BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Import Auto Brokers, Inc.

Phone: (866) 539-4537Fax: (678) 401-6627View Additional Phone Numbers1781 Cobb Pkwy S, MariettaGA 30060-9288 Send email to Import Auto Brokers, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Import Auto Brokers, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Import Auto Brokers, Inc.'s rating include:

  • 8 complaints filed against business
  • One complaint filed against business that was not resolved.

Factors that raised Import Auto Brokers, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Import Auto Brokers, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (8)
11/11/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

On July 29, 2015, I requested that the GAP Insurance Policy be Cancelled/Terminated due to vehicle being totaled/savaged and issued Refund of cost of policy that was never used. Each time I have spoken with the finance manager "*******" I am being told the check was mailed. I spoke with the GAP Insurance company and they stated that they completed the claim and send the funds to Import Auto Brokers, Inc. on 09/16/15.I just want my refund returned immediately.
Product_Or_Service: 03/30/15

Desired Settlement
Send my GAP insurance refund via overnight mail.

Business Response
This refund was mailed to the customer at the end of September. However, the envelope was delivered to the wrong address even though it was addressed correctly. As soon as it was returned to Import Auto Brokers via the postmaster, it was sent to this customer via FedEx ground that she received the very next day. This situation was corrected before the BBB complaint ever made it to our office.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
received refund next day

07/03/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I purchased a 2007 Mercedes Benz S550 at Import Auto Brokers on 6/4/2015. During my test drive of the vehicle before I decided to purchase the vehicle I noticed the sunroof was broken and I immediately informed the Manager of the facility (*****), ***** (the salesman), and **** (the finance guy) about the sunroof and the fact that I didn't feel comfortable purchasing the vehicle in that condition. I explained to the staff members involved that I am a disabled veteran and I'm on a fixed income and that It wouldn't be fair for me to have to come out of pocket extra money over a repair that they should be responsible for fixing since the vehicle was still in their possession and they are trying to sell it. I was reassured, promised and given documentation stating that the sunroof would be fixed the following Monday 6/8/2015 and that they had already ordered the part and would call me back in Monday. They never got back to me about fixing the sunroof. In fact the finance guy (****) called me back demanding information he forgot to get two close the deal on the car sale. When I confronted him about the repair he blew it off. I told him I would not move any further on the loan until I had an ETA on the repairs and he started making threats and demanding to come repo the car. I traded in a car that I owned to purchase a car from this dealership and **** told me that I would be responsible for my own vehicle and getting it back basically leaving me without a car. After several days of threats by the dealership and runarounds about fixing the sunroof I noticed other issues with the vehicle like the rear brakes are bad, and the rear passenger window needs a new motor. I took the car back to the Dealership today personally and learned the parts for the repair of the sunroof were never ordered and the dealership mislead me and had no intentions on making the repair even though they gave me documentation that they would.

Desired Settlement
I would like all repairs listed to be completed in full by the dealership due to the unethical practices and bad customer service which has cost me additional monies to have the repairs quoted and inspected, also for having to drive back and forth from my city to the dealership to handle this matter. I would be willing to cancel my complaint if the company agrees to these repairs and conditions for the unethical and unprofessional way I was treated

Business Response
Mr. ***** and Import Auto Brokers, Inc. have reached an agreement. We have fulfilled all of our obligations with Mr. *****. He emailed BBB in our office to let you know that his complaints have been resolved.

Consumer Response
This complaint has been resolved and satisfied. Please close complaint.

05/06/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

The dealer promised to cover a known issue with the car if the warranty did not cover it. The warranty company did not cover it & they refused to pay.
On 11/15/2014 I drove to Atlanta to pick up a car and they had listed it with many many options that it did not have then when I informed them of the issue they told me I could just accept it or go home. I also noticed an issue with the Parking Display Sensor when test driving the car. They said to wait 30 days to claim it on my insurance that I bought through them. They told me that if the insurance didn't pay for it then they would cover it. This was obviously a ploy just to get me to buy the car. The insurance company did not pay for it and now they are refusing to pay for it. I told them I did not want the car if it was not going to be fixed. They assured me they would properly resolve the issue. Which they are not refusing to do.

Desired Settlement
I would like the cost of the repair for the Parking Display Sensor of $488.33 as promised. I would not have bought the car would I have known they would not honor their promise.

Final Consumer Response
After working with the management of Import Auto Brokers we were able to come to an agreement that I'm happy with. I appreciate their help in resolving this matter.

04/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I purchased a bmw m5 on April 11 2014. When I got on the highway the fuel light came on then as I was approaching the gas station the check engine light came on. **** called me he is the guy that bits on the price of the car to get it to where you want be at or close. So I told him my. engine light came on before I got gas then after that he said did you screw the gas cap back on tight I said yes and I said I put 93 premium gas in the tank before he asked me that. Then he said come on back I said I'm on the highway now. So when I got back to the place I said I don't want the car I want you discard the paper work and release me for the loan **** said I have no control over that I said who does he said the owner. So it took 30 mind to see him and I asked his name he said ****** ****** he was very rude and disrespectful he asked me why did you fill up the tank I said because I would have run out of gas trying to return the vehicle back to you then he said why it took you a hour to get back here I said it's Friday 3:30 in the afternoon

Desired Settlement
I just want ****** ****** to remove me from the loan then he accused me of putting bad gas in the tank and I said please cancel the loan but he wouldn't do it so not I'm contacting lawyers but no response back yet I need your help Bbb please

Final Consumer Response
They fix the engine no charge to me

03/27/2013Problems with Product / Service
10/16/2015Advertising / Sales Issues
12/23/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

I purchased a 2004CLK 320 in Aug of 2014 from Import Auto Brokers. I was informed the down payment would be $1500.00 plus $500.00 that would to be sent to the bank to ensure I got approved for the car loan.The sales guy by the name of **** stated "Don't worry everything will be fine, with everything included all I needed to provide was $2000.00" I returned with the money in cash and was escorted to the finance department. I dealt with a gentle man and signed a slew of papers and was told my total was $1500.00. I was initially confused because **** told me it was going to be $2000.00. I handed over the $1500.00, received my key, and was relieved everything was done. Me and My co signer left out the side door and was greeted by ****. He stated "OK everything worked out down at the bank, the $500.00 is still due" I gave **** the money and proceeded to go home. Days later the brakes started to grind and squeak really bad. I gave **** a call and the car was brought back to be "looked at". He informed me there was nothing wrong they were new brakes and were probably too tight. I too his word again and went home. It wasn't until I sat down days later and read through my paper work that I realized this $500.00 for the bank was not listed anywhere. I immediately gave Import Auto Brokers a call and demanded to know where was my money spent at. I was informed by a woman named ******** that their sales guy **** was under investigation for stealing money from customers and had been arrested by Marietta police department. She told me I was the 3rd person to come forth and complain and she was not sure how many others there were. I let her know my brake pads light had come on, and I had complained in Aug. She told me to get an estimate for my brakes and email it to her and She and the owner would work hard to get me my money back! I called two weeks ago and asked for an update and she nastily told me"she did not know" It is almost Dec and I still have not received my money or any assistance for my brakes!!!!!
Product_Or_Service: Mercedes CLK 320

Desired Settlement
I feel because **** was employed by Import Auto Brokers at the time of my purchase, they are liable for anything he tells a customer. They need to run background checks and install cameras everywhere. It is not my fault they hired a crook, and allowed him to deal with money. I do not care about this "lawyer" or this "ongoing case". That is their problem not mines, I want my money back and my brakes fixed! Also they need better customer service!!

Business Response
Ms. ********** purchased a 2004 Mercedes Benz from us on August 21st, 2014. On 10/29/14 she called to ask why the down payment on her bill of sale stated $1500.00 down and not $2000.00. I did explain that a salesman has been accused of stealing money from customers and it has been turned over to Cobb County Sheriff Dept. and our attorney is working with investigators to prosecute . She stated that she had been complaining about her brakes and I told her to get an estimate and I would get with the owner to see if we could help her with that problem. As of this date Ms. ********** has not sent this estimate. She was asked if she signed all the paperwork with 1500.00 why did she give an extra 500.00 to the salesman? That should have raised a flag right then. She stated that she felt that this was not right from the beginning but her boyfriend (whom is on the loan as well) kept reassuring her that the salesman was "cool". She said that she didn't realize until the end of October that this had happened. We have cameras installed all over our office and the 1500.00 that she signed off on is accounted for. We are working with the investigators to assist them in any manner necessary to get to the bottom of this situation. That salesman has been terminated, and proper steps have been taken on our behalf to protect our company! Our salesman has stood firm that this never happened, a few of our customers stand firm that it did happen. After this investigation is over we will make every attempt to retrieve every penny from the restitution. I was never "nasty" to her she asked when she would receive her money back and I explained that I didn't know how long it would take for the investigation. She asked again and I stated that I have no idea and it would be impossible to put a time frame on this because I am not doing the investigation. I then asked her about the estimate for her brakes again and she said that she was still working on getting that.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I find it very interesting that the salesmen stands firm that this never happened, yet he has been terminated and turned over to the Cobb country sheriff dept. At the time of the purchase of the vehicle, the salesman was an employee of the company and as such was acting and representing the company. The fact that the company has entered into a dispute with one of its ex-employees is not relevant to my claim. That is a case between the ex-employee and the company, not me and the ex-employee. A person representing the company stole money from me, and I want the company to pay me back the money. Nothing more or less. Pay me my money asap and figured out how you plan to get the money back from the ex employee or the lawyer, honestly how you get it back is not my concern.

Final Business Response
Yes it is true that the salesman was terminated and turned over to the sheriff dept. With that being said, the amount of cash that the finance dept asked for ($1500) was signed off on the contract for that amount. I am sorry that you felt the need to hand off $500 extra dollars to the salesman in the parking lot, AFTER you had been handed the keys and all of the paperwork stating you put $1500.00 down and NOT $2000. Again, we are working with all appropriate parties in getting this issue with that salesman resolved.

06/19/2013Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto & Truck Brokers, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 10/15/2008Business started: 11/01/2002
Type of Entity


Incorporated: November 2002, GA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joseph Janini (CEO)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Auto & Truck Brokers, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Import Auto Brokers, Inc.

1781 Cobb Pkwy S

Marietta, GA 30060-9288

To | From


1 Locations

  • 1781 Cobb Pkwy S 

    Marietta, GA 30060-9288(770) 953-8800
    (770) 953-8800
    (877) 219-6162
    (877) 219-6162
    (866) 539-4537
    (866) 539-4537
    (678) 401-6161
    (678) 401-6161
    Fax: (770) 953-8855
    Fax: (678) 401-6627
    Fax: (770) 953-8855
    Fax: (678) 401-6627
    Fax: (770) 953-8855
    Fax: (678) 401-6627
    Fax: (770) 953-8855
    Fax: (678) 401-6627

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Import Auto Brokers, Inc. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (770) 953-8800
  • (877) 219-6162
  • (678) 401-6161

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (770) 953-8855

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Auto & Truck Brokers


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.