BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

D C Appliance Repairs, LLC

(678) 575-8589View Additional Phone Numbers805 Glynn St S Ste 127, FayettevilleGA 30214-2010http://www.fayettecountygaappliancerepairs.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

D C Appliance Repairs, LLC is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered D C Appliance Repairs, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • One complaint filed against business that was not resolved.

Factors that raised D C Appliance Repairs, LLC's rating include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
05/10/2013Problems with Product / Service
09/06/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Overcharged by replacing parts that did not need replacing never fixed the freezer, ignored his 90 day warranty, crazy high markup on parts
Horrible experience with this 'appliance' man. 1200 dollars for about 200 dollars of work.

The Pros He fixed a small issue with the dryer (simple 10 minute repair)

He fixed the flap on my dishwasher that hold the dishsoap (simple repair) Put 1 gasket on downstairs fridge (simple repair)

Cons
My ice machine was broken and the freezer was getting these big ice chunks and fluctuation in temp causing stuff to start to defrost and then freeze again. He said he knew exactly what the problem was and proceeded to put all types of new parts into the freezer including a new ice machine. I just had a new ice machine installed by a different company 3 months so even I knew nothing was wrong with the ice machine. Each different part he installed cost money for the part and labor.

It was getting late and he had to go yet the freezer was still not fixed. He claimed he would come back in the morning and finish up. He then demanded to be paid. This put me in an uncomfortable position, I payed. I believe a reputable business man would demand payment after completing the job to the clients satisfaction.

He showed up the next morning and finally claims the freezer is fixed (managing to sneak in some charges along the way though) 2 days later, the freezer is broken. Ice machine not working again. Ice machine not making ice. Fluctuations in temps where stuff started to defrost. He promises it is under warranty and he will come out. He never came back out, called, or answered my calls. He offers a 90 day warranty on his invoices

He took advantage on my lack of knowledge and age. It wasn't until my son stepped in or this bill would have hit 5k.

his market on parts was over 100% in some cases. I dont mind a small market of 5-10% since they are getting the parts cheaper than I could.

I checked the prices at **************** to what he charged me.
Soap Dispenser cost 22.49 from repairclinic
and I was charged 72.20
Gasket cost 40 from repairclinic and I was charged 102.72
Wheels (drum rollers are 26 from ************ and I was charged 82 for 2
Drive Belt cost 11.85 and was charged 47.30
Idler wheel cost 9.50 at repair clinic and was charged 31.10

Problem Date 5/4/13
3 invoices paid using Amex My CC has been put on alert but i am giving him the chance to refund me before I file a chargeback.
449.09
537.21
340.63
and another 45 dollar cash payment at the end.

Desired Settlement
Refund for the freezer invoice balance 489.09 since it is still broken and he never lived up to the warranty..

199 refund for outrageous markup on parts.

688 refund total

Business' Initial Response
*** ***** was given an estimate prior to any repairs done. The estimate was signed and accepted as per contract. As far as the refrigerator is concerned I am willing to honor the warranty period and further check to rectify the existing problem. I did go by the house after *** ***** had called stating the still existing problem with the refrigerator. also clled. After no response, I honestly assumed everything was fine. If it is possible, with no disrespect, I would like to call *** ***** and setup an appointment to rectify this situation. Thank you all.
***** C *******
DC APPLIANCE REPAIRS, LLC
(XXX) XXX-XXXX

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I never received a call nor did he stop by the house. I made a call to him and he promised he would show up but never did. I don't feel comfortable having him out after filing a complaint and being taken advantage of. I would like a refund for 489.09. I should not have to force his hand to honor his warranty. If he really wanted to honor to warranty, he would have come back out instead of lying to me.

Also, I do not have a copy of any signed estimate.

08/26/2014Billing / Collection Issues
06/30/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Appliances - Major - Service & Repair, Appliances - Small - Service & Repair

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/21/2011Business started: 08/16/2010
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Danny Bahadur (Owner)
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Appliances - Major - Service & Repair, Appliances - Small - Service & Repair

Industry Tips
Getting Your TV/VCR Repaired

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for D C Appliance Repairs, LLC

805 Glynn St S Ste 127

Fayetteville, GA 30214-2010

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 805 Glynn St S Ste 127 

    Fayetteville, GA 30214-2010(678) 575-8589
    (877) 433-4152

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*D C Appliance Repairs, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 433-4152
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Appliances - Major - Service & Repair

Getting Your TV/VCR Repaired
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.