BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/23/2005

Collision Claim Associates, Inc.

Phone: (770) 887-7626Fax: (770) 886-6196View Additional Phone NumbersPO Box 192, OakwoodGA 30566-0004 Send email to Collision Claim Associates, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/23/2005

BBB has determined that Collision Claim Associates, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Collision Claim Associates, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Collision Claim Associates, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
01/15/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Originally hired company to assist with a diminished value claim. Out cost of two appraisals that have left me with no recourse.
Originally hired CCC for an appraisal in August for $375. On the day their appraiser was to come, someone had hit my vehicle. I was told that I could have CCC do a second appraisal for $250 after getting my vehicle repaired. In both cases, CCC told me that I was entitled to diminished value. After receiving the report for both accidents, I sent letters to the insurance company. After sending numerous letters to each insurance company, I still have nothing to show for all my efforts. Now CCC is telling me my only recourse is to file a lawsuit, which will cost more money. I would have been better off not hiring them in the first place.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking $625, the cost of two vehicle appraisals on the same vehicle.

Final Consumer Response
CCC has agreed to refund $250 and I consider this complaint resolved.

11/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Inaccurate estimate of vehicle value in total loss appraisal.
The insurance company had offered a number for the total value of my vehicle which I thought was too low, and thus I paid $75 to Collision Claim Associates to provide a market value estimate for my vehicle at the time of a total loss.

The value of the vehicle had been previously estimated as follows:

Insurance company Customer Service Estimate (before deeming total loss): $14,200

Body Shop Estimate: $13,900
NADA: $13,600
Edmunds: $13,608

Insurance company initial offer for Total Loss: $12,700

Collision Claims Associates: "We have concluded the Market Search...The results are indicating values ranging from $11,400.00 to $11,900.00. This includes adjustments for mileage and options."

I explained that this range was far lower than expected and asked to verify I'd sent all of the correct information.

CCA senior adjuster claimed his numbers were accurate, that all of my information was incorrect and that, "even if our range had been $1,000 more we would have still suggested accepting the insurance companies offer because the difference is still not enough to justify the expense of an appraisal"

Next I hired a different company to do the same Market Search and their initial search (which only cost $45) valued the vehicle between $13,500 - $15,000.

I notified CCA of this fact and requested a refund since their estimate was several thousand dollars off. He said to, "Email me a copy of the completed appraisal report and I will consider refunding your money."

The actual appraisal specific to my vehicle by the 2nd company was $14,100 and the insurance company paid $14,000 for the total loss.

Thus estimate was off by $2200 - $2700

Thus had I accepted the incorrect assessment provided by CCA I would have received hundreds or thousands of dollars less than the actual value of my vehicle.

Desired Settlement
I shared all of the information about this situation with the appraiser over multiple emails, and kindly requested a refund. He stated that if I would send the completed appraisal he would "consider" providing a refund.

Last week I emailed the completed appraisal proving that his initial market value estimate was off by several thousand dollars and have not received a response.

Business Response
The information the customer has stated is correct. I did receive the other appraisal from him as he indicated, however it was received the day I was leaving to go out of town to be with my daughter during a major surgery from which I only returned last night. Today his refund has been processed and should show up on his credit card statement within 48 hours. We apologize for the delay but it was unavoidable.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Appraisers, Machinery & Equipment - Appraisal, Auto Services, Appraisers, Insurance Services, Insurance Claim Processing Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/23/2005Business started: 12/29/2003
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: December 2003, GA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard Hixenbaugh (President)
Business Category

Auto Appraisers, Machinery & Equipment - Appraisal, Auto Services, Appraisers, Insurance Services, Insurance Claim Processing Services

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • PO Box 192 

    Oakwood, GA 30566-0004(770) 887-7626
    (866) 438-6938
    Fax: (770) 886-6196

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Collision Claim Associates, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 438-6938
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Appraisers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.