on January 28, 2015 addressed to Mr. ***** ********. This is the reason for the delay in our response, as Mr. ***** ******** is no longer employed with Andean Motor Co. This was advised to you per our Dealer Principal Mr. *** *******. We are responding via mail with attached documents and in writing through the BBB website.
As Mrs. ********** stated on October 13, 2014, her vehicle was towed in by General Motor Roadside Assistance, and a loaner vehicle was offered but not needed at this time per Mrs. **********. When car arrived see RO#*******, "Customer states vehicle has a long delayed engagement before it will go into reverse, also the rpms raise high before it goes into gear." After inspection found technical service bulletin #********/Document ID: ******* to be related to the complaint Mrs. ********** had. Noted on RO#******* in the caused by column technician found code P0777. The technician then contacted General Motors Technical Assistance Center and was advised to inspect the valve body and stator cover per document #*******. Found the stator cover leaking and removed transmission assembly and repaired as needed.
On October 27, 2014, customer called and had vehicle towed by GM Roadside Assistance, see document vehicle report under "Vehicle Transaction History". A loaner vehicle was offered and provided on October 29, 2014, see attached rental agreement dated 10-29-14. The statement that Mrs. ********** wrote a quarter of the way down in her original complaint, "I asked for a rental vehicle because again, one was not offered." Vehicle arrived at dealership see RO#*******, "Customer states there is a delayed engagement when shifting from park to reverse and it take several seconds before it shifts into drive." After inspection of the vehicle, as you can see there were not any diagnostic trouble codes present as in the previous repair. Customer disagreed with our results and service advisor advised that we would test drive the vehicle to see if we could get the complaint to arise. After the technician drove the vehicle for 50 miles he pulled the diagnostic codes and none appeared. Andean had to install fuel into the customer's car, see gas receipt. Service advisor then contacted the customer and advised that the customer's complaint had not been identified. Advised customer at this time that the service advisor would like to drive the vehicle at night in different conditions to try to duplicate her concern. Customer agreed to proposal and the customer's concern was not identified. After putting a total of 137 miles on the customer's vehicle the concern was not identified. At this time Andean Motor Co. has exhausted all avenues to identify the customer's concern. On November 17, 2014, customer returned loaner vehicle and picked up her vehicle. Customer was still unhappy with the results at this time service adviser advised the customer she could contact General Motors Customer Assistance Center. Also dealer advised customer that she may get a second opinion from another General Motors dealer.
We as Andean Motor Co. attempted to assist Mrs. ********** in trading into another vehicle, but with the negative equity in her vehicle is was not something feasible at this time due to an increase in payment.
So as you see provided in this letter and attached documents Andean Motor Co. has exhausted all avenues to accommodate Mrs. **** **********. We feel that the customer's requested resolution would have to be denied. Please feel free to contact me in this matter.
Respectfully yours,
***** *****
Fixed Operations Director
Andean Motor Co.
************
CC: ****** *******, Service Manager
CC: **********, Dealer Principal
CC: ***** ****, General Manager


10/29/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
financed a car from Andean Chevrolet, Two later the check engine light came on. Won't fix
My mother financed a car for me from Mr ****** the last week in Aug. Two weeks later the check engine light came on. I took the car back to the dealership. After a very rude confrontation with the sales manager. He agreed to look at the car. I left it with them for 2 days when I called to check on it. They had not done the work yet but said they would have it ready in an hour. Apparently all they did was reset the light but did NOT fix the problem. 3 days later the light was back on. I called ***** ( Mr. ******* and he said he would talk to his sales manager again and call me back he did call me back. He then proceeded to tell me that they had no obligation to fix the car I had just bought there, they did not specialize in Honda's and could not and would not fix it. Basically we paid 11,000 for a car that will NOT pass an emission. I believe they are somehow illegally getting cars to pass emissions without actually resetting the check engine lights

Desired Settlement
I would like for them to pay someone else to fix the car I do not trust them to fix it there

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ********
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *********@andeanmotor.com
Mrs. ******* called us several weeks after the sale and said her check engine light came on. The vehicle was sold as is and a warranty was offered at the time of the sale and was declined. In good faith we checked the car and no problem was found, and turned light off. Later the light came on again and Mrs. ******* called and stated she had taken it to her mechanic and advised her there was nothing wrong with the vehicle and no codes were found. We checked the car again and found no issues. Her mother purchased the vehicle
and has threatened us with legal action. The vehicle had a current emission at the time of the sale. At the time of the sale we gave a 30 day 3,000 mile powertrain breakdown coverage at no cost. It does not cover check engine lights and has expired. We would be willing to trade her and her mother out of the vehicle if she is dissatisfied with the car, in good faith, but will not be threatened. By her own admission her own mechanic stated there was nothing wrong with the vehicle.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Renting & Leasing, Auto Accessories, Auto Customizing, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Tire Dealers, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.